QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 08:42 PM)
Just invest in one fund ponzi 2.0 also can get that return for 5 years. No need to do any reading.FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
Feb 12 2017, 09:01 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
33,590 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Feb 12 2017, 09:01 PM
1,166 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 08:53 PM) Xuzen did say dividend suppose to down but unlike UT where the NAV will drop, in share the stock can increase. And what will the reason be?If on ex dividend date, which the share price suppose to drop by the amount of dividend declare, but the day itself, the share price rice, then it will see like the share price did not drop by the dividend amount proportionately. If that's the case, then mutual funds will have the same situation no? Or they have different tax treatment between stocks or mutual funds? or something else? QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 08:53 PM) But some company do declare dividend even they have they have negative earning for the year, if they use their previous years earning to pay for the dividend.Same for mutual funds no? |
Feb 12 2017, 09:08 PM
1,055 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 12 2017, 08:22 PM) I am currently managing it. so here's a snapshot of her portfolio. Need to tone down the risk or she already threatened to cut me d**k off. Good. Should be a safe portfolio.Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund 50% Ponzi 2.0 25% East Spring Emerging market 25% Actually I have the following in mind : 1. Esther bond - 40% 2. Ponzi 2.0 (Apac ex Jpn) - 20% 3. Ponzi 1.0 (ASEAN Small Cap) - 15% 4. AIF (Apac balanced) - 15% 5. East spring GEM (Emerging Market) - 10% Target 8% return pa.....any comments please ? |
Feb 12 2017, 09:12 PM
24,333 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
AIYH I think it's about demand, then you key in wrong value (higher price) so people willingly sell you their part.
QUOTE(David3700 @ Feb 12 2017, 09:08 PM) Good. Should be a safe portfolio. If you are having AIF, no need for Ponzi 2, Ponzi 1Actually I have the following in mind : 1. Esther bond - 40% 2. Ponzi 2.0 (Apac ex Jpn) - 20% 3. Ponzi 1.0 (ASEAN Small Cap) - 15% 4. AIF (Apac balanced) - 15% 5. East spring GEM (Emerging Market) - 10% Target 8% return pa.....any comments please ? Where's your developed market? This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 12 2017, 09:15 PM |
Feb 12 2017, 09:21 PM
5,271 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(David3700 @ Feb 12 2017, 09:08 PM) Good. Should be a safe portfolio. if you are managing your wives portfolio I would suggest you have a 20 minute talk like what I did with mine. you need to get her to have a rough understand what is her risk appetite. Actually I have the following in mind : 1. Esther bond - 40% 2. Ponzi 2.0 (Apac ex Jpn) - 20% 3. Ponzi 1.0 (ASEAN Small Cap) - 15% 4. AIF (Apac balanced) - 15% 5. East spring GEM (Emerging Market) - 10% Target 8% return pa.....any comments please ? if she has a very play safe personality, I would suggest you take up Esther bond 40% Rhb AIF 20% Am Asia REITs 10% rhb emerging market bond 20% global Titan 10% |
Feb 12 2017, 09:25 PM
Avangelice, here you go. India will be taking another hit.http://www.thestar.com.my/news/world/2017/...indias-kashmir/
Feb 12 2017, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 09:25 PM) Avangelice, here you go. India will be taking another hit.http://www.thestar.com.my/news/world/2017/...indias-kashmir/ thank you again for this brother. I'll make sure I check the fund every forth nightly instead of mostly. don't wanna have a cardiac arrest when I find my 15% dwindled to 4% if a full scale war happens. |
Feb 12 2017, 09:27 PM
1,055 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 09:12 PM) AIYH I think it's about demand, then you key in wrong value (higher price) so people willingly sell you their part. I am betting on asia pac If you are having AIF, no need for Ponzi 2, Ponzi 1 Where's your developed market? Considering changing AIF to Global titan... This post has been edited by David3700: Feb 12 2017, 09:30 PM |
Feb 12 2017, 09:33 PM
33,590 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 09:25 PM) Avangelice, here you go. India will be taking another hit.http://www.thestar.com.my/news/world/2017/...indias-kashmir/ Based on past similar cases, when is the best time to top up ? And how long the dip will be ? |
Feb 12 2017, 09:38 PM
Feb 12 2017, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 12 2017, 09:33 PM) QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 09:38 PM) the September small conflict caused a 2 to 3% dip (if my memory serves me right) that lasted over a weekend and boiled over to the following week. soon after it picked up. Ramjade was the one who notified me and I think it was a Thursday which is NAV update day most of the time. |
Feb 12 2017, 09:50 PM
