Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Frank3
post Jun 17 2016, 03:56 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ Jun 16 2016, 01:06 AM)
Hi guys,

May I know how many Resume you sent in before you get you first job in Singapore?

Just for sharing purpose.

TQ
One. Haha...
Frank3
post Jul 5 2016, 10:42 AM

263 posts

Guys, checked my PR application today and it finally show approved! rclxm9.gif

Application date is 30NOV2015, my wife under my application and apply PR with me.

Just want to ask when i will receive the letter from ICA?

Will my wife get PR with me since the system just shown "Approved" means that all applicant success?

Thanks guys!

Frank3
post Jul 5 2016, 02:30 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 5 2016, 10:44 AM)
Congratssss. Next step is to convert citizenship.
Yea, i intend to... cheaper stamp duty!

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 5 2016, 10:49 AM)
Congrats!!! So jeles now... can jimat on extra stamp duty when buying property d you!!!
Intend to get citizen then jimat more!

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jul 5 2016, 10:49 AM)
Congrats!

Wakao take ~8 months after approval huh
I also very surprise, actually is 7 months 5 days brows.gif
Frank3
post Jul 7 2016, 09:59 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 7 2016, 09:49 AM)
51k miles only cos there's 15% discount if you redeem online. Between 2miles/$ overseas (i.e. Malaysia) spend, 6-10 miles/$ Expedia/Agoda promos, and annual fee miles credits, the accrual rate is actually quite a bit quicker than one might expect.

But yes, having said that, you do need a decent level of expenditure to make it 'worthwhile,' otherwise better to go for a cash back card I guess.
For ppl who always go for business trip will get those miles easily, swipe hotel, meal, taxi and etc.. plus miles from flight.
Frank3
post Jul 11 2016, 10:21 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jul 10 2016, 12:32 AM)
Standard increment is about 4% here at my company this year
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 10 2016, 12:34 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Early tis yr, i got like 2% oni  vmad.gif  vmad.gif not enough to buy 1 tower beer
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 11 2016, 09:12 AM)
Mine was like.. 2.5% too. sad.gif life is sad.
Better than me lah, my CEO ask us to sacrifice this year, no increment given bangwall.gif cry.gif .
Frank3
post Jul 11 2016, 11:01 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 11 2016, 10:31 AM)
bye.gif so bad meh

U in which line, market tat bad ?
Ship owner haha, all my company's ship support oil & gas, this industry facing disaster now cry.gif
Bad time to work in this industry now cry.gif
Frank3
post Jul 12 2016, 09:51 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Jul 12 2016, 09:49 AM)
What are your AL entitlement guys?

Im being given a decent offer with 12 days AL. Im a bit concerned on this.
I got 14 days AL, 14 days ML
Frank3
post Jul 20 2016, 05:30 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(phenally @ Jul 20 2016, 05:15 PM)
Hi all , checked my PR application online and it is approved at last after waiting for 7 month . So what next ? What need to be done ?
Congrats,

First, wait for the IPA letter, it will sent to your address (in PR application)

Second, mail the medishield declaration form (attached in letter) to CPF (https://www.cpf.gov.sg/Assets/members/Documents/FORM_MSLHD.pdf)

Third, wait for the acknowledgement letter from CPF (This might take two weeks or more, i still waiting until now vmad.gif vmad.gif i mailed on 9 JULY) After received, go book your PR formalities appointment via E-appointment (https://eappointment.ica.gov.sg/ibook/index.do)

Fourth, after book, go to complete medical checkup for HIV and X-RAY, give the EP152 form to your HR to prove you still working in current company (in PR application)

Last, go to ICA to complete your formalities... I havent reach here rclxub.gif

Frank

Frank3
post Jul 20 2016, 05:38 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 20 2016, 05:33 PM)
After dapat pr, next step is citizenship. Majulah singapura.
hahaha, well said. rclxms.gif
Frank3
post Jul 27 2016, 04:01 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Jul 27 2016, 12:04 PM)
Hi, when would be a good time (as in which month of the year) to apply for PR? Anything else I should take note of? I heard people saying that beginning of the year is the best as you will stand a higher chance. Is this true? Can someone enlighten me ?
My case, start work in SG on April 2014, ROM in SG on NOV 2015, submit PR application (Spouse under my application, so two ppl applying) on NOV 2015, June 2016 approve.

