Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only

tzxsean
post Mar 22 2025, 08:20 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(bing0212 @ Mar 21 2025, 11:57 PM)
Studied diploma few years ago and started paying back PTPTN, can claim tax relief under Education fees?
no ...
MUM
post Mar 22 2025, 08:22 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(bing0212 @ Mar 21 2025, 11:57 PM)
Studied diploma few years ago and started paying back PTPTN, can claim tax relief under Education fees?
May I ask, What is the name of that Diploma?
If I am not wrong, just some Diploma course that can claim tax relief.
Huumph, paid for it few years ago, now only want to claim, ..... during that year of incured that course fees, how much tax did you kena pay for that year?
wilson7847
post Mar 26 2025, 08:31 AM

87 posts

Hi, my child diploma graduate at June 2024. Am I entitle RM8000 tax relief?
bing0212
post Mar 28 2025, 11:16 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 22 2025, 08:22 AM)
May I ask, What is the name of that Diploma?
If I am not wrong, just some Diploma course that can claim tax relief.
Huumph, paid for it few years ago, now only want to claim, ..... during that year of incured that course fees, how much tax did you kena pay for that year?
Diploma in Engineering

that year was studying, did not pay tax

MUM
post Mar 29 2025, 05:48 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(bing0212 @ Mar 28 2025, 11:16 PM)
Diploma in Engineering

that year was studying, did not pay tax
Not a tax advice
I could be wrong

I think cannot claim bcos of this reasoning, .... laptop or handphone purchased in that calender can only be used to claim tax relief for that calendar year.

Anyway, as the fees is abit large, it is a waste not to try claim tax relief benefits to reduce taxes, you can try seek answer from lhdn.

CPURanger
post Mar 29 2025, 11:00 AM

889 posts

I m not sure this is the right place to ask. I am looking for explanatory lhdn notes be 2024 (english) pdf. I manage to get malay version but not english from google.

Please share the link, thanks.
MUM
post Mar 29 2025, 11:06 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Mar 29 2025, 11:00 AM)
I m not sure  this is the right place to ask. I am looking for explanatory lhdn notes be 2024 (english) pdf. I manage to get malay version but not english from google.

Please share the link, thanks.
Try this?
Select type and year

https://www.hasil.gov.my/en/forms/download-...orm-individual/

ccschua
post Apr 2 2025, 01:40 PM

1,630 posts

I did not know that losses from property (interest + other expensive vs rental) can be aggregated against loan free income. can I still go back to Hasil for backdated claims ?
MUM
post Apr 3 2025, 07:55 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Apr 2 2025, 01:40 PM)
I did not know that losses from property (interest + other expensive vs rental) can be aggregated against loan free income. can I still go back to Hasil for backdated claims ?
Just asking, did you file your rental as "business income under Section 4(a)" or as "non business income under Section 4(d)?"

Looks like there is a difference in term of what can claimed, deducted, offset etc etc

Guide for landlord to report tax rental income in malaysia
https://www.yycadvisors.com/tax-rental-inco...%20Property%20B.

Public Ruling No. 12/2018
https://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/PR_12_2018.pdf

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 3 2025, 08:02 AM
ccschua
post Apr 4 2025, 10:24 AM

1,630 posts

noted your points, however, Refering to attached para 7.1, it shows that negative rental can be offset against others.

so far, IRA is not against this. am i missing something ?

Attached File(s)
Attached File  PR_12_2018.pdf ( 586.2k ) Number of downloads: 12
MUM
post Apr 4 2025, 10:39 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Apr 4 2025, 10:24 AM)
noted your points, however, Refering to attached para 7.1, it shows that negative rental can be offset against others.

so far, IRA is not against this. am i missing something ?
When you file your itr, did you follow as per example 14 for rental income.as non business source?

ccschua
post Apr 4 2025, 11:45 AM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 4 2025, 10:39 AM)
When you file your itr, did you follow as per example 14 for rental income.as non business source?
totally agree on this example 14. so now is it possible to rework my past claims and submit to IRA for retro claims
(Since IRA has audit rights to 7 years on my claim) ?

