1553 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

drew86
post Feb 14 2017, 12:01 PM

197 posts

Much agreed. From a layman's perspective, I don't think "skimming" profit actually does anything to protect capital or mitigate risk (if only the profit portion is sold). Plus the money will be floating yet again for the entire duration of the switch/buy/sell transactions AND you will have to incur SC once again when buying into another equity (not if intra switch/credit ninja trick is performed).

Furthermore, isn't selling off and buy back when low "timing the market?" Let's not get back into that. If one can do it timely and consistently, good for you! I know I can't..

The only time skimming profit to put in another less performing/greater bullish potential fund, in my opinion is when there is no new capital injection and thus performing rebalancing of the portfolio. Otherwise why not just VCA and avoid the "expensive" fund for the tine being?

Please correct me if I'm having the wrong perception of things here. After all I'm still learning as I'm investing.
TSAIYH
post Feb 14 2017, 12:10 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 14 2017, 12:01 PM)
Much agreed. From a layman's perspective, I don't think "skimming" profit actually does anything to protect capital or mitigate risk (if only the profit portion is sold). Plus the money will be floating yet again for the entire duration of the switch/buy/sell transactions AND you will have to incur SC once again when buying into another equity (not if intra switch/credit ninja trick is performed).

Furthermore, isn't selling off and buy back when low "timing the market?" Let's not get back into that. If one can do it timely and consistently, good for you! I know I can't..

The only time skimming profit to put in another less performing/greater bullish potential fund, in my opinion is when there is no new capital injection and thus performing rebalancing of the portfolio. Otherwise why not just VCA and avoid the "expensive" fund for the tine being?

Please correct me if I'm having the wrong perception of things here. After all I'm still learning as I'm investing.
Different people have different view maybe biggrin.gif

If really want to skim or transfer your money into different funds in different timing to maximize growth opportunity, try to invest in the funds that the fund house has several good equities and bonds arsenal, so that you can intra switch between them in different times of the bull bear cycles smile.gif

Fund houses like Eastspring, Affin Hwang and CIMB are actually good fund houses with free switching smile.gif
Avangelice
post Feb 14 2017, 12:18 PM

5,271 posts

If you guys really want profit skimming and injecting the said profits back to a fund you can start investing in dividend paying stocks and hold it for a long time, the dividends is then channeled from your bank account and into your unit trust portfolio.

That is what I am doing currently. Leaving my unit trust investment as a long term vehicle (as it should be) whist concentrating on my stock account.
drew86
post Feb 14 2017, 12:45 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 14 2017, 12:10 PM)
Different people have different view maybe biggrin.gif

If really want to skim or transfer your money into different funds in different timing to maximize growth opportunity, try to invest in the funds that the fund house has several good equities and bonds arsenal, so that you can intra switch between them in different times of the bull bear cycles smile.gif

Fund houses like Eastspring, Affin Hwang and CIMB are actually good fund houses with free switching smile.gif
True that. However what if one is doing DCA say RM200/month, wouldn't it be better to channel the RM200 to other less "expensive" funds rather than skimming the profit earlier and then incur SC again to DCA into the said fund? A bit redundant in my view. What would you or others do?

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 14 2017, 12:18 PM)
If you guys really want profit skimming and injecting the said profits back to a fund you can start investing in dividend paying stocks and hold it for a long time, the dividends is then channeled from your bank account and into your unit trust portfolio.

That is what I am doing currently. Leaving my unit trust investment as a long term vehicle (as it should be) whist concentrating on my stock account.
+1 Good idea. Personally I'm not at all informed about stocks and its technicalities as an investment vehicle. Not sure if I have the balls to jump on board. Anyways never too late to learn something new. OT a bit: any suggestions where to learn about stocks for beginners?

This post has been edited by drew86: Feb 14 2017, 12:46 PM
Avangelice
post Feb 14 2017, 01:12 PM

5,271 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 14 2017, 12:45 PM)
True that. However what if one is doing DCA say RM200/month, wouldn't it be better to channel the RM200 to other less "expensive" funds rather than skimming the profit earlier and then incur SC again to DCA into the said fund? A bit redundant in my view. What would you or others do?
+1 Good idea. Personally I'm not at all informed about stocks and its technicalities as an investment vehicle. Not sure if I have the balls to jump on board. Anyways never too late to learn something new. OT a bit: any suggestions where to learn about stocks for beginners?
ask and you shall receive.

https://kclau.com/investment/how-to-trade-s...nvesting-basic/
fjoru103
post Feb 14 2017, 01:23 PM

645 posts

HI Sifus,

Its been a while I use fundsupermart, generally i just put there and never look at it
Current holding

Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund 50% of the capital
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR 25% of the capital
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund 25% of the capital

My invested capital little, plan to up a little, any suggestion sifus?
Or should i top up the Affin Hwang quantum fund?

