Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

toughnut
post Dec 1 2006, 09:21 AM

3,239 posts

does ALL KVR 533mhz can be OC to 900mhz and beyond?

i'm jumping to C2D side this this month rclxms.gif

other component in my list:
1. C2D E6400 (from bulk, probably)
2. Gigabyte DS3 or Asus P5B-E+
3. AC Freezer Pro 7
Limit RM1.7k

any comment or recommendation? wanna OC heavily.
btw, how much is asus p5b-e+?

This post has been edited by toughnut: Dec 1 2006, 09:51 AM
toughnut
post Dec 2 2006, 08:58 AM

3,239 posts

summary is just get a C2 eventhough no improvement right?
the mobo ahpaul82 sell is wat version?
toughnut
post May 20 2007, 08:28 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(sensesfail @ May 17 2007, 09:46 PM)
anyway, 680i support fsb 1333 <---future upgrade and blah...blah...blah.performance just better than 965 in difference of seconds.not really important.unless you r a die hard overclocker.

p/s:-most people use asus p5b deluxe for c2d OC.they got higher clock.
hmmm. wanna comment something based on my "research". those 680i can support 1333FSB but not new 45nm Penryn. if u look at all 680i mobo, none of it actually stated to support 45nm cpu. it might support but the chance look slim as even P965 cant support it. many says it's due to voltage controller limitation, something like that.

replacement for P965 and 975X is P35 (Bearlake). that's why the price for P965 drop. like DFi infinity P965 Dark for only rm540 drool.gif
toughnut
post May 21 2007, 07:59 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ May 21 2007, 06:26 AM)
Core Temp 0.95 is released. Download.

compared to TAT, i found that this version of Core Temp report lower temp. good news?
report lower value? that like ignoring the fact biggrin.gif
toughnut
post May 24 2007, 10:05 AM

3,239 posts

is buying the cheapest DDR2 667 ram with Micron D9GMH (B6-3) a bad idea?

cuz seem like most high performance ram use it and the speed scale up with less tight timing. what's the cheapest ram with D9GMH? Crucial Ballistix? how bout ProMOS chip (Team Extreme Dark)? cheaper than D9GMH.

though of ditching initial plan of 4x1GB Team Value and go for 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix smile.gif

This post has been edited by toughnut: May 24 2007, 10:47 AM
toughnut
post May 25 2007, 07:41 AM

3,239 posts

toughnut
post May 26 2007, 08:31 AM

3,239 posts

for C1E, if i don't disable it, will it cause any problem in OC like instability? cuz i don't think i will run at full speed all the time (full load all the time?)
toughnut
post May 26 2007, 10:50 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ May 26 2007, 09:34 AM)
but then again, when it is out of the idle mode...let say from idle, u fire up the orthos...possibly the multiplier jumps back to its previous state as well as the vcore, but the question is who jumps first: the multiplier or the vcore...if the multiplier first, then followed by vcore - bad, bad situation --> orthos sure fails.
that's what actually the problem i assumed to happen. will there be any spike in voltage since with C1E enable, the voltage will be fluctuating, not just constant.

QUOTE(remysix @ May 26 2007, 09:34 AM)
anyway, if u OCing, i dun think u gonna mind paying the extra watts; and most (every OC) will disable this to eliminate any factors that might distrup the OC...so, shave them all...got parallel port, serial port but not using it...disable them...
just my 2 rupees
for my current situation, i live in dorm and yep, electric is FREE wink.gif
but the heat is my enemy. i dont expect running winamp but with full load and lot of heat sweat.gif
btw, i usually disabled lots of nonsense component on my mobo. but if i disabled my raid controller, my pc won't boot even though not using raid array. weird...
toughnut
post May 27 2007, 07:36 AM

