127 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

sjr
post Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 12:16 AM)
Hypermax, MGH is the teaching hospital for MMMC, how is it possible that the MOs and specialists "look down" on the students wo..?
yes..it is. but the hospital does not belong to our college...
actually, only few specialists or MOs look down on us...
interestingly, most of them who look down on us are those graduated from UM...
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 12:16 AM)
Hypermax, MGH is the teaching hospital for MMMC, how is it possible that the MOs and specialists "look down" on the students wo..?
Hmm, not really in Melaka GH.
As i have told you, many specialists nowdays like students from our college, especially in Melaka GH, as many times we could answer their questions while the HOs or MOs cannot answer.
There are people, like the ones we have in the forum here, think greatly of themselves. Therefore, they look down upon the others to make themselves look good.

Personal experience, UM grads look down on UKM grads, then UKM look down on USM, and the chain/circle continues. Those who look down upon the others are usually MOs who are narrow minded.
This phenomenon is less with the specialists.

Generally, selection criteria are less stringent than the IPTA (for non bumis only. Selection criteria for bumis in IPTA is very shakehead.gif ) You have applied for IPTA so you should know better.

However, that doesn't mean that IPTS are bad. In fact, quality of IPTA is getting worse. I was told that once you secure a place in the IPTA, you will make it out somehow.

Due to the defective education system in Msia, students cannot compete on equal ground.

So dun worry, as long as you know your stuff, no one dare to look down on you.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:31 AM)
if any med students gets in ANY med school satisfying these criteria, i have NO issues.....i know lots in 3rd world schools, including russia......

if you are someone who got ter 85 and your rich parents bought a place for you in an ipts or russia, or whatever.......i will tell you bluntly, you should NOT have been allowed to........the worst i have seen personally was someone with 3,6,7 in spm sciences who went to india.......i kid you not.....but i am told it gets worse in russia.....

please respect people's privacy.......
So have you encounter any story of buying places in MMMC or IMU? Pls share.

Respect privacy? As i have stated before, i wouldn't have known some fact about someone if he/she hasn't posted that particular fact here.
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:43 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM)
Eh, not really lar. Dr Nicholas from OnG was very nice what. biggrin.gif

Only those nerdy looking fellas who got scolded by specialists because they cannot answer the questions whichwe can. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM)
gosh, they must have been living in their own tiny world all this while..
I don't care where they graduate from, it's a no-no for me to look down on ppl..
.and they are called doctors..
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:46 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM)
I don't care where they graduate from, it's a no-no for me to look down on ppl..
Welcome to the real world. There are many jackasses out there. We have quite a few in the forum.

Therefore, be strong and no one will dare to lay a finger on you.
sjr
post Aug 15 2008, 12:47 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 15 2008, 12:43 AM)
Eh, not really lar. Dr Nicholas from OnG was very nice what.  biggrin.gif

Only those nerdy looking fellas who got scolded by specialists because they cannot answer the questions whichwe can.  sweat.gif
yes...he is a very kind and person...
but considering others... whistling.gif whistling.gif
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:50 AM

2,524 posts

Haha, some more very knowledgeable.

Oh, btw, i know of a MO who studied in India looks down upon both IPTA/IPTS graduates in UH. biggrin.gif This is life.

Not making this up. I can point out the doctor if you come to UH with me.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 15 2008, 12:50 AM
limeuu
post Aug 15 2008, 12:51 AM

12,290 posts

cut off in imu fluctuates between ter91-95 (and equivalents) in recent batches.....if one has been following my posts, one will know i have been very critical of imu too.....the saving grace is that they apply strict standards in assessments, and dare to fail people.......which is dictated by the requirements of the pms..... that weeds out the low ter's and those who play the fool.........i am not aware of any other ipts with a tough assessment policy.......

finally, almost all students in ipts 'bought' their place......on merit grounds, there are so many people with stpm who would eminently qualify, but have no money/scholarship........

in that sense i am against private medical education....while still cognizant of the fact that they provided a vent for what is happening in ipta......
sjr
post Aug 15 2008, 12:53 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM)
this is the reality...
perhaps they might think that they r the top within the country, thinking superiority....this is the mentality of UM student (maybe true for a certain group of people, but not all)...
this becomes more obvious once you go into UM and once they know u r from other med college in Malaysia or some 3rd world med school...
perhaps that's y the ranking for UM dropped drastically...

