Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center
StarGhazzer
Dec 9 2008, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 1 2008, 08:13 AM) The Why and How to solve is right there in the news report: "He said these doctors were either psychotic or neurotic but still managed to get into medical schools because these schools were not screening students meticulously enough." Start with selection of students. Selective selection will only weed out those unsuitable ones from entering med school, but not enough attention is being paid to problems developing after medical school/working as a doctor. The underlying problems amongst the medical system in our country is well known especially to those involved, but are there enough measures done to solve it? This is a good blog from a local doctor who has served in Sabah. Browse through his entries and one will realise some of the problems that haunt our healthcare system.
hypermax
Dec 9 2008, 09:16 PM
Hi people, my friends are interested in working in Singapore. I was told by a forummer here that one can't work in Singapore unless he/she obtains a basic degree recognised by SMC. According to the same forummer, even if you hold a specialist degree like MRCP(UK) but have a unrecognised basic degree, you are not qualified to work in Singapore. However recently, i bumped into this page on the SMC web site which states the following: QUOTE Conditional Registration
Allows a foreign-trained doctor to work only in a designated healthcare establishment, under the supervision of a fully registered medical practitioner.
Eligibility requirements:
* holds a basic# medical degree from a university/ medical school listed in the Schedule of the Medical Registration Act; or
* has a postgraduate or exit specialist qualification recognised by the Specialists Accreditation Board; and
* has been selected for employment in a Singapore hospital/ institution/ medical practice approved by the Medical Council; and
* holds a certificate of experience as proof of satisfactory completion of housemanship; and
* is currently in active clinical practice; and
* has passed such national licensing examination as required in the country where the basic medical degree was conferred; and
* has been certified to be in good standing by the overseas regulatory body or medical council equivalent. LinkSo does it mean that I can apply for conditional registration after obtaining MRCP even if my basic degree is not recognised? Thanks in advance. This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 9 2008, 10:35 PM
zltan
Dec 9 2008, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 9 2008, 09:16 PM) Hi people, my friends are interested in working in Singapore. I was told by a forummer here that one can't work in Singapore unless he/she obtains a basic degree recognised by SMC. According to the same forummer, even if you hold a specialist degree like MRCP(UK) but have a unrecognised basic degree, you are not qualified to work in Singapore. However recently, i bumped into this page on the SMC web site which states the following: LinkSo does it mean that I can apply for conditional registration after obtaining MRCP even if my basic degree is not recognised? Thanks in advance. I'll say yes. You will be able to apply for conditional registration if your specialist degree is recognised and you fulfill all the other conditions. You must, however work under supervision as stated in your quote. So, I'm not sure if you'll be able to go to private practice.
hypermax
Dec 9 2008, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(zltan @ Dec 9 2008, 10:45 PM) I'll say yes. You will be able to apply for conditional registration if your specialist degree is recognised and you fulfill all the other conditions. You must, however work under supervision as stated in your quote. So, I'm not sure if you'll be able to go to private practice. Once you are fully registered (after 2 years of supervision for foreigners), i think you are free to go private. Therefore, to the forummer who told me the opposite (can't work there despite having recognised specialist degree), pls refrain from misleading people if you are not sure of your info, thanks. You know who you are. This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 9 2008, 11:58 PM
zltan
Dec 9 2008, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(audio0316 @ Oct 20 2008, 09:08 PM) Heard imu dropped melbourne uni from it's pms list... is it true? There will still be 2 more intakes - Feb '09 and Feb '10, which means that those who entered IMU in 07' and 08' will still be able to twin with Melbourne. Melbourne's medical course will change into M.D in 2011, and I heard its going to be 1 year in uni and 3 years clinicals.
limeuu
Dec 10 2008, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(zltan @ Dec 9 2008, 10:50 PM) There will still be 2 more intakes - Feb '09 and Feb '10, which means that those who entered IMU in 07' and 08' will still be able to twin with Melbourne. Melbourne's medical course will change into M.D in 2011, and I heard its going to be 1 year in uni and 3 years clinicals. that is not correct based on my knowledge......links please.... my understanding is, Feb 08/graduate Nov13 (08/13) was the last undergraduate intake......there will be NO intake in 09 and 10......then the next intake is graduate entry Feb11 (batch 11/14)......thus there is NO break in graduating classes, just a 2 years intake gap to bridge the 6 and 4 years undergraduate and postgraduate programmes respectively........ effectively, this means the last 2 imu batches that can still feed into melb u undergraduate programme are the me01/08 and me02/08 (joining year 4 in 2011).........there is no indication from imu what happens from the next batch (me01/09)..........
taiko88
Dec 15 2008, 04:34 PM

Hi i am new in this thread.I would like to ask if one graduate from medicine at age 27 will it be very old?And i am interested in the DUKE NUS graduate entry course in singapore.Anyone heard about this course?may i ask whether this course is recognised worwide?i mean places like UK.US.AUS and malaysia...And i heard u only need to do 1 year of residency then you can specialise edi?thanks..
