QUOTE(Jack128 @ Mar 23 2017, 03:26 PM)
Beg your pardon, yes I meant KUL-JFK.Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion
Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion
Mar 25 2017, 07:57 AM
222 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
Mar 25 2017, 02:43 PM
257 posts Joined: May 2016 |
Mar 26 2017, 05:59 AM
Mar 26 2017, 11:45 AM
255 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KLaNg |
Hi there, Need some opinions from expert here. I am planning to use One World redemption. 1.) If I am planning to go to USA west coast, is it better to land at San Francisco or Los Angeles? I am planning to rent a car and go around few itinerary like Disneyland and Vegas. 2.) I am planning to redeem 3 economy ticket. Which will be the better option for better flight experience and lower surcharge? There are so many choices: like Qatar, JAL, Cathay Pacific, British Airways, American Airlines, Emirates Thanks in advance. |
Mar 26 2017, 12:16 PM
558 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Mar 26 2017, 11:45 AM) Hi there, better to redeem business class for long haul, more value for moneyNeed some opinions from expert here. I am planning to use One World redemption. 1.) If I am planning to go to USA west coast, is it better to land at San Francisco or Los Angeles? I am planning to rent a car and go around few itinerary like Disneyland and Vegas. 2.) I am planning to redeem 3 economy ticket. Which will be the better option for better flight experience and lower surcharge? There are so many choices: like Qatar, JAL, Cathay Pacific, British Airways, American Airlines, Emirates Thanks in advance. |
Mar 27 2017, 12:28 PM
Mar 27 2017, 09:08 PM
698 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Jack128 @ Mar 27 2017, 12:28 PM) mind sharing how you collect so many miles? Lol, maybe he is just like you - A big shot that banks suddenly offer few millions frequent flyer miles as rewards?i have visited your blog, you have extensive travels in premium cabin so you must have a whole heap of miles if you didn't pay for the tickets in cash. |
Mar 28 2017, 06:53 AM
768 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Mar 26 2017, 11:45 AM) Hi there, replies in quoteNeed some opinions from expert here. I am planning to use One World redemption. 1.) If I am planning to go to USA west coast, is it better to land at San Francisco or Los Angeles? I am planning to rent a car and go around few itinerary like Disneyland and Vegas. - depending on how you do your redemption, you could land in either LAX or SFO and return via the other airport (redeem as 2 one way awards). Availability to LAX is typically better since there's just more flights there among OW carriers. That way you do a one way car rental to get in between the 2 cities. 2.) I am planning to redeem 3 economy ticket. Which will be the better option for better flight experience and lower surcharge? There are so many choices: like Qatar, JAL, Cathay Pacific, British Airways, American Airlines, Emirates - To be honest, CX kinda sucks in terms of Y service compared to the others (with the exception of AA, bottom of the barrel). That said, i tend to fly CX the most due to timing. Thanks in advance. |
Mar 28 2017, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(minthiam @ Mar 27 2017, 09:08 PM) Lol, maybe he is just like you - A big shot that banks suddenly offer few millions frequent flyer miles as rewards? Well mine was a one-off event. It wasn't that the bank suddenly decided to award air miles but I gave them something that they wanted in a form of investment, so it is a mutually beneficial arrangement for both parties. No such thing as free lunch in this world. So when my miles deplete within 3 years I am back to the painstaking effort of collecting 1 mile at a time through credit cards. |
Mar 28 2017, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(miuk @ Mar 28 2017, 06:53 AM) Thanks for the advice.I have called the enrich hotline to check for the availability of JAL and AA, to my surprise both also no availability. It sounds like they are rejecting OW redemption by simply saying no availability. Anyone have experience redeeming OW from Enrich? |
Mar 28 2017, 06:50 PM
420 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Seri kembangan |
hi, all
my treats point can redeem around 200k ASIA MILES / ENRICH / KRISFLYER and i plan to fly South America ..... but i cant find any city in SA can use miles to redeem .... |
Mar 28 2017, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(Jack128 @ Mar 27 2017, 12:28 PM) mind sharing how you collect so many miles? Same as you: "painstaking effort of collecting 1 mile at a time through credit cards"i have visited your blog, you have extensive travels in premium cabin so you must have a whole heap of miles if you didn't pay for the tickets in cash. |
Mar 28 2017, 07:51 PM
5 posts Joined: Jun 2013 From: Petaling Jaya |
Mar 28 2017, 11:35 PM
1,577 posts Joined: May 2005 From: USJ |
