Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

vermins
post Oct 18 2008, 06:41 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(shay2k @ Oct 18 2008, 03:28 PM)
can anyone update me on the situation in bangkok? whats goin on the border between thai and cambodia? my flight leaves on the 25th but afraid of my safety, thanks
Heading there this Tuesday. If you don't hear from me then.. well, something has happened laugh.gif

But in all frankness, the media just makes it worst then it looks. Just like the coup, looked really serious and all, but was barely anything in actual effect in BKK. Plus, if it was really dangerous, airlines wouldn't want to ferry passengers there tongue.gif

If you are talking about the streets, like wind mentioned earlier, just avoid the govt buildings and it should be alright. The general tourist attractions shouldn't be a problem either.

This post has been edited by vermins: Oct 18 2008, 06:44 PM
vermins
post Oct 19 2008, 04:05 PM

215 posts

That was 2 weeks ago tongue.gif

Still ouch though.

No brainer to avoid huge crowds when sightseeing there though.
vermins
post Oct 22 2008, 12:00 AM

215 posts

Well, finally here in BKK. And for anyone whos afraid about the political 'chaos' here. Its nothing really. And like I said before, its all media and bullcrap thats scaring people.

Even my parents whos been staying here aren't afraid of going out.

Again, just avoid big groups of people tongue.gif And if you are really paranoid about it, avoid govt. buildings.

Only thing negative I could say is... well, kinda bad time to be on a vacation when prices are all hiking up with the economy worldwide is going down the drain. But I wouldn't say its all that bad, but prices definitely have went up significantly.

And... Enjoy laugh.gif
vermins
post Oct 31 2008, 03:43 PM

215 posts

Massage parlors are just about everywhere. For those in for the experience, I'd say go for the foot ones, the ones that hurt but feels awesome after. Those really going for some spa/relaxation thing, full body is great and you can just tell them you don't want something too strenous. Though it doesn't really hurt, just sometimes put you in an awkward... position. laugh.gif

Went by central world yesterday, lotsa sales and whatnot going on as usual. If that helps anyone laugh.gif

Added on October 31, 2008, 7:38 pmJust came back from a restaurant serving local food near Siam center, I think its called Marina HK ? Some 24 hours one at a corner. Not too bad, a lil pricier then normal. Their som tam (mango/papaya salad?) had a salty egg in it. Which was a first, even for my thai mother.

Added on October 31, 2008, 7:49 pmAh, forgot to mention that DJ shadow will be at culture club on the 5th for those who cares laugh.gif

This post has been edited by vermins: Oct 31 2008, 07:49 PM
vermins
post Nov 7 2008, 03:54 PM

215 posts

This is good stuff. Not sure how the Thainglish goes -> Khnom Bluang.
vermins
post Nov 7 2008, 09:04 PM

215 posts

The best ones I've gotten so far are out on the road/streets. Applies to most food and tidbits too tongue.gif

Getting from malls would make it easier with the language barrier though.
vermins
post Nov 13 2008, 12:27 PM

215 posts

You can find it in MBK (Mahboonkong).

Hmmm, food in general there is relatively cheaper then Malaysia, but really depends on where you go. Prices has gone up, portions are smaller now.
vermins
post Nov 15 2008, 10:48 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(sezretz @ Nov 15 2008, 03:46 AM)
I will be going to thailand in 2 weeks time for 1 week + . Going to drive there till the golden triangle. Any states i should take note of that is really nice? Ill be going to Hadyai , Hua Hin , Chiang Mai , Mae Sai , Golden Triangle .

By the way is it safe to go to Thailand? Should i change RM to Thai baht or RM to USD to Thai Bath? Please advise.  icon_question.gif 

Also , what is nice to buy there? What i should bring there? How..much is the petrol there? tongue.gif
and is there any cool shopping place other than Bangkok in Thailand?

Please let me know. I will be back.
notworthy.gif hugs.
Well, looks like you got most of your answers already.

In terms of safety, its just about as safe as Malaysia and most places really, though crime hasn't been spiking as much there as it is to here. If you are worried about the political agenda/ruckus going on there, its nothing really, just a lotta talk and more talk and more media hype. My parents are living in BKK and they don't even flinch.

Change from RM to Baht, changing currency multiple times means you lose out on the profit margin earned by exchangers, so you actually lose more even if another currency is stronger when changing.

Nice to buy? Err well, that really depends on what you like no? Though I'd suggest foods and cultural stuff you can't get here. Mangoes, especially the sour/harder ones are great there, but its not in season now. Just try and absorb as much as you can of Thailand and bring back whatever you like tongue.gif

Petrol isn't subsidized there and is going at THB28.59 a litre (bout RM2.85). And that was just last month. Supposedly some cuts will be coming but it won't ever go below THB21.

Anywho, have fun and stay safe!

This post has been edited by vermins: Nov 15 2008, 10:51 AM
vermins
post Nov 15 2008, 08:10 PM

215 posts

Riots? That was some time ago and its all media hype. Just avoid large crowds and its all good really. Atm its all just lotsa talk.

Going through customs? Just try to get on the green lane and hope you don't get caught laugh.gif But if you do, unpack your items out of their original packaging and just say its for personal use. Even for the things you bought in bulk.

Oh there's the VAT (value added tax) on items you buy, like electronics, designer labels etc etc. You can claim them in the mall you buy your items at or at the airport before you leave (gotta fill in some forms and show them your item). Can save you quite a lot of money. You gotta bring your passport along though if you wanna claim them at the mall, so be careful.
vermins
post Nov 26 2008, 11:06 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Nov 26 2008, 11:04 PM)
asking this on behalf of my gf and her family. They are currently stuck in bangkok with the airport closed. Is there any other way to travel back to Malaysia?
I think the next best option would be to go by train? Its not very fast though.
vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 04:17 PM

215 posts

Ah, I should be in BKK myself around that time, too.

