Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion
minthiam
Dec 22 2015, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(anwa @ Dec 22 2015, 12:48 PM) Checking in... I have SPG Gold from the World Mastercard promo and Hilton Gold from Visa Infinite. Both are going to expire soon. Does anybody know, once downgraded to silver, can we get gold again using the World Mastercard promo and Visa Infinite promo? Or is this upgrade only allowed once per account? You need to go through the standard qualifying nights in order to maintain your HHonors Gold and SPG Gold, it's stated in the T&C.
minthiam
Dec 22 2015, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(JC_jun @ Dec 22 2015, 12:54 PM) i also just got my hilton upgraded to gold. [attachmentid=5595918] i know we can register several different member accounts with accor hotels. If hilton can do the same, then you might have chance to get another upgrade via visa infinite. Welcome to the club...i got my HHonors Gold via VI last year. I stayed 40 nights this year and able to maintain HHonors Gold until March 2017 too
minthiam
Dec 22 2015, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Dec 22 2015, 06:15 PM) It's a hotel loyalty program. In Singapore it includes Sofitel So, Novotel, Ibis, Sofitel Sentosa, and they just recently bought over new group and that include raffles Any good benefits with this Accor Plus? I tried to search through their website but everything seems very vague? Is it something similar to Hilton Premium Club?
minthiam
Dec 22 2015, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 22 2015, 07:32 PM) Thanks JC_jun for starting this. I'm not a frequent flyer (anymore), now down to maybe 2-3 medium/long haul flights a year but still enjoy the occasional J and F flights on revenue or miles. My target in general have been long haul J for the whole family, which unfortunately limits me to CX and QR mostly, but can't compain. I am fortunate enough to have US based credit cards which is where I've earned most of my miles. I am happy to answer questions on AAdvantage and UA Mileageplus programs, and also about US based UR/MR points although there are lot more experienced people on flyertalk  I heard that AAdvantage elite members are not granted access to all domestic lounges in the states if you are not flying international. Is it true? Additionally, AAdvantage redemption chart seems too good to be true. You seriously only need 55,000 miles (business class) or 65,000 miles (first class) one way to the States? Also, if we are based locally, we can't redeem online like CX redemption, right? The only option would be to contact call center?
minthiam
Dec 23 2015, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(JC_jun @ Dec 23 2015, 01:08 PM) [attachmentid=5602701] how this MH multi carrier award works? The zone mileage is the total of multiple trips? this required much lesser miles than redeem MH own F class.. This is the thing that I hate about MH, anything on OW flight redemption need to call in and ask. Few months ago, I tried to call in and ask about trip to North America for few times, always telling me that all OW flight not open for redemption yet. How to redeem?
minthiam
Dec 23 2015, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(herc @ Dec 23 2015, 03:56 PM) Useless for me, I wanna redeem QR to Europe, AM shows available, call to MH they say not available. Same here, tried to check with AM found got seat availability and this is happening more and more often. Hopefully their collaboration with Emirates with bring us some good news. The only good thing about Enrich is that they are still part of ow and i could have access to other ow lounges.
minthiam
Dec 25 2015, 08:10 AM
QUOTE(Brandon323 @ Dec 25 2015, 01:51 AM) Seems like Enrich vs AM, the big difference is not in business class but first class. Enrich needs 442,000 enrich miles redemption whereas AM only need 155,000? I have not converted my Maybank points to AM before. For AM redemption , we have to call right? Is there any online redemption like Enrich? Might be worth it to collect 2 or 3 years for a once in a lifetime trip on first class for 2 ( for me lah).  Who in the right mind pay RM35,000 for a ticket to London?  Do you have an AM account? You may check the seat availability at http://www.asiamiles.com/am/en/redeem
minthiam
Dec 28 2015, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(JC_jun @ Dec 28 2015, 11:03 AM) few years ago MH was partnering with MBB, came out enrich fast track thru applying MBB CC. those were # MBB world master card with Enrich silver, # MAS-AMEX co-brand charge card gold card (enrich silver), platinum card (enrich gold) MAS-AMEX with enrich gold or silver http://www.maybank.com/en/news-support/new...d=1358309585979MBB world mastercard with enrich silver http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/Experience_31%20Mar.pdfhowever, those were the days.. all benefits now gone I thought this is due to MH joined OW and they can't simply give out Enrich Silver and Enrich Gold anymore? Otherwise OW would have plenty of Ruby and Sapphire members. Btw, MH joined OW on 1 February 2013.
