269 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Proton PrevĂ© V23, Livin la vida loca

ben16
post Sep 18 2015, 12:46 PM

81 posts

My CFE will be 3 years old end September. It is a good car and I am happy with it. Very few issues, basically change headlight bulb a couple of times over the three years. 2 weeks ago, the SC change the engine mounting because I complained about increased vibration. Now it is so much better. No charge as still under 3 year warranty.

Asked about 60K service as I will soon reach that. Estimated to cost about RM1,300. SC said there is some work to be done on the gearbox as part of standard 60K service.

Anyone has reached 60K service already. Should I use their sparkplugs or buy my own set from outside? Looking for Iridium set but I think SC also uses the same.

ben3003
post Sep 18 2015, 01:53 PM

10,859 posts

buy outside spark plug can claim warranty later? im afraid they will say about warranty problem then ask u to use theirs.
onthefly
post Sep 19 2015, 01:30 AM

1,315 posts

i have this voucher that entitles RM1000 off for purchase of Proton Preve

Pm me or visit my Garage thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3716855&hl=
tracemaster
post Sep 19 2015, 10:24 AM

Doing my 1k service now, cost is rm142? Is it normal? Change engine oil petronas 800 and engine filter?
hbgoh57
post Sep 19 2015, 01:25 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(tracemaster @ Sep 19 2015, 10:24 AM)
Doing my 1k service now, cost is rm142? Is it normal? Change engine oil petronas 800 and engine filter?
Yes..I believe u have the free labour charge..otherwise there will be additional rm60 for labour cost
icarus_maximus
post Sep 20 2015, 01:41 AM

Hi every1! Im newbie, just got my preve last raya promotion, mine is 1.6 cvt (at) iafm+, but got a prob, why everytime when it run downhill at 40-50kmph, the engine starts to roar? I had to brake until 15-20kmph to make it stop? Is this normal? Did I or the R&D guys at Proton miss something?
SUSwaiora_protuner
post Sep 20 2015, 01:56 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(icarus_maximus @ Sep 20 2015, 01:41 AM)
Hi every1! Im newbie, just got my preve last raya promotion, mine is 1.6 cvt (at) iafm+, but got a prob, why everytime when it run downhill at 40-50kmph, the engine starts to roar? I had to brake until 15-20kmph to make it stop? Is this normal? Did I or the R&D guys at Proton miss something?
the CVT geabox 'downshift' for you...
for harder engine braking...

i think its normal...
and i think you can floor pedal a bit to cancel it...
TS:3mushy:3
post Sep 20 2015, 09:12 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(icarus_maximus @ Sep 20 2015, 01:41 AM)
That's a feature, not a problem. Go read more on engine braking smile.gif
icarus_maximus
post Sep 20 2015, 12:53 PM

Thank you guys, for the explanations, it helps! I feel much better now..
mengsuan
post Sep 20 2015, 05:49 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(danielstc @ Sep 18 2015, 09:36 AM)
Mind to share your experience with Racechip? where you got it and how much?
Around 1k. You can get from any Racechip retailers.
SportyHandling
post Sep 21 2015, 08:32 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(tracemaster @ Aug 19 2015, 02:21 PM)
i also noticed this woo woo sound..and from my observation its from the cooler fan.
QUOTE(tracemaster @ Aug 19 2015, 03:19 PM)
This is just based on my observation, my Preve is 4 months now and this woo woo sound is the first I noticed whenever i turn on the engine, I opened the bonnett and noticed that when the cooler fan starts to run, this is where the woo woo sound start...im not sure if the woo woo sound is like woo-woo-woo where the "woo" is happening in fast sequence..my observation is wooooooooooo-wooooooooooo..the "woo" is very long....hope you get what I mean smile.gif

once I have the time, I will try to capture in video
An update. After the gearbox on my car was replaced and 5 visits to the service centre to troubleshoot all sort of noises, including changing of all engine and gearbox mountings, I now have this "woo wooo" sound during low speed acceleration from standstill, slowing down the car at low speed to 0 km/h. The sound will come up during low speed driving, and it is loud and annoying. I have no choice but to bring the car to the service centre again. The unpleasant woo wooo noise sounds like the engine is going to be dead or something.

