Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

jyane
post Sep 4 2017, 10:42 AM

88 posts

can someone help me? i did some AIO yesterday. i found out after i apply it and clean it. there a lot of swirl mark. i think is due to the AIO? because before i apply it, there no swirl mark on it. after apply it. my spoiler is full of swirl mark and it look like no protection on the spoiler. it wont shine. can someone help me? how to un-do this?

I wash my car. after that apply the AIO on my spoiler. Lucky i didnt apply the whole car. but im not very sure is it due to the AIO as i found out after i apply it. The brand i used is orsen paint restore51. How to restore back to my shining car? i dont have picture as cant take a clearly picture with the swirl mark.. please help me..

This post has been edited by jyane: Sep 4 2017, 11:25 AM
jyane
post Sep 4 2017, 11:26 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Sep 4 2017, 11:25 AM)
It is unlikely that AIO would cause swirl marks.
What applicator did you use?
Did you clay the car first? Contaminants stuck on the paint might be one of the causes.
Applicator from orsen too. no i didnt clay. could that be the reason? How to un do the mess i did?

This post has been edited by jyane: Sep 4 2017, 11:28 AM
jyane
post Sep 4 2017, 02:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Sep 4 2017, 02:13 PM)
Hard to say but could be a suspect.
Not sure how bad the damage is. If it is superficial, just compound and polish it.
I think the acid is used to "eat" or corrode away the dirt and some surface layer.
Thanks for the reply. it damage until it doesnt have any reflection. it like the wax layer gone. it is ok to leave it until i have free time to send to shop to let them fix?
jyane
post Sep 4 2017, 03:13 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Sep 4 2017, 03:06 PM)
My experience tells me that your spoiler is made of different material.

If it is abs, don't polish it. Paint wouldn't even last as material wise, paint doesn't bond to it.
what an abs? i will check in google later on. But it original myvi spoiler. never change before.
jyane
post Sep 4 2017, 10:48 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 4 2017, 05:13 PM)
Perhaps try to clay, then run your AIO again on it. There is a possibility that u didnt clay, so end up when polish with AIO, it picks up contaminants and continue to swirl your spoiler. Alternatively instead of using AIO, use a fine polish such as Osren Perfect Cut 20 or Meguiars Ultimate Polish to refine it.

Just to confirm, your spoiler paint have not cracked or peel off right? I see many older myvi spoiler paint eventually crack or peel/flake off eventually.
Ok i try to get a clay and re-do. but how to make it shine again? the paint look like without any glossy look. no crack or anything. just look like plain white without any glossy look.
jyane
post Sep 6 2017, 03:43 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Sep 5 2017, 08:12 AM)
Try posting a picture.
What year is your Myvi. I once had an 2006 Myvi. The clear coat out from factory was uneven on the rear bumper. The right butt is shinny but the left butt is not. When I tried to polish it, the paint koyak from the bumper  sweat.gif
I hope can see from the picture.

jyane
post Sep 7 2017, 09:46 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 7 2017, 01:04 AM)
I may be wrong but from the picture, to me it looks like a soft paint, hence the scratches from stones, contamination, and washing.

maybe it was obvious previously until you performed your recent cleaning.

Start with gentle polishing and work slowly to remove them.
Alright, thanks for the advise.
jyane
post Sep 7 2017, 09:49 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Sep 7 2017, 07:57 AM)
As mentioned by others, i think the clear coat is still there.

As for the cause, it's really hard to tell. Below is what I suspect but might not be right.

The scratches could be due to improper washing or not claying before polishing. Did you always send your car outside to wash? Or the scratches could have been there for quite some time already. Just that the wax/sealant that you have been using have fillers that minimizes the appearance of the scratches.

I think it is still rectifiable. Compound and polish with something like Meg Ult. compound or polish. Use a proper polishing pad. Start by polishing. If the scratches are still there go for compounding.

Good luck.
Maybe i didnt clay and skip to use AIO on it. I always wash my car myself. never bring to outside wash before.

