1553 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

puchongite
post Feb 14 2017, 02:25 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 14 2017, 02:13 PM)
Thanks! Would this kind of fund any better than if I invest purely in gold account such as from PB, CIMB, Maybank, etc....
Sorry can't advise. I don't have any gold account or gold unit trust.

Have been talking about wanting to invest in it, but months have past, and the fund has gained a few tens of percent, I am still having 0 units of it.
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2017, 02:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 14 2017, 01:48 PM)
Can please recommend which fund that invests in Gold and commodities?
RHB Gold and General Fund, Precious Metal Securities

QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 14 2017, 02:13 PM)
Thanks! Would this kind of fund any better than if I invest purely in gold account such as from PB, CIMB, Maybank, etc....
If want to buy gold better to get from UOB as they have the smallest spread.
Banks spread is too large. Best is buy gold fund as one only need to pay 2% SC.
LazyKurosaki
post Feb 14 2017, 03:11 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Feb 14 2017, 02:03 PM)
The difference is that you could start a fund with RM100 instead of the usual 1k. Then, in a DCA regular investment, it is more 'average' and not too lopsided if the monthly amount is very small, say RM100.

This lopside skew to lower returns would happened if there is an immediate drop after you put in the initial 1000. Then the monthly RM100 fresh purchases will be hard to catch up and skew the returns to a higher effective rate of return.

You will be like, after 3-5 months, thinking: damp this fund no good as it is barely breaking even... if only if I had put it into FD...

And if it happens to be a sharp growth after you dump in the 1k, you would be like very pleased with yourself... thinking why so stingy when I should pump in more!

Your initial plan - 1k, followed by 150-200 every month, is good. Take one fund at a time. You don't have to immediately start off with several funds.

The time to consider to have another fund or a few more funds to 'diversify' the investment is when you have reach about half of your targeted sum of money you want to have.*

Anyway, always keep in mind the objective of the investment. Know what you want to do, make a plan, and stick to the plan.

Repeat: Know what you want to do, make a plan, and stick to the plan.

Don't be like don't know what to do next in the middle of your investment plan, and asking what to do: trim profit or switch to another fund... or whatever that freak you out and cause you to panic...

It is a given fact that equity fund can be volatile, and will be volatile and is expected to be volatile. So no reasons to make any changes to the plan once you started it.

Stick to the plan!

================

* This about half of the targeted total amount of money to have is based on my own opinion. Not based on any stats or numbers or articles read. If you are more conservative and not willing to ride 100% on one fund, then 'diversify' earlier.

Try not to 'diversify' too early, especially when the amount of money invested is relatively small to whatever asset you have outside of UT fund.

Take the risk - and more risk - when you are still young and have the time to do so.
I agreed..im young.and.looking.into growth fund..willing.to.take the risk..thats why im still looking into 2 funds, affin hwang select asia ex jpn quantum.fund and TA global technology fund.. still undecided which to go..
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2017, 03:12 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 14 2017, 03:11 PM)
I agreed..im young.and.looking.into growth fund..willing.to.take the risk..thats why im still looking into 2 funds, affin hwang select asia ex jpn quantum.fund and TA global technology fund.. still undecided which to go..
Pick both.
coolguy99
post Feb 14 2017, 03:16 PM

7,349 posts

hi sifus, i am very new to FSM, i want to know if there is any risk associated with buying funds via FSM? my intention was to buy PRS funds so that i can claim for income tax relief for year 2017 in year 2018. which fund would you recommend? thanks in advance.
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2017, 03:26 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Feb 14 2017, 03:16 PM)
hi sifus, i am very new to FSM, i want to know if there is any risk associated with buying funds via FSM? my intention was to buy PRS funds so that i can claim for income tax relief for year 2017 in year 2018. which fund would you recommend? thanks in advance.
I am not sifu but these are some I can think of my head.
(i) you panic you sell you incur a loss
(ii) you get <=FD rate which means you didn't beat inflation

Which fund? Normal UT or PRS?
coolguy99
post Feb 14 2017, 03:30 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 14 2017, 03:26 PM)
I am not sifu but these are some I can think of my head.
(i) you panic you sell you incur a loss
(ii) you get <=FD rate which means you didn't beat inflation

Which fund? Normal UT or PRS?
im starting off with PRS first. any recommendation?
Ramjade
post Feb 14 2017, 03:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Feb 14 2017, 03:30 PM)
im starting off with PRS first. any recommendation?
Only 3. Depend on what you want.

Cimb PRS asia pacific (feeds into ponzi 2)
Kenanga one PRS (feeds into kenanga growth fund)
Amasia PRS REITS (feeds into Amasia Pacific reits)

coolguy99
post Feb 14 2017, 03:36 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 14 2017, 03:33 PM)
Only 3. Depend on what you want.