I'm 26 YO and my wife 25 YO.

Rumors said, below factor will increase your chance:

1) Age: the younger the easier you get PR, singapore is facing ageing population issue cuz low birth rate... so they love young talent who can work long time to contribute SG economy and of course CPF rclxms.gif

2) Married and spouse working in SG: The chance of you will build family in SG is very high, for your next generation future, and yes, singapore love baby, this will lead to first factor.

3) Qualification, salary, job industry, company: With good education(Degree), decent salary (able to feed family in SG), great job with good prospect (IT, engineer, development, research, medical and etc), good company (company with bad financial condition will affect because you are highly kena lay off or company shut down you will lose job, gov don't want to feed you)

4) Nationality, Race: people who are easier to adapt to SG culture will get PR easier. Malaysian (Chinese), Bruneian (Malay, Chinese), Indonesian (Chinese) are easier to get PR than Indian, Pinoy, Burmese, Vietnam, PRC and other third world country...

This post has been edited by Frank3: Jul 27 2016, 04:08 PM
Frank3
post Jul 27 2016, 04:03 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 26 2016, 07:31 PM)
Says who? Never heard of anyone getting ep below the required  minimum salary.

I am one of the guy who earn below 3300 and get EP (2014), and even get PR now.

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Frank3
post Aug 31 2016, 11:54 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 30 2016, 05:22 PM)
Getting jobs in SG is being more and more competitive during this period of economy ressesion.
I got few hiring agents told me 80% of companies are freezing headcounts, freezing bonuses and increments for existing headcounts and worst off retrenchment.
Wish good luck to those malaysians who trying to secure jobs in singapore or wanting for a job switch.
WOW, glad that i'm not kena retrench and still get my bonus this month! Indeed the market in sg is become worst and worst, my friends are not getting bonus, AWS kena forfeit, no increment..... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Frank3
post Sep 1 2016, 05:27 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Aug 31 2016, 03:53 PM)
What happened to AWS?
Company just change the policy and remove AWS. My company also remove AWS during 2015... but lucky they divide it into 12 months and increment to our month salary.

For example (My company):

monthly salary is 3000, after AWS removed, 3000/12 = 250 will added to your monthly salary, become 3250..

Bad for new joining staff who doesn't entitled to AWS.
Frank3
post Sep 5 2016, 05:23 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 05:10 PM)
Very sickening the local bosses here. very very chinaman also. exploiting people
In his mind

1) You should appreciate me because i provided SG JOB for you, i give you opportunity to earn 3 X RM.
2) After converted to RM your salary is very high! Can you find RM8k (2.7k x3) job in Malaysia?
3) I pay you and you should contribute more and be loyalty, don't calculative, you should complete your job in time no matter how long OT and no OT payment.

many chinaman SG company boss think like this..
Many ppl successful get their PR without let employer sign that form.

Good luck and keep looking for new job thumbsup.gif

Edited: Household 6k SGD, means that your wife salary is higher than you? I suggest you can apply PR under her application! My wife (Work Permit) also under my PR application and both of us get PR recently. Both of you is EP and SP and qualification is better than me!

This post has been edited by Frank3: Sep 5 2016, 05:29 PM
Frank3
post Sep 5 2016, 05:34 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 05:30 PM)
I also thought of that before. Problem is I wonder if the bind still applies if I apply under my wife.

I kinda have a feeling he will argue kao kao say the bind applies even if he didnt sign.

I applied under this company before that was 2 years ago. Got rejected.
How long you worked in sg when you apply PR last time?
After PR approved, you resign before PR formalities lah.. As long as your wife have job then the formalities will go well.

Frank3
post Sep 5 2016, 05:47 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Dilemmaz @ Sep 5 2016, 05:41 PM)
this is my fourth year here. So you meant when PR is approved, they will send me a letter to inform me of the approval, so before they issue the PR card to me, I just resign?

Wonder if it works.
Yes, once the PR application approved, you are not convert to PR immediately, you need to go through PR formalities (make other appointment again) which take you one months, and you need to complete it within 3 months (correct me if i was wrong).