Beside meg ult compound or polish. Any others thing can use? proper polishing as in using machine to do it?

Thanks for the advise.
jyane
post Sep 7 2017, 03:00 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Sep 7 2017, 11:48 AM)
Is this repainted paintwork ? It can be fix or improve by using mild abrasive polisher (need more time and technique to do it) else whatever wax u applying wont last long nor give u glossy survey coz of the marring
No, it an original paint. alright, i will try. thanks for the advise!
jyane
post Sep 7 2017, 03:03 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Sep 7 2017, 01:28 PM)
There are other compounds as polishes but as N33d mentioned, Meg is quite common.
Alright! thanks for the information and also the advise! thumbup.gif
jyane
post Sep 8 2017, 09:17 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Sep 7 2017, 05:13 PM)
I think you have to go straight to machine.
If you plan to polish by hand, that's gonna take a hell of an effort.
Say bye bye to your arms man.

Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish is a typical go to.

Good time to get a DA Polisher smile.gif
Is this consider a DA polisher?

jyane
post Sep 8 2017, 10:06 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Sep 8 2017, 09:46 AM)
judging from the design/drawing
looks like a rotary polisher
i read that DA much easy to use right?
jyane
post Sep 8 2017, 02:22 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Sep 8 2017, 11:21 AM)
smile.gif I think you got your answer.
Sorry, should have been specific.

DA (Dual Action) Polisher.

They come at 8mm/15mm/21mm throws.

Rotary Polishers are stagnant and doesn't oscillate?

You can refer to this smile.gif
http://osren.com/product/tools-and-accessories/all?p=1
Thanks for the link. by the way, i have another question in mind. is it necessary to clay before wax? or it fine with wash dry then wax?

jyane
post Oct 27 2017, 12:06 PM

88 posts

HI alls,

Which DA to get for 1st time user? 8mm or 15mm? what the pros and cons?

Thank you for sharing ur throught
jyane
post Nov 11 2017, 07:02 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Nov 11 2017, 06:33 PM)
Anyone looking for grit guard set with washboard can look for me brows.gif got some extras
got pic? can see? used? how much? hahah
jyane
post Nov 11 2017, 07:59 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Nov 11 2017, 07:43 PM)
60 with postage, with shopee guarantee so no shady things going on k. 55 COD  thumbsup.gif Brand new, cheaper than aliexpress. If you're interested i'll send you some pics  biggrin.gif

Ammo NYC one is previous generation.. The washboard stand is not removable. Mine is second gen similar like the one on aliexpress. Quality is sturdy  flex.gif
is it with the bucket?
jyane
post Feb 6 2018, 11:50 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Feb 5 2018, 08:22 PM)
Very nice! Great shine!

I've just started detailing my own car today also. Prepping it for CNY. Since I had some new products that I have yet to try, decided to try them out for this session.

2 Items I have tested so far, Carpro IronX and Carpro TarX. Just to give a short review:

Carpro IronX:

1) Sprayed it on a dry car, the smell of this chemical is probably worse than public toilet. The smell is quite strong, but good thing the smell doesnt spread or last very long.
2) Started to see some streaks of purple, left it for a while then rinsed off.
3) Total amount used abit more than half of the 500ml bottle.
4) Found that despite some purple did streak out, it isnt as severe as how we see in videos. Maybe because we as car enthusiast take better care of our cars, so the purple streaking was limited.
5) Did it help to make claying easier or quicker? Absolutely not. Used plastic bag test on body panel and minimal difference in terms of roughness.
6) Would I continue to buy this product and use? Probably not. My idea of getting this product was to make my life claying the car easier and faster, and proven wrong today. I dont find other significant use for this that claying cant do.

