363 posts

edited..

This post has been edited by diegoadriadona: Dec 5 2008, 12:36 PM
CyberSetan
post Oct 14 2008, 02:38 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 14 2008, 02:09 PM)
haihz..in the end..i cannot do wad i want...mother and brother disagrees..looks like i have to be here for 6yrs..disappointed..
then try to find a place near or better yet next to the uni. saves you time everyday.
if cannot, ask around on how to acquire driving license there and get yourself a scooter.

diegoadriadona
post Oct 15 2008, 11:12 PM

363 posts

edited..

limeuu
post Oct 15 2008, 11:20 PM

12,291 posts

sigh........yet another case of a 'forced' med student......living the life the parents wished they had......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Oct 15 2008, 11:20 PM
CyberSetan
post Oct 15 2008, 11:31 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 15 2008, 11:12 PM)
that's not the problem..right now i just don't really know am i suitable for this course..i know that i am not fully committed and have the passion to pursue this course..but wad can i do??parents dun understand...
Aah...

Thats a different kind of problem now isn't it....
tjinn
post Oct 16 2008, 05:15 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 15 2008, 11:12 PM)
that's not the problem..right now i just don't really know am i suitable for this course..i know that i am not fully committed and have the passion to pursue this course..but wad can i do??parents dun understand...
eh..i was like u once..i didn't wanted to enter the medical field, i was more interested in making cakes and deserts. =/
but.. since i didn't really have choice, i gave it a try and.. when i was in my first year.. i've slowly developed an interest towards the field.
i think.. sometimes people change. why don't u give it a try. it really is an interesting field with many branches or paths to specialize in later on.
diegoadriadona
post Oct 16 2008, 01:54 PM

363 posts

edited..

haya
post Oct 16 2008, 02:21 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 16 2008, 01:54 PM)
the problem i can't adapt to life in moscow..lolz...nvm..if it has to be this way..then that's they way it is..i can't really do anything anymore..i can't make decisions..parents are always rite..aren't they???
I wish.

But let me just say this: they are the ones paying for it, and while Russia is cheap, studying there is by no means is a small sum. At the end of the day, we are at their tender mercies.
diegoadriadona
post Oct 16 2008, 03:39 PM

363 posts

edited..problem solved

This post has been edited by diegoadriadona: Dec 5 2008, 12:37 PM
wgy589
post Oct 16 2008, 03:57 PM

759 posts

i'm just wondering why is 1st year so difficult for u, just pick up a gud book for each subject and u will do.
diegoadriadona
post Oct 16 2008, 04:00 PM

363 posts

because my mind's confused...i realise i came here too easily and without thinking very much and i cannot adapt to moscow very well(the weather particulary)..well it's not difficult..i can study..but i'm just confuse..anyways..thx

This post has been edited by diegoadriadona: Oct 16 2008, 04:05 PM
wgy589
post Oct 16 2008, 04:21 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 16 2008, 04:00 PM)
because my mind's confused...i realise i came here too easily and without thinking very much and i cannot adapt to moscow very well(the weather particulary)..well it's not difficult..i can study..but i'm just confuse..anyways..thx
then i think u may need some counselling.
SUSedge85
post Oct 16 2008, 04:26 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 16 2008, 03:39 PM)
yea...i duno what am i supposed to do to make them understand..1st yr already so difficult..if after 6yrs fail..the amount of money wasted will be more..that's why i insist in goin back to do all over again and then think again whether am i suitable to study medicine..rite now my mind is confused and i don't really like my university(MMA) anymore..juz can't adapt..but what the hell am i suppposed to do?? if i go back...i wonder can borrow JPA loan??to ease my parents burden..that's if only they allow me to restart
MMA is supposed to be okay. Stop being a pessimist, look into the brighter areas of your life there. First year medicine can't be that hard. Even lousy students go through.

Think about it, not many in your home country get to travel around europe cheap. A flight to London is just at 1GBP! You should enjoy your winter and summer holidays.
wgy589
post Oct 16 2008, 05:02 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Oct 16 2008, 04:26 PM)
MMA is supposed to be okay. Stop being a pessimist, look into the brighter areas of your life there. First year medicine can't be that hard. Even lousy students go through.

Think about it, not many in your home country get to travel around europe cheap. A flight to London is just at 1GBP! You should enjoy your winter and summer holidays.
and moscow has always been a nice place for me, esp the buildings.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Oct 16 2008, 05:03 PM
diegoadriadona
post Oct 16 2008, 05:14 PM

363 posts

i know..but now i realise what i want to do already..and i know i'm not committed and have enough passion to do it..since i know it ad..acting fast rather than sitting down doing nothing is much better rite?plus rite now my studies keep on getting disrupted coz my chest gets pain out of nowhere then go check up again..then 3 days cannot go school..thx for ur suggestions and advise..really appreciate it
bhypp
post Oct 16 2008, 09:21 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 15 2008, 11:20 PM)
sigh........yet another case of a 'forced' med student......living the life the parents wished they had......
now now thats tragic isnt it?

