Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

missDC
post Aug 29 2016, 12:08 AM

24 posts

Anyone knows where is a good place in Chinatown/Tanjong Pajar to rent? Looking for a studio or 1 bedder, don't want to rent room from owner, r around SGD 2k.

This post has been edited by missDC: Aug 29 2016, 12:09 AM
missDC
post Aug 29 2016, 01:36 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(kai91 @ Aug 29 2016, 12:38 AM)
I'm renting a room. But I've seen one or two posters around the hdb, 1.8k for 2+1 bedrooms. I think for your budget you can rent the whole unit of older hdb. My coworker stays at UE Square, not sure how much is he paying though.
Thanks for your rec kai. UE square is quite ex without sharing, around SG 2.8k. Haha your co-worker is fortunate. Yeah I do miss my parents and renting a place of my own allows my parents to stay with me.

I will have a look at the HDBs around Chinatown, although some of them are really old and noisy on the main road.

This post has been edited by missDC: Aug 29 2016, 01:37 PM
missDC
post Aug 29 2016, 01:53 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Aug 29 2016, 11:15 AM)
Means you are currently working in mys.  I would say sg employers may not value your experience in mys, somemore the sg job market is not good, it may take you some time to find a job here.
Actually I noticed on Jobstreet SG for accounting related jobs, the amount of foreign applicants easily doubles the SG applicants, which explains why streetglow is finding it difficult to get noticed on Jobstreet SG.

This is worsen by the foreigner quota and having to fight for jobs with other Korean, China, Pinoy foreigners. I will suggest to him to apply directly via email to the firms and to improve on his English. The mid tier audit firms I applied/interviewed for in Singapore are generally looking at your:

- Skills, grades and experience
- Whether you can talk well and carry the company’s name well in the corporate environment
- Helps if you are Chinese

This post has been edited by missDC: Aug 29 2016, 01:59 PM
missDC
post Aug 29 2016, 01:58 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(kai91 @ Aug 29 2016, 01:45 PM)
It's noisy mostly during festive season. A lot, and i mean a looot, of lion dances. Noise from road, not so much for me, because hdb quite high from ground, cars can't really speed in sg, and honking is not that common. i think the price that i see is cheaper because no agent or because the old uncle/aunty doesn't know where to put up posting, so they paste posters around the block instead. Will let you know if i happen to see more posters biggrin.gif
Haha sounds good! What level are you on? So fortunate to not hear noise smile.gif Last time I rented a room facing the corridor, I could not sleep at all because neighbours would walk by and be noisy till the wee hours of the morning.
missDC
post Aug 29 2016, 04:52 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Aug 29 2016, 02:02 PM)
No matter work in Msia or Sg, it's hard to get a chance to speak more English, especially work in the non-English spoken environment. How to improve English?
When speaking English, best to speak with someone with a higher grasp of the language, so you can learn from him/her. I improved my English by watching American shows and documentaries, and reading Penguin Classics. So that may work for you.
missDC
post Aug 30 2016, 01:21 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Aug 29 2016, 10:44 PM)
hello... I have a question, appreciate if somebody can help...
I got an interview at Macpherson road, I plan to take bus back to KL this Friday evening right after the i'view.
Any suggestion for the nearest bus stop with more choices? I want to buy the ticket on the spot.
Go to Golden Mile after your interview. I just booked a ticket to KL last week at the last minute, so many seats left. There are so many providers to choose from: 5 star, transtar, etc. Cheapest is SGD$18 to KL, the one I picked was SGD $25 transtar.

Use this website to check the timing or book online. http://www.easybook.com
missDC
post Aug 30 2016, 02:35 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Aug 30 2016, 08:18 AM)
Hey hey singapore workers/businessmen,

Is it hard for a fresh grad malaysia engineer to get a job in singapore? I tried for months applying singapore jobs but until now I have not receive any single calls. I am keen to know their concerns on giving me a hiring opportunity. Is it because i am fresh? Or because I am a Malaysian? or because its a hassle to settle my working visa? I dont see all these a problem frankly.
Yes, it's because you are a foreigner, inexperienced and require a special visa application. This may not be a problem for you, but are big problems for HR and employers. Also think from the perspective of the employer, not yourself, this is especially true when you answer questions in an interview.

I read on HWZ forum that some NUS grads are having difficulty getting graduate jobs. Obviously local grads in SG are more valued, which may explain why you are having difficulties. What type of engineering are you doing? From my understanding, the industry is not at its best, so graduate jobs are scarce.

If you spent the last few months looking for jobs in SG to no avail, I would suggest you give up on SG, and apply for reputable firms in MY. Later on, when you have two years or more experience, definitely try again in Singapore.

As a recent graduate, I spent a total of two months trying to find accounting jobs in SG. I was fortunate and managed to get 3 offers from mid tiers, and 1 offer from a small company. So if you haven't even been invited for interviews in SG, move on and hunt for malaysia jobs which will be easier.
missDC
post Sep 2 2016, 01:41 PM

24 posts

Are any of you PRs working on SG? How long does the ICA renew your permit for? My friend only received 1 year renewal.
missDC
post Sep 2 2016, 10:55 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 2 2016, 06:30 PM)
any chance his passport is valid for another year only?
Just asked, the passport is valid until 2019.
missDC
post Sep 2 2016, 10:56 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 2 2016, 02:40 PM)
Which pwrmit? Ur re entry permit?
oops yes that's what I meant. Singapore PR re entry permit.
missDC
post Sep 4 2016, 10:51 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Sep 4 2016, 08:23 PM)
I was there to took bus home last Friday, I chose Transtar, I was so dumb to realize the auntie is actually selling me ticket from another bus company Pacific express. The ticketing auntie is such a dishonest asshole in a way she deceived me by not convey that the bus she sold is not under Transtar, she made a call to pacific express.
What's more worst is the actual bus that I got in is not even belong to Pacific Express, that's a 3rd party bus instead. It took me more than 6 hours from Sg to TBS. Because it stops in Yong Peng, drop off passengers in Melaka.
And my seat was at the most last row in the back of the bus! The 6 hours massage chair like experience is unforgettable. And the auntie who sold me has never intend to convey to me, and I wasn't aware during that time due to fatigue.
And one thing I learnt from one of the lady who sit beside me, the only bus that has not stop in Yong Peng is St****rt, n they have their own e-commerce website to buy ticket in advance. I'm not trying to upsell any particular bus, just trying to rant the awful experience.
What a terrible experience. That Aunty is bad, best to be 100% sure next time. Transtar has its own shop in Golden Mile, so you can Google it next time should you need a $25sgd ride to KL. It took around 5.5 hours to 1 Utama.

More importantly, how was your interview?

missDC
post Sep 5 2016, 04:53 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 04:27 PM)
unfortunately MOM remains silent on this thus the employment contract is considered a legal binding document.

I am at the verge of breaking already. 27 years old with an Australian degree earning a pay of 2.7k sgd with increments of 100 dollars per annum.

I am an auditor
Are you in a mid tier in sg applying to the big 4?
missDC
post Sep 5 2016, 10:25 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Sep 5 2016, 06:28 PM)
cukurlah ada job in sg = ="
boss nvr think rental also x3 makan also x3 ...lol...
It's cheaper to eat in the hawker centre if you are earning SGD, than MY’s hawker centre and earning MYR. I agree the rent is a nightmare

This post has been edited by missDC: Sep 5 2016, 10:26 PM

0.0862sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:21 PM