Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Dilemmaz
post Sep 5 2016, 05:30 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Sep 5 2016, 05:23 PM)
In his mind

1) You should appreciate me because i provided SG JOB for you, i give you opportunity to earn 3 X RM.
2) After converted to RM your salary is very high! Can you find RM8k (2.7k x3) job in Malaysia?
3) I pay you and you should contribute more and be loyalty, don't calculative, you should complete your job in time no matter how long OT and no OT payment.

many chinaman SG company boss think like this..
Many ppl successful get their PR without let employer sign that form.

Good luck and keep looking for new job  thumbsup.gif

Edited: Household 6k SGD, means that your wife salary is higher than you? I suggest you can apply PR under her application! My wife (Work Permit) also under my PR application and both of us get PR recently. Both of you is EP and SP and qualification is better than me!
I also thought of that before. Problem is I wonder if the bind still applies if I apply under my wife.

I kinda have a feeling he will argue kao kao say the bind applies even if he didnt sign.

I applied under this company before that was 2 years ago. Got rejected.

This post has been edited by Dilemmaz: Sep 5 2016, 05:31 PM
Frank3
post Sep 5 2016, 05:34 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 05:30 PM)
I also thought of that before. Problem is I wonder if the bind still applies if I apply under my wife.

I kinda have a feeling he will argue kao kao say the bind applies even if he didnt sign.

I applied under this company before that was 2 years ago. Got rejected.
How long you worked in sg when you apply PR last time?
After PR approved, you resign before PR formalities lah.. As long as your wife have job then the formalities will go well.

Dilemmaz
post Sep 5 2016, 05:41 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Sep 5 2016, 05:34 PM)
How long you worked in sg when you apply PR last time?
After PR approved, you resign before PR formalities lah.. As long as your wife have job then the formalities will go well.
this is my fourth year here. So you meant when PR is approved, they will send me a letter to inform me of the approval, so before they issue the PR card to me, I just resign?

Wonder if it works.
Frank3
post Sep 5 2016, 05:47 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 05:41 PM)
this is my fourth year here. So you meant when PR is approved, they will send me a letter to inform me of the approval, so before they issue the PR card to me, I just resign?

Wonder if it works.
Yes, once the PR application approved, you are not convert to PR immediately, you need to go through PR formalities (make other appointment again) which take you one months, and you need to complete it within 3 months (correct me if i was wrong).

You will become PR after formalities completed in ICA in front of officer, they will issue you entry permit/re entry permit and take your EP/SP, you will get your IC number and book other appointment to get your physical IC.
nothingz
post Sep 5 2016, 06:04 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 05:41 PM)

Wonder if it works.
do not resign until you get your re-entry permit and your IC. things can still change before you are formally a PR
deodorant
post Sep 5 2016, 06:27 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

27 still young lar. When I 27 I still earning s$900 per month only. Now syukur a bit managed to bring it up to around $3000 a month at mid30s.
Blues89
post Sep 5 2016, 06:28 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

cukurlah ada job in sg = ="
boss nvr think rental also x3 makan also x3 ...lol...
WallChecker
post Sep 5 2016, 10:07 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(tyjl @ Sep 4 2016, 09:14 PM)
Is there a need to clear tax with current company by the end of current employment?
I believe there should be no such need as I will still be working in Singapore. But, just to be sure.
If u are not leaving SG with future employment in SG, u can declare it via LOU.

QUOTE(Osho @ Sep 5 2016, 02:39 PM)
Thanks. It helps to get perspective from someone in similar industry to set the appropriate expectation.

I asked this because my MYR salary is slightly off the chart higher than Jobstreet salary report for Senior (MY) and the Jobstreet Salary upper ceiling for SG Senior is a lower than the MY's upper ceiling (SGD to MYR nominal value).
Personally, I don't think Jobstreet data is correct, as they are purely statistic without sanity checks which is why I don't recommend to compare using their scale. U should be comparing with peers, uni alumni, friends or people that has similar profiles as yours to benchmark. Although, u may not have exact figures but u should be able to tell if u are top 10%-20%, mid-point, or lower point.

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 5 2016, 09:50 AM)
Everyone else say can. But hey, maybe my opinion might be useful. I dont have tax background, but im from a big 4 audit firm 5+ years exp too back then..

Dont expect a dollar increment, especially if your targeted firms are big 4 or mid tier sort of companies. Friends at the manager level moved over at abt 80% of their myr pay (rm8k to sgd 6k+) for a role in the due diligence / performance improvement side of things. Im sure you are familiar with the standard pay scales of these firms.

So, if you want a job that gives you an increment... The kind of job you are looking for is banks, MNC and govt investment companies (temasek-linked etc). But audit and tax experience (especially your tax exp) is not exactly transferable over to the singapore environment, and not fully relevant to the jobs these kind of companies have.

So....

Here are the odds in my view.

5% increment
15% matching.
80% pay cut.

Good luck. All my.other audit friends came with a paycut (before convert). Those that didnt were not in finance or accounting. (except those at the junior end..  Mid level execs not so)

But.. Its not impossible. Good luck finding that 20%
I agree on this to certain extend.

My overall view, those that in 5% increment and 15% matching, could be real talent, specialist or revenue-producer, other than that it could also be that they are coming from lower point in MYR as we couldn't benchmark everyone receive same pay. Whoever earning well and receive increment and matching is really good for them, whoever receive cut if it is less than 20% its okay because at the right time right place u will in better path in MY.

On Banks or Financial institution side, it is unlikely better than any industry with current market condition. At least on the skill sets side, it is still transferable between MY and SG on certain areas, at the same time it is also competitive as well as u will be fighting for the "rice bowl" from people all around the world, Ivy league, US, Switzerland, London, other EU, China, Indonesia etc.

