FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

gu~wak_zhai
post Apr 27 2017, 05:14 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

Hi all, I'm newbie here, currently looking into recommended portfolios.

I noticed all recommended portfolios, aggressive to conservative, islamic or non islamic, there are no Balance or Money Market funds featured in any of the portfolios.

Why is that? Are they no good?

I'm asking because I was looking at RHB Smart Balanced Fund, seems good to me.
gu~wak_zhai
post Apr 28 2017, 01:32 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 27 2017, 05:31 PM)
Balance got. Rhb asian income. MMF what's there to put. Only one there is RHB money market fund.

Avoid all rhb smart series.
Hi, may I know why u said so?

QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 27 2017, 07:11 PM)
the recommended portfolio are "recommended" portfolio.
There is no hard and fast rule on how a portfolio is to be constructed.
Fund Selection Considerations
The funds featured in the portfolios are mainly taken from our FSM Recommended Funds. Features of funds that differ from the Recommended Funds may have lower initial and subsequent investment amount as well as a different style which may be more beneficial for investors in current market conditions.
The portfolios are reviewed on a monthly basis for performance tracking and rebalanced on a quarterly basis or as and when there is material deviation. The periodic rebalancing is a guideline which investors can again moderate to their preference. In previous magazine, we have busted the myth that frequent rebalancing is good for investors.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=4383

if you at looking for recommended "Balanced Funds"...it is attached...
Yea I saw the balanced funds, but better not put all eggs in one basket right? Hence, I'm looking at recommended balance portfolios instead, I just find it weird that none of the recommended portfolios consist of any balance funds, just high risk and low risk funds.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 1 2017, 02:59 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

Newbie here, just started last month, my current holdings:

Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund - 16.6%
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - 16.6%
Eastspring Investments Balanced Fund - 16.6%
RHB Emerging Markets Bond Fund - 50.0%

Trying to achieve a more balance portfolio here, now only dare to buy recommended funds.

Going for long term maybe 5 to 10 years. Would be happy if able to achieve >6% per annum.

Any sifus care to comment?
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 1 2017, 03:37 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 1 2017, 03:08 PM)
Curious, why 'balance' portfolio? why not more aggressive?
Testing water first, want to be able to sleep soundly at night sweat.gif. How old r u and how much ROI r u expecting? I'm 29 this year, risk appetite still quite low now. Was into stocks before earned some burned some bye.gif .

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 1 2017, 03:11 PM)
Rhb em bond at 50%......the volatility of tis fund is higher than some EQ funds
It's a relatively new fund compared to others. I chose this because it's 95% tied to United Emerging Markets Bond Fund. Steady growth since 2001 and focus on government bonds, lower risk.

Anyway should I buy into CIMB-PRINCIPAL GLOBAL TITANS FUND? Want to extend my portfolio US/EU/Jap region equities. Currently Asia and Malaysia only. Maybe buy sikit sikit.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 1 2017, 04:02 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 1 2017, 03:49 PM)
28... my portfolio is 91% equity, 5% bond, 3% reits. My Target is 8% p.a.

I have cash which are NOT my emergency fund, which can be invested, which almost in equal amount to my UT portfolio. In a way, i'm also quite a chicken, 50% cash 50% invested.

Other money is for emergency purposes.
90% of my cash is still in FD with at least 4% interest, always actively looking for FD promo. Waiting them to mature then slowly move them to UT, currently UT approx 10% the rest in FDs. Just started investing in UT last month. Now currently still got some spare cash to buy into new funds. Mind sharing ur portfolio?
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 1 2017, 09:16 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 1 2017, 04:57 PM)
You mean my FSM fund portfolio?
[attachmentid=8865440]
AmREITS is closely related to AmFIRST REIT?

Always wanted to buy keep some REITS in my stocks portfolio, but seeing how the property market perform currently, I'm holding my bullets.

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jun 1 2017, 06:56 PM)
Have you considered forex risk for Emerging market bond fund? The volatility mainly come from there if you compare with its mother fund

On EI balanced fund, you should look into putting half into EI MY Focus and half into EI bond instead, the returns would have been better. the balanced fund is not exactly performing well

As to CIMB GTF, I think it does help diversify your portfolio
How long have you had it? give them sometime la.... keep switching and you would end up losing more, after you hold it for a year only start thinking if should move. So far those funds are not too bad
Thanks for the insight, that explains the volatility. But if the RM continues to weaken, this bond should benefit from it right?
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 8 2017, 12:23 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

Sifus, I'm thinking to buy into China market via CIMB-Principal Greater China Equity Fund. My brief analysis based on Shanghai composite vs the fund's chart.

Is it safe to say even with the huge dip in Shanghai composite in the early 2016, the fund still manage to minimize the effect to their NAV price, hence this fund is performing very well even in a bear market? The ROI of this fund is one of the top ones in FSM.

This post has been edited by gu~wak_zhai: Jun 8 2017, 12:26 PM
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 8 2017, 12:39 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 8 2017, 12:32 PM)
how many % do you want to allocate this fund in your portfolio?
around 15% I supposed. currently have 20% of funds targeted at Asian ex Jap equities.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 8 2017, 12:50 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 8 2017, 12:43 PM)
your this 20%...i think will have around 8% in HK/China area, which if added up, you will have 23% in China/hk area....
if this China/Hk region fund's NAVs dropped by 10% our portolio will drop > 2.5% ~ 4% ROI......you ok with it?
hmmmm need to rethink first before jumping in, considering china market now quite volatile. thank you sifu!
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 13 2017, 11:09 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 13 2017, 08:48 AM)
really?
thanks for the input.....
will be selling some of my bond funds today to spare some ammo to shoot this TA GTF....
come on just a few % more .......over the next few days..... devil.gif

but have to wait for the TA Global Tech to publish it latest NAVs first....
I'm waiting for the latest NAV too, been monitoring NASDAQ before deciding to get in.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 14 2017, 10:16 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

if buy TA Global now which NAV price will it follow? can we bloomberg's price as reference?
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 14 2017, 10:45 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 14 2017, 10:27 AM)
Q: When will I know about the price I get?

