1554 Pages « < 510 511 512 513 514 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

ben3003
post Nov 23 2017, 01:12 PM

10,859 posts

china fund please look at HK china listed index HSCEI
Jitty
post Nov 23 2017, 01:53 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 23 2017, 01:12 PM)
Thanks ben3003 and i1899!!! 😄
kenny79
post Nov 23 2017, 02:02 PM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 23 2017, 01:12 PM)
If based on Asia...?
thesnake
post Nov 23 2017, 02:07 PM

613 posts

what happened to RHB Emerging market bond fund? bleeding these past 2 weeks
frankzane
post Nov 23 2017, 02:09 PM

664 posts

Noob question here, platform fee deducted from our CMF is in ringgit form right?
gu~wak_zhai
post Nov 23 2017, 02:16 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Nov 23 2017, 02:07 PM)
what happened to RHB Emerging market bond fund? bleeding these past 2 weeks
election risk?
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ket-local-bonds

https://www.wsj.com/articles/junk-bond-outf...loff-1510913580
sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by gu~wak_zhai: Nov 23 2017, 02:17 PM
funnyface
post Nov 23 2017, 02:27 PM

696 posts

Honestly i dont know why so many of you want to follow Xuzen Crystal ball bulat-bulat rclxub.gif

RHB EMB was never a good performer for global emerging market (dont shoot me sifus >_< )

Avangelice
post Nov 23 2017, 02:34 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Nov 23 2017, 02:27 PM)
Honestly i dont know why so many of you want to follow Xuzen Crystal ball bulat-bulat  rclxub.gif

RHB EMB was never a good performer for global emerging market (dont shoot me sifus >_< )

I think he added it in because of its weak correlation to other funds.

Personally if you kept to 10% of allocation to your port, it shouldn’t be hurting your overall port. Stop panicking guys.

Seriously I wonder why the stock guys are much calmer than some of you eventho their paper loss per day is more than anyone combined in a week here.
j.passing.by
post Nov 23 2017, 02:34 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Nov 23 2017, 02:27 PM)
Honestly i dont know why so many of you want to follow Xuzen Crystal ball bulat-bulat  rclxub.gif

Well done! Let's compare a bond fund against an equity fund, and bash it for its lack of growth.

==========

BTW The local bond funds suddenly jump up in yesterday's nav price, gaining about 2 weeks worth of the usual daily increments.

puchongite
post Nov 23 2017, 02:37 PM

33,633 posts

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Nov 23 2017, 02:16 PM)
Likely the strengthening of MYR also got direct impact.

funnyface
post Nov 23 2017, 02:42 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 23 2017, 02:34 PM)

Well done! Let's compare a bond fund against an equity fund, and bash it for its lack of growth.

==========

BTW The local bond funds suddenly jump up in yesterday's nav price, gaining about 2 weeks worth of the usual daily increments.
If you want a FI, the RHB EMB is a VERY bad FI due to high volatility. The reason you want this bond is for low correlation to other like bro Avangelice mentioned.

jusTinMM
post Nov 23 2017, 03:03 PM

523 posts

when im trying to buy fund...error below keep come out..

"Please update your bank account"

I got no problem previously when buying managed portfolio.
j.passing.by
post Nov 23 2017, 03:03 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Nov 23 2017, 02:42 PM)
If you want a FI, the RHB EMB is a VERY bad FI due to high volatility. The reason you want this bond is for low correlation to other like bro Avangelice mentioned.
Whar correlation is there when the funds are in different asset catergory - with one a bond fund, and the other an equity fund?

Bond funds and fixed income funds are for lessening the overall portfolio risk by lowering the equity portion within the portfolio. Lower the equity portion by having a higher bond/fixed income portion.

This particular bond fund is a totally foreign bonds... its higher than normal growth in the recent past 2 years was due to the fall of the ringgit. It is like putting money into a fixed dposit in a Singapore bank in 2012 and wait for the ringgit to fall... you would gained returns in the region of 25-30% eventhough the FD interest is miserable.

The gains this year would be flat or negative due to the forex again.

Lastly, try to make apple to apple comparisons. Making apple to orange comparison is a bit silly... and generally, would not get us anywhere.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Nov 23 2017, 03:04 PM
funnyface
post Nov 23 2017, 03:18 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 23 2017, 03:03 PM)
Whar correlation is there when the funds are in different asset catergory - with one a bond fund, and the other an equity fund?

Bond funds and fixed income funds are for lessening the overall portfolio risk by lowering the equity portion within the portfolio. Lower the equity portion by having a higher bond/fixed income portion.

This particular bond fund is a totally foreign bonds... its higher than normal growth in the recent past 2 years was due to the fall of the ringgit. It is like putting money into a fixed dposit in a Singapore bank in 2012 and wait for the ringgit to fall... you would gained returns in the region of 25-30% eventhough the FD interest is miserable.

The gains this year would be flat or negative due to the forex again.

Lastly, try to make apple to apple comparisons. Making apple to orange comparison is a bit silly... and generally, would not get us anywhere.

Cheers.
doh.gif Please.... Low correlation means one fund changes has low relation with another fund changes. Doesnt matter is FI or EQ.

doh.gif You do know RHB EMB has 3-years volatility of 7+? Which is as high as some of the balanced EQ funds. How is this lower the portfolio risk??? It only lower the risk in the sense of Region diversification, which can be done by other emerging market EQ

doh.gif Both EI GEM and RHB EMB are foreign funds

Anyway, i has done my talking here. The reason i did the comparison is the show if you want to diversify your portfolio to Emerging Market, there are better funds out there. If you want to lower your risk by buying this RHB EMB, you are picking a very bad FI fund as there are way better FI out there with lower volatility

You can continue keep your RHB EMB, i have my own selection....after all this is a DIY platform...you like your tea while i like my coffee.... whistling.gif
j.passing.by
post Nov 23 2017, 03:39 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Nov 23 2017, 03:18 PM)
Anyway, i has done my talking here.

