IntelŪ Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

sHawTY
post Feb 25 2007, 07:50 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Anyone here uses watercooling on their e6600ES or normal e6600 [retail or OEM]?

I'm not really sure about my processor.
The processor temperature is at 43degrees and the temperature of each core is 21degrees on idle. [Using PC Wizard 2007]

In bios also reports the same. laugh.gif

Is this true? shocking.gif

nakata101 said that ES is not applicable with coretemp, yes, that's true, coz when i test with Intel TAT or Coretemp, the core temperature shown in those softwares is 7degrees on idle. sweat.gif

So which one should i believe? sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 25 2007, 08:06 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Feb 25 2007, 08:03 PM)
Use the software comes with the motherboard.
Okay, how bout you bro?
What do you get from your e6600 ES? blink.gif

Owh, i forgot to mention, i oc'ed my e6600 to 3.2GHz 400MHz X 8 = 1600FSB

Vcore at 1.45 smile.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Feb 25 2007, 08:07 PM
sHawTY
post Feb 25 2007, 09:26 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Feb 25 2007, 08:10 PM)
I also use the Asus PcProbe to see the temperature. TAT won't even run at all. Will auto close by itself. From nakata101 also, but selling it.

Now my setting is 400FSB x 8, 1.45vcore, DDR2 1000 4-4-4-12 2.2vdimm. Same like yours. LOL!
QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 25 2007, 09:05 PM)
Mine from Biostar utility software is 52C idle (for TAT should be 52C + 15C = 67C idle) @3.733GHz. Its ES. nod.gif
Tryin' to bun in for now? ur vCore is quite high.
Look at hyde'fk settings
He's using the same setting as me liao. sweat.gif

Too high meh? sweat.gif
Then what should i use?
If i use lower than that, i can't even go to windows. rclxub.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 25 2007, 10:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Ahh, now i'm able to run at 400X8 at 1.344vcores tongue.gif
Thanks yehlai...

Explanation:
Bus speed 400MHz X 8 Multiplier = FSB: 1600MHz
FSB 1600MHz X 2 = 3.2GHz clock speed

Ram: DDR800 runs at 800MHz @ 4-4-4-10 @ 2.1Volts
I know i can run the timing lower than what i'm running right now, but i won't bother about it, just leave it like that. smile.gif

Now my processor temps are:

Processor temp: 38degrees
Core temp [Core 0]: 10degrees
Core temp [Core 1]: 11degrees

Primed 2 hours stable. smile.gif
Thanks yehlai. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Feb 25 2007, 10:52 PM
sHawTY
post Feb 25 2007, 11:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Feb 25 2007, 11:01 PM)
how come can lower 0.11v in a sudden and stable?
I'll tell you why.
It's a funny story. laugh.gif

The waterblock is not covering the whole IHS before i adjust the vcores.
So the temps are siau high. laugh.gif

And before i adjust the vcores again, i take out the waterblock and shocked to see that the waterblock didn't sit on the processors IHS properly.

Cleaned the old layer of AS5, applied a new layer, then fit the waterblock back again, found the temps are okay, then i lower the vcore.

To tell you guys the truth, just before i resit the waterblock, the temps for my processor are a killing temps!

120degrees for processor temperature, and 70degrees for core 0 & core 1! sweat.gif

From there i know there's something wrong.
That's why i took the heavy job of taking out the waterblock, apply a new layer of thermal paste again. laugh.gif

So before this, it's not that my pc can't turn on because not enough vcores, it's because the temps are to high caused by the waterblock not sitting properly on the top of the IHS laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 25 2007, 11:27 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 25 2007, 11:24 PM)
Like tht also can??  rclxub.gif
120 Degree.. might need to send back to nakata if u not lucky enough  sweat.gif
Bro, that's before i resit the waterblock la... laugh.gif
Right now the temps are 38degrees in idle liao. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 25 2007, 11:34 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 25 2007, 11:30 PM)
Hey now ur temp and vCore prob solve. So now try get higher clock.
looking forward for tht brows.gif
Should i do that? tongue.gif
Don't know la, kinda happy with the current speed. laugh.gif

Later la, next week ke, next month ke laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 26 2007, 07:34 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(tone @ Feb 26 2007, 04:36 AM)
Water Cooling
Idle : 28'c
Load : 55'c
Hot Chip! Nearly double temp went load.

[attachmentid=197443]
[attachmentid=197444]
Hoo? blink.gif
Tone, what type of watercooling do u use?

Able to cool your processor at 28degrees, but on load it gets to 55degrees?
Why does the load temps go so high like that? shocking.gif

My Swiftech watercooling cools my e6600 at 3.2GHz:
Idle: 38degrees
Load: 42 - 44 degrees
sHawTY
post Feb 27 2007, 12:14 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(tone @ Feb 27 2007, 12:09 AM)
china made water cooling..cost Rm180.00 bucks only .. biggrin.gif
i think my proc IHS not flat enough. mad.gif .remount twice ody.
not gonna lap it. tongue.gif
You're talking about the watercooling kit that NGBH sells right? nod.gif

But still, quite a good idle temps you've got there. thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 27 2007, 09:39 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Feb 27 2007, 05:40 AM)
RM180 can get a watercooler set... blink.gif
Wow, tempting.....
It is good.
It's good in maintaning temps at idle.
But it's weak when the processor is on full load. laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 8 2007, 04:43 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(fo33il @ Mar 8 2007, 04:03 PM)
i wanna ask..i'm oredi set my vcore to 1.25...but,on the CPU-Z...it stated oni 1.138v...is it bug or wht?
That's what we call as Vdroop. smile.gif

If you want to set the vcore to 1.25

You have to make some calculations.

