4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

raist86
post Feb 22 2016, 05:01 PM

1,577 posts

How do you guys redeem enrich miles with other OW partners? So far from all my research the process is like:
1) Sign up FF member on each airlline to check their FF award seat availability on each individual site (ie, asia miles, JAL mileage bank etc).

2) if got availability, call enrich customer service to do the redemption. Endure an either 10 minute on hold or a promise for call back which only happens the next day (sometimes).

Is there any more efficient way to redeem other OW flights using enrich? Have to search each individual airline FF page is a pain... calling Enrich hotline is even more painful.

Hope sifus here can advise... i have some miles that i want to redeem to vancouver. so far i see CX and JAL flying there...
raist86
post Feb 26 2016, 11:11 AM

1,577 posts

Planning to redeem my miles for Vancouver next year... Now collecting the last 20k miles needed for my plan. Also timing for MAS enrich promotion..

So far my routing looks like
MAS : KUL - NRT (hopefully on their new J class) ~ 77k per pax (30% promo) + RM 337.80 Tax

JAL : NRT - YVR (Booking under OW redemption, Zone 4) ~ 96k per pax + ?? tax

Have another option which is to book straight all under OW with JAL which based on total mileage travel is 8k miles which is under Zone 6. Routing is the same which is KUL - NRT - YVR. Is the mileage redemption calculated as each segment (ie KUL - NRT, NRT - YVR) or as a whole? If individual, then i think the miles required would be quite expensive already...
raist86
post Feb 26 2016, 01:34 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 26 2016, 11:29 AM)
If KUL-NRT-YVR is in one PNR ie. not separate tickets then it'll be calculated as one flight. Webflyer says it's 8010 miles one way.
yea. 8k miles distance one way. OW redemption on single carrier in MAS is zone 6.. so return is 144k per person.. Looks like cheaper to redeem direct from JAL.
raist86
post Mar 4 2016, 11:29 AM

1,577 posts

I'm planning a trip to Vancouver next year (either in May or Oct-Nov 2017) using Enrich to redeem OW flight. Checked the distance and will require zone 6 redemption for J class of 144,000miles per pax (2 pax) return.

I'm currently torn between two airline (JAL and CX). JAL currently runs Sky Suite from KUL to NRT but uses Shell Neo from NRT to YVR. From what i see, availability for redemption is also much more widely available. So far no news of them changing the seats to SkySuite for YVR route right?

CX runs regional J class from KUL to HKG and the lie flat J class from HKG to YVR. Would love to get on this flight but availability is hard to get. Most of the dates i've checked are on waitlist (even for flights 8 months down the road).

I'm currently still short of about 100k enrich which i target should reach by Oct this year as have several large purchases coming up. This means i can only book the flights in Oct. Any idea when is the best time to snag a CX award flight based on my travel period?

Hope sifus here can assist. Already done most of my research and shortlisted this two flights. Is there any other route to get to Vancouver under OW?
raist86
post Mar 4 2016, 04:38 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 4 2016, 04:26 PM)
I think you do know that CX does release last minute award space. I poked around the next few weeks and see a handful of J seats available, definitely not what I'd call plentiful.

Angle flat isn't so bad biggrin.gif I almost did JL J SAN-NRT on the JL 788, but switched to CX J before the flight. Have flown KUL-DOH (QR), KUL-ICN (KE), KUL-PEK (MH) on angle flats and I slept well enough.

The other alternative if you really want the sky suites is to try KUL-NRT-SFO/DFW/IAD/LAX and take a connecting flight. SFO-YVR is probably the least painful option. This would work on CX and JL.
Addition another transit point is kinda out of the question. Spending 20+ hours in the air is the maximum i can take. Not to mention the missus might slaughter me midflight.

Guess i'll have to keep my travel plans flexible and wait for last minute CX award space release. based on experience, do you think i'll be able to at least lock in my flight 3-4 months before the trip? I know usually mid week flights are more readily available.
raist86
post Mar 4 2016, 05:52 PM

1,577 posts

the miles required for KUL-LHR-YVR would push me out into zone 7.. which exceeds my available miles budget.

Guess just have to play by ear when nearing to the date. I check for flights 6 months ahead (Sept - Oct) and they have some award space available.

Btw, how does MAS calculate the tax? do they follow the tax charge by CX or it is calculated differently?
raist86
post Mar 5 2016, 05:36 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Mar 5 2016, 03:18 PM)
i was actually referring to @raist86 in regards to CX awards since his/her target is for sept/oct this year.

You're right about May'17, AA can only book awards 335 days ahead. It was actually just nice for a CNY trip prior to devaluation (last day to fly with old rates i think is 2/23/2017) but due to a change in plans, that went out the window and i'm now sitting on a pile of AA miles thats soon to be devaluated  cry.gif
Yea, i gathered most of the bookings are AA milers cashing out before devaluation. Anyway, most likely planning the trip for Oct 2017 to coincide with the Autumn period in Vancouver.

