165 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

missDC
post Sep 4 2016, 10:51 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Sep 4 2016, 08:23 PM)
I was there to took bus home last Friday, I chose Transtar, I was so dumb to realize the auntie is actually selling me ticket from another bus company Pacific express. The ticketing auntie is such a dishonest asshole in a way she deceived me by not convey that the bus she sold is not under Transtar, she made a call to pacific express.
What's more worst is the actual bus that I got in is not even belong to Pacific Express, that's a 3rd party bus instead. It took me more than 6 hours from Sg to TBS. Because it stops in Yong Peng, drop off passengers in Melaka.
And my seat was at the most last row in the back of the bus! The 6 hours massage chair like experience is unforgettable. And the auntie who sold me has never intend to convey to me, and I wasn't aware during that time due to fatigue.
And one thing I learnt from one of the lady who sit beside me, the only bus that has not stop in Yong Peng is St****rt, n they have their own e-commerce website to buy ticket in advance. I'm not trying to upsell any particular bus, just trying to rant the awful experience.
What a terrible experience. That Aunty is bad, best to be 100% sure next time. Transtar has its own shop in Golden Mile, so you can Google it next time should you need a $25sgd ride to KL. It took around 5.5 hours to 1 Utama.

More importantly, how was your interview?

fcuk90
post Sep 4 2016, 11:17 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Sep 4 2016, 10:22 PM)
Lol, such service is also run by Qistna express also for ur good info. cheapskette will see so cheap so buy it at first

They will use starmart express bus, then drop off some bitches at larkin, then exchange to a LOCAL express bus (can be 2+1 or 2+2 if unlucky) before continuing journey. sometimes got dropoff at seremban city area which wastes more time.

so far the best combination is first coach (star vista direct to subang parade for my case la nearest to home). causewaylink express also not bad. Aeroline out of budget
best combo is first coach as they use elite highway and non stop.
but sold out very fast and dont have much timing.

k town shit
post Sep 4 2016, 11:39 PM

771 posts

I actually bought it from their direct shop in Golden Mile complex, bangwall.gif
No clue about the chances of getting it, that position is more or less what I been doing in the past, somehow the pinoy i'viewer seems prefer someone who has software development background, although that is a consultant cum support role.
The pay isn't high actually, there is a ceiling for that role.

QUOTE(missDC @ Sep 4 2016, 09:51 PM)
What a terrible experience. That Aunty is bad, best to be 100% sure next time. Transtar has its own shop in Golden Mile, so you can Google it next time should you need a $25sgd ride to KL. It took around 5.5 hours to 1 Utama.

More importantly, how was your interview?
deodorant
post Sep 5 2016, 01:56 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Osho @ Sep 4 2016, 05:58 PM)
Hi would want to know for experienced professional (Malaysian experience) to relocate to Singapore, how likely to get 1MYR to 1SGD for the offer there. Is it even possible to get "increment" by dollar to ringgit? (aside of the currency rate difference)

Yes, of course it's possible. "How possible" that is depends on your profile i.e. how attractive you are to bigger companies in Singapore (who are less likely to try to low-ball your salary). If your 5 years experience is entry level job and never got promoted even once then of course that probability isn't particularly high icon_idea.gif
Blues89
post Sep 5 2016, 09:49 AM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

the probability of ppl reducing ur myr salary in sgd is higher by a lot lol...
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 5 2016, 09:50 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Osho @ Sep 4 2016, 05:58 PM)
Hi would want to know for experienced professional (Malaysian experience) to relocate to Singapore, how likely to get 1MYR to 1SGD for the offer there. Is it even possible to get "increment" by dollar to ringgit? (aside of the currency rate difference)

5 years audit and tax experience here and would like to join consulting firms in SG if it matters.
Everyone else say can. But hey, maybe my opinion might be useful. I dont have tax background, but im from a big 4 audit firm 5+ years exp too back then..

Dont expect a dollar increment, especially if your targeted firms are big 4 or mid tier sort of companies. Friends at the manager level moved over at abt 80% of their myr pay (rm8k to sgd 6k+) for a role in the due diligence / performance improvement side of things. Im sure you are familiar with the standard pay scales of these firms.

So, if you want a job that gives you an increment... The kind of job you are looking for is banks, MNC and govt investment companies (temasek-linked etc). But audit and tax experience (especially your tax exp) is not exactly transferable over to the singapore environment, and not fully relevant to the jobs these kind of companies have.

So....

Here are the odds in my view.

5% increment
15% matching.
80% pay cut.

Good luck. All my.other audit friends came with a paycut (before convert). Those that didnt were not in finance or accounting. (except those at the junior end.. Mid level execs not so)

But.. Its not impossible. Good luck finding that 20%
Dilemmaz
post Sep 5 2016, 09:53 AM

55 posts

Hey guys, just wonder if household igross income of 6k SGD in total will have a chance to buy a 4 room hdb? will I be able to sustain?

