I guess AMD doesn't want people to buy their CPU.
https://www.techspot.com/news/93713-you-may...md-ryzen-7.html
Core i7-12700K price level.
AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform
Mar 10 2022, 10:16 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
24,342 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
I guess AMD doesn't want people to buy their CPU.
https://www.techspot.com/news/93713-you-may...md-ryzen-7.html Core i7-12700K price level. |
Mar 10 2022, 07:28 PM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Will watch how they price 5600 and 5700X before I go and get a i5-12400+Asrock B660M-ITX
Mar 15 2022, 04:47 PM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 10 2022, 10:16 AM) I guess AMD doesn't want people to buy their CPU. Sounds like the extra 3D V-Cache on top of the cores is worsening heat transfer. Separating the I/O die from the CPU already negatively impacts heat transfer to the IHS, and is why Zen3 desktop CPUs run hotter than Intel's when at the same power draw.https://www.techspot.com/news/93713-you-may...md-ryzen-7.html Core i7-12700K price level. |
Mar 15 2022, 07:13 PM
1,649 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 10 2022, 10:16 AM) I guess AMD doesn't want people to buy their CPU. Zen3 can toss aside for now. Just wait for zen4 or perhaps they will remove OC on zen4 too lol.https://www.techspot.com/news/93713-you-may...md-ryzen-7.html Core i7-12700K price level. |
Mar 15 2022, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 15 2022, 04:47 PM) Sounds like the extra 3D V-Cache on top of the cores is worsening heat transfer. Separating the I/O die from the CPU already negatively impacts heat transfer to the IHS, and is why Zen3 desktop CPUs run hotter than Intel's when at the same power draw. Looks like it.QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 15 2022, 07:13 PM) Yeah, X570 is inferior chipset. And even more heat chip.......They still mess up on the BIOS recently. https://www.tomshardware.com/news/agesa-1205-bugs-amd-ryzen I'll probably pass on Zen4. |
Mar 15 2022, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 15 2022, 07:25 PM) Yeah, X570 is inferior chipset. And even more heat chip....... my 5800x has been unplugged and stowed away since September last year lol. I have long gave up waiting for a proper stable bios.They still mess up on the BIOS recently. https://www.tomshardware.com/news/agesa-1205-bugs-amd-ryzen I'll probably pass on Zen4. |
Mar 15 2022, 07:48 PM
Mar 15 2022, 09:35 PM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
Marketing now out. AMD claims 5800X3D is faster than 12900K in gaming. I won't be surprised - Anandtech did a test on the 5775C many years after Broadwell launched. Even with the abysmal max clockspeeds on that CPU vs Haswell, the CPU was faster in gaming than any *lake quad core chip. All thanks to that massive L4 cache.
But Alder Lake should handily hold its advantage over most productivity benchmarks anyway... so the 12700K etc would still be a better buy for most people. This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Mar 15 2022, 09:39 PM |
Mar 15 2022, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 15 2022, 09:35 PM) Marketing now out. AMD claims 5800X3D is faster than 12900K in gaming. I won't be surprised - Anandtech did a test on the 5775C many years after Broadwell launched. Even with the abysmal max clockspeeds on that CPU vs Haswell, the CPU was faster in gaming than any *lake quad core chip. All thanks to that massive L4 cache. As usual they will nerf their sample intel's performance and run it with powerlimit and base ram speed and nitpick games.... like only FF14 has a lead (who uses this title to benchmark lol?) and pretty much tied on the rest... So gotta take it with a handful of salt.But Alder Lake should handily hold its advantage over most productivity benchmarks anyway... so the 12700K etc would still be a better buy for most people. DDR5's overwhelming bandwidth is very close to a cache's speed already.. just needs to be tweaked right for the latency. In fact.. a tightly tuned 10th gen is still comparable to a tuned zen3 at the moment. This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 15 2022, 10:06 PM |
Mar 15 2022, 11:24 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
USB disconnectivity pun not yet fix despite lying about it for nearly a year, now want to launch 7 new CPUs with new BIOS.
Lmao AMD. |
Mar 16 2022, 09:41 AM
291 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
I still remember the 5950x and it's share of random stability problems depending on silicon quality.
AMD forever tuning its agessa and nothing concrete comes out of it. Zen 3 promising at first, then shows its ugliness in real life Then the platform supporting it, chipset. They didn't really make a good work. Should have an updated chipset just for zen3 instead of their practice of having a single set for several generations of Zen. Unless they comes out with something cleaner and more promising, I will skip Zen 4, 5, ,6, 7, 8, 9, 10.... Usual AMD marketing nonsense, promising big big numbers at launch. The smaller bugs and issues not fixed down the road. There will always be groups of diehard supporters supporting them as usual no matter how bad its products. Saw this car with number plate AMD 2333 few days ago. Coming soon , AMD 3333. .... AMD long live. even with its inferior products. |
Mar 17 2022, 04:34 PM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Can't wait to see how the new chip will perform and how much will they priced over here... 5600, 5700X and 5800X3D.
