Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

lsm1991
post Jul 28 2016, 05:36 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Jul 28 2016, 05:32 PM)
are all honda showrooms the same? will they all give the same discounts? i am planning to buy new honda city.
no, showrooms will look diferent and have diferent staff..... the displayed and available test drive models might also be slightly diferent
and no, each can offer you a diferent deal, depends on what deals they have at that time (discounts/freebies) and how much they need you to buy the car sweat.gif
roadie
post Jul 28 2016, 05:40 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 28 2016, 05:36 PM)
no, showrooms will look diferent and have diferent staff..... the displayed and available test drive models might also be slightly diferent
and no, each can offer you a diferent deal, depends on what deals they have at that time (discounts/freebies) and how much they need you to buy the car sweat.gif
haha thanks. any honda outlet known for giving more discounts? i dont mind going as far as ipoh or melaka if it will give me a few extra k discount.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jul 28 2016, 09:38 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 28 2016, 05:36 PM)
I am heading to ask about city. if its convincing..... I might take into consider.

I drove my sis maz 3 and bro in law accord.

to be honest.... skyactive win. lol yea, even its a d seg car. *maybe the 8th gen a bit too old compared to latest maz 3
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jul 28 2016, 09:39 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Jul 28 2016, 05:40 PM)
haha thanks. any honda outlet known for giving more discounts? i dont mind going as far as ipoh or melaka if it will give me a few extra k discount.
how will you get your car then?
Carbeginner
post Jul 29 2016, 01:25 AM

Example:
1. Brand : Used Honda city 2003/2004
2. Budget : RM20k - RM25k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : Full Spec
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : 4 seater.
8. Remarks : i am wondering what is the difference between vtec and idsi, normally idsi will be cheaper ? How can I buy a good condition secondhand car? I really need advice because this is my first time buying second hand and can I get 03 city that is below 20k? Any advice and what is the flaw of old model city?
verdangilte
post Jul 29 2016, 08:32 AM

1,379 posts

1. Brand : proton inspira
2. Budget : below 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used or new if available
4. Specs : Full Spec / executive
6. NA or FI :
8. Remarks: i looking for tis car quite a long time, just wonder, if purchase for 2 or 3 yrs car, will it be any major parts i need to check before get a deal ?? I am worry on paddle shift n cvt gearbox, cuz its will cost me few k to fix it and the results might nt be expected
dark90
post Jul 29 2016, 08:50 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Jul 28 2016, 06:32 PM)
are all honda showrooms the same? will they all give the same discounts? i am planning to buy new honda city.
Different sales man different discount, try asking around.
zenix
post Jul 29 2016, 09:30 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Jul 28 2016, 05:32 PM)
not really.
1. there is a difference between a normal showroom and 3s, usually 3s is higher tier and owners richfag so they able to get stock faster or keep more stock.
2. even within the same showroom different salesman might give you a different deal, the standard deals like honda2honda rebate of rm2000 everyone has but they might give you different service, trade-in value, bank rates, etc. according to their individual contacts.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 28 2016, 09:38 PM)
well, that's old technology compared to what the mazda has.
mazda skyactiv is good but do remember unique technology or complicated technology will not equate to cheaaper maintenance since not all workshops will be able to handle them, that is why conti's all have specialist centers.

QUOTE(Carbeginner @ Jul 29 2016, 01:25 AM)
Will you be buying cash because 2003 cars cannot be loaned.

Anyway HERE is a guide on what to look out for and test to do before buying a used Honda City/Jazz with CVT. It may also be used for other cars with CVT as the technology is the same but this article was written specifically for Honda Jazz/City.

jackbanner sticky it.