MUM
post Apr 4 2025, 12:14 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Apr 4 2025, 11:45 AM)
totally agree on this example 14. so now is it possible to rework my past claims and submit to IRA for retro claims
(Since IRA has audit rights to 7 years on my claim) ?
As I read and intepreted, there are certain tnc for amendments

https://www.hasil.gov.my/en/individual/othe...assessment/arf/

But as there is this notes in there too
"However, taxpayer is not required to submit ARF if the mistakes made are not related to situations as mentioned above. Instead, he can enclosed a detailed letter on the mistakes along with supporting documents (purchase receipts and invoices, etc.) to the HASiL Office that’s handling his tax file."

So it is worthwhile to contact them directly
xkaizoku
post Apr 5 2025, 04:48 PM

220 posts

Does anyone know affiliate marketing (like shopee sharing links and earning comission) is categorised under what? B form or BE form? If BE form, is under "other gains"?

The commission I get is very small, total probably rm50 from whole year. Or dont bother to declare?
jiaen0509
post Apr 6 2025, 11:00 AM

3,305 posts

I have a question:

If I’m working overseas, I would declare my Malaysian income as zero (0). However, I still have insurance and lifestyle in Malaysia that could be used for tax relief.

Can I still declare these reliefs like this?
• Income: 0
• Tax reliefs: RM5,000

Will this cause any issues with LHDN? Or is it better to just declare everything as zero?

prescott2006
post Apr 6 2025, 02:04 PM

892 posts

I made voluntary EPF contribution on 31 Dev 2024. I saw the date in the EPF statement is 1/1/2025. Does this mean I cannot include it for 2024 tax relief?

leagueoflegend
post Apr 6 2025, 03:20 PM

70 posts

Hello everyone, can i ask how to file rental income tax ?

I have a unit and rented out, but i am not earning from the rental

So do i still need to the filing? Thanks
ronnie
post Apr 7 2025, 07:24 AM

Not enough stars
21,310 posts

My friend does "lalamove/grab" on weekends (irregular) on top of his regular 9-5 job, does he need to declare to LHDN ?
If yes, under which column?
MUM
post Apr 7 2025, 07:37 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 7 2025, 07:24 AM)
My friend does "lalamove/grab" on weekends (irregular) on top of his regular 9-5 job, does he need to declare to LHDN ?
If yes, under which column?
Google and found this.

LHDN briefing for Grab Drivers
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4757999/+0

MUM
post Apr 7 2025, 08:03 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Apr 5 2025, 04:48 PM)
Does anyone know affiliate marketing (like shopee sharing links and earning comission) is categorised under what? B form or BE form? If BE form, is under "other gains"?

The commission I get is very small, total probably rm50 from whole year. Or dont bother to declare?
Not a qualified tax comment, but I think,
Under declare or did not declare income can be subjected to penalty.
Try add the amount received in Form BE under "other gains" as you mentioned.
Do remember to keep the income statement from Shopee for audit purposes.

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Apr 6 2025, 11:00 AM)
I have a question:

If I’m working overseas, I would declare my Malaysian income as zero (0). However, I still have insurance and lifestyle in Malaysia that could be used for tax relief.

Can I still declare these reliefs like this?
• Income: 0
• Tax reliefs: RM5,000

Will this cause any issues with LHDN? Or is it better to just declare everything as zero?
If you have a tax file in Malaysia before you go work overseas, I think you will need to continue to do the annual income tax submission in April every year until you tell lhdn to temporarily close it giving your reason as are working overseas.

Those tax relief that you wanted to claim cannot be claimed as you have no taxable income to seek tax relief for taxable income reduction.

Make sure you keep a record of you being taxed or exempted being taxed overseas ..... just incase you need to remit back large sum from overseas.

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Apr 6 2025, 02:04 PM)
I made voluntary EPF contribution on 31 Dev 2024. I saw the date in the EPF statement is 1/1/2025. Does this mean I cannot include it for 2024 tax relief?

Geee,
Money in on 1/1 will only get 1 day dividend.
Money recorded as received on 1/1 will be considered as contribution for that year.

QUOTE(leagueoflegend @ Apr 6 2025, 03:20 PM)
Hello everyone, can i ask how to file rental income tax ?

I have a unit and rented out, but i am not earning from the rental

So do i still need to the filing? Thanks
Rental income need to be declared as the tenant may hv used that tenant agreement to seek tax deduction during his business income tax declaration.
If there is no net profit from the rental, just declare as no profits but keep that working sheets with supporting expense documents just of case of audit.

https://www.iproperty.com.my/guides/rental-...ty-owners-46565

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 7 2025, 08:07 AM

537 Pages « < 529 530 531 532 533 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:57 AM