Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Jay Chua CC
post Mar 13 2021, 09:18 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 11 2021, 11:29 PM)
hey i just finally managed to watch this
thanks for the link and fuck the poison laugh.gif

paste wax is definitely right up my alley being a little old school on the detailing scene and i love the scents (by Meguiar's / DodoJuice) when it comes to their paste wax (or for meg, liquid)

so.
https://www.turtlewax.com/pages/75th-anniversary
https://www.turtlewax.com/products/turtle-w...phene-paste-wax
10 in 1 wax they say?

1) Graphene
2) Ceramic
3) SiO2
4) Carnauba
5) polymer net/shield sealant
i wonder what are the other 5?

makes me really itchy wanting to pull the trigger lol.

the results, beading AND sheeting (usually its hard to get both... Megs [ultimate series] and Dodo tend to be on the bead side, while Sonax tend to be on the sheet side) are performing very VERY strongly.
PTFE TEFLON polymers
jyane
post Mar 13 2021, 09:39 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Mar 13 2021, 09:18 AM)
PTFE TEFLON polymers
where can get this wax?
StevenL
post Mar 13 2021, 11:24 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 13 2021, 12:37 AM)
Ya diy, that video was last year, the coating lost its water repellent after 4 months of minimal car wash and 24x7 outdoor parking.
No maintenance done since to revive it? I guessed that's the thing to expect fro cheap ceramic coat? Have DIY on older car couple of months ago and using whatever left over LSP as mthly maintenance
voscar
post Mar 13 2021, 11:33 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Mar 13 2021, 11:24 AM)
No maintenance done since to revive it? I guessed that's the thing to expect fro cheap ceramic coat? Have DIY on older car couple of months ago and using whatever left over LSP as mthly maintenance
Nope, in other hand I wanted to know its longevity, monthly wash using Carpro Iron-X Snow Wash as decon wash, the coating able to survive that wash (still beading during wash) which would strip-off traditional waxes.
blurcase
post Mar 13 2021, 11:36 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 12 2021, 01:46 PM)
Another cordless competitor in the market, this color scheme reminds me of Makita  laugh.gif first time hearing this though... so far only know Flex, SPTA, Shinemate has cordless option.
Ya, and even Shinemate cordless rotary is almost same price with Flex, RM2k++, not a price I am willing to pay for.

I probably will dive in for this and see how it goes.
StevenL
post Mar 13 2021, 12:31 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 13 2021, 11:33 AM)
Nope, in other hand I wanted to know its longevity, monthly wash using Carpro Iron-X Snow Wash as decon wash, the coating able to survive that wash (still beading during wash) which would strip-off traditional waxes.
Noted. Just checked the coat you applied is over $100 in LzD hence it ain't cheap range like I had (<$50).
voscar
post Mar 13 2021, 12:46 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Mar 13 2021, 12:31 PM)
Noted. Just checked the coat you applied is over $100 in LzD hence it ain't cheap range like I had (<$50).
I deal with the manufacturer on Aliexpress, halves the price (with postage) because I bought 2 bottle. If bought more bottle the cost per bottle would be cheaper (same postage parcel box).
newhouseowner
post Mar 13 2021, 01:36 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2021, 11:17 PM)
Yeah mine still around however i think ULW going a bit low, maybe 30-50%? maybe 3-5 more years assuming i only doing 1 or 2 cars max per year.
i think i was using since 2013 ? lol
wow very rajin wash and wax every week laugh.gif

woah that's very recent Nov 2020! thanks bro thumbup.gif
I got put up the article last year in this thread, wax monthly with correct amount of product used, ULW last you 2 years++. Like your scenario, well technically forever haha...

No choice lo, 2 cars need to be taken care of, so 1 car per week
Crocus_fern
post Mar 14 2021, 07:44 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 12 2021, 11:46 AM)
Ah yes. Even the Parkson at Subang Parade somehow removed all the Mothers and Autofinish products after their renovation during the initial MCO.

But I did sapu some Stoner branded stuffs like the Speed Bead at the clearance rack and got to thru the Armorall Shield Wax on the cheap cos of that! laugh.gif
Really? Went to Subang Parade Parkson on Last 3 weeks ago, I don't think I find it for my car and got other. . How much is the price? Stock clearance must be more than 50% discount.

