FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Dec 15 2021, 01:11 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 14 2021, 06:33 PM)
And also for CPF funds. Maybe to Msian EPF,PRS don't mean much but to us Sporean it meant A LOT Reason being at age 55 we cannot withdraw all so we need to make sure we let our CPF make the most profits as much as possible with the least fees in this case for FSM Spore it is 0% platform fees.

This is why for Sporean investing we treat the difference very big. CPF investment and cash investment. This big difference is also reflected in the funds that are for sale. Fund ABC only cash. Same fund ABC (CPF) purely for CPF. The fund house actually understand the needs and purposely create two separate but actually same fund to lure more investors. The CPF version has lower expense ratio in order to fulfill the requirement in order for it to take investor CPF monies.

Maybe this is Msia forum so many investors don't see the diff but back in Spore forum this CPF vs cash investment is hot debate! A lot of times got new investment instruments we Sporean will ask can use CPF or not as first question.
Kindly go read assi blog. He have write a so many good articles on cpf. If you are Singaporean, I am sure you heard of him.
sgh
post Dec 15 2021, 10:23 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 15 2021, 01:11 AM)
Kindly go read assi blog. He have write a so many good articles on cpf. If you are Singaporean, I am sure you heard of him.
I used to read FSM Spore Wong Sui Jau fund articles from year 2000 onwards. Now he has setup his own company and become his own company CEO, semi-retired. As for assi blog he/she is talking about investment in general not specifically targeting CPF investment. REIT stocks, funds etc all are in the blog. So what he has mentioned I have done like REIT,funds,stocks (although I lose monies on stocks investing due to my contra and short last time).

For his articles specifically on CPF investing sorry I do not agree. He fall into the trap of most ppl let it park inside to earn 2.5% and 4%. I think I have uploaded a screenshot of my cpf investment before and it does outperform that 2.5% govt is giving. Think about it, govt cannot be giving you 2.5% out of nowhere they need to invest get profits to give you correct? So why let govt take your monies (yes CPF monies is our own under govt care) and invest earn profits and give you back that miserable 2.5%?

I understand a lot of kopitiam uncles,aunties dunno yes they park inside play safe. For those slightly savvy it doesn't hurt to invest DIY with your own monies instead of let govt invest. Furthermore govt impose a limit of 20k, 40k which cannot be taken out for investment so you already have a protection layer.

Sorry I can go on more but since this is FSM Msia I will leave it as it is. Sorry for diverting topic. Will toggle back to FSM in next post.

PS The killing point is Msia EPF can withdraw all at age 55 while Spore CPF cannot. This is enough to drive Sporean crazy to look and maximize their CPF monies beyond that miserable 2.5 and 4%
frankzane
post Dec 15 2021, 01:45 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 14 2021, 06:26 PM)
so i guess the current only plus point on FSMone is only the $100 initial investment features
Does FSM Malaysia has $100 initial investment fund? hmm.gif
SUSyklooi
post Dec 15 2021, 01:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 15 2021, 01:45 PM)
Does FSM Malaysia has $100 initial investment fund? hmm.gif
YES, it does .......
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/fund-selector

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 15 2021, 01:49 PM
frankzane
post Dec 15 2021, 01:52 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 15 2021, 01:48 PM)
Oh thanks. Didn't know that! notworthy.gif
tadashi987
post Dec 16 2021, 12:34 AM

2,106 posts

Received this mail from phillipmutual, for our gauge on the impact of proposed Finance Bill 2021 to Investors investing in their Money Market Fund (MMF)

DESCLAIMER: I do not know if the rule explained in the mail applied to other/all MMF or any other fund type beside MMF

WhitE LighteR
post Dec 16 2021, 08:17 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Dec 16 2021, 12:34 AM)
Received this mail from phillipmutual, for our gauge on the impact of proposed Finance Bill 2021 to Investors investing in their Money Market Fund (MMF)

DESCLAIMER: I do not know if the rule explained in the mail applied to other/all MMF or any other fund type beside MMF

non individual means registered as company account?
tadashi987
post Dec 16 2021, 09:38 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 16 2021, 08:17 AM)
non individual means registered as company account?
yep corporate/company account i reckon
frankzane
post Dec 17 2021, 02:20 PM

664 posts

Hi, I believed these had been discussed before but couldn't find the thread:

1. Are dividend we received from ETFs (foreign or local) taxable?
2. How can we tell a fund is a feeder fund?
3. What is the advantage of MYR-hedged fund compared to non-hedged if Malaysian currency is always weaker than US currency?

