Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

CyberSetan
post Aug 31 2008, 05:47 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

How about changing the system then? like the US system maybe?
As in opening the medical course to degree holders only? (eg; Graduate entry medicine)~

Then perhaps those who are really determined and willing to study medicine will enter this program?
CyberSetan
post Aug 31 2008, 09:25 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(crusnik02 @ Aug 31 2008, 08:47 PM)
I was shocked at the smell of the Medical ward. Especially the smell of secretions from tracheostomys...haha. Terkejut!! But I got used to it eventually...
Yes.. the awful smells from morgue, patients and etc. Why gas mask are not used eh? if the med student choses to wear it, i wonder if the med lecturer is going to be pissed? heheh

I think if a Bachelors degree graduate went straight to Graduate entry Medical program (GEM) after graduation, he/she will probably still be able to graduate before reaching 30y.o . There are advantages of graduates entering GEM over fresh school leavers, eg; maturity, experience, extra knowledge, etc (they will be older though laugh.gif )

Too bad there isn't any GEM in Malaysia and graduates wishing to pursue MBBS/MD have to join the traditional 5 / 6 years program.

I think there was even a medical graduate (from MMMC i think), that entered and graduated MBBS even though he was over 50y.o. laugh.gif
Its stated in wiki: MMMC

What do you guys think?
CyberSetan
post Sep 1 2008, 12:01 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

I wonder "if" grad entry is allowed and perhaps a "must" for MD/MBBS in IPTA Malaysia, what would happen to quota system?

(nvm.. probably still the same i guess)

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Sep 1 2008, 12:14 AM
CyberSetan
post Sep 1 2008, 12:55 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(crusnik02 @ Sep 1 2008, 12:53 AM)
Haha..garang! Okay...okay. Moving on...

I'm just wondering why doctors in Malaysia tend to opt to specialise in known fields insted of exploring ones not available but needed here...like geriatrics and some subspecialities in Forensics? Would u guys? And what would u choose?
$$$$$$$$
CyberSetan
post Sep 1 2008, 02:49 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

i think, if one specializes in certain areas of medicine, particularly that have good demand (eg; surgery - neuro, cardio, etc) = Big $$$ maker (especially in private sector)

..and certain areas of medicine doesn't seem to make the big $$$ (but still can consider big $$$) - eg; psychiatry? or pathology? correct me if i'm wrong but i dont seem to recall much of these in demand in the local newspapers.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Sep 1 2008, 02:51 AM
CyberSetan
post Sep 13 2008, 02:53 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(crusnik02 @ Sep 12 2008, 08:56 PM)

Added on September 12, 2008, 9:05 pm So to all allied health professionals who are reading this...stop thinking that doctors look down on u. They rely on u like crazy..
Actually some 'doctors' do look down on allied health ppl. I had several bad experience with some idiotic H.Os in a govt hosp. pathlab that i was posted in. Unlike their M.Os supervisors, the previously mentioned H.Os doesn't really bother to know about pathlab protocols (even when it is pasted next to the lab entrance).

I recall an incident where an H.O barging into the lab with a patient blood samples and suddenly ordering the MLTs there to perform TPPA test. She (the H.O) didn't EVEN bring the patient's test request form, when we told her that it is against protocol, she still insisted that we test the blood first and then she will bring the form. We, of course rejected that and told her to bring the patient's test request form first. Only after that she (with a pissy mood) went to fill the patient's form and submitted the sample and the form together to us.

Guess what? after 30 minutes she called the lab in a very annoying manner asking about the results, I say, wtf?? didn't she see the chart showing the estimated time it takes for tests to be performed in the lab? TPPA (manual) test takes at least 2 hours to perform. It isn't some UFEME test that can get result quick.

New H.Os does not seem to understand that different test requires different amount of time to perform, they SHOULD NOT persistently call the lab asking for test results without considering the time it takes for the test to be performed.

Calling the lab persistently = bothers the MLTs since they have to frequently answer the calls during test procedure, thus further delaying the test. (this can be exasperating)

And another thing, they should know which suitable container for test specimens to be used, we kept getting blood samples placed in the wrong test tube, as a result, we rejected the sample and asked the H.O to get a new sample in a proper tube. Buy an MLT book and do some reading, it helps a lot. (this seems to be the most frequently asked question by the new H.Os)

What annoys me and my fellow MLTs is that some of these H.Os think they can lord over us and command us to perform this and that without following proper protocols and procedures. They should realize that the staff members in the pathlab deparment answers directly to the head pathologist and not to the H.Os.

It is a really bad idea to make enemies with the lab. The lab ppl know how to make the H.Os life in the hosp. slightly if not more worst than usual. So, please be considerate with the MLTs, they will try to do the same with you. (Learn from the M.Os)

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Sep 13 2008, 02:53 AM
CyberSetan
post Oct 8 2008, 01:47 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(crazee @ Oct 8 2008, 12:45 AM)
I thought only 4 flat student can enter local medicine??

