475 Pages « < 418 419 420 421 422 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

dickybird
post Jul 28 2021, 10:37 AM

2,093 posts

Hardware question, is it ok to use the original amd AM4 backplate to install the stand-off for a CM Hyper 212 cooler instead of using the CM provided plastic backplate. Just upgraded to a R5 3600 and dreading the idle temp.
John Chaser
post Jul 29 2021, 01:03 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jul 28 2021, 10:37 AM)
Hardware question, is it ok to use the original amd AM4 backplate to install the stand-off for a CM Hyper 212 cooler instead of using the CM provided plastic backplate. Just upgraded to a R5 3600 and dreading the idle temp.
Reddit says it's ok:
https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/...tm_source=share

And so does the CM video embedded there.

Also, anyone tried the new bios:
https://wccftech.com/asus-rolls-out-amd-age...-compatibility/

dickybird
post Jul 29 2021, 01:29 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Jul 29 2021, 01:03 PM)
Reddit says it's ok:
https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/...tm_source=share

And so does the CM video embedded there.
Also, anyone tried the new bios:
https://wccftech.com/asus-rolls-out-amd-age...-compatibility/
Thanks for the reply. I just went and swapped it out.
Haha.
Idle temps with the Hyper 212 is in the low 40s and at 30% load, the cpu temp doesn't rise above 57C.

This post has been edited by dickybird: Jul 29 2021, 01:30 PM
targon
post Jul 31 2021, 11:55 AM

291 posts

Finally, Crosshair VIII Extreme
don't expect this to be cheap in MY
John Chaser
post Aug 1 2021, 12:57 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Jul 31 2021, 11:55 AM)
Finally, Crosshair VIII Extreme
don't expect this to be cheap in MY
Place your bets people, at what price do you think ROG CROSSHAIR VIII EXTREME will start at:
A) RM2699
B) RM2799
C) RM2899
D) RM2999
E) RM4000

rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif
AMD64 FX51
post Aug 2 2021, 12:21 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Aug 1 2021, 12:57 PM)
Place your bets people, at what price do you think ROG CROSSHAIR VIII EXTREME will start at:
A) RM2699
B) RM2799
C) RM2899
D) RM2999
E) RM4000
rclxm9.gif    icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif
F)RM3299
coolkwc
post Aug 2 2021, 01:22 AM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

My advice to Asus, learn how Giga Aorus Master made the VRM heatsink. To me the VRM heatsink on Asus just a piece of cheap hollow metal which doesn't justify the premium charged. wink.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Aug 2 2021, 01:26 AM
targon
post Aug 2 2021, 04:16 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Aug 1 2021, 12:57 PM)
A) RM2699
B) RM2799
C) RM2899
D) RM2999
E) RM4000
rclxm9.gif    icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif
shld be around 4k. with all the Rgb and the Oled display and all the fancy accessories pack that comes with it.
BOTAK_WAI
post Aug 20 2021, 08:48 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,157 posts

Leaked AMD Socket AM5 Diagram Confirms PCIe 5.0 Not Present On Platform
The chipset will support dual-channel DDR5 memory, though.

https://www.lowyat.net/2021/250078/leaked-a...nt-on-platform/
WillSmith
post Aug 21 2021, 09:49 AM

29 posts

Hi all AMD sifu here. I been using amd 5 3700x with Asus ROG Strix x570 for almost 2year. For 3700x the most i hate is the temperature but finally i manage to get an AIO last year Corsair H115i capellix which full load doesn't reach above 80c. Since i never use intel before, from AMD K6-2 -> Athlon64 -> Phenom then FX8350 finally jump to the 3700x. 3700x performance is really good for my daily productivity and very light gaming. From last year MCO till today my daily productivity in a day cut short maybe only 20-30%, gaming 10-20% and the rest of time watch drama/movie/surf. Still using my 3years RX570 8GB nod.gif .
I really want to try out the AMD 5000 series since it will be the last of AM4 before AM5 is coming. 5900 i way out of my budget. So 5600x,5700g and 5800x which 1 should i go?

5900x out of budget
5800x Upgrade but heard this proc is more hotter than 3700x and higher power draw in multi-threaded work loads
5700G rclxub.gif rclxub.gif maybe in case my RX570 die i still have integrated graphics. hmm.gif
5600x Downgrade. Compare this with 3700x is 5600x being less 2 core 4 thread is it performance on real application have much impact? Mostly image and video editing like Adobe software, Photopia, PowerDirector 365, Handbrake and few other.

Sifu please help notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by WillSmith: Aug 21 2021, 09:50 AM
TristanX
post Aug 21 2021, 10:38 AM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(WillSmith @ Aug 21 2021, 09:49 AM)
Hi all AMD sifu here. I been using amd 5 3700x with Asus ROG Strix x570 for almost 2year. For 3700x the most i hate is the temperature but finally i manage to get an AIO last year Corsair H115i capellix which full load doesn't reach above 80c. Since i never use intel before, from AMD K6-2 -> Athlon64 -> Phenom then FX8350 finally jump to the 3700x. 3700x performance is really good for my daily productivity and very light gaming. From last year MCO till today my daily productivity in a day cut short maybe only 20-30%, gaming 10-20% and the rest of time watch drama/movie/surf. Still using my 3years RX570 8GB  nod.gif .
I really want to try out the AMD 5000 series since it will be the last of AM4 before AM5 is coming. 5900 i way out of my budget. So 5600x,5700g and 5800x which 1 should i go?

