Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits
remysix
Jul 2 2007, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 2 2007, 08:38 AM) sound like you really has deep pocket... is't Orthos stable? damn, too long didn't touch my rig already no la...he didnt have big pocker...just some 'small' change from his lunch @irenic, well i re-applied the AS5 last nite...not sure is it a lot but by compared to normal application, it's considered a lot...now i can OCCTing at 3.2G now, last time always kiok one...already passed 6 hours...and the temp just after application, dropped about 8-10c  we'll see how the temp like when the AS5 sinks in...anyway, thanks for the tips.
SlayerXT
Jul 2 2007, 10:35 AM
Wow using AS5 can lower down 8-10c? What paste u used b4?
Quazacolt
Jul 2 2007, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 2 2007, 09:27 AM) no la...he didnt have big pocker...just some 'small' change from his lunch @irenic, well i re-applied the AS5 last nite...not sure is it a lot but by compared to normal application, it's considered a lot...now i can OCCTing at 3.2G now, last time always kiok one...already passed 6 hours...and the temp just after application, dropped about 8-10c  we'll see how the temp like when the AS5 sinks in...anyway, thanks for the tips. eh bro, using TT BT VX right? i must go buy those thermal paste and reapply them asap >_< ah nvm saw ur sig, on gemini's This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 2 2007, 10:38 AM
irenic
Jul 2 2007, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 2 2007, 08:38 AM) sound like you really has deep pocket... is't Orthos stable? damn, too long didn't touch my rig already this 2160 quite cheap.. around 310 only.. and so far in normal usage ok lar.. QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 2 2007, 09:27 AM) no la...he didnt have big pocker...just some 'small' change from his lunch @irenic, well i re-applied the AS5 last nite...not sure is it a lot but by compared to normal application, it's considered a lot...now i can OCCTing at 3.2G now, last time always kiok one...already passed 6 hours...and the temp just after application, dropped about 8-10c  we'll see how the temp like when the AS5 sinks in...anyway, thanks for the tips. great to hear that.. btw how did u apply the as5? just dropped it in the middle or u flat it on ur heatsink urself?
remysix
Jul 2 2007, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 2 2007, 11:06 AM) this 2160 quite cheap.. around 310 only.. and so far in normal usage ok lar.. great to hear that.. btw how did u apply the as5? just dropped it in the middle or u flat it on ur heatsink urself? first, i put it on the heatsink, spread it like polishing the base - just to ensure that the AS5 could fill in the micro-gap...then put 3 lines of AS5 across the centre, upper and lower and 2 dots between the line something like this:
ps: excuse me for the poor drawing...nvr been good in this area This post has been edited by remysix: Jul 2 2007, 11:21 AM
gengstapo
Jul 2 2007, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 2 2007, 08:38 AM) sound like you really has deep pocket... is't Orthos stable? damn, too long didn't touch my rig already .. he's a money growers mahh sure no pr0b getting all those stuff  btw, what dya mean u didnt touch ur rig?
irenic
Jul 2 2007, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 2 2007, 11:20 AM) first, i put it on the heatsink, spread it like polishing the base - just to ensure that the AS5 could fill in the micro-gap...then put 3 lines of AS5 across the centre, upper and lower and 2 dots between the line something like this:
ps: excuse me for the poor drawing...nvr been good in this area  ic ic.. should be ok lar like that  QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jul 2 2007, 12:10 PM) .. he's a money growers mahh sure no pr0b getting all those stuff  btw, what dya mean u didnt touch ur rig? ceh!  i guess he got sthing else to touch, that might be better than touching a pc
remysix
Jul 2 2007, 09:42 PM
ok...passed OCCTIng for 18hrs...lazy to wait till 24hrs which would be 12 tonite...going to run OCCT at 3.3G tonite and see how...a quick 1/2 OCCT is ok...up the FSB and GMCH voltage...and managed to pass the quick test...mmm...by upping the FSB Overvoltage...i got a stable vcore...even though there is vdroop but it was stable instead of erratically up and down previously.
toughnut
Jul 2 2007, 09:42 PM
my pc not with me right now. still stuck in hometown
sHawTY
Jul 3 2007, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 1 2007, 02:57 PM) well, the temp i got for my gemini + quad core is nice, even without AC.. here is one tip, u need to put a lot of as5 on ur processor, and a tiny bit on the centre of ur gemini.. well u might feel weird, coz normally a tiny bit on the processor is enuff.. but that's it for gemini.. last time when i first installed the gemini, i applied the normal amount of as5 (like other heatsink) and the idle temp was around 70c! so i put a lot and the temp dropped to 40c idle hehe.. Irenic, kalau aku buat camtu kat watercooling kit aku, agak agak jadi tak?
storm88
Jul 4 2007, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jul 4 2007, 04:45 AM) Hi this is my result. Please do put me in the first page. Thanks.   not bad but i think yours still can be push higher. Btw, TS, mind to update my score at the first page?
