dahon for example, lousy components, and price increased alot...
some pics frm msian foldies fb, ppl oso buy direct from china, says much cheaper wor...
This post has been edited by H2D: Mar 20 2016, 02:17 PM
Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Mar 20 2016, 02:13 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Mar 20 2016, 02:30 PM
Folding bike made in the Philippines ![]() |
Mar 20 2016, 05:37 PM
12 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(desastar @ Mar 19 2016, 07:35 PM) Yeah... It took me quite sometime. I though to still could wait until I saw this beauty in raw lacquer. And each raw lacquer are different too as the wielding skills are slightly different in each bike. It has all the specs that I wanted, a M handlebar, racks and reduced gearing of 44t, all matches my ideal Brompton. And a 2016 model have a serial number plate that I think it's really cool 😍😍😍 Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 20 2016, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(basilgan @ Mar 19 2016, 08:20 PM) hi Paul, just wonder if theres vast diff riding a brompton compare to other foldies,besides the folding size? always admire the look of a brompton,but whether it justify the price tag....tq Is it justify to buy a Brompton? Well, it's gear takes a lot of training to get it right. A sturney archer internal hub is yesteryear gear hub. You want to downshift to smaller gear, you need to stop pedal before you can engage in.The gearing are wide in between, just imagine you have a 16 sp gears but it space out in 6 gears. That means every gear change it abruptly change 3 gears. If you want to buy a Brompton for performance, pls don't. You only buy a Brompton for it's heritage and its fold size. And of course it's classics good look 😄😄 |
Mar 20 2016, 05:55 PM
Mar 20 2016, 05:57 PM
Mar 20 2016, 06:48 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Mar 20 2016, 05:54 PM) Is it justify to buy a Brompton? Well, it's gear takes a lot of training to get it right. A sturney archer internal hub is yesteryear gear hub. You want to downshift to smaller gear, you need to stop pedal before you can engage in. I don't have an issue with mine, the gears seems to change ok, perhaps a slight adjustment required? My other one that I've recently sold had the older Sachs hub and that needed to either stop or back pedal before the gear changes. However the ratios are closer together and it was actually nicer to ride without the big jump between ratios.The gearing are wide in between, just imagine you have a 16 sp gears but it space out in 6 gears. That means every gear change it abruptly change 3 gears. If you want to buy a Brompton for performance, pls don't. You only buy a Brompton for it's heritage and its fold size. And of course it's classics good look 😄😄 Brompton makes sense if the condition suits it, ie, not flat out peddling and no hills or headwind. It is perfect for touring a city and you can see more than if you are walking. Where I am, I have to battle 35+kph headwind riding home from work, so the Brompton would be a poor choice. If I have to use a folding bike, the Bike Friday Tikit and the Speed TR would be a more capable choice. |
Mar 20 2016, 06:50 PM
Mar 20 2016, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(desastar @ Mar 20 2016, 06:48 PM) I don't have an issue with mine, the gears seems to change ok, perhaps a slight adjustment required? My other one that I've recently sold had the older Sachs hub and that needed to either stop or back pedal before the gear changes. However the ratios are closer together and it was actually nicer to ride without the big jump between ratios. Really? Let me check with the bike shop if mine need alms adjustment. Brompton makes sense if the condition suits it, ie, not flat out peddling and no hills or headwind. It is perfect for touring a city and you can see more than if you are walking. Where I am, I have to battle 35+kph headwind riding home from work, so the Brompton would be a poor choice. If I have to use a folding bike, the Bike Friday Tikit and the Speed TR would be a more capable choice. Brompton are good when you knows it's limit, just enjoy it's traditional internal gear change, the built of its originality of folding bike. Or just put it this way, it's the British way. Hahaha |
Mar 20 2016, 10:41 PM
7,863 posts Joined: May 2007 From: highbury |
should i upgrade front crank to 56t first or upgrade the rear to at least 8speed 11t first?