Been looking forward to try out CX J class since i last flew on CX Y to SFO... always have a jealous eye on those extra space for long journeys.
raist86
post Mar 9 2016, 11:17 AM

1,577 posts

how exactly do you get 100k FF for RM 525? Is it some PA loan that banks give then u pay back using CC?
raist86
post Mar 10 2016, 10:00 AM

1,577 posts

and how do you get points from this deal? make payment via credit card?
raist86
post Mar 10 2016, 09:14 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(terence_say @ Mar 10 2016, 06:10 PM)
Here the mechanism:
1. Fill in the form with amount you need to cash out, must be within your credit limit.
2. Bank will credit the amount to your designated bank account in lump sum, assume 120k
3. First month, the bank will charge 10k + 1.90% processing fees to your credit card
4. 10k each month to your card for the next 11 months.

Every dollar cash out earn you one miles.

I had called and confirmed that this is a one times offer thing and every card member can only apply once.
This is for UOB members only right. What card is this?

the bank only charges you 1.90% processing one time off? no more subsequent interest charges (assuming paid off credit card on time)for the balance of the repayment?

If that's the case, it's a no brainer.. park the cash in 50% 6months high interest FD and balance in monthly rolling FD as mentioned by one of the sifu here. Should have enough to offset the interest charged..

However, i have a feeling there's a catch somewhere. Cos no way a bank would give out 100k unsecured loan at such low rate and expect no one to default.
Maybe they're expecting to earn from the CC interest which is 1.5% /month.

This post has been edited by raist86: Mar 10 2016, 09:26 PM
raist86
post Mar 17 2016, 04:07 PM

1,577 posts

yea.. that's one problem with JAL redemption from CX or EM. At least with AM, you can select to book on other airlines.

personally, i still keep my miles in EM due to extra 10% redemption. with OW redemption at par rate with other airlines, the extra 10% does help.

This post has been edited by raist86: Mar 17 2016, 04:08 PM
raist86
post Mar 17 2016, 09:48 PM

1,577 posts

OW need to call enrich call center. They'll do the booking over the phone. Also can immediately check the tax. It changes daily due to currency fluctuation

raist86
post Apr 8 2016, 12:17 AM

1,577 posts

'Emirates Skywards members and Malaysia Airline’s Enrich members, the airlines’ frequent flyer programmes, will be able to accrue and redeem miles on all international and domestic flights operated by both airlines.'

Quoted from MH & Emirates website. Does this mean we are able to redeem Emirates flights using Enrich miles now??
raist86
post Apr 16 2016, 04:56 PM

1,577 posts

Enricb having 30 to 50% promo for flights to sydney, melbourne, perth and auckland..

Too bad flight date too close to my current trip. And so far only sydney and mel will be using the new a330 J class.
raist86
post Jun 14 2016, 11:52 AM

1,577 posts

want to check.. i did a mileage search for KUL - HKG - AKL and the mile distance from two sites is around 7250 - 7265 miles per way. On Enrich table, category 5 redemption tops out at 7200 and goes to category 6 from 7201 onwards.

is it possible to appeal to them to keep at category 5? lol. diff by 50 miles the miles jump up to 6,000 per person.
raist86
post Jun 14 2016, 02:54 PM

1,577 posts

not really an option cos doing kul-pen is additional cost also. just have to suck up the extra 6k miles.

btw, has anyone tried to add stopover when booking CX using EM?

for example, my flight from KUL - HKG - AKL. I managed to see it on CX website as one direct route. Can i like travel KUL - HKG on 2/11/16 and then HKG - AKL on 5/11/16 but it's under one booking instead of 2 separate booking. If it's one booking KUL - HKG - AKL the cost is 72k EM + RM 202 tax. If i were to book it separately, the cost would be 99k EM + RM 190 tax.

Do i tell the MAS booking agent that i want to add a stopover in HKG and tell them the date of departure from HKG to AKL? Want to have all my details ready before doing the dreaded call to MAS call center.
Alternatively, would it be better if i go to MAS office in KLIA or Subang?

This post has been edited by raist86: Jun 14 2016, 03:07 PM
raist86
post Jun 17 2016, 03:40 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(iamWill @ Jun 16 2016, 10:13 PM)
Have you considered flying from penang? miles could be lesser by distance
not ideal cos have to spend extra for ticket from KL to Penang. with luggage summore abit inconvenient.
raist86
post Aug 12 2016, 09:55 PM

1,577 posts

with the transferring of KUL - HKG to Dragonair, how does this affect OW redemption for MH ya? Cos all flights outwards will need to transit at HKG.. Does it mean if i want to get to say LAX, i need to redeem multicarrier OW award instead of a single carrier OW award?

This sucks cos multicarrier cost so much more...
raist86
post Aug 15 2016, 03:13 PM

1,577 posts

is there any credit card that have good redemption rates for Asia Miles?
Currently am using MBB 2cPremier. But i do have quite a substantial amount of transaction every month on utilities & gov dept transaction. For these transaction, MBB only giving 1 or 0 points per RM spend.

Currently charging utilities and gov spending (anything less than 2x points on MBB) to HLB Mach Sig. However, it only transfer to EM which i plan to stop already considering the devaluation of miles every other week...
raist86
post Aug 15 2016, 03:40 PM

1,577 posts

my main concern with krisflyer is most of the awards are on waitlist and they charge YQ which is like crazy exp after conversion to MYR.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0952sec    0.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:13 AM