minthiam
Jan 3 2016, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(JC_jun @ Jan 3 2016, 10:51 PM) PEK MH Biz counter also long queue? why? you use MH ticket to enter BGS? did you try Air China lounge? Same question here too, I thought you could have access to AIR CHINA INTERNATIONAL FIRST CLASS LOUNGE with biz class? http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/expe...ge/partner.html
minthiam
Jan 3 2016, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(JC_jun @ Jan 3 2016, 11:30 PM) i dont know MH J ticket can enter first class lounge, my previous flight during feb 2015, i was given a voucher to air china business lounge (nothing much to eat).. so i went to BGS.. This is interesting, someone reported that they could only have access to Air China Business Lounge with MH J ticket. Probably MH just downgraded this but forgot to update their webpage
minthiam
Jan 4 2016, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(Coconut @ Jan 4 2016, 02:35 PM) hi guys, when you are booking tickets online, how do you know the ticket you booked is under which class? This is specifically referring to MH or any airlines?
minthiam
Jan 9 2016, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(@secret@ @ Jan 9 2016, 07:02 PM) indirect route for us to park on AA. One shall hope Marriott retains SPG after their merger. but very unlikely.  I think Marriott will keep SPG. The benefit for Marriott Gold is better than SPG Gold.
minthiam
Jan 10 2016, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(JC_jun @ Jan 10 2016, 09:06 PM) Still wondering shall i wait for the new codeshare program or book directly with EK. EK now got promotion You wanted to book business class or economy class? Are you on Enrich or OW FFP?
minthiam
Jan 26 2016, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jan 25 2016, 08:48 AM) Yay LYN version of Flyertalk. Late reporting, but here i am SPG Plat 50 fags inkambing, got matched to Hilton & Hyatt Diamond end of Nov 2015. With so many top status in hand, but no time/low chances to enjoy them this year....owh it's just January where everything starts a bit slow And just a lowly Enrich Silver I wish...sounds like a pipe dream And Marriott keep talking about synergies between the 2 programs, i'll bet SPG program will be dead sooner or later Wow, you are so cool...you have SPG Platinum and Hilton/ Hyatt Diamond. Unfortunately I have Hilton and SPG Gold only. I am trying to get a status match with Marriott but so far no luck Does anyone know how to get a fast track Marriott Gold or status match to Marriott Gold?
minthiam
Feb 6 2016, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(herc @ Feb 6 2016, 05:00 PM) Hello frm London It shocked me that KLIA MH Golden Lounge is so big after renovated, compare to my visit 1 year ago. Huh? I thought it's been like this since 2 years ago?
minthiam
Feb 18 2016, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(dctravels @ Feb 18 2016, 11:26 AM) Nice Just came back from a family trip to Japan on MH Economy. Luggage arrived 3 days later. Food was horrible. Service was ok. Bright side is, the kids can appreciate business class better now. Couldn't agree more. For MH, only their chef-on-call meals are edible
minthiam
Apr 16 2016, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(miuk @ Apr 16 2016, 01:18 AM) I havent heard of such a status match. Me neither, haven't heard of such match. It's like matching apple and orange.
minthiam
May 17 2016, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 8 2016, 01:18 AM) Emirates is not in Oneworld but from Emirates website, it states that: If I am going to Budapest using Emirates (the route is not serviced by MAS), how do I earn the miles in Enrich points? From Emirates booking website, it only shows Skyward points. Do I need to enroll with the Skyward program first before conversion? If I am buying from Emirates Malaysia site, I should just use MYR and not change its currency, right? Thank you Here you go, just make sure you are not flying with Class V or X.  Do note that if you are MH frequent flyer, you will earn mileage but not the elite sector as EK is not part of OW.
minthiam
May 17 2016, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 17 2016, 10:54 PM) Hi thanks. Changed airline from Emirates to Turkish so unable to convert to Enrich anymore. But thank you for the info, nonetheless, for future usage. Just curious, why you rather have a transit in Turkey with TK and not with EK or QR?
minthiam
May 18 2016, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(ey3zack @ May 17 2016, 11:26 PM) Personally I find the miles are not really beneficial as we require large number of miles in order to redeem. For example, I flew KL-Sydney with MAS and earned close to 9k miles - the return flight cost RM3k. But when I checked, it only allow me a free ONE WAY flight from KL-BKK. AA is only retailing at RM200+ for return KL-BKK. Even with MAS it is at RM350 return flight. Worth? If you are not OW frequent flyer, and not enjoying the OW perks such as lounge access, priority boarding/ baggage, baggage allowance etc then there's absolutely no reason to stick to one airlines (or alliance). The painful part about being certain alliance frequent flyer is the re-qualification part, every year you need to fly certain frequencies with them in order to keep the frequent flyer status. It's not like you earn the elite status and you get to keep it forever, at least not with MH!