Also, there is vibration on the dashboard and gearbox area. The condition of the car with the new gearbox is now much worse than the condition of the car before the gearbox was replaced. Just bad luck for me.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Sep 21 2015, 08:54 AM
SportyHandling
post Sep 21 2015, 08:37 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Aug 13 2015, 12:19 AM)
thanks for the advise
FYI, my car was sent in to SC for replacing the entire gearbox after just 17 000 KM on the odometer. My parents used the car instead of me so there was definitely no "italian job" kind of driving

It is shocking to see at the damansara mutiara workshop a few cars with about the same registration plate number  timing  being at there for the same purpose. Had a chat with the foreman and they all came in with the same problem that is premature gearbox failure

Only had the car for 1 year and 3 months and have to change a gearbox,this gotta be a personal best record for me. Personally after the 5 year warranty is over,i will dispose of this car since i am terribly concern about another round of gearbox failure
QUOTE(idunnolol @ Aug 13 2015, 08:45 PM)
just check to be safe
best thing now is after gearbox change, i got insane vibration throughout the chassis . Time to send to SC again after 2 weeks driving. Somehow i think they botched up the job and now need to claim for vibration
May I ask if your parents' car is now working fine now? Any vibration and woo wooo sound during low speed acceleration from standstill and low speed driving? FWIW after 5 visits to the service centre with all engine mountings and gearbox mountings replaced, the woo wooo sound from the engine during low speed acceleration is getting louder and worse. Even when the car is not moving, stationary at traffic lights, the woo woo sound can be heard. It sounds like the engine is going to go dead or something. Really bad condition. I have to schedule another day to bring the car to COSE for the 6th time. I wonder what is wrong with the car.

SportyHandling
post Sep 21 2015, 08:47 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(simongs @ Aug 13 2015, 10:33 PM)
I just happened to log in n saw these comments..so I thought I share my experience with my 2012 first batch preve...few months after buying my engine cylinder head cracked while driving n towed to proton and they replaced the engine...took about 1 month plus replacement car given...

everything went fine and after tht the car would jerk when I drive slow and feel like the gear slipping..went twice and they retune or reflash the ecu and it was ok but after sometime it felt the same.. learned to live with it..

then one day the aircon was not cold went and checked everything connected to aircon was fine but air not cold..it spent 3 weeks in workshop trying to pin point the source and apparently some wiring problem..

my driver seat is worn out in 3 years and emit some sort of "creaking" sound everytime I sat on it or moved while sitting..morning when I start and drive there are lot of vibration in the dashboard....

the engine sounds so rough inspite always using full synthetic oil..the absorbers has already worn out and due for replacement...as for the vibrations I am sure the engine mountings has to be replaced..

the engine will die off while I reverse on uphill..sometimes as I slow down for touch n go and when I press accelerator there will be a violent jerks which I feel on my floorboard before the car actually moves on....

the cvt fail indicator and airbag indicators will sometimes light up and I need to go proton to reset..twice already..

the gearbox feels much better after my major service in 60,000km and they charged me RM1500 for the service and I noticed they changed lot of gearbox parts....

honestly I feel frustrated and disappointed with this preve as so much of my time wasted in proton workshops..i really don't take this car outstation as always one after another problem crops up..
My Preve Turbo is bought in August 2013, 2 years 1 month old. In a period of 4 weeks since last month, I have visited the service centre 5 times, and a 6th visit is imminent. After the gearbox on my car was changed, there were lots of problems in loud noises and vibration from the engine. Even after all engine and gearbox mountings were replaced, the car still showed woo wooo sound during low speed driving. For a 2 year 1 month old car showing this sort of quality is just terrible. I hope the mechanics at COSE will be able to resolve the problem after this 6th and final visit to the service centre. The quality of the car and unresolved problems even after many visits to the service centre leave much to be desired.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Sep 21 2015, 10:09 AM
idunnolol
post Sep 21 2015, 09:38 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 21 2015, 08:37 AM)
May I ask if your parents' car is now working fine now? Any vibration and woo wooo sound during low speed acceleration from standstill and low speed driving? FWIW after 5 visits to the service centre with all engine mountings and gearbox mountings replaced, the woo wooo sound from the engine during low speed acceleration is getting louder and worse. Even when the car is not moving, stationary at traffic lights, the woo woo sound can be heard. It sounds like the engine is going to go dead or something. Really bad condition. I have to schedule another day to bring the car to COSE for the 6th time. I wonder what is wrong with the car.
so far no more woo woo sound but got strong vibration
SportyHandling
post Sep 21 2015, 10:20 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Sep 21 2015, 09:38 AM)
so far no more woo woo sound but got strong vibration
Would appreciate if you can describe on the vibration in more detailed. Is the strong vibration without any rattling sound, and it happens at the dashboard/steering wheel area. Or the vibration comes with rattling sound ie. vibration caused rattling in the areas of the car ie. dashboard.
K2002
post Sep 21 2015, 02:54 PM

61 posts

Is been long time never log in. Hi All,

After 3 years and 5 months (26 Apr 2012). Car been good and running. Aside all these been change or unlimited amount of time re-fixing some still come out some stay good until now. Touch wood. Overall good car for 70K range budget.