This post has been edited by sjr: Aug 15 2008, 12:55 AM
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:55 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:51 AM)
cut off in imu fluctuates between ter91-95 (and equivalents) in recent batches.....if one has been following my posts, one will know i have been very critical of imu too.....the saving grace is that they apply strict standards in assessments, and dare to fail people.......which is dictated by the requirements of the pms..... that weeds out the low ter's and those who play the fool.........i am not aware of any other ipts with a tough assessment policy.......

finally, almost all students in ipts 'bought' their place......on merit grounds, there are so many people with stpm who would eminently qualify, but have no money/scholarship........

in that sense i am against private medical education....while still cognizant of the fact that they provided a vent for what is happening in ipta......
Hmm, but that doesn't mean that IPTS cannot produce good doctors.

If no IPTS, then where should those potential students who fail to secure a place in IPTA due to unfair policies go?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 15 2008, 12:55 AM
limeuu
post Aug 15 2008, 12:59 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 15 2008, 12:55 AM)
Hmm, but that doesn't mean that IPTS cannot produce good doctors.

If no IPTS, then where should those potential students who fail to secure a place in IPTA due to unfair policies go?
sigh.......do you understand my last paragraph or not??

and what i said about no issues if the principles are met??
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 01:02 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:51 AM)

nah... IMU takes in approximately 220+ students per intake..( many dare-to-fail people really fail )
now MMMC only takes in around 120 students now.. so there's a healthy students to lecturers ratio
the maximum allowed years to complete the MBBS program is 8 years and a student cannot retake a subject more than 3 times
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:05 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:59 AM)
sigh.......do you understand my last paragraph or not??

and what i said about no issues if the principles are met??
Opps, didn't read properly. Getting sleepy. tongue.gif

Anyway, this is the current situation in Msia which is unlikely to change for a long time.

yawn.gif yawn.gif
Time for bed. Wasted too much time in front of the comp de. biggrin.gif
munsheng
post Aug 15 2008, 01:07 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:10 AM)
mods closed it for 2 days, but i think it should remain closed, as discussion was going off topic......

if you and i are not 'posting ur opinions around', then what are we doing in this forum???
i just got back from supper..
anw,
yeah..the previous should be closed...
full of crap in the thread.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

opps, sorry, of course we are here to post our opinions... tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 01:02 AM)
nah... IMU takes in approximately 220+ students per intake..( many dare-to-fail people really fail )
now MMMC only takes in around 120 students now.. so there's a healthy students to lecturers ratio
the maximum allowed years to complete the MBBS program is 8 years and a student cannot retake a subject more than 3 times
yup..thats true...
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:08 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(munsheng @ Aug 15 2008, 01:07 AM)
i just got back from supper..
anw,
yeah..the previous should be closed...
full of crap in the thread.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif

opps, sorry, of course we are here to post our opinions... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
yup..thats true...
Woi, time for bed lar. Got posting tomorrow man. biggrin.gif
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 01:08 AM

998 posts

recent years, more and more jpa scholars are matriculated into MMMC, now they make up three quarter of the students, Presumably, they are brilliant students, thus, competitive students can be expected.
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:09 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 01:08 AM)
recent years, more and more jpa scholars are matriculated into MMMC, now they make up three quarter of the students, Presumably, they are brilliant students, thus, competitive students can be expected.
I wonder what our dean did to secure JPA scholars. hmm.gif
munsheng
post Aug 15 2008, 01:15 AM

134 posts

MMMC is gettting better..
changes are being made to ensure that certain standards are maintained!!

csrulez
post Aug 15 2008, 01:18 AM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

AIMST is going to be a new medical university to receive JPA scholars too. We currently have a few in the latest foundation batch already.

Besides that, i heard that AIMST is going to be one of the choices of uni for medicine in the upcoming IPTA application form for stpm and matriks leaver. Due to the lack of seats for med in IPTA. It seems that the PM is going to announce it soon on the upcoming official opening on this Sunday. Lol. We'll see.

Anyhow, i was trying to say that 3rd world med schools aren't that bad at all. We still produce good doctors. But probably might lack in the consistency like what limeuu has said i guess. O.o

This post has been edited by csrulez: Aug 15 2008, 01:19 AM
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:25 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 15 2008, 01:18 AM)
AIMST is going to be a new medical university to receive JPA scholars too. We currently have a few in the latest foundation batch already.

Besides that, i heard that AIMST is going to be one of the choices of uni for medicine in the upcoming IPTA application form for stpm and matriks leaver. Due to the lack of seats for med in IPTA. It seems that the PM is going to announce it soon on the upcoming official opening on this Sunday. Lol. We'll see.

Anyhow, i was trying to say that 3rd world med schools aren't that bad at all. We still produce good doctors. But probably might lack in the consistency like what limeuu has said i guess. O.o
Btw, i heard that most medical sits are reserved for the Indians. Is that true?

127 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:58 AM