Hey guys, I'm back! Overall a fantastic trip. I intend to share my info/experience so others who are going there for the first time will be well informed. But now still tired from all the shopping
so I'll add in info and pics bit by bit...maybe later today or tomorrow will try to write as much as possible.
Haha sorry didn't contact you at all. Too distracted with catching up time for shopping and hardly enough time to spend in MBK. Hope you had a great time(but then it's like a 2nd home to you).
Another thing...
That was between 9th-13th Jan. Since everyone said it's gonna be hot hot hot, I wore only thin t-shirts and knee-length pants or soft capris and sandals...and I was freezing! Even in Chatuchak I was cold, even when the sun comes out, I was cold. And I wasn't the only one, I looked around and everyone was shivering or dressed up like it's winter. They were even selling winter clothing and scarves and shawls.
Even the locals said Bangkok was never this cold. I hardly sweat walking from morning till night. However, I do think that in Feb/March it will turn hot coz I don't think it's something that will last. Wind from China might change direction by then??
HI all,
I just came back from bangkok after 3 days of shopping and sight seeing at the temple there. Here below is 2 of the best cab drivers I have ever seen in bangkok. No going to gem factory and all. Cheap ,Good can speak english and friendly
Anyone who is going to bangkok just call them ealier and let them know u r coming,they will fetch u from airport
price is roughly at 400 Baht normally is 500-600 Bath to Pra Tu Nam Area.
Mr.Deng - 0839132781 ( speaks 60% english )
or
Mr At - 0850735339 (speaks 35% english )
Normal 3 temple tours within bangkok , agency will charge roughly 500 - 600B per pax
This guy charged me 800B for one whole taxi which includes 3 temple tours (takes roughly 4 hours to complete all 3 temples plus transportation time) then we went back to Pra Tu Nam for my last minute shopping ( where he waited 2 more hours for me in the car) then send me to the airport
Total was 1200B but i gave him 1300B and that made his day. So enjoy calling them and negotiate on the price accordingly
Maybe u can mention my name for discounts if he remembers me - just tell him Kenny from Malaysia ( hopefully he remembers) Lolz
Places to shop on bangkokChatukjak Market - is crowded and TOO large.. u will get lost , lolz ( prices is nearly the same with PRA TU NAM market. They even sell puppies and dogs at dirt cheap prices.. u can get a shih tzu for 2000B which is RM 200. Buy 2 and u get RM 180 each.lolz
Pra Tu Nam Market - average crowd and easy navigating through stalls - wholesale prices... the more u buy the cheaper it is.
MBK Mall - Like a normal mall but u have to shop at lvl 2 and look out for stalls which has great discounts in front. this places u can further ask for discounts and wholesale prices
Platinum Mall opp Pra Tu Nam Market - a wholesale mall where you can nearly everything and anything, except animals. lolz. I would suggest those first timers to shop in here.
Places to stay in BangkokBaiyoke Boutique - 1800B per night - 2 minute walk away from Pra Tu Nam Market. Although is abit expensive but it worth the stay as you dun have to spend extra money on cabs and tuk tuk's
Liberty Garden Hotel - 1070B per night - 10 minutes drive to Pra Tu Nam - not that worth though unless you love to stay away from the crowded area and save a little.
LKN INN at 1477,phaholyothin road,samsennai - 400-600B per night - normal back packers rooms ( 10 minutes drive to Pra Tu Nam)
(www.lkninn.com)
Where to buy good,cheap and average quality suits? ready within 10 hoursCanali Collection - 1 minute walk from Baiyoke Boutique
( I bought 2 suits complete with pants and FOC 2 neck tie @ 4800B = RM480) damn cheap
SuggestionsAlthough Tuk tuk's are famous in Bangkok but i suggest you NOT to take tuk tuk;s because
1. they rarely speak english
2. very very rude
3. their prices are very expensive for foreigners
4. drive dangerously
5. change their charge half way during transportation
6. re route to gem factories and shops for free vouchers and ETC
7. traffic fumes get into your FACES,lolz
But if u still wanna try them go ahead but nvr pay more than 200B for any one way location within Bangkok area
If you backpacking alone i would suggest you take the
motorcycle drivers, they have orange vest and they are much more polite and have standard rates. cheaper than tuk tuk's.
For guys if you are looking for special stuff just ask MR Deng or Mr At for "Ding Ding" they will take u and go see see.
Lastly hope u guys and gals enjoy your stay and beware of pick pockets. I hope my mini info would be helpful tho.
cheers
That's strange. Taking the taxi was super easy for me. I just walked out of the airport and there it was, at the entrance. You can see people lining up to take a taxi and there's a booth. Not a limo but the public taxi that goes by meter. There will be many assistants helping out to get your location so the queue is quick. And I went to my hotel in Pratunam, only costs about 200 something baht. Return from hotel to airport cost 205 baht. So 400baht is quite expensive. Tuk-tuk was very convenient for me. No one asked to take me to any gem shops or changed course or asked for different price. Maybe we were lucky but we took tuk-tuk many many times. Usually what I did was ask a local or the info counter at any shopping malls about how much it will cost roughly to go from A to B so that I know how much it will cost roughly...and then I just tell the tuk-tuk driver and negotiate the price until we're both satisfied and then go. Taxi is easy coz just ask to go by meter. A local told me that the taxi driver must go by meter and they cannot choose passengers or refuse to take passengers. So when I found one and he asked for a specific price, I just went to another one.
Ok, I'll come back with more complete info in a while.