Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

aeiou228
post Nov 10 2009, 01:26 AM

5,867 posts

I'm currently selecting a 6/5 days Taiwan tour package. Should I pick the east coast tour or west coast tour ?
aeiou228
post Nov 11 2009, 09:53 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Nov 10 2009, 09:36 AM)
West Coast = Major Cities.
East Coast = Seaside, Natural Beauty.

Take your pick.
I went for West Coast backpacking before, can't wait to go for the East Coast trip in the near future.
If take the 7 days round Island trip by coach will it be tiring ?
aeiou228
post Nov 16 2009, 12:22 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Nov 15 2009, 09:32 PM)
7 days round Island? wow...

I spent 11 days only for Taipei, TaiChung, Tainan, Kaoshiung.
Ken Ding was called off due to the typhoon hit Taiwan on mid-July 2009.

Was lucky that I was not in Taiwan when the strong typhoon hit recently.
11days is only possible if DIY trip or free and easy.

I bring the whole family which include elders and children there and I want everything prearranged. The longest Taiwan tour package offered by tour operators is 7 days.
aeiou228
post Nov 18 2009, 11:02 AM

5,867 posts

Stimix,

Any money changer offer better rate for Taiwan dollar ?
aeiou228
post Nov 18 2009, 02:19 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 18 2009, 11:43 AM)
Unfortunately No in Malaysia..the best either wawasan or Sg wang plaza also ~10.90...comparing to avg 10.6 in the market or Taiwan exchangers.  So I'm thinking to change USD 1st & once arriving change USD to T$...

but wait..suprisinghly T$ now dropping at Wawasan..10.85 liao...hopefully drop further...

http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp
RM-->US-->TWD ? kena commission dua kali wor ....

I Just booked 7/6 days round island trip on 27th December. 2010 count down at Kaushiong. RM2077 per pax. Still got some seats left.

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Nov 18 2009, 01:07 PM)
Their cost is this http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php

markup only for you.

after wawasan, near Jusco, there's the magazine shop inside also got money changer. Sometimes their rates are gooder than wawasan.
You mean IOI mall old wing near Maxis center ?
aeiou228
post Nov 18 2009, 05:42 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 18 2009, 02:35 PM)

S Thereafter at Taiwan airport I change bck to T$ using usd rate of 3.25...I'm getting T$19,680
But, how do you know you will be getting NTD100 to USD3.25 when landed in Taiwan leh ?
aeiou228
post Nov 19 2009, 01:59 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pino88 @ Nov 19 2009, 12:24 PM)
which date u are travelling?
im travelling on next month, 21dec, booked the taxi with mr.loo already lor..
anyone wanna share a cab with me?

Added on November 19, 2009, 12:31 pmhi all, i will be going to a tour with a private taxi on ts 23dec to yeh liu, jiufen, shifen waterfull, keelung.. anyone wanna share a cab.. no problem also.. LOL..
How much you pay for taxi tour ? What is the package like ?
aeiou228
post Nov 19 2009, 02:07 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pino88 @ Nov 19 2009, 02:02 PM)
the one at taroko is TWD 2200
jiufen yeh liu that one is TWD 3000

the tour is like the taxi will drive u around and explain lor..
u can enjoy the time as much as u can without sharing with others la..

LOL..
Taxi take u from Hotel in the morning and send you back in the evening ? or at a agreed duration ?
aeiou228
post Nov 24 2009, 10:36 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(eddie89 @ Nov 24 2009, 05:40 PM)
Hi guys, I am going Taiwan next month, is a 21" inch (55cm) luggage + a backpack sufficient for traveling two weeks?
21" is just nice for cabin size, no need to check in luggage. But 25" would be idea if you go for shopping spree.
aeiou228
post Nov 25 2009, 08:27 PM