well its kinda hard for u to do even anything atm....since ur not even sure if ur gonna do med...it will be tough coz ur parents r the one with the money so they have the say over the matter......try talking to some of the student support staff of the uni....im pretty sure they will help u out in this...
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Oct 16 2008, 11:30 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 16 2008, 05:14 PM)
i know..but now i realise what i want to do already..and i know i'm not committed and have enough passion to do it..since i know it ad..acting fast rather than sitting down doing nothing is much better rite?plus rite now my studies keep on getting disrupted coz my chest gets pain out of nowhere then go check up again..then 3 days cannot go school..thx for ur suggestions and advise..really appreciate it
hey i was in a tight spot about few months back, from what i read you're a forced student. big variation from me. its been few months in right now for me at imu. I seriously just wanted to change course so that i can go overseas. but that was what was distracting me from the big picture. I enjoy my course, people eventually warm up to you. And everyday doesnt seem like a drag. I gave myself one semester meaning till end of this year , but i settled in pretty well within a month, before i know it i'll be overseas, time flew like a b****. its mid october now, i started late august, it felt as though ive been at imu for 2 weeks only.

this is a few pointers to over come your tough spot:
1) do some soul searching and future job searching. what would you do if it wasnt medicine. for me was biomedical science, or finance. where do you see yourself in 10 years? i still envisioned myself at least finishing up my specialty (which ever i choose) with enough money to invest for future purposes within 10 years.
2) wait for the work to start pouring in, i complaine d alot during the orientation week. but when the work came in, i knew why i signed up for medicine, cause i really enjoy learning it.
3) anything back home in malaysia that is attracting you to come back? i was initially repelled by the fact i have to be here for 2 and half years, while all my friends are going off. and of course the houseman years which made me rethink alot, but no pain no gain. you work hard in anything you do for in life. and of course i stuck on cause job security is important in any job, hence why risk it.
4) get to know your surroundings, meet more people and find stuff to do over there. at imu even though i dont stay back for activities, my 2 hour a day lectures are fun, i might stay back or go home to study and the rest of the day is mine : ) to game or to just rest up , or go hang out with my friends
5) parents. this is the hardest. i didnt get to stage where i had to consult my parents about quitting, i just told them i will try my very best to adapt and to give it my all. i only shared with my mom cause shes not so money minded, quitting imu then would have cost me 30 K for nothing.

i wish you all the best. just take my pointers cause i was in the position more or less like yours. the best is to think why you choose this pathway in the first place. if it wasnt your choice and desire in the first place , its high time you let the shit hit the fan and talk to your parents, and offer them your alternate solution, come back here and take monash MBBS, recognized in singapore and aussie apparently compared to imu's mbbs.
diegoadriadona
post Oct 17 2008, 02:09 AM

363 posts

now the only thing that stops me from goin back is whenever i think about the money tat will get wasted..huge amount...might as well stay here...can't afford to lose that much..thx anyway
bhypp
post Oct 17 2008, 01:48 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Oct 16 2008, 11:30 PM)
i wish you all the best. just take my pointers cause i was in the position more or less like yours. the best is to think why you choose this pathway in the first place. if it wasnt your choice and desire in the first place , its high time you let the shit hit the fan and talk to your parents, and offer them your alternate solution, come back here and take monash MBBS, recognized in singapore and aussie apparently compared to imu's mbbs.
well right and wrong...its recognized by the Msians n the Australian Medical Association but the Sg's MA has not recognized it yet coz monash malaysia hasnt produced any grads yet....the pioneer batch of students are still 1 year away from graduation, but i think Sg will recognize it when the grads are out.....its kinda weird if the Aussies recognize it but Sg doesnt.... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

anyway good for us....Sg grads working for us instead of the other way around!!! flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif

btw wanna raise some issue here ah....what u guys think about the medical system here.....like the ministry of health said they are working on a public-funded insurance cover thing, like the Medicare / NHS system....but no news bout it till now....and i think we should hav that coz for average folks.....seeing a 'normal doctor' / GP is getting more n more costly.... unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif
wgy589
post Oct 17 2008, 01:52 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 17 2008, 01:48 PM)
well right and wrong...its recognized by the Msians n the Australian Medical Association but the Sg's MA has not recognized it yet coz monash malaysia hasnt produced any grads yet....the pioneer batch of students are still 1 year away from graduation, but i think Sg will recognize it when the grads are out.....its kinda weird if the Aussies recognize it but Sg doesnt.... shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

anyway good for us....Sg grads working for us instead of the other way around!!!  flex.gif  flex.gif  flex.gif

btw wanna raise some issue here ah....what u guys think about the medical system here.....like the ministry of health said they are working on a public-funded insurance cover thing, like the Medicare / NHS system....but no news bout it till now....and i think we should hav that coz for average folks.....seeing a 'normal doctor' / GP is getting more n more costly.... unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
do u knoe any sg grads working in msia?

127 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:03 AM