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 29 2016, 08:32 AM)
1. Brand : proton inspira
2. Budget : below 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used or new if available
4. Specs : Full Spec / executive
6. NA or FI :
8. Remarks: i looking for tis car quite a long time, just wonder, if purchase for 2 or 3 yrs car, will it be any major parts i need to check before get a deal ?? I am worry on paddle shift n cvt gearbox, cuz its will cost me few k to fix it and the results might nt be expected
Well Inspira should be one of the more better cars you can choose to buy from Proton.
As far as I know there were no big quality or build issues with this car, I'm guessing it was just built using CKD packs from Mitsubishi then they added the Proton logo. The gearbox should be fine, if you're worried you can try to apply the CVT gearbox test before buy guide above.

verdangilte
post Jul 29 2016, 11:01 AM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 29 2016, 09:30 AM)
not really.
1. there is a difference between a normal showroom and 3s, usually 3s is higher tier and owners richfag so they able to get stock faster or keep more stock.
2. even within the same showroom different salesman might give you a different deal, the standard deals like honda2honda rebate of rm2000 everyone has but they might give you different service, trade-in value, bank rates, etc. according to their individual contacts.
well, that's old technology compared to what the mazda has.
mazda skyactiv is good but do remember unique technology or complicated technology will not equate to cheaaper maintenance since not all workshops will be able to handle them, that is why conti's all have specialist centers.
Will you be buying cash because 2003 cars cannot be loaned.

Anyway HERE is a guide on what to look out for and test to do before buying a used Honda City/Jazz with CVT. It may also be used for other cars with CVT as the technology is the same but this article was written specifically for Honda Jazz/City.

jackbanner sticky it.
Well Inspira should be one of the more better cars you can choose to buy from Proton.
As far as I know there were no big quality or build issues with this car, I'm guessing it was just built using CKD packs from Mitsubishi then they added the Proton logo. The gearbox should be fine, if you're worried you can try to apply the CVT gearbox test before buy guide above.
ya...inspira is a good deal from proton..basically is 90% from Mitsubishi..as i tell my GF, its a japanese car but change logo only..

the reason hold me to purchase this is become of previous income not so stable, now ok abit, but already stop production..h bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
if now can get a new inspira...i will be very rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
lsm1991
post Jul 29 2016, 11:03 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 29 2016, 11:01 AM)
ya...inspira is a good deal from proton..basically is 90% from Mitsubishi..as i tell my GF, its a japanese car but change logo only..

the reason hold me to purchase this is become of previous income not so stable, now ok abit, but already stop production..h bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
if now can get a new inspira...i will be very  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
not really that old yet.... and its 2nd hand value isnt really that high so you can try get a 2-3 year old car for a good price
overmars
post Jul 29 2016, 11:32 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 28 2016, 01:31 PM)
am assuming you have no need for potential time bombs or more exp to maintain cars, so am gona ignore the euros in this case.

teana, accord and camry (you can afford one which is around 5 years old)
+ for a d segments, these are one of the more common d segment cars available in the market. (teana less so tho)
+ Well known to be reliable and the maintanance for these are not horrible since parts are easily obtainable and some parts are shared across their makes
- very common cars, they are not exactly special, being 5 years old, expect some wear and tear
- road tax might be a bit steep for he higher end larger cc ones

Suzuki Kizashi
+ very very pretty car
+ also pretty reliable
- 2.4l engine which is powerful but..... roadtax  sweat.gif
- not such a common car here, parts should be no issue but it's something to think about

there's a whole array of suvs and crossovers to chose from but i know peanuts about them.... so cant help you there
Hi bro, thank you for the input! Yea the sedan Segment D cars are pretty common among my colleagues. However, after driving sedans for all my life, thought i might wanna try SUVs for a change, just to spice up the daily commuting a little. Thanks for all your recommendations! I really appreciate bro!
overmars
post Jul 29 2016, 11:50 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 28 2016, 05:00 PM)
2009 Nissan Dualis - nothing impresses clients, business partners and people in general when you roll up to them with something unique looking, and this JDM is quite suitable for your needs, it is within budget and isn't too old. Being a JDM and rare people can't really tell if it is an old or new model, although this car and the Murano started the current Nissan design language for their SUV's most people can't tell this model was actually launched back in 2006 (10 years ago) but this one is a 2009 model so it is about 7 years old now. The one in this advertisement looks okay probably a nice car wash and polish would make it look as good as new. If you're able to find one which is unreg that is even better, unregs were being sold for around 70-80k-ish. Best part is although your car has the looks of a rare JDM inder the skin it is the same as that ugly boxy Nissan X-Trail  laugh.gif so maintenance is dirt cheap by SUV standards.
Hi bro, thanks for your recommendation on the Nissan Dualis. Specs and budget wise, they are perfect for me. However on the outer appearance, it doesnt look attractive to me. I'm a sucker when it comes to a mean looking SUV (Murano, Evoque), but life as it is, things that you like more often that not would be things that you cannot afford. biggrin.gif

I've been looking at 2011-2012'ish CRV. That's the gen of CRV that i like the most and kinda suits my budget. Any input on this?
stupor23
post Jul 29 2016, 11:50 AM

Hallo sifus and car owners...