3,239 posts

@gengstapo
try running it with admin stat. just right click on the icon and run it. many software only work properly by doing this.
toughnut
post May 30 2007, 01:19 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ May 30 2007, 10:30 AM)
if u do that, be prepared for condensation as it might short curcuitout ur board.
the conroe overclocks much better with cooler temps, however if there is water, u know what will happen la
that's what i hate about peltier, phase change, DI, etc.
need proper and careful isolation for mobo. else, fried mobo sweat.gif
toughnut
post Jun 1 2007, 08:23 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 31 2007, 09:38 PM)
errr i think nobody cares if mobo fry.. scare the water drips to ure graphic cards and rams... thats going to cost a bomb..
short circuited mobo=fried mobo, bring together other components to death lol

btw, new Superpi 1M record guys.

e6700 at 5.693GHZ finished it under 9sec
http://www.madshrimps.be/vbulletin/attachm...=1&d=1180637205

using LN2 too
http://www.madshrimps.be/vbulletin/attachm...=1&d=1180637205
toughnut
post Jun 11 2007, 07:41 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 11 2007, 06:51 AM)
a minute...u gotta be kidding...passed the orthos with flying colors...for 10 sec that is tongue.gif  tongue.gif
1.6V+ on air? blink.gif
suicide. unless that's not your proc, can try higher biggrin.gif
toughnut
post Jun 12 2007, 07:54 AM

3,239 posts

blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
so fast already install DQ6 into the case? lol. time to unleash it bro biggrin.gif
toughnut
post Jun 14 2007, 11:03 AM

3,239 posts

@irenic
do you remove those heatpipe+heatsink to reapply thermal paste? or it's not necessary to do so?
toughnut
post Jun 15 2007, 08:17 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 14 2007, 01:50 PM)
irenic, good to see theres more fellow QX6X00 users around.

letme know the result of ur OC man, very interested. so far my orthos has been unsuccessful on clocks beyond 3ghz... im currently settling with 3ghz (340x9) and manage to orthos for 12 hours...

even then, the core temps of all 4 cores are on ~110-120 celcius avg... the moment turn off orthos the temp instantly drop to ~80ish, like really instantly lol

if i go higher fsb/clock speeds, it'll shoot up 120-130celcius and eventually around 30mins-1hour++ it'll auto shutdown, prolly to prevent it from frying out.
temp too EXTREME shocking.gif i really hope your core can withstand those high temp. conroe has behavior of dying slowly. be careful

i'm using typhoon VX too and noticed that actually it's not that good enough (casing design, airflow influence it)

consider top air cooler. Ultra120Ext, Tuniq, etc. Better yet, just go WC (water cooling, not toilet...)
toughnut
post Jun 16 2007, 08:20 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 15 2007, 09:07 PM)
does the gemII better than TTBTVX???
based on this anandtech review, both on par.

This post has been edited by toughnut: Jun 16 2007, 08:21 AM
toughnut
post Jun 16 2007, 12:58 PM

3,239 posts

@irenic
geminII has advantage. twin fan. try silverstone FM12x fan sweat.gif

@boulala
for P965, those two are among the best OC board with right price tag. i prefer infinity but beware, that board pretty picky. evil.

i suggest you go for P35. oc better, proven. Gigabyte P35-DS3 and Asus P5K around rm550
toughnut
post Jun 18 2007, 08:06 AM

3,239 posts

@remysix
include me in Orang Malas Club. that's why i decide to stick with air cooling, less hassle. moreover, quite phobia of bocor incident after the debate in parliament...
toughnut
post Jun 18 2007, 01:09 PM

3,239 posts

@Quazacolt

i suggest you do something with your proc. cool it by all meant lol. 100C is not norm, it's EXTREME, no pun intended..

try lapping your VX or try open/no case environment
toughnut
post Jun 18 2007, 05:41 PM

3,239 posts

@Quazacolt

lapping is process of smoothing the contact surface of HSF. VX has no so good contact surface IMHO

btw, nice clock too, 1.4v only.

0.0457sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:11 AM