Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

Quazacolt
post Jun 14 2007, 01:50 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 14 2007, 12:31 PM)
400x9 not successful?
irenic, good to see theres more fellow QX6X00 users around.

letme know the result of ur OC man, very interested. so far my orthos has been unsuccessful on clocks beyond 3ghz... im currently settling with 3ghz (340x9) and manage to orthos for 12 hours...

even then, the core temps of all 4 cores are on ~110-120 celcius avg... the moment turn off orthos the temp instantly drop to ~80ish, like really instantly lol

if i go higher fsb/clock speeds, it'll shoot up 120-130celcius and eventually around 30mins-1hour++ it'll auto shutdown, prolly to prevent it from frying out.
Quazacolt
post Jun 17 2007, 02:12 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 15 2007, 12:51 AM)
man u seriously need to change ur cooling..

neway i've been using qx quite a long time.. last time using wc, but now using aircooling (geminII) ... it's a very good cooling, and i really suggest u to buy it (if u dont plan on wc yet)

so far i  manage to hit 3.35 stable prime.. around 1.4vcore..
im using a TT big typhoon VX bro, not the best but its pretty decent. ur temps you check with core temp or other programs like asus probe? cuz on asus probe for example, my temperature only shows around 60 celcius, while core temp is showing almost twice that figure

Added on June 17, 2007, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 15 2007, 08:17 AM)
temp too EXTREME shocking.gif  i really hope your core can withstand those high temp. conroe has behavior of dying slowly. be careful

i'm using typhoon VX too and noticed that actually it's not that good enough (casing design, airflow influence it)

consider top air cooler. Ultra120Ext, Tuniq, etc. Better yet, just go WC (water cooling, not toilet...)
im really considering WC, but my casing would need some work, and still "recovering" from the impact of what my rig costed tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 17 2007, 02:17 PM
Quazacolt
post Jun 18 2007, 09:22 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 18 2007, 08:06 AM)
@remysix
include me in Orang Malas Club. that's why i decide to stick with air cooling, less hassle. moreover, quite phobia of bocor incident after the debate in parliament...
*raises hand*

include me in too... furthermore im using the antec p180b case, not really ideal for WC lol... the revision 2 version have WC holes drilled but mine doesnt sad.gif

either way, you guys think if i buy a better arctic thermal paste and reapply it would lower my heat issue? cores closing being around 100celcius is definitely NOT a good thing, even if it passed orthos 12 hours. (yes my 3.07 or 3.0 or 3.1 ghz whatever you wanna round it to qx6700 managed to pass orthos 12 hours)
Quazacolt
post Jun 18 2007, 03:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 18 2007, 01:09 PM)
@Quazacolt

i suggest you do something with your proc. cool it by all meant lol. 100C is not norm, it's EXTREME, no pun intended..

try lapping your VX or try open/no case environment
can clarify on lapping my vx? dont quite understand that.

also its currently running at 40-50celcius temp on probe/BIOS monitor and 60-70ish on core temp... didnt seem so extreme as compared to orthos stress for 12 hours XD

regardless i would like to lower the temp, be it prolonging my proc lifespan (like it'll happen being overvolted minorly and oc'ed lol) or further oc'ing drool.gif drool.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 18 2007, 04:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 18 2007, 03:44 PM)
Quazacolt, so whats ur current most stable overclocks for ur QX6700?
340 * 9 FSB vcore 1.4 netting 3.07 ghz
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 02:48 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 18 2007, 07:33 PM)
u meant the core temp at idle already at 6-70 range...so hot la this extreme proc...now i know why they called it extreme whistling.gif
on pure idle it can get as low as 55-60ish on core temp, core die from pc probe/mother board reading doesnt change though.

Added on June 19, 2007, 2:48 am
QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 18 2007, 05:41 PM)
@Quazacolt

lapping is process of smoothing the contact surface of HSF. VX has no so good contact surface IMHO

btw, nice clock too, 1.4v only.
har nice clock? everyone's like doin 3.2 or 3.4 and im like 3.0... kicit meow only sad.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 19 2007, 02:48 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 09:16 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 19 2007, 07:37 AM)
and urs is quad core...extreme summore...which batch are urs?
i'll be joining the quadcore club...but not the extreme division...normal quad
didnt notice my batch ID, but yea thats what im sayin, theres other quad xtreme users around here and they are doing pretty good on oc.

