Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

kevin613
post Jun 20 2016, 08:31 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jun 19 2016, 10:38 AM)
I think I got the DHL scam call. But joke's on them, cos I don't speak mandarin. The only word I got was DHL
I guess they're randomly spamming calls on all numbers, I got it on my house phone, and both my mobile numbers. My wife got it as well.
kevin613
post Jun 20 2016, 05:42 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jun 20 2016, 09:39 AM)
Got a call too... I wonder where they are getting the numbers from. I haven't been working here long wor.
have you registered your number in the DNC registry?
https://www.dnc.gov.sg/index.html

edit: slowpoke... forum is going on and off intermittently, missed the previous post.

This post has been edited by kevin613: Jun 20 2016, 05:43 PM
kevin613
post Jul 6 2016, 11:29 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 5 2016, 12:42 PM)
madmoz can consider mileage accrual cards, too. I'm too lazy to min-max multiple cards so I just use Citibank PM visa & Amex. Collect enough miles liao then change to KrisFlyer and fly SQ suites icon_idea.gif

http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2015/10/ho...ines-s5000.html

I flew with my wife to Tokyo last Oct. Early next year flying my parents on Suites to HK icon_idea.gif
U must be charging 6 digits tu your cards yearly to collect enough miles for suites... manyak kaya...
I'm using citibank PM visa too for 3rd year now, but I doubt I have enough miles even for one person to go business class.
kevin613
post Jul 13 2016, 02:56 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(ITzai @ Jul 13 2016, 02:54 PM)
I keep seeing new job openings being published everyday but wonder why hardly to get any response.
Is Singapore now freezing or what..
not freezing. just keep in mind you'll have to compete with others from China/India/Philippines/Thai/Viet/etc etc..
whoever cheaper better faster will get the job...
kevin613
post Jul 19 2016, 02:25 PM

2,236 posts

i smell buayas....
kevin613
post Jul 20 2016, 06:56 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 20 2016, 06:23 PM)
Anyone got their citizenship approved recently ?

I applied since last sep, submited doc on end feb, till now no news.....
You submitted yours online?
kevin613
post Jul 26 2016, 01:29 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 26 2016, 11:18 AM)
Actually I flew in with a sound bar, which comes in a huge box and no one stopped me at Changi for GST or anything so I suppose it depends on luck?
by air is not so strict, though you can still be stopped for checks.. by land, all car passing by have to open trunk for them to check.

kevin613
post Jul 26 2016, 01:38 PM

2,236 posts

JUST IN: Qualifying salary for Employment Pass applications to be raised from $3,300 to $3,600 from Jan 1, 2017

The change is part of the Manpower Ministry's (MOM) regular updating of the EP qualifying salary to keep pace with rising local wages, maintain the quality of Singapore's foreign workforce and enhance their complementarity to the local workforce, MOM said in a press release on Tuesday (July 26).

The previous minimum EP qualifying salary update was in January 2014, from $3,000 to $3,300. http://str.sg/4SNZ

MOM said it will provide lead time for businesses to make adjustments. Existing EP holders whose passes expire:

Before Jan 1, 2017: Will be able to renew, for a duration of up to three years, based on existing EP criteria.

Between Jan 1, 2017 and June 30, 2017 (both dates inclusive): Will be able to renew, for a duration of one year, based on the existing EP criteria.

July 1, 2017 onwards: Will have to meet the new criteria for renewal, for a duration of up to three years.
kevin613
post Jul 26 2016, 01:39 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2016, 01:32 PM)
Car loan restriction also relaxed end May.