I'm looking for my first car and could use some advice. Currently my top picks are as follows:

1. Brand : Ford Focus Mk2 2.0L Duratec HE (2005) or Renault Clio III 1.6L (2009)
2. Budget : ~25k
5. Transmission : 4 Speed Auto
6. NA or FI : FI
7. Type : Hatchback
8. Remarks : Other recommendations for the budget...

I have been looking at a whole bunch from a Peugeot 206 to the Merc A160. Also a Smart Forfour. Every car seems to have an issue of its own. And with a tight budget I'm planning to pay cash upfront with the preferred choice of the two stated cars above. The focus is a great car but I hear maintenance-wise could be pricey. As for the clio, the resale value seems lower than the Market Value price as quoted by carbase so I imagine it may be a good buy.

Any advice is much appreciated biggrin.gif.

This post has been edited by stupor23: Jul 29 2016, 11:57 AM
lsm1991
post Jul 29 2016, 12:16 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(overmars @ Jul 29 2016, 11:50 AM)
Hi bro, thanks for your recommendation on the Nissan Dualis. Specs and budget wise, they are perfect for me. However on the outer appearance, it doesnt look attractive to me. I'm a sucker when it comes to a mean looking SUV (Murano, Evoque), but life as it is, things that you like more often that not would be things that you cannot afford.  biggrin.gif

I've been looking at 2011-2012'ish CRV. That's the gen of CRV that i like the most and kinda suits my budget. Any input on this?
i see... you like those larger higher end suv's.....
-the murano is a reliable car... but tax.... can be heavy @2.5l
-the crv, reliable car, imo nothing special, basically the same thing facelifted
-subaru xv, relatively easy to jaga also prettyish looking
ignoring all the fancy looking kimchis cause i also know peanuts about those

now for the random suggestions of cars i like in this segment~ (copy n paste from an earlier post)
Caldina
Airtrek (bad example tho, does not look that nice BUT very oddly the cam cover on this particular car is from an evo7, might be more than just the cam cover thats been changed)
+both are 2.0L turbo vehicles, both very powerful, both sport oriented
+both share many parts in its others in their respective families....
-unfortunately they can cost abit to maintain cause... power and budget never go hand in hand
*do note that airtreks are over 10 yrs old*

QUOTE(stupor23 @ Jul 29 2016, 11:50 AM)
Hallo sifus and car owners...

I'm looking for my first car and could use some advice. Currently my top picks are as follows:

1. Brand : Ford Focus (2005) or Renault Clio (2005-2009)
2. Budget : ~25k
5. Transmission : 4 Speed Auto
6. NA or FI :  FI
7. Type : Hatchback
8. Remarks : Other recommendations for the budget...

I have been looking at a whole bunch from a Peugeot 206 to the Merc A160. Also a Smart Forfour. Every car seems to have an issue of its own. And with a tight budget I'm planning to pay cash upfront with the preferred choice of the two stated cars above. The focus is a great car but I hear maintenance-wise could be pricey. As for the clio, the resale value seems lower than the Market Value price as quoted by carbase so I imagine it may be a good buy.

Any advice is much appreciated biggrin.gif.
i only have 1 question... how much are you willing to spend on maintanance annually (not including tax, insurance)
depending on that answer, my suggestions can be wildly diferent
stupor23
post Jul 29 2016, 12:26 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 29 2016, 12:16 PM)
i only have 1 question... how much are you willing to spend on maintanance annually (not including tax, insurance)
depending on that answer, my suggestions can be wildly diferent
I havent't thought of that really, I'd imagine an average service at 10k km be around 300-500. So in a year that may be about RM1000? Depending on the mileage etc. But of course, the lower the better biggrin.gif
lsm1991
post Jul 29 2016, 01:05 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(stupor23 @ Jul 29 2016, 12:26 PM)
I havent't thought of that really, I'd imagine an average service at 10k km be around 300-500. So in a year that may be about RM1000? Depending on the mileage etc. But of course, the lower the better biggrin.gif
am not sure about the exact figures but when you need to replace certain major components its going to easily cost you more than that expected yearl budget.
frankly speaking... i would not poke either car even with a stick. cheap cars are cheap for a reason...

