QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 5 2016, 02:16 AM)
Cost a bomb to maintain and the car age is definitely more than 8/9 years old.Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations
Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations
Oct 5 2016, 11:59 AM
4,540 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sing-a-poor / Kayell / Jay-Bee |
Oct 6 2016, 09:47 AM
1,802 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Hey peeps,
I need a car recommendation. Its like this. My new job requires me to travel from Damansara Utama to Jeram, Kuala Selangor approximately 70km one way, so 140km per day for 5 days work week. I want a car that is best bang for my buck that is fuel efficient (more km with less petrol usage), low maintenance (car service as my mileage will shoot up like crazy). To me, it sounds better to buy a new car as the 1-3 years services are covered or 100,000 km covered (whichever earlier). What are your thoughts? Please give me a recommendation on cars. |
Oct 6 2016, 10:27 AM
309 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
QUOTE(keretaburuk @ Oct 5 2016, 11:56 AM) Thanks Ism1991 for your reply, your budget seems abit.... welll looks like its not really 20k....I have no issue to extend my budget a bit, new Axia cost RM35k, but considering its quite high to purchase cash, so I'm opt for different brands. Satria Neo sounds interesting. Any other car you would think of? (am not sure bout this, but i thought perodua sells their cars on loans~~ u mau bayar cash also they duwan to accept a neo for 20k would be an older NON-cps model.. if you can afford it, get a newer, more fun (manual for alot lot more fun) cps unit (around 25-30k from a dealer, pretty sure you can get a decent unit for 25 or so from an owner) note that, the neo is more of a 'performance' oriented car. It is NOT frugal. It is also an older car so dont find an abused/modified unit if you do go this route. there is also zenix's favorite goto latio which will do the job. reliable, reasonable maintanance, cheap to buy. |
Oct 6 2016, 04:51 PM
3 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Oct 6 2016, 09:47 AM) Hey peeps, Proton IrizI need a car recommendation. Its like this. My new job requires me to travel from Damansara Utama to Jeram, Kuala Selangor approximately 70km one way, so 140km per day for 5 days work week. I want a car that is best bang for my buck that is fuel efficient (more km with less petrol usage), low maintenance (car service as my mileage will shoot up like crazy). To me, it sounds better to buy a new car as the 1-3 years services are covered or 100,000 km covered (whichever earlier). What are your thoughts? Please give me a recommendation on cars. |
Oct 6 2016, 09:59 PM
32 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Di Putaran Setan |
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 6 2016, 10:27 AM) your budget seems abit.... welll looks like its not really 20k.... Hahaha that's what I said I have no issue to extend my budget, but considering I'm buying liability in cash, so I hope to find it really worth it.(am not sure bout this, but i thought perodua sells their cars on loans~~ u mau bayar cash also they duwan to accept a neo for 20k would be an older NON-cps model.. if you can afford it, get a newer, more fun (manual for alot lot more fun) cps unit (around 25-30k from a dealer, pretty sure you can get a decent unit for 25 or so from an owner) note that, the neo is more of a 'performance' oriented car. It is NOT frugal. It is also an older car so dont find an abused/modified unit if you do go this route. there is also zenix's favorite goto latio which will do the job. reliable, reasonable maintanance, cheap to buy. Latio is a good choice, I thought of this earlier no wonder the price tak jatuh. I'll take a look on that options too. Thanks! |
Oct 7 2016, 12:01 AM
298 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
hello car sifu here,
im just finish getting my car license and looking for my first car. Currently there are 2 choice. First kelisa, second persona old model ( Persona elegance). But im more toward kelisa. Anyone have experience using this car? and what is the standard price for used kelisa? below 8k consider okay or not?..or too cheap to be true?. I didnt have wide knowledge about car..scared later buy used car need to fork out alot of money to repair.. |
Oct 7 2016, 07:08 AM
202 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Hi guys... Thinking of getting 2nd hand car... Below is my choice
1. Brand : Axia, saga flx or myvi 2. Budget : below 30k 3. New/Used/Unreg : Used (2013 n higher) 4. Specs : N/A 5. Transmission : auto 6. NA or FI : NA 7. Type : Sedan/hatchback 8. Remarks : Looking for cheap maintainance I prefer 2nd hand because this is not my primary car..saga flx is cheap but afraid about proton reliability n their maintainance is more expensive than perodua I think... |
Oct 7 2016, 09:27 AM
Oct 7 2016, 10:12 AM
88 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Is it wise to buy a 2015 second hand polo or are they all rife with problems?