MUM
post Dec 17 2021, 04:18 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 17 2021, 02:20 PM)
Hi, I believed these had been discussed before but couldn't find the thread:

1. Are dividend we received from ETFs (foreign or local) taxable?
2. How can we tell a fund is a feeder fund?
3. What is the advantage of MYR-hedged fund compared to non-hedged if Malaysian currency is always weaker than US currency?

googled and found these,...hope they can provides you with some info while you wait for responses.

1: Do my dividends of US-listed securities get taxed?
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115010107948-d...ends-get-taxed/

2: should be stated in the factsheet or product highlight sheet or prospectus

3: Currency Risk – Take It Or Hedge It?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...ge-it-22-apr-16

cpng75
post Dec 18 2021, 04:06 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 10 2021, 08:25 PM)
you mean the plug pull for the would be IPO listing in HK & Shanghai on Nov 2020?
Rebound a bit then lower again.
frankzane
post Dec 20 2021, 01:36 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 17 2021, 04:18 PM)
googled and found these,...hope they can provides you with some info while you wait for responses.

1: Do my dividends of US-listed securities get taxed?
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115010107948-d...ends-get-taxed/

2: should be stated in the factsheet or product highlight sheet or prospectus

3: Currency Risk – Take It Or Hedge It?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...ge-it-22-apr-16
Thanks!

For No. 1, my concern is actually being tax by LHDN. hmm.gif Or does it works like mutual fund where all dividends are already being tax?
MUM
post Dec 20 2021, 01:46 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 20 2021, 01:36 PM)
Thanks!

For No. 1, my concern is actually being tax by LHDN. hmm.gif Or does it works like mutual fund where all dividends are already being tax?
My guess,....
If you invest thru local platforms,... The I think the platform would do the deduction first before giving you the net.
Buy if you invest outside of Malaysia,.. Then the income from dividend if you remit it back to Malaysia, then you will hv to tell lhdn
Fledgeling
post Dec 20 2021, 08:36 PM

124 posts

Noob question:
I'm interested in buying US ETF. I noticed that there are some on Bursa Malaysia like this one: https://www.bursamarketplace.com/mkt/themar...#companyprofile

However, I also noticed that FSM mentioned for ETFs trading on NYSE, the trading hours are at night 10.30pm onwards.

So for the Bursa ETF, does it mean that it would be delayed by 1 day since Bursa works KL hours? If I want real-time prices, I should pick the NYSE ETF? Please enlighten me.

tadashi987
post Dec 20 2021, 08:58 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Fledgeling @ Dec 20 2021, 08:36 PM)
Noob question:
I'm interested in buying US ETF. I noticed that there are some on Bursa Malaysia like this one: https://www.bursamarketplace.com/mkt/themar...#companyprofile

However, I also noticed that FSM mentioned for ETFs trading on NYSE, the trading hours are at night 10.30pm onwards.

So for the Bursa ETF, does it mean that it would be delayed by 1 day since Bursa works KL hours? If I want real-time prices, I should pick the NYSE ETF? Please enlighten me.
Bursa Market ETF is real time as well, it is just that the price fluctuation is based on the trading in the trading hours of Bursa Malaysia
(which mostly the price up or down is gonna follow yesterday US market)

Majority recommends to invest straight in US Market's ETF e.g. NYSE instead of Malaysia Market due to the low liquidity and volume of Malaysia ETF.
Having said that, FSM transaction fee for US Market is not cheap thou, USD8.80 per trade, so you might want to consider invest in bigger volume so to reduce the cost

This post has been edited by tadashi987: Dec 20 2021, 08:58 PM
Fledgeling
post Dec 20 2021, 10:42 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Dec 20 2021, 08:58 PM)
Bursa Market ETF is real time as well, it is just that the price fluctuation is based on the trading in the trading hours of Bursa Malaysia
(which mostly the price up or down is gonna follow yesterday US market)