T231H
post Feb 14 2017, 01:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Feb 14 2017, 01:23 PM)
HI Sifus,

Its been a while I use fundsupermart, generally i just put there and never look at it
Current holding

Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund              50% of the capital
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR      25% of the capital
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund                                      25% of the capital

My invested capital little, plan to up a little, any suggestion sifus?
Or should i top up the Affin Hwang quantum fund?
quick general summary view is that you have
75% in Asia Pac
8% in US
8% in Japan
8% in Europe.

you wanna top up Asia pac again?

try consider some % in Gold, commodities, India and Technology?
wodenus
post Feb 14 2017, 01:34 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 14 2017, 12:45 PM)
You don't need balls you just need a lot of money and time. I think there's a stock thread, you can read there and see.. TLDR you have to do your due diligence - visit the company that you are planning to invest in, if they own hotels etc. visit it, stay there for a while to get a feel of how they run things. Read the annual reports, interim reports etc - be very aware that "creative accounting" can be used, so don't rely on that 100%.

And then technicals of course.. the trend and volume. Stuff like P/E and a whole lot of stats that I've already forgotten - price/sales ratio, EPS etc.

Ask people you know, your friends and family, what they think of the company and the things they do. Find out as much as you can about the management, listen to the way they talk - you can get a lot of clues from the way they talk, the clothes they wear, the way they sit, the way they treat other people etc.

Above all.. read. A lot. Read all the local major news websites every day. Search google for references to the companies that you are planning to invest in. Keep asking why.. why is the P/E so low (or high?) why is the turnover so high, but there's hardly any profit?

Conduct a SWOT analysis.. what are their SWOTs and how do they plan to mitigate/take advantage of them?

http://ctb.ku.edu/en/table-of-contents/ass...t-analysis/main

Do this every day.

Sometimes bad things happen, and the market overreacts. The market pretty much always overreacts to things - for instance the Komugi rat issue. You can see everyone (including me) thinking that they won't be affected by this.. but sooner or later people always overreact, as you can see in IGBREIT early November. So there's lesson #1 in value investing - people always overreact to bad news.

Case #2 - September 11, 2001 - http://www.investopedia.com/financial-edge...ock-market.aspx

This is a good time to top up. You will need to be very fast when it happens.

On the first day of NYSE trading after 9/11, the market fell 684 points, a 7.1% decline, setting a record for the biggest loss in exchange history for one trading day.

Be aware of thin volume. If you offer to buy/sell in large volume in a thinly traded counter, you might cause a price spike/crash. You might end up in a pretty bad position financially, after it's all matched. Also, depending on the exchange, trading on the counter may be halted and you may be investigated.

Do all that every day, for a few hundred counters and maybe you can beat a good mutual fund long term, if you don't end up in a bad position due to undiagnosed age-related dementia, or parkinson's or alzheimer's or whatever.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Feb 15 2017, 11:28 AM
imnotabot
post Feb 14 2017, 01:39 PM

531 posts

My current holdings (only Shariah-approved funds):

- Aberdeen World Equity Fund: 38%
- CIMB Islamic Asia Pacific ex Japan Fund: 20%
- PMB Shariah Aggressive Fund: 4%
- RHB Islamic Bond Fund: 38%

Any comments or advice on where I should invest next? smile.gif
MUM
post Feb 14 2017, 01:46 PM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Feb 14 2017, 01:39 PM)
My current holdings (only Shariah-approved funds):

- Aberdeen World Equity Fund: 38%
- CIMB Islamic Asia Pacific ex Japan Fund: 20%
- PMB Shariah Aggressive Fund: 4%
- RHB Islamic Bond Fund: 38%

Any comments or advice on where I should invest next? smile.gif
perhaps..India?
frankzane
post Feb 14 2017, 01:48 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 14 2017, 01:27 PM)
quick general summary view is that you have
75% in Asia Pac
8% in US
8% in Japan
8% in Europe.