A: Most of the unit trusts in Malaysia are priced based on "forward pricing". This means that if you transact today, you will get the fund’s value as of the closing price of the market today. However, you will know the price in two working days
The price that you could see in the website is the so-called 'indicative price'. This is usually the price of the fund two working days ago. This indicative price is NOT the actual transaction price of the fund that you are buying or selling.
Generally, the fund manager requires approximately two business days to consolidate and derive a unit price for the funds. These prices are further valued independently by the fund's trustees. Therefore, the dealing price will be made known to the public two business days after the transaction date. Once we obtained the price, an email notification will be sent to you.

YES, you can use any other parties published NAVs price for reference....just for reference but without any legal implications to TA or FSM MY.....unless you are transacting with them directly.
btw,....I used to monitor almost daily prices movement of NAVs of some funds......at times without any serious mkts happenings the NAv may drops more than normal trend but then the next day it just bounced back to normal trend....which makes me wonder,...is that a FH internal corrections of realised mistakes?  confused.gif
hmmmm till now i'm still not clear on how FSM decide the pricing...

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 14 2017, 10:36 AM)
Just check apple's and Microsoft stocks and you can gauge how Ta global performs.
yea been following them since last week, lots of tech conference now in the US, nothing too exciting that's y investor also shun away I guess, plus NASDAQ has been bullish for quite some time d.

BTW guys, if I were to place some cash into RHB Cash Management Fund 2 with latest net interest rate at 3.396, the annual management charge is 0.4 %. What's the effective rate? 3.396 - 0.4? or the Net means it has deducted the management charge? please enlighten me thanks!
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 15 2017, 12:42 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 14 2017, 08:34 PM)
not this year. maybe next or 2019. I'll be reaping my EQ by then and save ammo
why 2019 tho?
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 15 2017, 04:45 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 15 2017, 03:31 PM)
Later agent eat what?  icon_idea.gif Public Mutual without their agents, cannot grow until their current fund size.

But got to admit there are still alot of aunty uncles who dont even know what is Fundsupermart. Tell them FSM, later they ask you "another JJPTR ah?". Another thing is that, those aunty uncles investment amount easily outweigh young ones. They got nice Pub Mut buildings covering major cities, so there is 'trust' feel.
LOL couldn't agree more on this. The other day the Kakak in CIMB ask me to buy UT from her, I said I already bought it from FSM, she look at me blur confused.gif
gu~wak_zhai
post Jun 16 2017, 04:15 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

For the sake of discussion, dun flame me pls:

The smart money is refusing to buy big tech stocks now
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/the-smart...-now-2017-06-15

What do u all think about the tech sector now in the US? Lost the momentum?
gu~wak_zhai
post Jul 5 2017, 10:19 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 4 2017, 09:27 PM)
http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-chinese-media/

TA Global is gonna be bleeding further as it invests in tancent
I wanted to add TA to my portfolio last month, purchased it but my gut tells me to pull it out during the cooling off period, and I did. I'm monitoring the news on tech market closely and it seems like there's a change of investor's interest on tech market, switching to financial market apparently. But then the overall developed market seems gloomy, which has impact my cimb global titan fund sad.gif
gu~wak_zhai
post Jul 5 2017, 05:32 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Jul 5 2017, 04:07 PM)
I'm just wondering about such senario, where your lock-in-price (lets assume) RM1.00, and suddenly market crash and NAV becomes RM 0.70. Isn't it smart for you to exercise your such rights? Since you will be able to save on that 30% drop (assumption).

I've never worried about the fees by FSM, just wondering if they still charge, or will return. You know, curiosity.
yes, in my case it was fully refunded including service fee, TAGTF.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jul 5 2017, 05:34 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Jul 5 2017, 10:44 AM)
mind to share source?
I posted this back then

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Jun 16 2017, 04:15 PM)
For the sake of discussion, dun flame me pls:

The smart money is refusing to buy big tech stocks now
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/the-smart...-now-2017-06-15

What do u all think about the tech sector now in the US? Lost the momentum?
Reading and hearing the news lately it seems that the financial market is gaining, for now la, no idea how long.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jul 7 2017, 10:51 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 6 2017, 09:42 PM)
Market correction. US tech stocks under correction!
Time to go in soon!
Currently tech stocks not looking too good, patiently waiting.
gu~wak_zhai
post Jul 10 2017, 10:38 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Jul 9 2017, 11:45 AM)
This just struck my mind.

I wonder what age groups are the current FSM investors in this forum? Can we create a poll like this?
A. 21-30yo (the Gen Z)
B. 31-40yo (the Gen Y)
C. 41-50yo
D. 51-60yo

If you are a 11-20yo millennial and already saving up and investing, Kudos to you.
It's just interesting to know what age groups do the people like Xuzen, Ramjade and Avangelice belong to. So that you can compare this to yourself at your current age and get a grasp at  whether you are ahead or behind your peers.
Much like comparing the performance of a UTF to another of the same market segment.

What do you all think?
Group A, just started in May this year, already late to the game. Before this was experimenting with stocks market and got burned slightly, then got scared and put all savings in FD. Realized it's too low to achieve my financial goal and hence I'm here. Still have about 50% in FD until mature, soon will park money to CMF and pick up UTF by DCA or lump sum when low.

Current UT Holdings
Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund - MYR
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund
Kenanga Growth Fund
RHB Emerging Markets Bond Fund

0.0483sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:10 AM