What is there to talk about when you only want to listen to yourself and stubbornly refuse to listen to others when they present a valid counterpoint to you?

This is not an exchange of thoughts or opinions... it is more like "I am correct. Since I am correct, what yoo said is wrong. You wasted my time in talking to you."

Cheers.

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Nov 23 2017, 03:39 PM
puchongite
post Nov 23 2017, 03:40 PM

33,633 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Nov 23 2017, 03:18 PM)
doh.gif  Please.... Low correlation means one fund changes has low relation with another fund changes. Doesnt matter is FI or EQ.

doh.gif  You do know RHB EMB has 3-years volatility of 7+? Which is as high as some of the balanced EQ funds. How is this lower the portfolio risk??? It only lower the risk in the sense of Region diversification, which can be done by other emerging market EQ

doh.gif  Both EI GEM and RHB EMB are foreign funds

Anyway, i has done my talking here. The reason i did the comparison is the show if you want to diversify your portfolio to Emerging Market, there are better funds out there. If you want to lower your risk by buying this RHB EMB, you are picking a very bad FI fund as there are way better FI out there with lower volatility
You can continue keep your RHB EMB, i have my own selection....after all this is a DIY platform...you like your tea while i like my coffee....  whistling.gif
Let me play the devil advocate here.

What if today the one got hit is the China funds ? What do you have to say ? sweat.gif
funnyface
post Nov 23 2017, 03:49 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 23 2017, 03:39 PM)
What is there to talk about when you only want to listen to yourself and stubbornly refuse to listen to others when they present a valid counterpoint to you?

This is not an exchange of thoughts or opinions... it is more like "I am correct. Since I am correct, what yoo said is wrong. You wasted my time in talking to you."

Cheers.
I show all the points yet your reply give none. I did agree that the reason you want to keep RHB EMB is due to low correlation with other funds, nothing to do with FI or EQ.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Nov 23 2017, 03:40 PM)
Let me play the devil advocate here.

What if today the one got hit is the China funds ? What do you have to say ?  sweat.gif
We all gonna KO since everyone hold enough Ponzi2/dinasti/GC devil.gif
j.passing.by
post Nov 23 2017, 04:00 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Nov 23 2017, 03:49 PM)
I show all the points yet your reply give none. I did agree that the reason you want to keep RHB EMB is due to low correlation with other funds, nothing to do with FI or EQ.

Well, you have shown me nothing... just to tell be both are foreign funds, when I was telling you that one is a bond fund and the other an equity fund, plus I already told you the bond fund is totally a foreign bond fund.

Why do you have to be so personal in the opinion and try to counter me by assuming that I am holding this particular bond fund?

I don't follow too closely on what Xuzen said in his posts on his recommended portfolio. The thing is that bond/equity ratio is to balance the risk of the entire portfolio. This is what I said in my previous post.

So tell me again, what is new that you want to tell me after reading my post above. Just a repeat that an emerging market equity fund is equivalent to an emerging market bond fund?

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Nov 23 2017, 04:04 PM
funnyface
post Nov 23 2017, 04:08 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 23 2017, 04:00 PM)
Well, you have  shown me nothing... just to tell be both are foreign funds, when I was telling you that one is a bond fund and the other an equity fund, plus I already told you the bond fund is totally fund.

Why do you have to be so personal in the opinion and try to counter me by assuming that I am holding this particular bond fund?

I don't follow too closely on what Xuzen said in his posts on his recommended portfolio. The thing is that bond/equity ratio is to balance the risk of the entire portfolio. This is what I said in my previous post.

So tell me again, what is new that you want to tell me after reading my post above. Just a repeat that an emerging market equity fund is equivalent to an emerging market bond fund?
You see, you first comment was joke about me comparing EI GEM vs RHB EMB. Why? because you are saying i was comparing FI vs EQ.

I explained to you why FI vs EQ does not matter for this comparison. Why? because RHB EMB has high enough volatility that make itself has similar risk with balanced EQ fund. Clear?

And then you explain FI will lower the risk blah blah blah...I told you not the case for RHB EMB because it has much higher risk than normal FI funds. Clear?

If you want to use FI to lower to risk yet cover Emerging Market region, you can have 30:70 for EI GEM: AFSB vs 100% into RHB EMB. This way gives you better return yet lower risk and cover emerging market. Clear?

j.passing.by
post Nov 23 2017, 04:17 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Nov 23 2017, 04:08 PM)
You see, you first comment was joke about me comparing EI GEM vs RHB EMB. Why? because you are saying i was comparing FI vs EQ.

I explained to you why FI vs EQ does not matter for this comparison. Why? because RHB EMB has high enough volatility that make itself has similar risk with balanced EQ fund. Clear?

And then you explain FI will lower the risk blah blah blah...I told you not the case for RHB EMB because it has much higher risk than normal FI funds. Clear?

If you want to use FI to lower to risk yet cover Emerging Market region, you can have 30:70 for EI GEM: AFSB vs 100% into RHB EMB. This way gives you better return yet lower risk and cover emerging market. Clear?
"because RHB EMB has high enough volatility that make itself has similar risk with balanced EQ fund. Clear?"

So you can compare 2 funds in 2 different asset category due to its recent history and volatility are the same or almost the same?

Read the above post on why the volatility comes about, due to the fall in ringgit... maybe expand the performance chart to 5 or 10 years... and see how its trend was like before 2013...

1554 Pages « < 510 511 512 513 514 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:12 AM