and whats the difference between the extreme models and normal? i only went for it for the higher factory clock speed XD
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 11:07 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 19 2007, 09:30 AM)
extreme model has unlocked multiplier upward and downward. normal one only unlocked downward
meh the upward multiplier... are pretty much useless most of the time for air coolers >.>

i have to reduce my multiplier to pump up more FSB ftw, but i wonder if i should lower fsb and raise multiplier to have the same clock speed but increased latency... not sure if im stressing my mobo lol
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 12:51 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jun 19 2007, 12:31 PM)
@Quazacolt

Before you thinking on how to clock more, find a way to solve your heat problem first. Your temp is way above any normal standard. You have the money to buy QX but cant get something good to cool it down.  Probably you will think I am blunt in my words but I just stating the obvious fact. Cool down your hardware else you are taking a big risk of toasting your hardware.

@InF.anime

No, it is not hard at all to reach 3.8ghz but its do pose some challenge if u want to exceed 4ghz. Anyway, as long you have the proper hardware and most important cooling... It isnt that hard smile.gif
im definitely not oc'ing more with that kinda heat. and the heat is just from core temp, core die is pretty cool i must say. unless 50ish celcius is hot sweat.gif sweat.gif

and ill be honest with you, i really dont have money to replace my current heatsink/acquire other cooling solutions. basically 1 shot blew it on my rig, and slowly recoverying from the pocket wound cry.gif

and i dont mind, ur stating the the truth anyways. this is also the reason why my oc halted at 3.0 and no longer pushing further. orthos 12hour stable suah. temp ok suah. just wait until i have WC or a much much better air cooling then ill consider pushing more to maybe 3.2 or 3.6 ish.
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2007, 11:53 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 19 2007, 09:27 PM)
quazacolt,

60-70ish on core temp? is it at full load? if yes, then very good leh...

my idle is around 59-61'C...and if push full load on all 4 cores using prime95, it can go up till about 77'C...the temp reading is based on TAT...

as for the temp, don't worry la...even at 70'C, i dont' think the speed will degrade that much... for processors, voltage is more sensitive compare to temperature...so try keeping the voltage as low as possible...

with ur current setup, how long you intend to prolong the lifespan of your CPU? haha... by the time your PC is 4years old...maybe outdated and you already planning to upgrade PC liao.... kekeke...
not full load bro. partial load and stuff. on orthos stress test full load 100% all 4 cores are around 110-120celcius :/

my vcore is only 1.4

i intended to have it live through 3-5 years... hoping longer... lol
cuz the next pc purchase will also be on a similiar budget and if it cant live through 4-5 years at least my pocket will die lol
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2007, 02:47 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

im just playing world of warcraft..... should be OK! XD

but ive been baited by lost planet demo... so... prolly not. and thats the main reason why i want to oc my quad. stock qx6700 really bottlenecks my gpu hard... after oc the fps is much better, not to mention loading or scene transitions.
Quazacolt
post Jun 23 2007, 12:11 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 23 2007, 11:53 AM)
bro... full load should not be 110-120'C ler....

mine...at full load... reach about 77'C only...

i think better lower down ur freq...110'C definitely overkills ur proc liao...
bro, still lower my freq? already at 3.07 ghz, anything lower i feel uncomfortable sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 23 2007, 03:05 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 23 2007, 12:26 PM)
yup...my Q6600 on load reached about 70ish...all core stressed 100%...how's ur mobo temp?...cpu fan blowing or sucking...some time changing that direction does help...i have delta triblade blowing the ttbtvx...idle around 40...sucking would be near 50c...huge diff there
still the delta (the temp, not the fan) is quite huge...researching right now
hmm my air flow is intake at front, exhaust at back/top... not sure if changing the direction would help... nor would experimenting it be easy, im using the antec180p and moving stuffs inside it is a lil hard >_<
Quazacolt
post Jul 2 2007, 10:37 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 2 2007, 09:27 AM)
no la...he didnt have big pocker...just some 'small' change from his lunch tongue.gif

@irenic, well i re-applied the AS5 last nite...not sure is it a lot but by compared to normal application, it's considered a lot...now i can OCCTing at 3.2G now, last time always kiok one...already passed 6 hours...and the temp just after application, dropped about 8-10c rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
we'll see how the temp like when the AS5 sinks in...anyway, thanks for the tips.
eh bro, using TT BT VX right? i must go buy those thermal paste and reapply them asap >_<

ah nvm saw ur sig, on gemini's

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 2 2007, 10:38 AM

0.1439sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:34 PM