Up to 70% borrowing & 7 years
this is in anticipation of the COE tsunami coming in 2017-2018...
i guess eventually will be back to 90% 9 years max..
kevin613
post Jul 26 2016, 02:28 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 26 2016, 02:22 PM)
But i believe not all employers will comply with such regulations. There's many people I've heard getting EP for less than 3k
your boss could either be honest, submit EP for less than the required salary, then see if MOM approve the EP, or...
submit fake salary declaration on the application form, which is a criminal offence.. up to your boss loh...

to comply or not, to approve or not, not our call.. biggrin.gif
kevin613
post Jul 27 2016, 08:11 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 26 2016, 10:56 PM)
Mine was submitted less than 3k. Quite a number of my colleagues from MY too. And submitted salary is right what we get for our salary. Less than 3k not to say 3.3k doh.gif
A lot la... So many of my friends fresh here less than 3k still getting their EP.
But why the new rule says up to 3 years? EP previously can apply 3 years??
I know, once upon a time mine was submitted below the required amount too. Was told by HR that Malaysian could get it easier, but I don't know if that was still true, and approval is always at the mercy of MOM. No guarantee that you'll get approval even if you meet all requirements.
kevin613
post Jul 27 2016, 09:15 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 27 2016, 09:06 AM)
I'd wager that most parents tak nak come. Mine said they'll miss their routine and friends. Damnithavetodohouseworkformyself
Even though security and healthcare is likely better (but more expensive hmm.gif) here, it'll be cruel to force them to relocate methinks.
if can afford to bring parents but they dont want, and need someone to do your housework, go hire a FDW lo... tongue.gif
kevin613
post Jul 27 2016, 11:43 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 27 2016, 09:59 AM)
my fren hiring maid, 500 per month oni
levy havent count horr..
kevin613
post Jul 27 2016, 02:45 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 27 2016, 02:42 PM)
Maid is around 700 including levy right? Not sure if you also need to home and feed her like in MY too.

Part timers are cheaper but need to buy in minimum hour blocks. Ends up not cheap also.

I don't earn enough bah to maintain 3 maids - one for my parents in hometown, one for kl family and one in SG lor. Doesn't make financial sense. Ironing and other misc housework tak suka but DIY lor.
more than that... i used to pay 550 for maid salary, and 260+ for levy(IIRC), and provide her with accomodation and food of course.
kevin613
post Jul 28 2016, 09:12 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(xyrotix @ Jul 28 2016, 07:12 PM)
This one you need to ask hr. They pay or you pay .
have to be borne by employer, by law.

kevin613
post Aug 2 2016, 08:20 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Aug 2 2016, 08:01 PM)
I wanna ask,

nope..just pay toll and the upcoming road charge/vep.
kevin613
post Aug 2 2016, 08:23 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Aug 2 2016, 07:38 PM)
No. Thats just one of the many theories. It depends much on your experience, education asking salary ,the employer themselves and also your luck.
i'd say having a local number will help, but only to certain extent. With all the other factors being equal, one candidate has local number and one foreign number, i'd be inclined to call the local number first, that's thinking from employer perspective.
kevin613
post Aug 3 2016, 11:46 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Aug 3 2016, 09:37 AM)
Currently I'm just a Malaysian without EP yet, thus is it still the same requirement on getting prepaid number?

Postpaid? Even a Malaysian can just purchase one right away?
postpaid without EP = pay huge deposit upfront
Thats one of the pros of getting EP.
kevin613
post Aug 5 2016, 08:57 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(tHeDuD3 @ Aug 4 2016, 09:37 PM)
pls make sure tat ur landlord register ur info with HDB within seven days from the commencement of lease agreement.

it is to make sure tat whn u wanna renew ur pass, MOM can match ur current stay add wif the registered add (register by ur HR). if the add nt match, MOM wil nt allow u to renew ur pass.
Not all landlord will want to register with hdb, cause once you register, the rental will become taxable income, also it depends on whether your employer register your pass with company address or your actual address. My experience is employer register the pass with company address.
kevin613
post Aug 5 2016, 11:08 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 5 2016, 09:00 AM)
Is law tat landlord must register , and rental always been taxable , can't run one

If Ur landlord dun register brtter blackmail him for few months few rental
by law lah...
not sure how common it is nowadays for landlords to "not register", or "lock one room" then rent out the whole house without registering.
i used to rent one whole unit without the owner locking up one room, at lower than market rate for a unit directly opposite MRT station

0.0901sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:05 AM