Cimb PRS asia pacific (feeds into ponzi 2)
Kenanga one PRS (feeds into kenanga growth fund)
Amasia PRS REITS (feeds into Amasia Pacific reits)
thanks man. i'll look into these funds. any idea why registering with FSM requires EPF account number?
TSAIYH
post Feb 14 2017, 03:45 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Feb 14 2017, 03:36 PM)
thanks man. i'll look into these funds. any idea why registering with FSM requires EPF account number?
thats optional if not mistaken, unless u wanna invest with epf money
Avangelice
post Feb 14 2017, 03:50 PM

5,271 posts

Wow so many new members
skynode
post Feb 14 2017, 03:52 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 14 2017, 12:18 PM)
If you guys really want profit skimming and injecting the said profits back to a fund you can start investing in dividend paying stocks and hold it for a long time, the dividends is then channeled from your bank account and into your unit trust portfolio.

That is what I am doing currently. Leaving my unit trust investment as a long term vehicle (as it should be) whist concentrating on my stock account.
How many years have you practised as a doctor? Do you often hunt extra income through locums?
skynode
post Feb 14 2017, 03:57 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 14 2017, 12:45 PM)
True that. However what if one is doing DCA say RM200/month, wouldn't it be better to channel the RM200 to other less "expensive" funds rather than skimming the profit earlier and then incur SC again to DCA into the said fund? A bit redundant in my view. What would you or others do?
+1 Good idea. Personally I'm not at all informed about stocks and its technicalities as an investment vehicle. Not sure if I have the balls to jump on board. Anyways never too late to learn something new. OT a bit: any suggestions where to learn about stocks for beginners?
https://www.drwealth.com/2014/05/14/analysi...-cnav-strategy/
This seems like a logical strategy though I have yet to try. Anyone been to the talk or had any experience with Conservative Net Asset Value strategy?
drew86
post Feb 14 2017, 04:00 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 14 2017, 01:12 PM)
QUOTE(wodenus @ Feb 14 2017, 01:34 PM)
You don't need balls you just need a lot of money and time. I think there's a stock thread, you can read there and see.. TLDR you have to do your due diligence - visit the company that you are planning to invest in, if they own hotels etc. visit it, stay there for a while to get a feel of how the run things. Read the annual reports, interim reports etc - be very aware that "creative accounting" can be used, so don't rely on that 100%.

And then technicals of course.. the trend and volume. Stuff like P/E and a whole lot of stats that I've already forgotten - price/sales ratio, EPS etc.

Thanks!

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 14 2017, 03:52 PM)
How many years have you practised as a doctor?  Do you often hunt extra income through locums?
You can guess from his age. I believe he owns a clinic so he's either locuming for himself or hiring locums. Anyway why do all these matter?

This post has been edited by drew86: Feb 14 2017, 04:04 PM
skynode
post Feb 14 2017, 04:03 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 14 2017, 04:00 PM)
You can guess from his age. I believe he owns a clinic so he's either locuming for himself or hiring locums. Anyway why does all these matter?
Where's the number?
Coz I am in the same line of work as him. LoL. Just curious how do people earn extra dough from doing this shit nowadays.

This post has been edited by skynode: Feb 14 2017, 04:04 PM
drew86
post Feb 14 2017, 04:06 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 14 2017, 04:03 PM)
Where's the number?
Coz I am in the same line of work as him.  LoL.  Just curious how do people earn extra dough from doing this shit nowadays.
Start preparing your resume and PM Avangelice LOL
j.passing.by
post Feb 14 2017, 04:28 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 14 2017, 03:11 PM)
I don't know both funds... and just by basing the choice on their names. cool2.gif

I'll pick the Asia fund... cause Global tech sounds heavy on USA and tech companies... and all the indices, Dow, S&P, Russell 2000 and Nasdac are at record high at the moment. Apple stock is at all time record high.

If still undecided and don't trust my 'analitycal' pick, then flip a coin. smile.gif

If the investment period is long enough, there may not be much difference between them in the long run... maybe 10-20% difference - which is sap sap sui when the total returns is 300% or more.

Like I would be very, very upset to get only 290% ROI instead of 310%...

==========

"very, very" - 2017's popular phrase.

imnotabot
post Feb 14 2017, 04:34 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 14 2017, 01:55 PM)
i am not an expert in religion..but i think there is some way to atone for it?...perhaps zakat?
I don't think so. tongue.gif
Never mind then. Other than India, is it worth investing in greater china? For example, how about this fund: Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund?
Avangelice
post Feb 14 2017, 04:47 PM

5,271 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 14 2017, 03:52 PM)
How many years have you practised as a doctor?  Do you often hunt extra income through locums?
late night house calls to vips and tan sris and working over time. I learned this trick from one of my tutors. treat one right and he or she will start bringing friends over.

also I am a specialist in orthopedic medicine, everyone has a back pain these days. think about it, look at children these days. wake up super early, sit in class rooms from morning to afternoon, tuition classes from noon to night, no sun, lots of ipads and iPhones going around but not exercising. then they graduate from unis, they slog their entire lives in front of the pc and have erratic sleeping schedules.

sad to say it's going to be a lucrative business because it's better to treat a disc prolapse or total knee replacement rather than treating a terminal cancer patient
shinning91
post Feb 14 2017, 05:07 PM

42 posts

Hi guys, I am still new into this. Just started to learn about unit trust. What would be a good advice for first timer?
I planning to invest 1k first on a fund for at least 6 months and see how it goes. Anything to recommend?

This post has been edited by shinning91: Feb 14 2017, 05:07 PM

1553 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:41 AM