Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

river.sand
post Jan 14 2016, 07:48 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 14 2016, 07:21 PM)
lukenn  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I sendiri buat (not verified) back track template.
using last few days data from FSM

at 36% m'sia SC ...I just got 13% annualised returns in 10 yrs duration
where else your portfolio as in post# 723 is very much less volatile, yet it still got 10.92%

it just make me wonder.....is higher volatility good?

btw, I attached the back track template...just in case anyone try it out and found error in computation formula...pls tell me ya....me not expert in excel...
2-year return is annualized, so you need to multiply the return by 2.
Example, for CIMB-Principal Small Cap, N6 value (in Dun delete) should be MAIN!N5*C6*2/100

Ditto for 3, 5, and 10-year returns.

This post has been edited by river.sand: Jan 14 2016, 07:48 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 14 2016, 07:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 14 2016, 07:48 PM)
2-year return is annualized, so you need to multiply the return by 2.
Example, for CIMB-Principal Small Cap, N6 value (in Dun delete) should be MAIN!N5*C6*2/100

Ditto for 3, 5, and 10-year returns.
hmm.gif if calculate total return...yes must * number of years....
I follow annualised return as in FSM data format....
I think can use.....b'cos I am calculating it as annualise.

thanks for the input...will review again to see if really can use or not.
wongmunkeong
post Jan 14 2016, 08:18 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 14 2016, 06:20 PM)
i shall stop updating my portfolio for awhile... ignorance is bliss...

joining the ppl in FD thread in chasing the higher FD rate seems better on the heart...
Adele,

U should be getting excited ma right?
i mean, CHEAPER equities to buy more wor. drool.gif

like shopping on SALE SALE SALE!
since need/holding long (or should i say 'savings allocater'), i'd prefer things to be on sale since i want/need to buy anyway

sorry - "grocery shopping" habits die hard. i'm the fler infront of the queue with fully loaded milk-powder 12 months' worth during a worthwhile sale laugh.gif
other's reality may differ notworthy.gif
MUM
post Jan 14 2016, 08:20 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 14 2016, 07:21 PM)
lukenn  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I sendiri buat (not verified) back track template.
using last few days data from FSM

at 36% m'sia SC ...I just got 13% annualised returns in 10 yrs duration
where else your portfolio as in post# 723 is very much less volatile, yet it still got 10.92%

it just make me wonder.....is higher volatility good?

btw, I attached the back track template...just in case anyone try it out and found error in computation formula...pls tell me ya....me not expert in excel...
hmm.gif I think, the variance is the starts of the timing of the input and ends...lukenn's one back track from 2014.......your's is from 2015....
I think that is the culprit.

lukenn
post Jan 14 2016, 08:44 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 14 2016, 08:20 PM)
hmm.gif I think, the variance is the starts of the timing of the input and ends...lukenn's one back track from 2014.......your's is from 2015....
I think that is the culprit.
I was also rebalancing annually.
lukenn
post Jan 14 2016, 08:53 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2016, 05:09 PM)
Yes. You're right. They never mentioned in b&w but you are buying and selling at RM1/unit. You tell me how is that not capital protected?

If is not why do you think the non-bumi quota is always sold out? If is not rm1/unit, you think got people want to put?

Anyway I feel ASX FP is a FD on steroid. One should have enough money in something safe FD/ASX/bond which can generate enough passive income for one's monthly expenses.
My - very determined - colleague managed to accumulated RM100,000 for her daughter ... in 1.5 months ... after 27 visits.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 14 2016, 09:05 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 14 2016, 09:00 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jan 14 2016, 08:53 PM)
My - very determined - colleague managed to accumulated RM100,000K for her daughter ... in 1.5 months ... after 27 visits.
He works in/for Kenanga too? That's slow (the time he takes). tongue.gif
ohcipala
post Jan 14 2016, 09:01 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jan 14 2016, 08:53 PM)
My - very determined - colleague managed to accumulated RM100,000K for her daughter ... in 1.5 months ... after 27 visits.
Rm100,000,000 or rm100,000?
lukenn
post Jan 14 2016, 09:05 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Jan 14 2016, 09:01 PM)
Rm100,000,000 or rm100,000?
oops RM100,000 ... corrected.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 14 2016, 09:06 PM
Kaka23
post Jan 14 2016, 09:12 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jan 14 2016, 07:02 PM)
OT : The fellas there are quite entertaining.

Assuming they out perform the board rate b 0.5%, and it requires moving their capital every quarter. Per 100k deposits, they make an extra RM500 pa., or RM125/move.

Nett of expenses, I'm really wondering what the point is.
I guess everyone will have their own reasons.. tongue.gif

One of the reason I guess is nearing or already past retirement age, dont want to take any risk anymore.. so extra RM500 can be use for meals for the family for 1 - 2 weeks.. wink.gif
prince_mk
post Jan 14 2016, 10:19 PM

2,679 posts

Advisable to top up ponzi2 or shall i topup titanic? Hmmm... or top up on RHB ATRF? Confused.

This Kenanga APTRF was bloody red. Haizzzz
brotan
post Jan 14 2016, 10:43 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jan 14 2016, 10:19 PM)
Advisable to top up ponzi2 or shall i topup titanic? Hmmm... or top up on RHB ATRF? Confused.

This Kenanga APTRF was bloody red. Haizzzz
Don't top up sinking ship
T231H
post Jan 14 2016, 10:46 PM

5,143 posts

Stock With 121,597% Return Sees Five-Year Record Profit Run
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...-for-five-years

This post has been edited by T231H: Jan 14 2016, 10:47 PM
adele123
post Jan 15 2016, 12:34 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 14 2016, 08:18 PM)
Adele,

U should be getting excited ma right?
i mean, CHEAPER equities to buy more wor.  drool.gif

like shopping on SALE SALE SALE!
since need/holding long (or should i say 'savings allocater'), i'd prefer things to be on sale since i want/need to buy anyway

sorry - "grocery shopping" habits die hard. i'm the fler infront of the queue with fully loaded milk-powder 12 months' worth during a worthwhile sale  laugh.gif
other's reality may differ notworthy.gif
Thanks for analogy... but thinking whether is this a small sale or a big sale is coming... smile.gif

Or just buy whenever there's a sale...? I'll think about that with my pillow higher up, another day...
aoisky
post Jan 15 2016, 12:37 AM

1,203 posts

this week market is very volatile. good timing for tomorrow vca
guy3288
post Jan 15 2016, 12:38 AM

5,875 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 14 2016, 10:43 PM)
Don't top up sinking ship
any views on Amcommodities? Is this a sinking ship, a gone case UT?

I am stuck with it from day 1....... 2 years ago...........should i cut loss or buy more, i wonder...
aoisky
post Jan 15 2016, 12:40 AM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 15 2016, 12:38 AM)
any views on Amcommodities? Is this a sinking ship, a gone case UT?

I am stuck with it from day 1....... 2 years ago...........should i cut loss or buy more, i wonder...
how many % of losses ?
guy3288
post Jan 15 2016, 12:43 AM

5,875 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jan 15 2016, 12:40 AM)
how many % of losses ?
16.9%
it is 16.7% of my FSM portfolio.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Jan 15 2016, 12:44 AM
aoisky
post Jan 15 2016, 01:02 AM