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Mar 28 2017, 02:01 PM) Thanks for the advice. Have you checked JAL availability using their FF program Mileage Bank? If flight does not appear on their own FFP, then it's unlikely that you can get flight redemption on enrich. If it's available, you MAY be able to redeem the flight on enrich. Note down the flight date and flight number and give the enrich agent the specific details. I have called the enrich hotline to check for the availability of JAL and AA, to my surprise both also no availability. It sounds like they are rejecting OW redemption by simply saying no availability. Anyone have experience redeeming OW from Enrich? Same applies with AA. Alternatively, you can try using British Airways Avios system to check as they cover most OW FFPs. |
Mar 28 2017, 11:45 PM
1,593 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Mar 28 2017, 02:01 PM) Thanks for the advice. If you have time, I personally prefer to go to KL Sentral for more complicated One World redemption or when I have problems getting the tickets through call. Sometimes the contact centre really sucks, just like other airline such as SIAI have called the enrich hotline to check for the availability of JAL and AA, to my surprise both also no availability. It sounds like they are rejecting OW redemption by simply saying no availability. Anyone have experience redeeming OW from Enrich? |
Mar 29 2017, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Mar 28 2017, 02:01 PM) Thanks for the advice. Per @raist86, you need to search for availability using BA or JL or Qantas.I have called the enrich hotline to check for the availability of JAL and AA, to my surprise both also no availability. It sounds like they are rejecting OW redemption by simply saying no availability. Anyone have experience redeeming OW from Enrich? Redeeming award flights is not as easy like what they say in the marketing brochures. Either you make your booking at 330 days in advance or 2 weeks before flying for best availability. For eg. I just booked my CNY 2018 trip about 2 weeks ago for coming back to KUL and I'm now searching for my return flight back (looking at either CX, JL or BR). |
Mar 31 2017, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(raist86 @ Mar 28 2017, 11:35 PM) Have you checked JAL availability using their FF program Mileage Bank? If flight does not appear on their own FFP, then it's unlikely that you can get flight redemption on enrich. If it's available, you MAY be able to redeem the flight on enrich. Note down the flight date and flight number and give the enrich agent the specific details. Thanks a million raist86.Same applies with AA. Alternatively, you can try using British Airways Avios system to check as they cover most OW FFPs. I tried to check the availability using BA Avios system and it works like a charm. QUOTE(msa9696 @ Mar 28 2017, 11:45 PM) If you have time, I personally prefer to go to KL Sentral for more complicated One World redemption or when I have problems getting the tickets through call. Sometimes the contact centre really sucks, just like other airline such as SIA Noted. Will take note on this.Thank you. QUOTE(miuk @ Mar 29 2017, 02:05 AM) Per @raist86, you need to search for availability using BA or JL or Qantas. The flight availability is quite a lot actually.Redeeming award flights is not as easy like what they say in the marketing brochures. Either you make your booking at 330 days in advance or 2 weeks before flying for best availability. For eg. I just booked my CNY 2018 trip about 2 weeks ago for coming back to KUL and I'm now searching for my return flight back (looking at either CX, JL or BR). NRT --> LAX Economy: 48K miles Premium Economy: 62K miles Business Class: 72K miles I think business class is the most worth it to claim. As the normal price ticket cost RM30K. This post has been edited by cantona7: Mar 31 2017, 01:32 AM |
Mar 31 2017, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Mar 31 2017, 01:24 AM) Thanks a million raist86. I'm assuming that you're looking at JL...I tried to check the availability using BA Avios system and it works like a charm. Noted. Will take note on this. Thank you. The flight availability is quite a lot actually. NRT --> LAX Economy: 48K miles Premium Economy: 62K miles Business Class: 72K miles I think business class is the most worth it to claim. As the normal price ticket cost RM30K. The only downside to me the 10hr layover at NRT. I'm also looking at that particular KUL-NRT-LAX redemption. If i do take it, i'll probably head over to Tokyo for a quick makan and look see. |
Mar 31 2017, 01:50 PM
5 posts Joined: Jun 2013 From: Petaling Jaya |
I think this is a good problem.
For the first time, I converted Maybank TP to 1,000 AM to activate my AM account. Instead of 4,770 TP (VI), I only got charge 1,508. No idea how to come out with 1,508. Is it some kind of first time conversion bonus? This post has been edited by Stan81: Mar 31 2017, 01:51 PM |
Mar 31 2017, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(miuk @ Mar 31 2017, 11:21 AM) I'm assuming that you're looking at JL... Yes. JAL.The only downside to me the 10hr layover at NRT. I'm also looking at that particular KUL-NRT-LAX redemption. If i do take it, i'll probably head over to Tokyo for a quick makan and look see. But I don't whether OW single carrier allows stopover or not. JAL (KUL-NRT) stopover then (NRT-LAX). If allow, then great! Anyone has experience on this? |
| Change to: | 0.0400sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:45 AM |