1386 Pages « < 211 212 213 214 215 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

TristanX
post Jun 8 2018, 11:50 AM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(eggplants @ Jun 8 2018, 10:36 AM)
[Budget] around RM4000 for desktop (already have existing monitor, keyboard, windows 10 etc, and other from previous comp.)

[Purpose] Mainly architecture, graphics and rendering; but would like to also allow gaming once in a while. Main applications:
[Hardwares that will be re-use] Have old HD to use - SSD (Plextor M5S 256gb) & HDD (Seagate 3TB 3.5 SATA 7200rpm); have old  (2x4gb) 8gb RAM that could potentially use (not sure what type/brand, need to check back), but might consider to upgrade to 16gb total

[Monitor resolution] Not needed

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Sketchup, AutoCAD, Rhino 3d, Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator. Steam gaming

[Personal preferences] Dont have knowledge in building PC, first time. But initial research, seems like NVIDIA graphics card is recommeneded for the software I use. In terms of CPU between Intel & AMD, I have no idea the pro/con of each, but just leaning towards Intel because im familiar with it. not sure if I7 8700 is overkill or within budget? but would preferebly like to future-proof my desktop and using it for next 10 years!

[Location] KL
Mainly looking for recommendation on the CPU, Graphics Card, Cooler & Case. Thanks!
How about these?

Core i7-8700 - 1190
Asus Prime H370 PLUS - 510
Crucial 8GB DDR4-2400 X2 - 674 (optional)
Zotac GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 AMP! - 1279
Corsair Spec case - 299
eggplants
post Jun 8 2018, 02:39 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 8 2018, 11:50 AM)
How about these?

Core i7-8700 - 1190
Corsair Spec case - 299
thanks! will start with this and compare to alternatives!
Helldana
post Jun 8 2018, 03:07 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 8 2018, 11:50 AM)
How about these?

Core i7-8700 - 1190
Corsair Spec case - 299
Isn't H370 a bit overkill for locked CPU?
TristanX
post Jun 8 2018, 03:17 PM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(Helldana @ Jun 8 2018, 03:07 PM)
Isn't H370 a bit overkill for locked CPU?
H370 is not an overclock chipset. Just more features.
Helldana
post Jun 8 2018, 03:20 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 8 2018, 03:17 PM)
H370 is not an overclock chipset. Just more features.
Oh I see, I thought H370 could do overclocking.
jiant
post Jun 8 2018, 11:54 PM

1,785 posts

Any comments and suggestions for G4560 system?
I plan to buy it and is it able to fit in my old cooler master centurion 2 casing?
GIGABYTE H110M S2 ULTRA DURABLE or any idea suggestions.
RAM not sure what to buy 2pc 4gb or 1pc 8gb..which brand model is prefer?
Ronin_Amin
post Jun 9 2018, 12:20 AM

490 posts

Hi sifus. Wanted to ask, are ups still necessary for today's pc build? What model is usually recommended?
Helldana
post Jun 9 2018, 01:05 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Jun 9 2018, 12:20 AM)
Hi sifus. Wanted to ask, are ups still necessary for today's pc build? What model is usually recommended?
Not sifu but actually I'm also looking for UPS myself lol
Checked around google and most say that you need UPS if you have "bad" electricity where you get power shortage here and there
Also UPS can at least give you time to shut down your computer (like laptop) so your work/game/whatever can be saved
Kedekut
post Jun 9 2018, 01:10 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(Helldana @ Jun 9 2018, 01:05 AM)
Checked around google and most say that you need UPS if you have "bad" electricity where you get power shortage here and there
Also UPS can at least give you time to shut down your computer (like laptop) so your work/game/whatever can be saved
+1
ssxxcool
post Jun 9 2018, 07:22 AM

174 posts

hi sifu, i want to ask what should i upgrade to from i5 4460 to be paired with my gtx 1070 and 1x 8gb ram

[Budget] RM3000 for cpu, mobo and ram

[Purpose] mainly gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] gtx 1070, cooler master psu 550w, 3 ssd, 1 hdd 1x 8gb ram, acer 144hz 1080p monitor.