5900x out of budget
5800x Upgrade but heard this proc is more hotter than 3700x and higher power draw in multi-threaded work loads
5700G  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  maybe in case my RX570 die i still have integrated graphics.  hmm.gif
5600x Downgrade. Compare this with 3700x is 5600x being less 2 core 4 thread is it performance on real application have much impact? Mostly image and video editing like Adobe software, Photopia, PowerDirector 365, Handbrake and few other.

Sifu please help  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Stick to what you have. Upgrading to same or less core isn't worth it. Save up for 5900X if you want more.

Yes, 5800X or higher demands cooling. Your H115i is just minimum recommended.

Remember to update BIOS. New BIOS is required for 5000 series.
WillSmith
post Aug 21 2021, 11:48 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 21 2021, 10:38 AM)
Stick to what you have. Upgrading to same or less core isn't worth it. Save up for 5900X if you want more.

Thanks Sifu for quick reply. That mean downgrading less core 5600x really hurt some real performance of application (not gaming) and waste money. Upgrading 5700G same core the improvement is not so noticeable in real application can benefic right? As for 5800x maybe some review the number is drool.gif but this actual not a big performance which can rclxm9.gif .
SSJBen
post Aug 21 2021, 05:27 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(WillSmith @ Aug 21 2021, 11:48 AM)
Thanks Sifu for quick reply. That mean downgrading less core 5600x really hurt some real performance of application (not gaming) and waste money. Upgrading 5700G same core the improvement is not so noticeable in real application can benefic right? As for 5800x maybe some review the number is  drool.gif  but this actual not a big performance which can rclxm9.gif .
inb4 some people come in and tell you to go intel instead.

rolleyes.gif
cstkl1
post Aug 21 2021, 05:56 PM

6,799 posts

Hi all AMD sifu here. I been using amd 5 3700x with Asus ROG Strix x570 for almost 2year. For 3700x the most i hate is the temperature but finally i manage to get an AIO last year Corsair H115i capellix which full load doesn't reach above 80c. Since i never use intel before, from AMD K6-2 -> Athlon64 -> Phenom then FX8350 finally jump to the 3700x. 3700x performance is really good for my daily productivity and very light gaming. From last year MCO till today my daily productivity in a day cut short maybe only 20-30%, gaming 10-20% and the rest of time watch drama/movie/surf. Still using my 3years RX570 8GB   nod.gif .

5900x out of budget
5700G  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  maybe in case my RX570 die i still have integrated graphics.  hmm.gif

u alredy got the mobo and zen 2
so just go 5k series

based on ure workload though.. u might be asking for trouble if ure cpu bad and performance diff might be negligble

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 21 2021, 06:07 PM
Skylinestar
post Aug 21 2021, 06:18 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

going to 5600X is only preferable for gaming. else, don't.
WillSmith
post Aug 22 2021, 12:57 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 21 2021, 10:38 AM)

I thought overnight selling my 3700x and jump buy 5900x (from shopee with installment 18month it might not hurt wallet so much)
Can you give more info for this 5900x. Saw you have 5900x with H150i. Can i ask what is yr proc temp normally in idle ( room without aircon ) (PBO on no oc)
If you run stress test Prime95 and cinebench r23 what is the max temp? Is it super hot? When full stress what is the max CPU Package (w)?

During day time when i using my 3700x+h115i for work my room is quite warm (no aircond in my room) i scare 5900x might be hotter sweat.gif .

TristanX
post Aug 22 2021, 01:27 PM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(WillSmith @ Aug 22 2021, 12:57 PM)
I thought overnight selling my 3700x and jump buy 5900x (from shopee with installment 18month it might not hurt wallet so much)
Can you give more info for this 5900x. Saw you have 5900x with H150i. Can i ask what is yr proc temp normally in idle ( room without aircon ) (PBO on no oc)
If you run stress test Prime95 and cinebench r23 what is the max temp? Is it super hot? When full stress what is the max CPU Package (w)?

During day time when i using my 3700x+h115i for work my room is quite warm (no aircond in my room) i scare 5900x might be hotter  sweat.gif .
I benchmarked mine not long ago.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry101276275

It can hit 80C when graphic card also dumping heat to the case.
WillSmith
post Aug 23 2021, 09:41 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 10 2021, 06:47 PM)
Yup. Eco Mode does nothing to idle but helps on load. It caps out total power used to your 65W. It helps with load temperatures. Still an improvement. My Eco mode does 87W.

DDR4-4000 or FCLK 2000 is not easy.
Normally you running in normal or eco? In eco how much temp when max load?

Let say if i upgrade to 5900x will it hit the 90C

TristanX
post Aug 23 2021, 09:48 AM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(WillSmith @ Aug 23 2021, 09:41 AM)
Normally you running in normal or eco? In eco how much temp when max load?

Let say if i upgrade to 5900x will it hit the 90C
Normal.

CPU only and both CPU and GPU load is different. Adding GPU to the mix will increase.

Possible for you to hit 90C since your cooler is weaker than mine.
Mavik
post Aug 23 2021, 02:59 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Hi all, pretty much a noob here with hardware. Currently, I am using a Ryzen 7 3700X CPU and pairing it with a GALAX 3080 TI SG. Just want to check if this CPU is bottlenecking the performance of the GPU (especially with games like COD Black Ops and Warzone). Am tempted to upgrade the CPU to a Zen 3 architecture CPU but not too sure.

475 Pages « < 418 419 420 421 422 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:27 AM