You will become PR after formalities completed in ICA in front of officer, they will issue you entry permit/re entry permit and take your EP/SP, you will get your IC number and book other appointment to get your physical IC.
Frank3
post Sep 9 2016, 10:46 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Sep 9 2016, 10:08 AM)
So my understanding, they will send me a letter after complete sgjourney

within the approval letter period of 3 months to complete formalities -> surrender ic passport and birthcert in this 3 months time -> will receive ackowledgement letter frm Malaysia government within 3 to 4 days -> so after I surrender my Malaysia citizenship and the period before I able to get my new Singapore passport by appointment with ICA , I basically can't travel in out of Singapore ? Is my understanding correct ?

But one question, how to surrender my Malaysia citizenship while I need to come back to Singapore to work without my passport . 

Wondering if it possible to surrender Malaysia IC if still owning PTPTN loan? Or i can still pay PTPTN LOAN continuously after become sinkie??
Frank3
post Sep 9 2016, 11:59 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Sep 9 2016, 11:39 AM)
You applying for citizen ? If not why bother
Planning to apply.

QUOTE(mxdesigns @ Sep 9 2016, 11:51 AM)
shakehead.gif Don't be a scum. If you borrowed the money, pay it off.

It is Malaysians with such attitude who head over to Singapore and give all Malaysians a bad name as they're bound to do something stupid in Singapore thinking they're still in Malaysia. Not to mention by eluding such payments, you're literally depriving the younger generation of their entitlement to a proper education loan when their parents can't afford it. Imagine if you are one of those who actually are in need of the loan however due to other people's fault, the body decided to stop giving this loan. How would you feel?

Day in day out there's been so many cases of Singapore PR or converted Singaporean (from Malaysia) who end up doing things that disgrace not only themselves but even Malaysians and Singaporeans.  ranting.gif
Hey doh.gif doh.gif , did i mention/intend i will not to pay back the loan? ranting.gif ranting.gif ranting.gif

I only ask, CAN WE PAY THE LOAN after change nationality? I just worry if Citizen application approved but cannot revoke malaysian IC only! It will affect my future life plan such as housing, building family and etc. BTW I am not that kind of person ok vmad.gif doh.gif vmad.gif

In addition, dont forget about your guarantor (while applying PTPTN) will need to settle this if you not paying LOAN!

BTW YOU ARE NOT ANSWERING MY QUESTION , you are whining.

This post has been edited by Frank3: Sep 9 2016, 12:05 PM
Frank3
post Sep 9 2016, 02:10 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(mxdesigns @ Sep 9 2016, 12:34 PM)
I admit I sounded a little too condescending back there, my apologies.

I am also not whining, just giving a reminder as there have been far too many going down that route. The period it takes to get a PR and then a citizenship in Singapore is actually way more than enough for you to set aside and pay off that loan considering SGD conversion rates. Unless you're telling me your loan is in the hundreds of thousand, I don't see why one can't pay it off within all that time frame.

As for your question, as long you've not been blacklisted in the immigration due to no payments to PTPTN, there shouldn't be any problem.
I accept your apology. smile.gif

Yes, exactly i concern about is if i am not able to pay off PTPTN in one shot (around RM70 thousand, after convert still need SGD20k ++), am i able to revoke Malaysia citizenship.

Need to save SGD500++ by 36 months to reach this number, plus my salary is not many after deducted CPF, and the saving is for support family's loan, marriage, housing and etc..

I rather to pay the LOAN slowly instead of one time.

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2016, 01:45 PM)
My friend converted dy. Her PTPTN still not settle until now. So it's YES to your questions

But MY government is covering the loop hole.
Thanks for the answer, appreciated it. Wonderin how MY gov cover the loop hole? Not allow to revoke Citizenship if holding LOAN?

This post has been edited by Frank3: Sep 9 2016, 02:12 PM
Frank3
post Oct 25 2016, 10:23 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 25 2016, 01:09 AM)
Homes in Malaysia under rm1 million are not open to foreigners either; would you say they are "not full market price?" icon_idea.gif

Anyway just saying that while HDB's were subsidized when sold brand new to the SC, the subsidy doesn't transfer over to the PR when he/she buys it 5 years later. The SC songlaps the subsidy and opens thread on EDMW saying "Moi bought Pinnacle @ Duxton $500k then now sold to jiu hu kia SPR for $900k, HUAT AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH" lol.
Jiu Hu Kia means 州府仔? Anyone here know the story about why singaporean call malaysian jiu hu kia? Curious.. tongue.gif

0.0881sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:27 AM