$180 i5-12400F $200 5600 $210 i5-12400 $220 5600G $230 5600X $240 i5-12600 $265 i5-12600KF $290 i5-12600K $300 5700X $330 i7-12700F $360 i7-12700 $410 i7-12700K $450 5800X3D $450 5900X |
Mar 20 2022, 05:05 PM
266 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Wondering when the older 5 series price will be revised in Malaysia... Outside of Malaysia seems to be updated...
This post has been edited by Imaizumi: Mar 20 2022, 05:05 PM |
Mar 20 2022, 08:38 PM
516 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Ninth Mile |
Should I upgrade my 2600X to 2700X or it just a waste of money?
Mar 21 2022, 08:09 AM
QUOTE(Oyaji @ Mar 20 2022, 08:38 PM) Update your BIOS.https://rog.asus.com/my/motherboards/rog-st...l/helpdesk_bios Then go straight for 5600 or 5600X or 5700X. 5600 and 5700X coming soon. No point getting another CPU with more cores but still slow. edmund_yung liked this post
Mar 22 2022, 12:44 AM
516 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Ninth Mile |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 21 2022, 08:09 AM) Update your BIOS. Oh thanks a lot! I think I will consider 5600X since the lower TDP will surely make it run less hotter as I run my CPU on air. Of course if the pricing of 5700X doesn't much of a difference I may consider getting that instead.https://rog.asus.com/my/motherboards/rog-st...l/helpdesk_bios Then go straight for 5600 or 5600X or 5700X. 5600 and 5700X coming soon. No point getting another CPU with more cores but still slow. |
Mar 24 2022, 03:43 PM
685 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Anyone here have issues with the USB C ports on x570 or B450 boards? Like IO errors or frequent reconnect/ disconnect issues?
This happens on both my Asrock B450M and Dark Hero X570. When I use the USB A ports no issues. I recently purchased one of the front panel USB ports, and even there the USB C ports misbehave. Using the USB A ports shows no issues. Do these USB C ports have special drivers or motherborad drivers? EDIT: I've tested with 3 different USB C to USB C cables. 50cm, 1M, and 2M cables. Tested on my Galaxy Note 8 and MI A1. This post has been edited by John Chaser: Mar 24 2022, 04:58 PM |
Mar 24 2022, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(John Chaser @ Mar 24 2022, 03:43 PM) Anyone here have issues with the USB C ports on x570 or B450 boards? Like IO errors or frequent reconnect/ disconnect issues? USB disconnects and AMD is synonymous with one another. I can guarantee disconnects also happen on the USB A ports, just that you haven't run into it yet.This happens on both my Asrock B450M and Dark Hero X570. When I use the USB A ports no issues. I recently purchased one of the front panel USB ports, and even there the USB C ports misbehave. Using the USB A ports shows no issues. Do these USB C ports have special drivers or motherborad drivers? EDIT: I've tested with 3 different USB C to USB C cables. 50cm, 1M, and 2M cables. Tested on my Galaxy Note 8 and MI A1. Nothing much you can do other than updating your BIOS and hoping it fixes itself. AGESA 1.2.0.1 Patch A was the alleged USB fix, which AMD lied about IMO. I had no USB drop outs with AGESA 1.0.0.1 (which was when the USB issues were reported, eventhough it existed long before this) until I tested an iFi Zen DAC v2. Had to update to AGESA 1.2.0.3 Patch C (BIOS 3801) in order to eliminate the issue (hopefully, so far it's been good for a week now). Motherboard I'm running is Crosshair Hero VIII, which runs on the same BIOS as the Dark Hero. So try out 3801, it's working good so far for me. John Chaser liked this post
Mar 24 2022, 06:08 PM
685 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 24 2022, 05:33 PM) Motherboard I'm running is Crosshair Hero VIII, which runs on the same BIOS as the Dark Hero. So try out 3801, it's working good so far for me. I'll just hold for the May bios fix. |
Mar 24 2022, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(John Chaser @ Mar 24 2022, 06:08 PM) I'm on 3801 as well. I only recently found out that Asus forces TPM on now starting from 3801(TPM or Discrete, no off). Recently I started noticing stutters when playing YouTube videos or audio playback via Foobar or via VLC. But it's so random, like in a week probably once. So far i haven't noticed it when I'm playing games. I have fTPM enabled because I'm also using W11, no stutters here for me in any apps or games.I'll just hold for the May bios fix. AGESA 1.2.0.7 is supposedly to be the last major "clean up" BIOS release. I'm willing to bet all my 10 BTC it won't be. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Mar 24 2022, 08:03 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:30 AM |