5,867 posts

kampungboycitygal,

Do u recommend changing money to NT in Malaysia first before going to Taiwan or after ?
aeiou228
post Dec 5 2009, 11:44 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 4 2009, 02:30 PM)
Nxt week is my 1st time to Taipei-lah how will I know..all budget DIY trip...however I hv researched since mid of this yr, thus can goreng abiot here & there..haha
You got Taiwan map for Garmin ar ?
aeiou228
post Dec 7 2009, 08:58 AM

5,867 posts

I saw the 5" Papago R5800 demo at PC fair recently. It has all the features like 3D, Junction View, etc similar to that of the Garmin high end model but at a lower price of RM899 only with 5 Asean country maps and carrying case thrown in.
aeiou228
post Dec 10 2009, 09:15 AM

5,867 posts

NTD appreciated to NTD100 to RM11.00 as of yesterday at Sungaiwang money changer. What is the conversion rate in Taipei now, Stimix ?
aeiou228
post Dec 10 2009, 05:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 10 2009, 01:52 PM)
Izit advisable to change to USD here then change to NT$ at Taoyuan airport ?
I've just called up money changer (Bank of Taiwan) in Taoyan airport. NTD100 = RM12.39.
Better change it here before going over to Taiwan.
aeiou228
post Dec 11 2009, 12:12 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 10 2009, 09:41 PM)
(I'm now in Taipei..Changing to USD 1st than NT$ better..

I 1st changed RM2029 for US$600 & thereafter getting 1USD for 31.96 at airport thus getting NT19,146 after NT30 commission...i fchange in KL, i will be getting only NT$18,529 only..Effectively, I'm getting Nt10.65 rather than NT$10.95 in KL..
BTW, the weather is pretty hot when I arrived 2pm..29C!! currently at 20C,.Genting colder!!
Thanks for the tips Stimix. Take care and Bon voyage. Changing to sin dollar first cheaper too S$1 can get NTD22.69 at Taoyan = RM10.58 for NTD100
BTW Stimix, other than airport, Is the changer easily available elsewhere ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Dec 11 2009, 12:14 AM
aeiou228
post Dec 11 2009, 11:17 PM

5,867 posts

How's Taiwan Stimix ? Any cheap GPS or It gadgets there ? How come so hot in Taiwan at this time around ?
aeiou228
post Dec 11 2009, 11:57 PM

5,867 posts

You must go Jiou Fen the old town.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Dec 12 2009, 02:23 AM
aeiou228
post Dec 13 2009, 01:32 AM

5,867 posts

Thanks for the update. We want more stories.......... drool.gif drool.gif

Any Taiwan brand electronic gadgets which are cheaper in Taiwan ? ie Garmin, Papago, media player......

How come this thread can not embed You tube ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Dec 13 2009, 04:40 PM
aeiou228
post Dec 14 2009, 05:37 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 13 2009, 11:16 PM)
@cybersim. there is no0 need for contact, i dun even ask the taxi driver for the number..just hire any taxi outside the station will do...You can negotiate wth them. I negotiated till BT$1600 but he insisted on Rm1800. He asked additional NT$400 for Chin Sui Cliff which i agreed bcos need abit of detour.
Taiwan taxi can sit maximum how many person ? Did you some across MPV taxi ?

Added on December 14, 2009, 9:15 pmStimix, you seems to be able to get online every night in Taiwan, your hotel provides free wifi ? or perhaps wifi hot spots are easily available in Taiwan ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Dec 14 2009, 09:15 PM
aeiou228
post Dec 15 2009, 09:47 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pino88 @ Dec 15 2009, 07:59 PM)
Opps, typo error.
Im not bringing any RM to Taiwan.. Is just that should i can half half TWD and USD? or totally change USD there and change at airport.
By the way, i saw about 2-3 money changer at there, which 1 got the bestest rate or all of them is the same rate?
After immigration. or b4 immigration eh?
USD is about RM3.40 and the best NTD is RM10.95 in Gian Kinrara.
Stimix, if you have few thousand NTD left, can change back RM with me.

0.0573sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:46 AM