TStAmp0i
Jul 4 2007, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 4 2007, 10:34 AM) Btw, TS, mind to update my score at the first page? I need your details as well such as mobo, ram timings, fsb.... Do you mind to print screen alongside with your CPU-Z opened? Thanks Edit: I missed one post of yours, sorry  Would you mind state what cooling are you using? This post has been edited by tAmp0i: Jul 4 2007, 10:47 AM
storm88
Jul 4 2007, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jul 4 2007, 11:38 AM) I need your details as well such as mobo, ram timings, fsb.... Do you mind to print screen alongside with your CPU-Z opened? Thanks Edit: I missed one post of yours, sorry  Would you mind state what cooling are you using?  hello. its all rite. i was on Water cooling Customize 1
Joseph Hahn
Jul 4 2007, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 4 2007, 10:34 AM) not bad but i think yours still can be push higher. If just for the sake of super pi-ing i think can, but i'm using this setup 24/7. It's not perfectly stable for benchmark or stress test but it's stable enough for gaming and that's good enough for me. This batch is supposed to be good but it's odd that i have to use 1.52V at 3.6GHz.  The RAM is actually 4-4-4-5 at DDR1000. I can use 4-4-4-4 at 2.3V maybe even tighter, but the mobo won't allow me to change it in the bios. If i do it won't boot at all.  And memset won't allow me to set the CAS latency to 4 in Windows thus that's why i'm stuck using 5-4-4-5.  In BIOS my DRAM setting is all Auto and it sets my RAM timing to 5-4-4-12.  Maybe you guys have any idea why i can't boot when i change the setting ? DFI Dark users especially.
VT-Ten
Jul 4 2007, 02:29 PM
applying paste to a quadcore is different from dual core, due to the physical positioning of the wafers... Dual Core http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_dual_wcap.pdfQuad Core http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_quad_wcap.pdf
irenic
Jul 4 2007, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 3 2007, 10:37 PM) Irenic, kalau aku buat camtu kat watercooling kit aku, agak agak jadi tak?  tak kot.. coz selain dr gemini, a lil dot of as5 is more than enuff  QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jul 4 2007, 10:38 AM) I need your details as well such as mobo, ram timings, fsb.... Do you mind to print screen alongside with your CPU-Z opened? Thanks Edit: I missed one post of yours, sorry  Would you mind state what cooling are you using?  erm update mine as well..
QX6700 @ 3.9ghz (356x11) corsair xms3 @ 9-9-9-24 1424mhz gigabyte p35t dq6 coolermaster geminII  QUOTE(VT-Ten @ Jul 4 2007, 02:29 PM) applying paste to a quadcore is different from dual core, due to the physical positioning of the wafers... Dual Core http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_dual_wcap.pdfQuad Core http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_quad_wcap.pdfyes, but this doesnt work with geminII..
remysix
Jul 4 2007, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 4 2007, 03:23 PM) erm update mine as well..
QX6700 @ 3.9ghz (356x11) corsair xms3 @ 9-9-9-24 1424mhz gigabyte p35t dq6 coolermaster geminII  no fair since u r using ddr3 bro what the vcore for that result?
AceCombat
Jul 5 2007, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(VT-Ten @ Jul 4 2007, 02:29 PM) applying paste to a quadcore is different from dual core, due to the physical positioning of the wafers... Dual Core http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_dual_wcap.pdfQuad Core http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_quad_wcap.pdfdirection is different,and i thought one drop in the middle? btw,i never use AS5 before.
remysix
Jul 5 2007, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jul 5 2007, 02:30 PM) direction is different,and i thought one drop in the middle? btw,i never use AS5 before. one drop is not enuff especially for quadcore...and furthermore if u use geminiII..geminiII is bolted to the mobo...so, basically u cannot twist it around to ensure the as5 is properly spread across the IHS...so, applying extra will do a good job for geminiII...