Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq
victorywp
Feb 24 2016, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2016, 10:19 PM) I booked a hotel at booking.com under 'book first, pay later' option. However, received sms alert that the full amount has been charged to my card. Is the notification just a formality but nothing is actually charged? no, if it's charged means it's charged. do you use any cb link for the booking? for example, mastercard link, etc?
Human Nature
Feb 24 2016, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(victorywp @ Feb 24 2016, 11:35 PM) no, if it's charged means it's charged. do you use any cb link for the booking? for example, mastercard link, etc? I just booked normally using booking.com Aih, have to raise a dispute if they really charged
laymank
Feb 25 2016, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2016, 11:41 PM) I just booked normally using booking.com Aih, have to raise a dispute if they really charged my recent booking with booking.com also book now, pay at the hotel. there was no charge notification at all.
Human Nature
Feb 25 2016, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(laymank @ Feb 25 2016, 12:13 AM) my recent booking with booking.com also book now, pay at the hotel. there was no charge notification at all. thanks for the info. will follow up with aeon  add: just spoke to representative from booking.com and he confirmed that I was charged and he will arrange for refund. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Feb 25 2016, 12:46 AM
chiahau
Feb 25 2016, 07:17 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 25 2016, 12:25 AM) thanks for the info. will follow up with aeon  add: just spoke to representative from booking.com and he confirmed that I was charged and he will arrange for refund. Time to make a report. How can pay on other dates but Kena charge early early?
Human Nature
Feb 25 2016, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 25 2016, 07:17 AM) Time to make a report. How can pay on other dates but Kena charge early early? Cannot trust booking.com
szb
Feb 25 2016, 10:24 AM

if my old card expired and i did not activate my new card.
do i still need to call the bank to cancel my new* card?
EDIT: old to new
This post has been edited by szb: Feb 25 2016, 03:37 PM
HJebat
Feb 25 2016, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(Prodigenous Zee @ Feb 24 2016, 10:12 AM) Similar thing happened to me last year while I was overseas. The transaction date shown in my statement followed the local time of the place I used the card, not Malaysian time. I'm guessing you made an online payment to a company based overseas? It was an online payment to Malaysia Airlines. So, I think the transaction should be following our local time.
fruitie
Feb 25 2016, 10:48 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(szb @ Feb 25 2016, 10:24 AM) if my old card expired and i did not activate my new card. do i still need to call the bank to cancel my old card? Any particular reason you want to do this? Old card cannot be used anymore and new card hasn't activated yet, do you plan to cancel this card? Then, just call and cancel. No need to cancel old card, it cannot be used anymore. For safety reason, you may destroy it from your end.
laymank
Feb 25 2016, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 25 2016, 10:48 AM) Any particular reason you want to do this? Old card cannot be used anymore and new card hasn't activated yet, do you plan to cancel this card? Then, just call and cancel. No need to cancel old card, it cannot be used anymore. For safety reason, you may destroy it from your end. never leave the new card not activated just like that. you are still liable for any card that is NOT cancelled.
victorywp
Feb 25 2016, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 25 2016, 08:41 AM) did you use any shopback/milkadeal link? if yes, that could be the culprit... especially if it's a mastercard/visa link. they need to charge to your card to confirm your card before they could give you the cb.
Human Nature
Feb 25 2016, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(victorywp @ Feb 25 2016, 01:54 PM) did you use any shopback/milkadeal link? if yes, that could be the culprit... especially if it's a mastercard/visa link. they need to charge to your card to confirm your card before they could give you the cb. nope, until now I dont understand how shopback works lol..i assume this is how that particular hotel works. At the travel section, one forumer said he experienced the same thing but it was just for authorization. Will monitor.
szb
Feb 25 2016, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 25 2016, 10:48 AM) Any particular reason you want to do this? Old card cannot be used anymore and new card hasn't activated yet, do you plan to cancel this card? Then, just call and cancel. No need to cancel old card, it cannot be used anymore. For safety reason, you may destroy it from your end. QUOTE(laymank @ Feb 25 2016, 01:15 PM) never leave the new card not activated just like that. you are still liable for any card that is NOT cancelled. ok... i will call the bank to cancel the new card. thanks
fin307
Feb 25 2016, 04:55 PM

em. sorry for the noob question, since it's my first time using cc. can I use my cc at all merchants? for example. I go to jusco to buy television, can I use my citi card to pay ?
or it is based on what the merchants stated which can be used?
sorry again for the q
victorywp
Feb 25 2016, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(fin307 @ Feb 25 2016, 04:55 PM) em. sorry for the noob question, since it's my first time using cc. can I use my cc at all merchants? for example. I go to jusco to buy television, can I use my citi card to pay ? or it is based on what the merchants stated which can be used? sorry again for the q yes, all. unless amex/diners club/etc cards which are not as widely accepted as visa/master.
fin307
Feb 25 2016, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(victorywp @ Feb 25 2016, 05:03 PM) yes, all. unless amex/diners club/etc cards which are not as widely accepted as visa/master. ah thanks for the answer!
mycolumn
Feb 25 2016, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(fin307 @ Feb 25 2016, 04:55 PM) em. sorry for the noob question, since it's my first time using cc. can I use my cc at all merchants? for example. I go to jusco to buy television, can I use my citi card to pay ? or it is based on what the merchants stated which can be used? sorry again for the q owh, if you are not sure, then normally you can ask "Do you accept Amex here?" And the cashier will answer you with (for e.g): - yes - yes, but only above RM30 - nopes
Human Nature
Feb 25 2016, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(sj0217 @ Feb 21 2016, 05:16 PM) I bring this topic here to discuss. I have just called OCBC CS to confirmed that we still can apply for OCBC Great Eastern MasterCard without holding GE insurance, but this is subject bank approval I clicked the Apply Now button at the website but OCBC Great Eastern MasterCard is not listed as one of the card. Only the Platinum version is there.
sj0217
Feb 25 2016, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 25 2016, 10:30 PM) I clicked the Apply Now button at the website but OCBC Great Eastern MasterCard is not listed as one of the card. Only the Platinum version is there.  just tired and I cannot see other cards can apply too from the list such as OCBC MAsterCard(blue/pink), OCBC MC sliver
Human Nature
Feb 25 2016, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(sj0217 @ Feb 25 2016, 10:59 PM)  just tired and I cannot see other cards can apply too from the list such as OCBC MAsterCard(blue/pink), OCBC MC sliver I clicked the platinum and left my contact details..will ask when they call me..I dont have GE policy anyway, so let's see whether they directly reject. Will have to get replacement for watami asap dy.