[Games & softwares that use frequently] dota2, final fantasy 15, fallout4 & skyrim mod, pubg and fortnite

[Personal preferences] would like a full atx mobo

[Location] KL, ampang (lowyat, dotatech, idealtech, buy parts online, etc)

I'm not sure whether to go with intel or ryzen cpu, 8gb or 16gb ram, and i dont know if my 550w psu is enough to power the upgraded components. need some advice on this.

thank you
Ronin_Amin
post Jun 9 2018, 12:31 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(Helldana @ Jun 9 2018, 01:05 AM)
Do we have bad electricity in msia? Blackouts are less frequent even though can still happen sometime.
Any models you recommend?
Helldana
post Jun 9 2018, 01:48 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Jun 9 2018, 12:31 PM)
Do we have bad electricity in msia? Blackouts are less frequent even though can still happen sometime.
Any models you recommend?
Maybe not the whole of Malaysia but more like depending on your area where blackouts happen frequently or even sometimes areas with low power.
In some situations of terrible weather (heavy thunderstorm) there might be lightning strike and a power surge might happen, this could potentially break your rig. However, this depends on the UPS if it has surge protector or not.
This is where the UPS comes in to help. You get time to shutdown your rig properly.

Not sure about models cause I'm also still looking through the UPS being sold in MY. I know there's a famous brand called APC but that's all I can find in MY so far. sweat.gif
https://shopee.com.my/search/?keyword=apc%2...=0&sortBy=price
ssxxcool
post Jun 9 2018, 02:38 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jun 9 2018, 12:15 PM)
CPU: CORE I7 8700 (6C/12T) RM1210
MOBO: ASUS ROG STRIX H370-F GAMING RM659
RAM: CORSAIR 2666C16 (2X8GB) VENGEANCE CMR RGB RM847

If you're only looking to game, Intel still gives better performance. 8GB is sufficient for most games these days but since you have quite a bit of budget to upgrade, you could get 16GB for more headroom.

Whats the exact model of your PSU? If you have a good PSU, 550w will be enough.
Thanks for the suggestion, my PSU is cooler master g550m.

I don't need RGB, is there any better:

Mobo with more features/cheaper?

16gb ram with higher MHz/cheaper?

Thank you
Helldana
post Jun 9 2018, 06:45 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(ssxxcool @ Jun 9 2018, 02:38 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, my PSU is cooler master g550m.

I don't need RGB, is there any better:

Mobo with more features/cheaper?

16gb ram with higher MHz/cheaper?

Thank you
AS what Kristal said, the H370 is filled with tons of features already for a locked CPU. H370 and B360 motherboards can only support up to 2666Mhz so there's no point for you on getting any higher than that.

If you want more "power", then you'll have to get an unlocked CPU and go with Z370. There you can opt for higher RAM speeds.
However, none of these options are cheaper by any mean, it only gets more expensive.
jiant
post Jun 9 2018, 08:53 PM

1,785 posts

G4560 + mobo + RAM any suggestions? BUDGET AROUND RM 1000.

This post has been edited by jiant: Jun 9 2018, 08:57 PM
toomanyrulez
post Jun 9 2018, 09:37 PM

Oh My Goodness!
1,140 posts

Guys. Just curious. Between i7 8700 and ryzen 7 2700, which is better in terms of:
1, Performance in workstation stuff like Adobe Premiere and others, if I dont plan to OC and want to use stock cooler
2, Total cost overall when we include mobo and stuff
3, Future proof, or upgradability..
Helldana
post Jun 10 2018, 12:25 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jun 9 2018, 09:37 PM)
Guys. Just curious. Between i7 8700 and ryzen 7 2700, which is better in terms of:
1, Performance in workstation stuff like Adobe Premiere and others, if I dont plan to OC and want to use stock cooler
2, Total cost overall when we include mobo and stuff
3, Future proof, or upgradability..
1. Adobe Premiere favors Intel currently due to IGP hardware acceleration (Intel only feature). Refer to the three links below.
(12 mins video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7wOBGmxyBEs
(10 mins video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofdh-THQFpE
(25 mins video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tj6rUdhmIvQ
TLDW; get the 8700 if you're extensively using your rig for rendering on Adobe Premiere.
I'm not too sure about cooling the 8700 with the stock cooler though but since it comes along with the CPU, might as well try it first. If it gets toasty, opt for an air cooling solution or AIO coolers.