This is how you do it:

Vcore in bios: 1.25
Vcore in CPUz: 1.138

1.25 - 1.138 = 0.112

So if you want the Vcore to be "TRUE" 1.25, you have to do this:

1.25 + 0.112 = 1.362

1.362 - 0.112 = True 1.25Volts.

Do this, and you'll see in CPUz or any other voltage software detector will report your vcore as 1.25Volts. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 8 2007, 07:36 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Mar 8 2007, 04:47 PM)
Eh.. even vdroop oso not that high la.. 0.112v vdroop is very high. What mobo are u using again? Usually vdroop around 0.02 to 0.05v.

Have you disabled the EIST in your Bios?
Some of the boards have high Vdroop.
And Abit AB9 motherboard lines is one of them.

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Mar 8 2007, 04:51 PM)
any idea wif my setting?? the vcore drop aldy to 1.4625 but it still seems high compare to most of ppl here..

ram is kingston hyper-x pc6400 (ddr2 800)..

QUOTE(fo33il @ Mar 8 2007, 05:30 PM)
u asking me ka?....i'm using abit ab9 pro...
EIST function...oredi disabled them smile.gif
Both of you are using Abit AB9 motherboard lines.
No matter it's pro or non pro, it's the same.

AB9 motherboard lines are known for it's high vdroop laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 8 2007, 09:50 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Mar 8 2007, 09:26 PM)
huh.. i tried to run orthos with 400fsb x 9 (e6600es) @ 1.6875vcore (but uguru shows 1.64) n orthos failed after 20 minutes, previously it can run for hours.. load is 74 DEGREE...! is that means my proc is only getting 1.64vcore?? i really wondering wat happen to my proc.. it require less vcore to run at 370fsb x 9 (from 1.5125 drop to 1.4625) but now it seems like require more to run at 400fsb.. i tried ds3 before but it doesn't seems to go much further too..
As i've said earlier, don't rely on the vcore shown in the software bundled with your motherboard.

Use CPUz to know the true Vcore that is directed to your processor.
That's the true Vcore.

HaHaNoCluE, sorry to say this, but, i have to, Abit new line of motherboards are known for it's weakness here & there.

The history of the best Abit mobo is only on their old socket 478 motherboard such IS7, IC7

After that, they have been producing nothing but crap mobo, most of them are known for very high vdroop. shakehead.gif

I don't know why you need a very high Vcore more than 1.6Volts to run at 400X9.
I only use 1.5Volts of vcore to run at 400X9. laugh.gif
*Notice that we are using the same e6600 ES that we bought from nakata101 smile.gif

Ehh, before i forgot, did you increase the VMCH & the FSB voltage too? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 9 2007, 12:06 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Mar 8 2007, 11:56 PM)
what is a cold boot?
http://www.worldstart.com/tips/computer-te...ermcoldboot.htm
http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/C/cold_boot.html
http://www.answers.com/topic/hard-reboot
sHawTY
post Mar 9 2007, 12:41 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Mar 9 2007, 12:36 AM)
irenic....forsa how??  biggrin.gif
This is not a kopitiam thread. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 9 2007, 10:12 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(fo33il @ Mar 9 2007, 01:07 PM)
huge vdroop.. hmm.gif

edit:nevamind..i'm still in love with this mobo.... tongue.gif
i thought this mobo is quite good.. nod.gif
You thought.
But it's not good at all.

All new Abit mobo are pure crap.
Don't rely on reviews, sometimes they are siding to some companies. sweat.gif

The good ol' abit is much much better. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 13 2007, 12:54 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Mar 13 2007, 11:38 AM)
Noob question here.
Lets say I'm using E6300 on 2 different mobo, Biostar 965PT and Gigabyte P965-DS3 rev 3.3:

Biostar (1066FSB):
multiplier : 7x
bus speed : 265
core speed : 1860MHz
FSB : 1066

Gigabyte(1333FSB):
multiplier : 7x
bus speed : 265
core speed : 1860MHz
FSB : 1333

What is the different actually unless the FSB for Gigabyte is higher, other than that? Izit the Gigabyte has more "potential" to OC higher than Biostar 1? wink.gif

P/S: I not sure whether i count it rite or not, correct me if i'm wrong. Thanks! smile.gif
You've got it all wrong. sweat.gif
The 1333FSB processor isn't out on the market yet.

What you see on that Gigabyte stating 1333FSB is that that motherboard supports 1333FSB.
If you have a motherboard that supports 1333MHz while your processor is only 1066MHz, that doesn't make your processor will run on 1333FSB liao... laugh.gif

Your C2D e6300 will still run on 1066MHz not 1333MHz doh.gif

Intel Core2Duo processors with the 1333MHz FSB isn't out on the market yet. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 13 2007, 12:56 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 13 2007, 05:35 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Mar 13 2007, 05:28 PM)
just got my D9 just now around 3pm.   rclxm9.gif

damn  poslaju late 1 day! mad.gif 

Good.
Now i'm running my two pieces of GKX @ 4-4-4-10 @ 1GHz at 2.25Volts. smile.gif

Priming now.
It's already 6 hours.

Gonna post the screenshot after done more than 18hours, or maybe after i come back from johor tomorrow night.
That means i'll be priming my pc for 2 days! lol! laugh.gif

After priming, i'll do superPI. smile.gif
And try the 3DMark benchmarking again. happy.gif

Edit:
Guys, is it okay if i were to prime my pc for 2 days straight? hmm.gif
I'm on swiftech watercooling though. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 13 2007, 05:36 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 14 2007, 08:03 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts