Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations
stupor23
Jul 29 2016, 11:50 AM
Hallo sifus and car owners... I'm looking for my first car and could use some advice. Currently my top picks are as follows: 1. Brand : Ford Focus Mk2 2.0L Duratec HE (2005) or Renault Clio III 1.6L (2009) 2. Budget : ~25k 3. New/Used/Unreg : Used 4. Specs : Full Spec 5. Transmission : 4 Speed Auto 6. NA or FI : FI 7. Type : Hatchback 8. Remarks : Other recommendations for the budget... I have been looking at a whole bunch from a Peugeot 206 to the Merc A160. Also a Smart Forfour. Every car seems to have an issue of its own. And with a tight budget I'm planning to pay cash upfront with the preferred choice of the two stated cars above. The focus is a great car but I hear maintenance-wise could be pricey. As for the clio, the resale value seems lower than the Market Value price as quoted by carbase so I imagine it may be a good buy. Any advice is much appreciated  . This post has been edited by stupor23: Jul 29 2016, 11:57 AM
stupor23
Jul 29 2016, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 29 2016, 12:16 PM) i only have 1 question... how much are you willing to spend on maintanance annually (not including tax, insurance) depending on that answer, my suggestions can be wildly diferent I havent't thought of that really, I'd imagine an average service at 10k km be around 300-500. So in a year that may be about RM1000? Depending on the mileage etc. But of course, the lower the better
stupor23
Jul 29 2016, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 29 2016, 01:05 PM) am not sure about the exact figures but when you need to replace certain major components its going to easily cost you more than that expected yearl budget. frankly speaking... i would not poke either car even with a stick. cheap cars are cheap for a reason... i have to ask... why those 2 in particular? its not powerful, they dont handle very well.... not like they are very sporty  very curious now.... if you want a cheap hot hatch/sporty car, there are many many options, heck even a neo is a better option a colt for one, costs alittle more but is a more decent choice 1.4l mivec turbo, whats there not to like Within budget and reputable I guess. Apparently the duratecs have a pretty good lifespan and the clio 3 was awarded car of the year a few years back? I did look at the colt but out of budget...Forfour uses similar parts as the colt but the gearbox is problematic. This post has been edited by stupor23: Jul 29 2016, 01:42 PM