i have to ask... why those 2 in particular? its not powerful, they dont handle very well.... not like they are very sporty hmm.gif very curious now....

if you want a cheap hot hatch/sporty car, there are many many options, heck even a neo is a better option
a colt for one, costs alittle more but is a more decent choice 1.4l mivec turbo, whats there not to like
stupor23
post Jul 29 2016, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 29 2016, 01:05 PM)
am not sure about the exact figures but when you need to replace certain major components its going to easily cost you more than that expected yearl budget.
frankly speaking... i would not poke either car even with a stick. cheap cars are cheap for a reason...

i have to ask... why those 2 in particular? its not powerful, they dont handle very well.... not like they are very sporty  hmm.gif very curious now....

if you want a cheap hot hatch/sporty car, there are many many options, heck even a neo is a better option
a colt for one, costs alittle more but is a more decent choice 1.4l mivec turbo, whats there not to like
Within budget and reputable I guess. Apparently the duratecs have a pretty good lifespan and the clio 3 was awarded car of the year a few years back? I did look at the colt but out of budget...Forfour uses similar parts as the colt but the gearbox is problematic.

This post has been edited by stupor23: Jul 29 2016, 01:42 PM
verdangilte
post Jul 29 2016, 01:50 PM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 29 2016, 11:03 AM)
not really that old yet.... and its 2nd hand value isnt really that high so you can try get a 2-3 year old car for a good price
nola..just worry if the previous owner wont take care the gearbox...its need very take care if not later gg...
some of sifu told me before, if the buyer buy liao no take care, ngeh ngeh metal to pedal , the gearbox wont tahan for long...and once its change the g.b , might have problems..that why i looking for help on it.. i duno how to check the CVT gearbox
lsm1991
post Jul 29 2016, 02:20 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 29 2016, 01:50 PM)
nola..just worry if the previous owner wont take care the gearbox...its need very take care if not later gg...
some of sifu told me before, if the buyer buy liao no take care, ngeh ngeh metal to pedal , the gearbox wont tahan for long...and once its change the g.b , might have problems..that why i looking for help on it.. i duno how to check the CVT gearbox
earlier zenix showed someone how to check the gearbox, readup on that.... anyway if its 1-2 years old, the risk is minimized....
1)car is still under warranty, and if the original owner damaged it, it will either fail very soon, or basically not at all (check that the owner has already gone back for scheduled servicing))
2)if something is changed, then its changed... that is that, after changed there should not be any other issues (unless the shop screws up badly or was not able to correctly determine the cause of the issues in the 1st place).... a transplanted car works as well as the original engine..... so long as things are done right
3)1 yr, milage can go how far..... wear and tear would be very limited

bout the bolded part.... you can never buy a 2nd hand car then....
ayam smart guy~ changed from an 08 car to a 95 car brows.gif
verdangilte
post Jul 29 2016, 02:32 PM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 29 2016, 02:20 PM)
earlier zenix showed someone how to check the gearbox, readup on that.... anyway if its 1-2 years old, the risk is minimized....
1)car is still under warranty, and if the original owner damaged it, it will either fail very soon, or basically not at all (check that the owner has already gone back for scheduled servicing))
2)if something is changed, then its changed... that is that, after changed there should not be any other issues (unless the shop screws up badly or was not able to correctly determine the cause of the issues in the 1st place).... a transplanted car works as well as the original engine..... so long as things are done right
3)1 yr, milage can go how far..... wear and tear would be very limited

bout the bolded part.... you can never buy a 2nd hand car then....
ayam smart guy~ changed from an 08 car to a 95 car brows.gif
arg..i miss the post...that why i am now looking for it...i been very peceh as my family kena tipu to buy 2nd hand car before..
its was so terrible until my mom decide to sell it..screw the salesmen ( no offence ) tipu i say the spare tank will give within 1 weeks after i get the car, but its nvr come until i sell off the car..

oh yalo..just asking ,some dealer will offer 1 yrs warranty right ? if anythings damage, they will fix it with F.O.C right ??

370 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:31 AM