Carpro TarX:

1) Sprayed mostly on the lower half of the car, especially closer to wheel arches. This product smell way better, actually similar to Osrent Tar Remover smell (possibly same chemical components).
2) Started to see tar spots melting, left it for a while, then sprayed second round.
3) As this product is abit oily, proceeded to rinse, then use some regular car soap to wash all the areas that got sprayed, and rinse again.
4) Unfortunately numerous tar spots still stuck there, other than creating the streaks, TarX did not totally remove it.
5) Did it help make claying easier? A little bit. TarX probably loosened the tar spots enough so that claybar can pick it up easier. However, lower area claying needs plenty of care, must always fold and re-knead the claybar and open new surface frequently, else the tar residue stuck on the claybar can scratch paint.
6) Would I continue to buy this product and use? Probably not, I think Osren Tar Remover is abit more aggresive against tar compared to TarX.
Next up to clay entire car, using Meguiars Aggressive claybar and Last Touch diluted 1:1. So far did 1/4 of the car and tired already, continue tomorrow.
Great infor! thanks! was planning to get ironx to reduce the claying part but after reading ur review. guess i change my mind and ironx aint cheap. With the use of ironx, still need to do claying hard. guess will skip it and just clay myself.

By the way, anyone have review on carpro reload? Is it last longing and look good as it advertise? I always tot that reload is like spray wax. Any different from spay wax?

jyane
post Apr 9 2018, 10:50 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Apr 6 2018, 11:23 PM)
Sooo, I had been sick earlier this week and was recovering from flu. I thought of washing my car but saw that weather wasnt great and didnt want to over-exert myself. In the end I decided to try the Optimum No Rinse Wash & Shine (ONR) that I had in my inventory for some time. Followed the mixing methods in youtube, 2 capfuls to 2 gallons of water. 2 towels (1 to dip into ONR bucket for damp wiping the car, 1 to dry the car), and off I went. Just sharing my 2 sen thoughts about the experience:

1) Some videos showed that its recommended to have an additional spray bottle filled with the same diluted ONR to spray and pre-soak the area before damp wiping. I didnt do that as I forgot during prep.

2) During the damp wiping sessions, it is quite a fast process because hard rubbing or scrubbing is not required (and also not recommended), so pretty much its just 1-2 pass per section and its ready for drying.

3) Drying can get tedious if your microfiber drying cloth is thin, because u will need to soak up alot of excess. Good thing my drying cloth is thick.

4) Damp wipe and dried 2 cars in span of 1 hour  (1 sedan, 1 small SUV). However, I didnt do the rims, wheel arches and door jambs for both cars.

5) Cleaning power wise, I would say average. ONR cleaning method is only good so long as the dirt u are cleaning does not stick hard to your paint and require scrubbing to remove. If u have bee/bird poop or bug splatter, a soapy solution is probably better.

6) Cleaning risk wise, I would say potentially higher risk than typical soap wash. In our typical soap wash, we have a first pre-rinse with water to remove as much of the bigger chunks of dirt before going in with soap and wash mitt. So ONR's method means I could be dragging some bigger dirt chunks and scratching paint with it. I have seen some videos swear that no new swirls or scratches had been added, so I guess it is just my personal fear-driven theory.
So, would I continue to use this product? Probably yes, but in selected situations only. There are the situations that I think would be generally relevant for ONR use:

1) Residents in high-rise buildings with limited access to water hose and proper wash area

2) If u want a relatively quick body clean because your car kena rain 1-3 times in last few days but rims still look relatively clean

3) If u lazy to break out your typical car wash tools for that day or lazy to do full car washing

4) The dirt on your car is generally light, not heavy or grimy

5) U want fast clean, and not too worried about swirls/scratches (especially white car owners)
Just my 2 sen on ONR. Think there are plenty of sifus here that jumped into that bandwagon much longer than I have, do shere your thoughts and experiences.
Thanks for sharing thumbsup.gif
jyane
post Apr 29 2018, 06:12 PM

88 posts

Hi sifus, is it worth it to get reload car pro instead of 1 spray wax + every 3 month wax using paste wax?
jyane
post May 8 2018, 05:09 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 8 2018, 04:47 PM)
thats alot of product u have there bro  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
thinking of osren bubble wax at the moment.

anyone using carpro hydro2 ?
how about reset and ironx snow? anyone has review on it?

0.0404sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:14 PM