Majority recommends to invest straight in US Market's ETF e.g. NYSE instead of Malaysia Market due to the low liquidity and volume of Malaysia ETF.
Having said that, FSM transaction fee for US Market is not cheap thou, USD8.80 per trade, so you might want to consider invest in bigger volume so to reduce the cost
Thanks so much Memer. I really appreciate you giving some tips for me to understand better.
Fledgeling
post Dec 20 2021, 11:24 PM

124 posts

Follow-up question:
Currently Dow Jones has dropped
https://www.investors.com/market-trend/stoc...ck-set-to-fall/

If I buy a US EFT on Bursa Malaysia tomorrow morning, will I get the price as of 20 Dec or will I get the future price on 21 Dec?
tadashi987
post Dec 21 2021, 12:06 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Fledgeling @ Dec 20 2021, 11:24 PM)
Follow-up question:

If I buy a US EFT on Bursa Malaysia tomorrow morning, will I get the price as of 20 Dec or will I get the future price on 21 Dec?
I will try explain base on my understanding, anyone is welcome to correct me if I am wrong.

ETF price is traded during the trading hours in the exchange/market where it is listed.
so the question of: how is the price of the ETF being considered?

it is straightforward, it depends on trading of market sentiment - willing sell, willing buy.

back to your question, right now (Malaysia Time 20 Dec 11:59pm), Dow Hone falling, so logically, tomorrow investor who hold US EFT on Bursa Malaysia tomorrow, they will tend to sell in lower price per se, AND if there is willing buyer, trade is matched, so that ETF price drops.

but of course it is not always the case, due to the lag time, there could be case that -> right now (Malaysia Time 20 Dec 11:59pm), Dow Hone falling, but tomorrow pre-market, there are certain factors, said US announce no more drama with China, US announced some good news, which definitely people looking good at tomorrow US market, they wont sell off the US ETF listed in Bursa market despite today price falling.

To go even more extreme, said US market has consecutively drop for whole weeks, but US ETF's price in Bursa market doesn't move at all, perchance there is no matched trade at all, due to low volume (holder don't sell, or buyer don't want to buy)

you need to understand ETF price/ stock price is based on sentiment, the price is always based on the market sentiment which investor willing to sell/buy.

This post has been edited by tadashi987: Dec 21 2021, 12:10 AM
adele123
post Dec 21 2021, 12:30 AM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(Fledgeling @ Dec 20 2021, 11:24 PM)
Follow-up question:

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Dec 21 2021, 12:06 AM)
I will try explain base on my understanding, anyone is welcome to correct me if I am wrong.

ETF price is traded during the trading hours in the exchange/market where it is listed.
so the question of: how is the price of the ETF being considered?

it is straightforward, it depends on trading of market sentiment - willing sell, willing buy.

back to your question, right now (Malaysia Time 20 Dec 11:59pm), Dow Hone falling, so logically, tomorrow investor who hold US EFT on Bursa Malaysia tomorrow, they will tend to sell in lower price per se, AND if there is willing buyer, trade is matched, so that ETF price drops.

but of course it is not always the case, due to the lag time, there could be case that -> right now (Malaysia Time 20 Dec 11:59pm), Dow Hone falling, but tomorrow pre-market, there are certain factors, said US announce no more drama with China, US announced some good news, which definitely people looking good at tomorrow US market, they wont sell off the US ETF listed in Bursa market despite today price falling.

To go even more extreme, said US market has consecutively drop for whole weeks, but US ETF's price in Bursa market doesn't move at all, perchance there is no matched trade at all, due to low volume (holder don't sell, or buyer don't want to buy)

you need to understand ETF price/ stock price is based on sentiment, the price is always based on the market sentiment which investor willing to sell/buy.
Not quite correct for the description of ETF.

You forgot that the ppl who managed the ETF can sell new units or buy from existing unit holders, so aside from purely willing buying/selling, there is market maker. At a minimum you can buy/sell from market maker. This is also why it has somewhat hogh liquidity.

Using the ETF listed on our bursa from affin hwang, the trade plus series, all of them will have affin hwang as market maker.
frankzane
post Dec 21 2021, 09:37 AM

664 posts

Hi Sifus,

Is it true that funds derived from 'true' investment company like eg Kenanga, Aberdeen are more profitable compared to funds from banks, eg. Maybank, Public Bank.

Please correct if I'm wrong.

1553 Pages « < 1462 1463 1464 1465 1466 > » Top

0.1626sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:03 AM