Added on December 15, 2008, 4:37 pmHi i am new in this thread.I would like to ask if one graduate from medicine at age 27 will it be very old?And i am interested in the DUKE NUS graduate entry course in singapore.Anyone heard about this course?may i ask whether this course is recognised worwide?i mean places like UK.US.AUS and malaysia...And i heard u only need to do 1 year of residency then you can specialise edi?thanks..
This post has been edited by taiko88: Dec 15 2008, 04:37 PM
limeuu
Dec 15 2008, 05:03 PM
taiko, spam in your own threads, not enough, now want to ask the same questions here.....
taiko88
Dec 15 2008, 05:33 PM

need more opinions ma...
Added on December 16, 2008, 1:54 amHi i am new in this thread.I would like to ask if one graduate from medicine at age 27 will it be very old?And i am interested in the DUKE NUS graduate entry course in singapore.Anyone heard about this course?may i ask whether this course is recognised worwide?i mean places like UK.US.AUS and malaysia...And i heard u only need to do 1 year of residency then you can specialise edi?thanks..
This post has been edited by taiko88: Dec 16 2008, 01:54 AM
Visualize
Dec 18 2008, 02:04 PM
y
This post has been edited by Visualize: Jan 13 2010, 07:27 PM
hypermax
Dec 18 2008, 03:35 PM
You can try for PMC, it's relatively easier to enter. Also, facilities in Ireland are very very good.
As for MMMC, in the 21st batch (recent intake), only 8 self funded students. Therefore, it's harder.
BTW, be careful when asking such question in this thread. Some people here strongly disagree with people getting less than TER 95 entering medicine. If you are unlucky, you will most probably be bombarded.
This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 03:46 PM
limeuu
Dec 18 2008, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 03:35 PM) You can try for PMC, it's relatively easier to enter. Also, facilities in Ireland are very very good. As for MMMC, in the 21st batch (recent intake), only 8 self funded students. Therefore, it's harder. BTW, be careful when asking such question in this thread. Some people here strongly disagree with people getting less than TER 95 entering medicine. If you are unlucky, you will most probably be bombarded. agree........at least 90 lah........ we have gone through this many times already.......
hypermax
Dec 18 2008, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 18 2008, 06:32 PM) agree........at least 90 lah........ we have gone through this many times already.......  Yeap, and therefore i don't intend to start the debate again. The age old question of passion vs academic performance. This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 06:37 PM
Visualize
Dec 18 2008, 06:52 PM
I see... Like I said, due to some circumstances, my internals got screwed badly. I guess I'll apply fer PMC / MMMC.
If there is other uni's other than these two, kindly name it. Thanks.
I have yet to see those 'bombs'.
hypermax
Dec 18 2008, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(Visualize @ Dec 18 2008, 06:52 PM) I see... Like I said, due to some circumstances, my internals got screwed badly. I guess I'll apply fer PMC / MMMC. If there is other uni's other than these two, kindly name it. Thanks. I have yet to see those 'bombs'. I strongly advice you to apply for PMC. MMMC is very hard to enter as JPA has already book many of the seats. However, if your cable is long enough, then it's not a problem.
Visualize
Dec 18 2008, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 06:58 PM) I strongly advice you to apply for PMC. MMMC is very hard to enter as JPA has already book many of the seats. However, if your cable is long enough, then it's not a problem. I see.. Looks like PMC is the only option left. And what do you mean by cable is long enough?
hypermax
Dec 18 2008, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(Visualize @ Dec 18 2008, 07:10 PM) I see.. Looks like PMC is the only option left. And what do you mean by cable is long enough?  able to pull string (as in know people in the management or big share holder). This is rampant for private colleges. Btw, try both. No harm trying. This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 07:17 PM
Visualize
Dec 18 2008, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 07:11 PM) able to pull string (as in know people in the management for big share holder). This is rampant for private colleges. Btw, try both. No harm trying. Too bad I don't know nobody in there. I guess I'll have a go at both. Thanks.
zzzzx
Jan 1 2009, 07:42 PM
Hi, I have been wondering, is Monash Malaysia a good uni for medicine? Do they offer quality education?
This post has been edited by zzzzx: Jan 1 2009, 07:42 PM
CyberSetan
Jan 1 2009, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 06:58 PM) I strongly advice you to apply for PMC. If money is not a problem, PMC is good. It cost more than half a million $ to do MB BCh BAO there (tuition fees only). Otherwise choose from other available local pvt med schools here: Private Medical Universities/ Colleges/ Schools in MalaysiaWe've got TEN of them. This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jan 1 2009, 07:54 PM