Oct 7 2016, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(wokies @ Oct 7 2016, 12:01 AM) hello car sifu here, car prices are never fixed... im just finish getting my car license and looking for my first car. Currently there are 2 choice. First kelisa, second persona old model ( Persona elegance). But im more toward kelisa. Anyone have experience using this car? and what is the standard price for used kelisa? below 8k consider okay or not?..or too cheap to be true?. I didnt have wide knowledge about car..scared later buy used car need to fork out alot of money to repair.. QUOTE(backislan @ Oct 7 2016, 07:08 AM) Hi guys... Thinking of getting 2nd hand car... Below is my choice -taking into account only new sc part costs, proton is cheaper than perodua.... and proton isnt like they used to be back then, the newer models are actually quite reliable. The only part on the flx that can cost more to maintain on the flx would be the cvt.1. Brand : Axia, saga flx or myvi 2. Budget : below 30k 3. New/Used/Unreg : Used (2013 n higher) 4. Specs : N/A 5. Transmission : auto 6. NA or FI : NA 7. Type : Sedan/hatchback 8. Remarks : Looking for cheap maintainance I prefer 2nd hand because this is not my primary car..saga flx is cheap but afraid about proton reliability n their maintainance is more expensive than perodua I think... QUOTE(mandarinoriental @ Oct 7 2016, 10:12 AM) well..... which model, which variant? if its the 1.4 with the dsg, let me ask you this... 1)do like to gamble or play russian roulette? - yes, this car is for you. - no, resume to no2 2)are you in love with this particular model and have some savings in event things do go wrong? - yes, well go ahead, - no... stay the hell away. if its the 1.6, well... reliability is alright i guess... but its nothing special in this configuration... typical gearbox, typical engine. Nothing special, no dif from any other car out there BUT comes with the euro maintenance costs. |
Oct 7 2016, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Oct 7 2016, 09:27 AM) pay more?? nono, spec for spec... actually the persona is cheaper.... comparing these 2 cars new, IMHO iriz is only a good choice if you get a relatively new used unit. Incredibly silly (maybe even stupid) to get a new iriz. Go compare specs and prices, persona is just better value but only looses in 2 aspects. 1) its more difficult to park (then again if u cannot park this car, please get off the roads) 2) roadtax as the iriz is available with a 1.3 (if you cannot afford the 1.6 roadtax, pls dont even consider buying a new car) the persona is basically a updated iriz with a lower pricetag and a bigger buntut my 2 sen~ |
Oct 7 2016, 11:59 AM
Oct 7 2016, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 7 2016, 11:40 AM) pay more?? nono, spec for spec... actually the persona is cheaper.... Thats what I thought too. When I saw, he/ she recommended me Iriz, I find it weird.comparing these 2 cars new, IMHO iriz is only a good choice if you get a relatively new used unit. Incredibly silly (maybe even stupid) to get a new iriz. Go compare specs and prices, persona is just better value but only looses in 2 aspects. 1) its more difficult to park (then again if u cannot park this car, please get off the roads) 2) roadtax as the iriz is available with a 1.3 (if you cannot afford the 1.6 roadtax, pls dont even consider buying a new car) the persona is basically a updated iriz with a lower pricetag and a bigger buntut my 2 sen~ Just to be clear, parking no issues & road tax about RM90 per year are nitty gritties costs of owning a car. My concern is I dont care about brand name of the car, I just want best bang for my buck. Is 1.6 litre fuel efficient? And I heard the tires of Persona is so small compared to the big body frame.. Looks weird? What is your take on this? What about the new 2016 Proton Saga? So much cheapper. But how does it fare with Persona? |
Oct 7 2016, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(Adjansi @ Oct 7 2016, 11:59 AM) I recommended Iriz based on your profile picture, Iriz matches well with girls lol I am a dude. Maybe I should change my profile pic. Hahaha. Sorry for the confusion.What is your budget actually? My budget? I will put it at 50k but I want to keep it as cheap as possible. I dont care how people view me. I dont need a fancy car to show status or how financially well I am (which I am not). |
Oct 7 2016, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Oct 7 2016, 12:10 PM) I am a dude. Maybe I should change my profile pic. Hahaha. Sorry for the confusion. haha sorry for my assumption too, If a new car the new persona should be a good choice, i`m not sure if the three years free service promotion still valid tho.My budget? I will put it at 50k but I want to keep it as cheap as possible. I dont care how people view me. I dont need a fancy car to show status or how financially well I am (which I am not). If second hand, maybe Proton Preve, but the fuel consumption seems higher than new persona. just my opinion bro |