Take note its a combined income of two person already.

This post has been edited by Dilemmaz: Sep 5 2016, 09:53 AM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 5 2016, 09:55 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 09:53 AM)
Hey guys, just wonder if household igross income of 6k SGD in total will have a chance to buy a 4 room hdb? will I be able to sustain?

Take note its a combined income of two person already.
Bto or resale?
Dilemmaz
post Sep 5 2016, 10:04 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 5 2016, 09:55 AM)
Bto or resale?
resale
Subcrevv90
post Sep 5 2016, 10:15 AM

118 posts

Anyone play archery in Singapore and any recommended place to play?

I don't want to take any courses but just walk in buy arrows & shoots like the archery in sunway pyramid.
deodorant
post Sep 5 2016, 12:09 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 09:53 AM)

I assume you Husband and Wife both SPR? Installments shouldn't be a problem - 400k flat repayments over 25years should be around $1.6-$1.7k, which is under the 30% MSR. Then you can pay the installment from your CPF OA contributions as well which should help cash flow.

[edit] 400k resale ie 320k loan is $1,452 monthly repayment (HDB loan @ 25 years). I personally feel it's easily sustainable especially since most of that loan can be paid by your monthly CPF contributions.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 5 2016, 12:54 PM
crazy25kid
post Sep 5 2016, 01:24 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 5 2016, 12:09 PM)
I assume you Husband and Wife both SPR? Installments shouldn't be a problem - 400k flat repayments over 25years should be around $1.6-$1.7k, which is under the 30% MSR. Then you can pay the installment from your CPF OA contributions as well which should help cash flow.

[edit] 400k resale ie 320k loan is $1,452 monthly repayment (HDB loan @ 25 years). I personally feel it's easily sustainable especially since most of that loan can be paid by your monthly CPF contributions.

there is also the part of "rent saved" if currently renting a whole unit which is currently paid by the take home pay instead of CPF
Dilemmaz
post Sep 5 2016, 02:32 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 5 2016, 12:09 PM)

Hi there,

we are both under employment pass and s pass. 400k flat can get 4 room?

Note: I understand that we need to be both SPR to purchase from resale market.

Thus, we might be going back msia as I dont think there is a future as I am very underpaid and unable to secure another job.

This post has been edited by Dilemmaz: Sep 5 2016, 02:33 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 5 2016, 02:35 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 02:32 PM)
Hi there,

Thus, we might be going back msia as I dont think there is a future as I am very underpaid and unable to secure another job.
I think its not the pay that stops you, but the 3 year waiting period for both SPRs.
Dilemmaz
post Sep 5 2016, 02:36 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 5 2016, 02:35 PM)
I think its not the pay that stops you, but the 3 year waiting period for both SPRs.
That is one thing, and my jackass boss that binds me 3 years ONCE I GET MY SPR.
Osho
post Sep 5 2016, 02:39 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 5 2016, 09:50 AM)
Everyone else say can. But hey, maybe my opinion might be useful. I dont have tax background, but im from a big 4 audit firm 5+ years exp too back then..

Dont expect a dollar increment, especially if your targeted firms are big 4 or mid tier sort of companies. Friends at the manager level moved over at abt 80% of their myr pay (rm8k to sgd 6k+) for a role in the due diligence / performance improvement side of things. Im sure you are familiar with the standard pay scales of these firms.

So, if you want a job that gives you an increment... The kind of job you are looking for is banks, MNC and govt investment companies (temasek-linked etc). But audit and tax experience (especially your tax exp) is not exactly transferable over to the singapore environment, and not fully relevant to the jobs these kind of companies have.

So....

Here are the odds in my view.

5% increment
15% matching.
80% pay cut.

Good luck. All my.other audit friends came with a paycut (before convert). Those that didnt were not in finance or accounting. (except those at the junior end..  Mid level execs not so)

But.. Its not impossible. Good luck finding that 20%
Thanks. It helps to get perspective from someone in similar industry to set the appropriate expectation.

I asked this because my MYR salary is slightly off the chart higher than Jobstreet salary report for Senior (MY) and the Jobstreet Salary upper ceiling for SG Senior is a lower than the MY's upper ceiling (SGD to MYR nominal value).
knwong
post Sep 5 2016, 02:40 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 02:32 PM)
Hi there,

Both of you are foreigners. Not eligible
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 5 2016, 02:53 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 02:36 PM)
Get a different.job bruh.
Dilemmaz
post Sep 5 2016, 03:01 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 5 2016, 02:53 PM)
Get a different.job bruh.
tried for 6 months d. cannot get any replies. went to one interview only.
nothingz
post Sep 5 2016, 03:37 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 02:36 PM)
you can apply for SPR without the help of your boss. i have heard a friend doing that and successfully getting his PR

165 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:58 PM