*Wiring Harness,

* Engine Mounting change once to stop vibrate. ,

*Car auto Window (solve by putting grease) there is one occasion my window at the driver side will not get up at the end they change the motor inside.

*Gear Knob plastic spoilt change 1st year and working until now.

*Air bag light icon on. (still on after numerous time of readjusting I lost count)

*Air cond fan got sound. if power off the fan no more sound. if make it higher fan speed the sound gone. got Chit chit chit sound. change before but now happen again last three months ago.

*reflash ecu three times,

*change windscreen stone chip cause a long crack line. (this one not really related but just say it here. apparently after change the windscreen my auto light works but the auto rain wiper not working I think due to the transparent gel like substance no longer presence at the light and rain censors box.

*the multimedia unit restarts a few times automatically

*the gps no longer working after press on the navigation shows only car icon with green or blue screen. as if my car float at water.

*light bulb left burn twice and right burn once. change to original proton part last year until now no problem. (I always use proton bulb only.) if I not wrong. I notice if you put your light to auto it will easily get burn. try to switch off the light to off instead of putting to auto. before power off car. make sure switch from on to off or auto to off.
but now I just purely use manual never change to auto. so far works good. I feel some of the forumer here been changing more than 6 times for the bulbs. expensive.

*biggest problem now I am having. when press accelerator the car judders. the only thing they do is reflash tcu/ecu. when high rpm sure judder three times at least then gone. especially reaching 4k~5k rpm. 80~160 anytime I floor between this region it will have this kind of juddering effect. if around 160~220 the judder gone.
the feeling as if the cvt belt slip I think not sure. but whenever the judder happen the whole car vibrate and the rpm drops a little then goes back up. sure must happen at least 3 times only the judder stop.

if travel slowly between 60~80kph slowly increase speed no judder. but if floor immediately even around 2.5k~3.5krpm will have this judder effect also.

I wonder if I still can change the gear box. more than 3 years now. If not I think I need to fork out rm12K here for the gear box.
sometimes occasionally the fault gear icon will come out.

http://mforum.cari.com.my/home.php?mod=spa...o=blog&id=44938

item number 619

this price is long time ago 2012 dunno now how much..

that's all. overall still a good car. but my opinion is don't speed for a long time the cvt gear cannot tahan long journey of speeding 160~180~200. max speed still 220. over push I think everyone will have problem of gear slip problem face like my case. if those want to put potato chip the racechip I think also will cause this eventually.

I think unless you change the cvt gear to 5 speed manual then will not have the slip gear or juddering issue.

so my wish list of going to COSE next month is the fix some airbag light, gear issue, and also the air cond fan chit chit sound.
the dashboard also start vibrate when I accelerate. the plastic sound and all other orchestra sound. smile.gif

hopefully is still in warranty and no charge incurred.

This post has been edited by K2002: Sep 21 2015, 03:01 PM
SportyHandling
post Sep 21 2015, 03:01 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Sep 21 2015, 02:54 PM)
Is been long time never log in. Hi All,
After 3 years and 5 months (26 Apr 2012). Car been good and running. Aside all these been change or unlimited amount of time re-fixing some still come out some stay good until now. Touch wood. Overall good car for 70K range budget.

*Wiring Harness,

* Engine Mounting change once to stop vibrate. ,

*Car auto Window (solve by putting grease)

*Gear Knob plastic spoilt change 1st year and working until now.

*Air bag light. (still on after numerous time of readjusting I lost count)

*Air cond fan got sound. if power off the fan no more sound. if make it higher fan speed the sound gone. got Chit chit chit sound. change before but now happen again last three months ago.

*reflash ecu three times,

*change windscreen stone chip cause a long crack line. (this one not really related but just say it here. apparently after change the windscreen my auto light works but the auto rain wiper not working I think due to the transparent gel like substance no longer presence at the light and rain censors box.