5,143 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 12 2017, 09:21 PM) if you are managing your wives portfolio I would suggest you have a 20 minute talk like what I did with mine. you need to get her to have a rough understand what is her risk appetite. may I add on................. when there is a first chance, let her know when the mkts corrected/dips.....show her how much was "lost" ask her how she felt, see her emotion. let her know when the mkts on bull run (like recently) ask her how she felt, see her emotion. let her know, volatility is always there, what she made during the bull may disappeared soon too....if she cannot take it or shows adverse emotions till it affects the family atmosphere ....then just take the money out. |
Feb 12 2017, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 12 2017, 09:50 PM) may I add on.... that helps. I'll be sure to inform her of that but she already said if any lost I need to top up. lol so better just keep quiet hahahawhen there is a first chance, let her know when the mkts corrected/dips.....show her how much was "lost" ask her how she felt, see her emotion. let her know when the mkts on bull run (like recently) ask her how she felt, see her emotion. let her know, volatility is always there, what she made during the bull may disappeared soon too....if she cannot take it or shows adverse emotions till it affects the family atmosphere ....then just take the money out. |
Feb 12 2017, 09:58 PM
4,436 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 12 2017, 07:55 PM) Dividend Magic just wanna send you a shout out by saying how much I appreciate the hard work you put into your blog. Because of you and your blog I took the initiative to venture into stocks and stand on my principles not to chase returns but to invest long term. We are the same age and I must admit I wasted my youth chasing love and wasting money where I should have started off investing. This saddens me but at the same time I am now having a goal in my life. MYR 1000 at a time to hit my myr 100k mark by the time I hit 30 years old. then from there 200k then 300k. If you find the days like nobody appreciates your work just know that you have helped many silent readers like me. I owe you and XuzenĀ a debt of gratitude But many many thanks on your vote of confidence! This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 12 2017, 10:12 PM |
Feb 12 2017, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 08:53 PM) Xuzen did say dividend suppose to down but unlike UT where the NAV will drop, in share the stock can increase. Dividend is given out from the company income. Decrease income = lower/no dividend. Both UTF NAV & Stock price do increase ex-dividend date, not just stock price alone. However, if one wants to really be nitpicking or hair splitting (hint hint Dasecret), dividend from stock is taken from the profit and not capital. If capital is used, then the term used should technically be called capital repayment, not called dividend. P/s waiting for auntie Dasecret to come and correct me or to give her dua sen worth of professional advise. For the uninitiated, auntie Dasecret is a chartered accountant On the other hand, distribution (UTF's jargon eqv to dividend for stock), can be taken from both income and capital. Xuzen This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 12 2017, 10:17 PM |
Feb 12 2017, 10:10 PM
376 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 12 2017, 08:34 PM) Dividend Magic I do see you preach for dividend income investing as the principle of long term investment to generate income But, to my understanding, when a company declare dividend, its' share price fell, and if we did not reinvest the dividend, our capital in investment actually shrink. But if we reinvest the dividend back into it, then it makes minimal difference to those stocks which do not declare dividend, instead they spend their earning into capital growth (provided both non-dividend paying and dividend paying stock have the same capital gain percentage) Then what is the fundamental difference in focusing in dividend stocks vs growth stocks when we reinvest the dividend, it will be the same as growth stock which didn't declare dividend? p/s: asking this is because, whenever people understand about mutual funds, some companies focus on the distribution numbers and pay big dividend even though the fund is negatively performing (is it similar to companies who declare dividend even though they have negative earning for the year, but use previous years earning to pay). I believe that the distribution=performing misconception comes from their understanding from stocks investing when they think, it applies to stock, it applies to mutual funds as well, since, from what I understand, mutual funds distribution is meaningless and a marketing tactic to push down unit price QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 12 2017, 09:01 PM) And what will the reason be? It's kinda confusing for me but I think I get the gist of what you're trying to say. You're focused on the period of time when dividends are declared.. How about the other times, stock price will fluctuate. If on ex dividend date, which the share price suppose to drop by the amount of dividend declare, but the day itself, the share price rice, then it will see like the share price did not drop by the dividend amount proportionately. If that's the case, then mutual funds will have the same situation no? Or they have different tax treatment between stocks or mutual funds? or something else? But some company do declare dividend even they have they have negative earning for