2. If you're talking about the price of a complete rig, maybe around RM4000-6000 for a good one? Idk.

3. Well it's a desktop rig, upgradability is always an option. You are future proofing with the newest gen of CPU though, so you're set there.

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jun 10 2018, 12:36 AM
toomanyrulez
post Jun 10 2018, 02:18 PM

Oh My Goodness!
1,140 posts

QUOTE(Helldana @ Jun 10 2018, 12:25 AM)
1. Adobe Premiere favors Intel currently due to IGP hardware acceleration (Intel only feature). Refer to the three links below.
TLDW; get the 8700 if you're extensively using your rig for rendering on Adobe Premiere.
I'm not too sure about cooling the 8700 with the stock cooler though but since it comes along with the CPU, might as well try it first. If it gets toasty, opt for an air cooling solution or AIO coolers.

2. If you're talking about the price of a complete rig, maybe around RM4000-6000 for a good one? Idk.

3. Well it's a desktop rig, upgradability is always an option. You are future proofing with the newest gen of CPU though, so you're set there.
Thanks so much about the info about igpu on intel. Really didn't know that. So now I'm gonna go for Intel cpu for my workstation. I'm gonna tweak here and there for other hardwares.

TristanX
post Jun 10 2018, 02:32 PM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(Helldana @ Jun 10 2018, 12:25 AM)

With Spectre and Meltdown patch, Intel isn't that great anymore. Saw someome complaining about significant performance loss after patch.

(3)Sadly, Intel isn't there. Change of motherboard every year now.
Helldana
post Jun 10 2018, 02:50 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jun 10 2018, 02:18 PM)
Thanks so much about the info about igpu on intel. Really didn't know that. So now I'm gonna go for Intel cpu for my workstation. I'm gonna tweak here and there for other hardwares.
Note that it's purely for the latest versions of Adobe products though (they pushed out a patch for the iGPU fairly recently) since for whatever reason, Adobe seems to side with Intel with these sort of things like photo/video editing.

Here's a link to a thread on Adobe's forum: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2366397
The chart for hardware acceleration between CPUs: https://youtu.be/ofdh-THQFpE?t=555
Though it uses 1700x instead the newer 2700x, performance should be similar between the CPUs.

You can still go the Ryzen route though, you'll only lose a small amount of performance compared to Intel for Adobe Premiere.
If you're multitasking and use other software etc., it's probably still best to go Ryzen.
You might also get a cheaper price building through Ryzen.

Also on another note, we'll never know if Adobe decides to push an update again in the future that might break the hardware acceleration, or in fact somehow Adobe pushes an update that fully utilizes Ryzen CPU and make them up to par with the current Intel line. Hardware/software is always changing.

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 10 2018, 02:32 PM)
With Spectre and Meltdown patch, Intel isn't that great anymore. Saw someome complaining about significant performance loss after patch.

(3)Sadly, Intel isn't there. Change of motherboard every year now.
Yes but for latest versions of Adobe products (mainly Adobe Premiere), the Intel's performance gain from hardware acceleration is higher compared to Ryzen CPUs due to Adobe utilizing Intel's iGPU. This is largely Adobe's fault for only catering to Intel CPUs though, I've seen a quite a few feedback on forums etc. about this.

This post has been edited by Helldana: Jun 10 2018, 03:08 PM

1386 Pages « < 211 212 213 214 215 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:26 PM