you wanna top up Asia pac again?

try consider some % in Gold, commodities, India and Technology?
Can please recommend which fund that invests in Gold and commodities?
T231H
post Feb 14 2017, 01:51 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 14 2017, 01:48 PM)
try use the FSM fund selector tool?
btw, i don't like those fund...my heart cannot take it.
imnotabot
post Feb 14 2017, 01:52 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 14 2017, 01:46 PM)
perhaps..India?
I just checked, I don't think there's any India funds that are Shariah-compliant on FSM. sad.gif
MUM
post Feb 14 2017, 01:55 PM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Feb 14 2017, 01:52 PM)
I just checked, I don't think there's any India funds that are Shariah-compliant on FSM. sad.gif
i am not an expert in religion..but i think there is some way to atone for it?...perhaps zakat?
puchongite
post Feb 14 2017, 01:59 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 14 2017, 01:48 PM)
Try to search on RHB Gold and General Fund. I believe it is one of the best. Top performer, last month 20% gain, one year 88% gain. LOL.
j.passing.by
post Feb 14 2017, 02:03 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 13 2017, 06:55 PM)
I planning to put my.first 1k saving into affin hwang select asia ex jpn quantum fund / TA Global Technology fund..subsequently I will add in rm 150-200 every month while continue to save money until enuf money den buy into diff fund..will it be a good choice? Just started working..not much spare to invest
QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 13 2017, 08:01 PM)
Thanks but I dont.get what is RSP..issit we pay every month den FSM will use our money and invest in diff diff funds ?
The difference is that you could start a fund with RM100 instead of the usual 1k. Then, in a DCA regular investment, it is more 'average' and not too lopsided if the monthly amount is very small, say RM100.

This lopside skew to lower returns would happened if there is an immediate drop after you put in the initial 1000. Then the monthly RM100 fresh purchases will be hard to catch up and skew the returns to a higher effective rate of return.

You will be like, after 3-5 months, thinking: damp this fund no good as it is barely breaking even... if only if I had put it into FD...

And if it happens to be a sharp growth after you dump in the 1k, you would be like very pleased with yourself... thinking why so stingy when I should pump in more!

Your initial plan - 1k, followed by 150-200 every month, is good. Take one fund at a time. You don't have to immediately start off with several funds.

The time to consider to have another fund or a few more funds to 'diversify' the investment is when you have reach about half of your targeted sum of money you want to have.*

Anyway, always keep in mind the objective of the investment. Know what you want to do, make a plan, and stick to the plan.

Repeat: Know what you want to do, make a plan, and stick to the plan.

Don't be like don't know what to do next in the middle of your investment plan, and asking what to do: trim profit or switch to another fund... or whatever that freak you out and cause you to panic...

It is a given fact that equity fund can be volatile, and will be volatile and is expected to be volatile. So no reasons to make any changes to the plan once you started it.

Stick to the plan!

================

* This about half of the targeted total amount of money to have is based on my own opinion. Not based on any stats or numbers or articles read. If you are more conservative and not willing to ride 100% on one fund, then 'diversify' earlier.

Try not to 'diversify' too early, especially when the amount of money invested is relatively small to whatever asset you have outside of UT fund.

Take the risk - and more risk - when you are still young and have the time to do so.

SUSDavid83
post Feb 14 2017, 02:06 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 14 2017, 01:59 PM)
Try to search on RHB Gold and General Fund. I believe it is one of the best. Top performer, last month 20% gain, one year 88% gain. LOL.
When gold price tumbles and some reported loss of nearly 50% in this fund, the cursing started aloud.
Now this fund has turned into a blessing?
A little sarcastic perhaps!
frankzane
post Feb 14 2017, 02:13 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 14 2017, 01:59 PM)
Thanks! Would this kind of fund any better than if I invest purely in gold account such as from PB, CIMB, Maybank, etc....
puchongite
post Feb 14 2017, 02:14 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 14 2017, 02:06 PM)
When gold price tumbles and some reported loss of nearly 50% in this fund, the cursing started aloud.
That will be expected. High risk means can win big also can lose big.
vincabby
post Feb 14 2017, 02:24 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 14 2017, 02:06 PM)
up and down is part of life in market. rhb smart treasure had his great year, then was shit after. rhb gold same la. always go for fundamentals, not what people is shouting.

1553 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:10 PM