This post has been edited by WallChecker: Sep 5 2016, 10:09 PM
KilJim
post Sep 5 2016, 10:22 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 5 2016, 06:27 PM)
27 still young lar. When I 27 I still earning s$900 per month only. Now syukur a bit managed to bring it up to around $3000 a month at mid30s.
Looking at your blog, i wonder if anyone believes you tongue.gif
missDC
post Sep 5 2016, 10:25 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Sep 5 2016, 06:28 PM)
cukurlah ada job in sg = ="
boss nvr think rental also x3 makan also x3 ...lol...
It's cheaper to eat in the hawker centre if you are earning SGD, than MY’s hawker centre and earning MYR. I agree the rent is a nightmare

This post has been edited by missDC: Sep 5 2016, 10:26 PM
jitshiong
post Sep 5 2016, 10:44 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

3k now? daily is it?
tyjl
post Sep 5 2016, 10:50 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Sep 5 2016, 10:07 PM)
If u are not leaving SG with future employment in SG, u can declare it via LOU.
Personally, I don't think Jobstreet data is correct, as they are purely statistic without sanity checks which is why I don't recommend to compare using their scale. U should be comparing with peers, uni alumni, friends or people that has similar profiles as yours to benchmark. Although, u may not have exact figures but u should be able to tell if u are top 10%-20%, mid-point, or lower point.
I agree on this to certain extend.

My overall view, those that in 5% increment and 15% matching, could be real talent, specialist or revenue-producer, other than that it could also be that they are coming from lower point in MYR as we couldn't benchmark everyone receive same pay. Whoever earning well and receive increment and matching is really good for them, whoever receive cut if it is less than 20% its okay because at the right time right place u will in better path in MY.

On Banks or Financial institution side, it is unlikely better than any industry with current market condition. At least on the skill sets side, it is still transferable between MY and SG on certain areas, at the same time it is also competitive as well as u will be fighting for the "rice bowl" from people all around the world, Ivy league, US, Switzerland, London, other EU, China, Indonesia etc.
I was told by my current company that an estimated amount will be with-held from my final month salary for tax payment to IRAS. Is that legal or I can request to settle it myself?
IwanAGP
post Sep 5 2016, 11:25 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 04:27 PM)
unfortunately MOM remains silent on this thus the employment contract is considered a legal binding document.

I am at the verge of breaking already. 27 years old with an Australian degree earning a pay of 2.7k sgd with increments of 100 dollars per annum.

I am an auditor
omg 2.7k... Be engineer don't go finance wink.gif

27 still young lar. When I 27 I still earning s$900 per month only. Now syukur a bit managed to bring it up to around $3000 a month [b]day[/d] at mid30s.
See above

QUOTE(missDC @ Sep 5 2016, 10:25 PM)
It's cheaper to eat in the hawker centre if you are earning SGD, than MY’s hawker centre and earning MYR. I agree the rent is a nightmare
Rent in M'sia also not much better la... Don't convert than it's not really nightmare.

QUOTE(tyjl @ Sep 5 2016, 10:50 PM)
I was told by my current company that an estimated amount will be with-held from my final month salary for tax payment to IRAS. Is that legal or I can request to settle it myself?
It's common and listed in IRAS.

Step 3: Withhold Payment Due to Your Employees
You are also required to withhold any monies (including overtime pay, leave pay, all allowances and reimbursements, gratuities and lump sum payments, etc.) due to your employee from the day he notifies you of his intention to cease employment or when you notify him of the termination of employment or posting to an overseas location.

When you are unable to withhold monies, please state the reason in the Form IR21. Otherwise, you may be liable for the tax that is owed by the employee.

https://www.iras.gov.sg/IRASHome/Businesses...-by-Step-Guide/
kevin613
post Sep 6 2016, 09:24 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Sep 5 2016, 06:04 PM)
do not resign until you get your re-entry permit and your IC.  things can still change before you are formally a PR
On that same note, nothing is guarenteed, even after you get your re-entry permit and your IC, it can still be revoked.
i'd say it's pretty safe once you get the approval letter, the rest is just formalities.

shawnmy
post Sep 6 2016, 10:32 AM

45 posts

Anyone working at suntech city mall or tower area? Do you know any place or common room that we can perform prayer? Nearby mosque is about 700 meter away.

nothingz
post Sep 6 2016, 10:34 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Sep 6 2016, 09:24 AM)
On that same note, nothing is guarenteed, even after you get your re-entry permit and your IC, it can still be revoked.
i'd say it's pretty safe once you get the approval letter, the rest is just formalities.
I have people not getting the ic because she resigned from her job after getting the letter. So better act tender after getting the ic, the risk is far lower
chesterchek
post Sep 6 2016, 11:23 AM

77 posts

after looked what u all say.. I feel my pay is way too low sad.gif

Btw Im 23 and get 2.2 as a software engineer
kixxeslips
post Sep 6 2016, 11:40 AM

35 posts

hi,
doctor's slave here. LOL.
just gotten my PR, and have been working in kiasuland for 3 years now. tongue.gif

uhmmm is there any meet up coming up? XD
deodorant
post Sep 6 2016, 12:07 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(kixxeslips @ Sep 6 2016, 11:40 AM)

is there any meet up coming up? XD

Lots. PM MacKiddo or Lester1987 for details.
madmoz
post Sep 6 2016, 12:18 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 6 2016, 12:07 PM)
Lots. PM MacKiddo or Lester1987 for details.
Why not just pst here though?

165 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0384sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:25 PM