*the multimedia unit restarts a few times automatically

*the gps no longer working after press on the navigation shows only car icon with green or blue screen. as if my car float at water.

*light bulb left burn twice and right burn once. change to original proton part last year until now no problem. (I always use proton bulb only.) if I not wrong. I notice if you put your light to auto it will easily get burn. try to switch off the light to off instead of putting to auto. before power off car. make sure switch from on to off or auto to off.
but now I just purely use manual never change to auto. so far works good. I feel some of the forumer here been changing more than 6 times for the bulbs. expensive.

*biggest problem now I am having. when press accelerator the car judders. the only thing they do is reflash tcu/ecu. when high rpm sure judder three times at least then gone. especially reaching 4k~5k rpm. 80~160 anytime I floor between this region it will have this kind of juddering effect. if around 160~220 the judder gone.
the feeling as if the cvt belt slip I think not sure. but whenever the judder happen the whole car vibrate and the rpm drops a little then goes back up. sure must happen at least 3 times only the judder stop.

if travel slowly between 60~80kph slowly increase speed no judder. but if floor immediately even around 2.5k~3.5krpm will have this judder effect also.

I wonder if I still can change the gear box. more than 3 years now. If not I think I need to fork out rm12K here for the gear box.
sometimes occasionally the fault gear icon will come out.

http://mforum.cari.com.my/home.php?mod=spa...o=blog&id=44938

item number 619

this price is long time ago 2012 dunno now how much..

that's all. overall still a good car. but my opinion is don't speed for a long time the cvt gear cannot tahan long journey of speeding 160~180~200. max speed still 220. over push I think everyone will have problem of gear slip problem face like my case.  if those want to put potato chip the racechip I think also will cause this eventually.

I think unless you change the cvt gear to 5 speed manual then will not have the slip gear or juddering issue.

so my wish list of going to COSE next month is the fix some airbag light, gear issue, and also the air cond fan chit chit sound.
the dashboard also start vibrate when I accelerate. the plastic sound and all other orchestra sound. smile.gif

hopefully is still in warranty and no charge incurred.
Not too sure on the RM12,749 figure for the gearbox but I was informed (last month) that the gearbox of the Preve Turbo costs RM17k. Inspira's is RM23k.

For the gearbox, not sure if warranty is below 3 years or 5 years. You may check with the service centre during your next visit.

K2002
post Sep 21 2015, 03:08 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 21 2015, 03:01 PM)
Not too sure on the RM12,749 figure for the gearbox but I was informed (last month) that the gearbox of the Preve Turbo costs RM17k. Inspira's is RM23k.

For the gearbox, not sure if warranty is below 3 years or 5 years. You may check with the service centre during your next visit.
Thanks for the info SportyHandling.
if don't have I don't think I will change. maybe drive slowly only. 80~110 speed limit.
getting older need to be slower.
SportyHandling
post Sep 21 2015, 03:19 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Sep 21 2015, 03:08 PM)
Thanks for the info SportyHandling.
if don't have I don't think I will change. maybe drive slowly only. 80~110 speed limit.
getting older need to be slower.
No problem. No idea about your judder but it appears that your judder happens at 4000-5000 RPM which is hard acceleration. What exactly is this "judder". When you mention judder is it a vibration that you feel, or the car jerks? I am guessing it is bad vibration that you feel in the car at 4000-5000 RPM when you mentioned judder, not jerking. Since the CVT rarely jerks unless you drive furiously with a lot of pedal action.

In low speed, say driving from 0 to 30km/h, do you have "woo wooo" sound in your car. Now i have this sound in my car. When the car is stationary, ie. not moving at traffic lights, I can also hear this noisy sound. After the car is moving above 30km/h the sound will disappear. The annoying sound and bad vibration only happens during low speed and when the car is not moving. I am going to send my car in to the service centre sometime this week.

K2002
post Sep 21 2015, 03:33 PM

61 posts

only downhill as if gear is pulling the woo sound I have. other than that no sound. the juddering effect is like if I imagine it right enough. is as if the belt is not able to be turn or miss turn at the cvt axle. not sure if this is the case. car feel no pick up the moment it judders rpm drop and a very big vibration for the whole car. not at the dashboard.

dashboard will vibrate from 0~80 if I full pedal to the floor motion. but the judder effect will come after the full pedal say when reaching 4k~5krpm.

269 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:10 AM