my bike is trinx 1606 ,haven't upgrade any parts yet since i bought it last year. lol novatec hub. can this fit into my bike? http://world.taobao.com/item/42967476529.h...0.HI7y91#detail This post has been edited by fcuk90: Mar 20 2016, 11:36 PM |
Mar 21 2016, 08:56 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Mar 20 2016, 05:54 PM) Is it justify to buy a Brompton? Well, it's gear takes a lot of training to get it right. A sturney archer internal hub is yesteryear gear hub. You want to downshift to smaller gear, you need to stop pedal before you can engage in. tq paul, enjoy ur rideThe gearing are wide in between, just imagine you have a 16 sp gears but it space out in 6 gears. That means every gear change it abruptly change 3 gears. If you want to buy a Brompton for performance, pls don't. You only buy a Brompton for it's heritage and its fold size. And of course it's classics good look 😄😄 |
Mar 21 2016, 09:13 AM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Mar 20 2016, 05:37 PM) Yeah... It took me quite sometime. I though to still could wait until I saw this beauty in raw lacquer. And each raw lacquer are different too as the wielding skills are slightly different in each bike. agree with u sir...Brompton for it's heritage and its fold size...It has all the specs that I wanted, a M handlebar, racks and reduced gearing of 44t, all matches my ideal Brompton. And a 2016 model have a serial number plate that I think it's really cool 😍😍😍 but if i am too malas too fold ill rather choose my One Touch Picnica Bridgestone Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 21 2016, 09:22 AM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(denyhazrin @ Mar 21 2016, 09:13 AM) agree with u sir...Brompton for it's heritage and its fold size... one touch ..Be malas Be lazybut if i am too malas too fold ill rather choose my One Touch Picnica Bridgestone This post has been edited by denyhazrin: Mar 21 2016, 09:25 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 25 2016, 10:11 AM
13 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Mar 25 2016, 11:37 AM
1,123 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Need to ask does anyone know what is the current price for tern eclipse x22, x20, p18 and p20??
Thank you! |
Mar 25 2016, 12:18 PM
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Mar 25 2016, 08:40 PM
My Birdy has arrived and I spent the afternoon cleaning it. Everything was very greasy and dirty! Now looks 100% better.
First impression wasn't good. This bike will be frustrating to fold. Has to be in the right gear or the chain may drop off. This is a dual drive model and the click box is in the way when the front wheel is folded in, then the handlebar will not drop down enough, so the whole this is a mess! I'll have to investigate what I can do to improve the fold. Had a short ride and the bike feels supple but the front end feels a bit weird esp at low speed. It is not like a normal bike as the steering is not linear. I need to replace the back tyre, so maybe I will see if going 20" wheel is a better option. I can convert it into a 9 or 10 speed. Without the Dual drive click box, the fold may be better. Might go for a longer ride before deciding. Anyone here with a Birdy? Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 26 2016, 02:04 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
QUOTE(desastar @ Mar 25 2016, 08:40 PM) My Birdy has arrived and I spent the afternoon cleaning it. Everything was very greasy and dirty! Now looks 100% better. enjoy ur rideFirst impression wasn't good. This bike will be frustrating to fold. Has to be in the right gear or the chain may drop off. This is a dual drive model and the click box is in the way when the front wheel is folded in, then the handlebar will not drop down enough, so the whole this is a mess! I'll have to investigate what I can do to improve the fold. Had a short ride and the bike feels supple but the front end feels a bit weird esp at low speed. It is not like a normal bike as the steering is not linear. I need to replace the back tyre, so maybe I will see if going 20" wheel is a better option. I can convert it into a 9 or 10 speed. Without the Dual drive click box, the fold may be better. Might go for a longer ride before deciding. Anyone here with a Birdy? |
Mar 26 2016, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(chongkiat @ Mar 25 2016, 10:11 AM) u go to msia foldies fb page u can see the post n u pm the bro la, look at the box, it is from china, for CDM, so should be buy from china, if go tru agent buy from taobao is cheaper, cos shipping price still low. if u can deal direct with shop there, then ok, |
Mar 26 2016, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 20 2016, 10:41 PM) should i upgrade front crank to 56t first or upgrade the rear to at least 8speed 11t first? as long as the hub match the correct width, and if u intend to use back the rim, the spoke count have to be the same.my bike is trinx 1606 ,haven't upgrade any parts yet since i bought it last year. lol novatec hub. can this fit into my bike? http://world.taobao.com/item/42967476529.h...0.HI7y91#detail |
| Change to: | 0.0340sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:39 PM |