Oct 7 2016, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(Adjansi @ Oct 7 2016, 12:19 PM) haha sorry for my assumption too, If a new car the new persona should be a good choice, i`m not sure if the three years free service promotion still valid tho. I thnk second hand is almost out of the question as my mileage will be shooting up like crazy as I drive 140km to work per day. So maintenance is a killer in that sense.If second hand, maybe Proton Preve, but the fuel consumption seems higher than new persona. just my opinion bro Thinking about Saga or Persona or Myvi. I am no car enthusiast but does a 1.3 car and a 1.6 car make a difference? More power i know but it also consume more fuel right? I am driving long distance. So any thoughts? |
Oct 7 2016, 12:47 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
298 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 7 2016, 11:30 AM) but then when i search into mudah.my for used kelisa, i found that even for same years, let say 2006, the price differ alot.. starting from 7k until 15k..how this could be? engine damage need to fork out alot of money for kelisa?..that why people sold it cheap to used car dealer? |
Oct 7 2016, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(wokies @ Oct 7 2016, 12:47 PM) but then when i search into mudah.my for used kelisa, i found that even for same years, let say 2006, the price differ alot.. starting from 7k until 15k..how this could be? engine damage need to fork out alot of money for kelisa?..that why people sold it cheap to used car dealer? dif variants, diferent conditions, and diferent sellers... sold by shop, they need a cut, some owners feel that their cars are worth alot..... hence a much higher pricetag but down the road they cant sell it and only readjust much further but by then the car has further devalued. (< i smell a grammatical error there)*my own car was one of them, previous owner offered it at xxxxx but called me up again after a few months offering it to my for 1/2 the initial offer (no you read correctly, half!!!!!) |
Oct 7 2016, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Oct 7 2016, 12:31 PM) I thnk second hand is almost out of the question as my mileage will be shooting up like crazy as I drive 140km to work per day. So maintenance is a killer in that sense. that little bit is not true...... myvi 1.0 bs myvi 1.5, the 1.5 uses less fuel in most scenarios. bigger cc but you have the torque and power to push the car with less revs. Its very complicated....Thinking about Saga or Persona or Myvi. I am no car enthusiast but does a 1.3 car and a 1.6 car make a difference? More power i know but it also consume more fuel right? I am driving long distance. So any thoughts? the new potongs seem to offer good milage... especially good if you drive with a feather foot. Its also seems relatively decent long distance BUT its not as stable or as spacious as the previous persona... (old persona is much larger and in my opinion nicer to hammer corners with, stability wise) one note tho, given the mialge you clock... u might wana find a car that offers unlimited mileage warranty. |
Oct 7 2016, 12:59 PM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(meowsifu @ Oct 4 2016, 02:52 PM) yup... i am still studying before nail down actually. balance will be mers? do advise. tq mers? the disease?oh ya anyone can advise about the fuel consumption? QUOTE(keretaburuk @ Oct 4 2016, 05:11 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 2006 Ford Lynx RS 2.0 - so what about a fun second car? if the usage isn't going to clock many miles on it then you can consider something like this. Of course the parts can be expensive for Ford's but if it is for low mileage usage like wife going to pasar everyday then only on weekends you have a little fun with it then that's fine as regular maintenance won't hurt you. The attraction is of course a sort of legendary car in our motor scene. 2012 Perodua Myvi - if you're looking for something newer and cheaper to maintain yet boring then of course you can buy a Myvi, the spiritual brother of the Vios. Nuff said. QUOTE(hbgoh57 @ Oct 4 2016, 06:12 PM) How is the 8th gen accord 2.0 which runs on the same engine/gearbox as the current gen accord in terms of maintenance?anything to be wary of regarding this model? It has been around for two generations, it must be good, yeah? From a manufacturers stand point they will only keep recycling the engine if it is economically viable after taking into consideration production cost, can keep up with current/future emissions standards, and if there are any design flaws. Previously Honda used the K20 engine across it's range from Civic to Accord to CRV to Stream, etc. There wasn't much design flaws and extracting power from it wasn't an issue. However, it couldn't keep up with emission standards while at the same time being fuel efficient and powerful. Which is why they switched to the R18 and R20 engines which were. QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 4 2016, 08:13 PM) they aren't meant to engine brake like a manual.QUOTE(eric84cool @ Oct 5 2016, 12:10 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Your current City might not be a big upgrade when you buy another City or Jazz, but it would be closer to what you're used to in terms of maintenance cost, however Jazz although new would have drawbacks or advantages being a hatchback, disadvantage is the smaller space, but advantage would be lower tailgate so it is easier to load items into it. |
| Change to: | 0.0221sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:00 AM |