But overseas...2.5 pointer also can enter..even spm fail also can once i heard  doh.gif  damn seems like money can buy anything..
CSMU (Crimea State Med.Uni) did that... they even accepted art stream SPM students into their program.
Malaysian Medical Council got rid of that Uni from the recognized Uni list. (Source: CSMU Issue)

Good Riddance.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Oct 8 2008, 01:52 AM
CyberSetan
post Oct 14 2008, 02:38 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 14 2008, 02:09 PM)
haihz..in the end..i cannot do wad i want...mother and brother disagrees..looks like i have to be here for 6yrs..disappointed..
then try to find a place near or better yet next to the uni. saves you time everyday.
if cannot, ask around on how to acquire driving license there and get yourself a scooter.

CyberSetan
post Oct 15 2008, 11:31 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 15 2008, 11:12 PM)
that's not the problem..right now i just don't really know am i suitable for this course..i know that i am not fully committed and have the passion to pursue this course..but wad can i do??parents dun understand...
Aah...

Thats a different kind of problem now isn't it....
CyberSetan
post Jan 1 2009, 07:52 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 06:58 PM)
I strongly advice you to apply for PMC.
If money is not a problem, PMC is good. It cost more than half a million $ to do MB BCh BAO there (tuition fees only).
Otherwise choose from other available local pvt med schools here:

Private Medical Universities/ Colleges/ Schools in Malaysia

We've got TEN of them.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jan 1 2009, 07:54 PM
CyberSetan
post Jan 2 2009, 02:11 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Jan 2 2009, 01:33 PM)
One question....

Don't you think studying medicine anywhere is the same?
As far as getting a medical degree and then serving the govt, yes.
But the experience, exposure and basic medical knowledge may very well differ from various different medical institutions.

Say, those studying in Russia for instance, may be focused and exposed to the diseases that are common there whereas those studying in Indonesia will do likewise with regards to the diseases common in Indonesia. (example: malaria is uncommon in Europe, Frostbite is uncommon in southeast Asia)

CyberSetan
post Jan 7 2009, 12:58 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 7 2009, 12:34 PM)
Oh come one. Plz reply this question. I seriously thinking of becoming a doctor but this question really bugs me.
You mentioned that you are a Singaporean? by this I assume that you hold a Singaporean citizenship?
then if you wish to practice in Singapore, there are only two Universities in Malaysia recognized by the Singapore Medical Council for Medicine.

- Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
- Universiti Malaya (UM)

Check Here: http://www.smc.gov.sg/html/1153709442948.html

CyberSetan
post Jan 14 2009, 01:46 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 10 2009, 04:54 PM)
ptptn loans only for msians.......
...and even ptptn wont cover the entire cost of medical study. A large amount still needed.
CyberSetan
post Jan 17 2009, 12:31 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

what kumar book? that 'Pathological Basis of Diseases' book is it?

Thats a good book, if you can handle the ridiculously deep content. It doubles as a door stop, if you wish. You can seriously injure a person with it.

by the way, for clinical examination books: MacLeod's and Hutchinson's are the two books that I used.

I think somehow, Indian med colleges use similar books throughout the country. I dont know about other countries though.
CyberSetan
post Jan 17 2009, 10:59 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

I'm rather curious.
Does anyone else uses K.D Tripathi's Essentials of Medical Pharmacology and S.Das Concise textbook of surgery in their skools?
CyberSetan
post Jan 26 2009, 10:06 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Jan 26 2009, 09:53 PM)
So u mean if I graduated with mbbs(IMU) which is not registerable with SMC, but later then i work my ass off to obtain MRCP(UK), then i am still eligible to register and practise in singapore har???? betulkah??
hmm... here is a question for you, I assume you haven't entered any med schools yet?
Then instead of going to IMU knowingly that it wont be registrable with SMC, why dont you apply directly to the SMC recognized Universities abroad. There's a bunch of them from SMC list below:

----SINGAPORE MEDICAL COUNCIL RECOGNIZED UNIVERSITY LIST----

CyberSetan
post Jan 29 2009, 01:43 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

"one of us" - i assume this refers to those that took UEC?
Out of my curiosity, why did you take UEC?
CyberSetan
post Jan 30 2009, 02:45 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Jan 30 2009, 02:20 PM)
Well, now I'm wondering anyone of you here would like to give me some counselling... On Medicine of course.

First, Is a doctor's life really that busy? Like no afterwork, no adequate rest n relax time?
I suggest that you read all the posts in this thread from the beginning.

and also read this for additional info (Click it):

[List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia (Click it)

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jan 30 2009, 02:46 PM
CyberSetan
post Feb 1 2009, 11:05 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 1 2009, 10:56 PM)
sorry! Im confusing now!!!! Are you malaysian?Are you take stpm? sorry i always blur blur one!!!!
were you drunk while typing that?
CyberSetan
post Feb 2 2009, 10:01 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 2 2009, 07:15 PM)
erm...ask you something limeuu!!! If my actual result unexpected to get 3.83 or 3.84(AAAB+ or AAA-A-),apply for ums or unimas still stand a chance or not?
U doing what actually? STPM or Gov.Matriculation ?

0.0551sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:40 PM