the year, if they use their previous years earning to pay for the dividend. Same for mutual funds no? Whether or not a stock price will increase or decrease after a dividend is declared depends on the dividend declared. If the market expects a 3% yield from the stock, but it declared a higher dividend, of course the price will reflect the increase in dividends. Bear in mind this is just a very simple example. Basically, no one profits from timing for ex date etc.. the market will have already accounted for that. What I'm chasing for is the dividend growth in stocks. I'm holding stocks for the long term so actual capital gains is rare for me. I'm in it for the passive income (dividends) to help eventually pay for my lifestyle. If you're chasing capital gains, you'll actually have to realize and sell your shares to pay for your expenses. Hope I'm making it understandable As for the negative earning thing.. Mutual funds if they have negative cash flow, the only way they can declare dividends for you guys is to sell of their holdings. Or eat into their retained earnings I guess. Correct me if I'm wrong sifus. |
Feb 12 2017, 10:12 PM
376 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Feb 12 2017, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 12 2017, 09:01 PM) We all are in this journey called Road to financial freedom or some called it Road to Comfortable Retirement. Some like to drive their own cars because they simply love to drive (DIY Stock investment) Some like to kick back relax and let someone else drive them in a chaffeured limosine to their destination in comfort. (Private Banker or Bank RM or Licensed Financial Planner) Some like to save money and and take a public bus or KTM Komuter to their destination. (DIY UTF low cost platform like FSM). Macam-macam ada... lu suka yang mana satu? Xuzen This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 12 2017, 10:34 PM |
Feb 12 2017, 10:34 PM
1,166 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ Feb 12 2017, 10:10 PM) It's kinda confusing for me but I think I get the gist of what you're trying to say. You're focused on the period of time when dividends are declared.. How about the other times, stock price will fluctuate. Prehaps I am not good in expressing myself, so I will try to make a simplistic example to express my question:Whether or not a stock price will increase or decrease after a dividend is declared depends on the dividend declared. If the market expects a 3% yield from the stock, but it declared a higher dividend, of course the price will reflect the increase in dividends. Bear in mind this is just a very simple example. Basically, no one profits from timing for ex date etc.. the market will have already accounted for that. What I'm chasing for is the dividend growth in stocks. I'm holding stocks for the long term so actual capital gains is rare for me. I'm in it for the passive income (dividends) to help eventually pay for my lifestyle. If you're chasing capital gains, you'll actually have to realize and sell your shares to pay for your expenses. Hope I'm making it understandable As for the negative earning thing.. Mutual funds if they have negative cash flow, the only way they can declare dividends for you guys is to sell of their holdings. Or eat into their retained earnings I guess. Correct me if I'm wrong sifus. Say we have 2k to invest, 1k in stock A and 1k in stock B Say Stock A is a dividend stock where they declare yearly dividend of 3%, and annual capital growth 10% Say Stock B is a growth stock and also annual capital growth 10% Assumed both have share price @ RM2 at the time you invest both at the same time If after one year, your value in stock A grow to RM 1100 and declare dividend, if you did not reinvest the dividend, you will have RM33 dividend received and your capital is left with same 500 shares @ RM 2.134 value RM 1067 Suppose you reinvest the dividend into it @ RM 2.134 and received 15.46 shares, you will have 515.46 shares @ RM 2.134 value RM 1100 Stock B, without dividend declare, enjoy yearly 10% capital growth every year, so 1st year will grow to rm 1100 as well Assume each year is having the same trend for simplistic purpose, wouldnt both stock have the same capital growth value if you opt for dividend reinvestment? Unless as you said, you take the dividend declare for living purpose, but if you did not reinvest the dividend, wouldnt your capital in the stock decrease every year after the dividend declared? And assume the dividend yield and capital growth remain the same, wouldnt your dividend received become less and less after each year? Unless I am confusing myself in something else, I am trying to understand more Because if one opt for dividend reinvestment, I cannot see the difference between dividend stock and growth stock in performance wise if they enjoy the same capital growth (unless what set them apart by their difference in fundamental that will caused them to grow differently? |
Feb 12 2017, 10:38 PM
144 posts Joined: Aug 2012 From: Konohagakure |
Dear sifus,
How do you analyze which fund to invest in? (So many variables.....) sorry if stupid question, I have read and reread the FSM tutorial many times but each time got more question marks... |
| Change to: | 0.0175sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:21 PM |