This post has been edited by Crocus_fern: Mar 14 2021, 07:51 AM
StevenL
post Mar 14 2021, 08:41 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 13 2021, 12:46 PM)
I deal with the manufacturer on Aliexpress, halves the price (with postage) because I bought 2 bottle. If bought more bottle the cost per bottle would be cheaper (same postage parcel box).
That's a good bargain. In any event, my personal view after applying this cheap $50 coat almost 2 mths ago in comparison to another car which is just applying TW SnS, the coated car is..
1. Still feels smoother when washing or drying (8 washes and countless rinse)
2. Water beading and sheeting still way better

UPDATE : SORRY 6 WASHES NOT 8, but countless rinse in between early Feb and mid Mac

This post has been edited by StevenL: Mar 14 2021, 11:32 PM
sonotme
post Mar 14 2021, 09:15 PM

1,715 posts

for those doing rinseless washing, what do you guys recommend?
I'm using Osren's rinseless, it's about to finish. thought of trying other products..
Can't find optimum no rinse on shopee.. sweat.gif
voscar
post Mar 14 2021, 09:28 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Mar 14 2021, 08:41 PM)
That's a good bargain. In any event, my personal view after applying this cheap $50 coat almost 2 mths ago in comparison to another car which is just applying TW SnS, the coated car is..
1. Still feels smoother when washing or drying (8 washes and countless rinse)
2. Water beading and sheeting still way better
Which coating brand was it? Can show photo? Thanks.

2 months already 8 washes... You washing car weekly kah? Lol

This post has been edited by voscar: Mar 14 2021, 09:28 PM
StevenL
post Mar 14 2021, 09:55 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 14 2021, 09:28 PM)
Which coating brand was it? Can show photo? Thanks.

2 months already 8 washes... You washing car weekly kah? Lol
Yes, wash all 4 cars weekly for the longest time I can remember 😂

15/3: Dotter drove me out to have dinner at Pak Li then help pump the tyre. Road was wet but car washed yesterday. Can't help so took photo as below

This post has been edited by StevenL: Mar 15 2021, 10:00 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
celciuz
post Mar 14 2021, 10:57 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Mar 14 2021, 09:55 PM)
Yes, wash all 4 cars weekly for the longest time I can remember 😂
notworthy.gif wash 2 cars weekly I also tend to curi ayam liao...
Quazacolt
post Mar 15 2021, 12:12 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 14 2021, 10:57 PM)
notworthy.gif wash 2 cars weekly I also tend to curi ayam liao...
I kemaluan besar few months wash once notworthy.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 15 2021, 12:12 AM
celciuz
post Mar 15 2021, 07:12 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 15 2021, 12:12 AM)
I kemaluan besar few months wash once notworthy.gif laugh.gif
For me no choice... if I had car porch at home... likely same like you lor laugh.gif when the season is bad... a lot of angry birds come.. end up almost daily quick detail some panels tsk.
Nshade
post Mar 15 2021, 05:33 PM

106 posts

I went to workshop and applied Ceramic Nano coating, 4 layers. Waiting to see how it goes.
voscar
post Mar 15 2021, 06:08 PM

1,525 posts

Damn frustrated no roof-shaded area for me to properly work on, these few days evening either heavy shower rain or misty rain...
Finished hand application compound the car after 2 days, just now plan to give a wash and do ceramic coating, but start misty rain again...
woodentiger86 I remember you have Meguiar's Hybrid Ceramic Wax right? Can this be use as the after wash drying aid method? Does it need few hours to cure? I anticipate the weather will consistently having evening rain for next few days, so not possible to do ceramic coating as that requires at least 1 day to fully cure.
Also now I see there's Hybrid Ceramic "Liquid" Wax, which is better for longevity?

This post has been edited by voscar: Mar 15 2021, 06:09 PM
-kytz-
post Mar 15 2021, 08:39 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2020, 08:16 AM)

nice video introducing clay cloths, and... self poisoned
sad.gif F...
Bump. Really thinking of getting this but seems like they don't ship to international addresses? sad.gif

Any other alternatives? Really do not like the hassle of using traditional clay
woodentiger86
post Mar 15 2021, 08:48 PM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

Just removed all my stickers on the windscreen. Thank goodness for long nails and heavy rain earlier which made the surface cool and easier to remove.

Tomorrow likely wash then IPA the whole area to remove leftover sticker residue... whistling.gif:

0.4704sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:55 PM