Can't really offer much on hotels since I got a place there myself to bunk with. But, I wouldn't worry so much about getting around since BTS (LRT) and taxis are easy access. And taxis service are WAY better then it is here in MY.

Pratunam is a bit more like our own china town/chow kit. And it would prolly cater more for apparels. Chatuchak is rather squarish but in a big piece of land and its more of little stalls/shops in an open area (unless they changed it from I last went). You'll find all sorts of stuff there. Don't be expecting originals and designer labels though. And yes its very crowded, but not too complicated really unless you got a bad sense of direction tongue.gif Pratunam MIGHT be the worst in terms of navigating your way around.

Best place to shop for cheap but branded clothes? Hmm, I'd say MBK (MahBoonKong). Its a mall which you can get to easily via public transport.

Malls aren't bad really, I'd say its worth going and theres a lot to choose with. Then again, I be a guy and I don't really shop laugh.gif But if its your 1st time heading there, I'd really suggest going for the cultural feel, even if you aren't into it.

Best food for me usually is the small hawkers/stalls out on the streets. They are cheapER and always taste a lot better. Just watch out for hygiene though, some aren't too... sanitary. Only problem is they are harder to converse with the cook in what you want, so food courts/restaurants might be easier.

I don't believe I've been to a place where they accept RM. There are some that take in USD. But any shop or establishment that would take other currencies apart from the local ones usually would charge a crazy exchange rate, so I would advise against that. Theres plenty of money changers around there so just look around and see which has the better rate going for you. Banks don't have a better rate, but would be easier to deal with. You can change it here in MY too, the rate ~isn't~ that bad.

Have fun, worry less, absorb as much as you can.

Ah, forgot to mention that Chatuchak is weekend only. Might want to plan accordingly for that.

This post has been edited by vermins: Dec 22 2008, 04:23 PM
vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 04:38 PM

215 posts

Ah, not exactly my fave, but I enjoyed this when I was younger. Its a lil sweet in some stalls though. But might be worth checking out for ya.

Don't really know how the Thainglish is spelt but.... Khnom Bluang.. or something like that. Hahaha.
vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 05:07 PM

215 posts

Well, if you have time I'd say to go for both. Or.. Chatuchak in the morning/noon and pratunam in the evening.

Errrr... I THINK its the Mo Chit BTS station for Chatuchak. But, you can just ask at your hotel. Its a big enough tourist attraction, they definitely should know.

Hmm, wouldn't quite suggest getting a hotel JUST for Chatuchak.. Plus, I doubt theres anymore attractions nearby that would be appealing for a hotel anyway.

MBK is a mall, its like our own sungei wang. And I find people are generally nicer there. But business is all about ripping people off, so you'll find evils everywhere laugh.gif
vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 06:25 PM

215 posts

You can get a lotta free maps at the airport, hotels and tourist centers. I don't think its really necessary to buy one. If you are just mostly going for malls and markets, BTS will just about get you to everywhere you need. And even then you can just ask the counter people at the BTS for where you need to go.

A lot of the malls are all directly connected to the BTS, some are just minutes away walk.

Can't really say much bout hotels really, but just google it up. Sometimes the unexpected and shitty (well not too shitty) can be a bit of an adventure/slight thrill factor and gives a little story to share/laugh at when you get back. A decent one fairly near a BTS should be more then enough really.
vermins
post Jan 6 2009, 03:00 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 6 2009, 10:58 AM)
I heard from friend say thai got sell exotic food like scorpion and grasshopper... Im very tempted to try but at the same time disgusting..anyone tried before care to share the taste?? it is eaten whole with the exoskeleton down? wont it be hard and hurt your mouth?
Yeah, usually they aren't very big(young) so its easy to fry and bite on. Think of it like erm... really crunchy... chicken? Hahhahaa, although chicken prolly might not be the right taste for it. I suggest trying without the chili 1st then the chili after.

If you can find it, try the snake blood too.
vermins
post Jan 7 2009, 12:15 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 6 2009, 06:58 PM)
u try b4?? can share the experience your first time?? i dun think is like chicken cuz no meat rite...does it stink?? and snake blood?? this 1 i really not tempted..hehe..like vampire and i dun think it will taste great... y try without chilli first?? with chili not nice?
Yeah. Hahaha yeah, it does not taste like chicken (although a lotta whitemeat does). The ones I had didn't stink. Snake blood is supposedly very healthy though. And well, if all I do is share the experience, then people would feel like they don't need to actually try it no? tongue.gif Just go and try only la, for fun anyway, not like you will die eating it.

Try it on its own without any sauce/etc to see how it tastes like. If you mix it with a sauce or something then you wouldn't raelly know how it actually tastes like right? Might as well drink the chili sauce tongue.gif

Oh, there are cockroaches too and err some other bugs. Just eat only and don't think so much, it'll be over before you know it laugh.gif
vermins
post Jan 9 2009, 02:59 PM

215 posts

Toll is 40 and 25 Baht.

Getting cabs on the counter is a lil more expensive but would be a heck of a lot easier. If you manually get a cab yourself, then it would only just go according to the meter.

Or be like me, just get the airport bus for only 150 baht. Only worth it if you only have 1-2 of you though.
vermins
post Jan 10 2009, 03:28 PM

215 posts

You can get the Touch-n-Go like card for the BTS. Its Rm16 and you get Rm10 in the card itself. Rm2 goes to the card and another Rm2 goes into err some upfront payment thing.

The card would be valid for as long as you hold it. And you can just top it up at the counters like touch-n-gos.
vermins
post Jan 14 2009, 12:42 PM

215 posts

At the airport now, waiting for my flight to get back to KL. Gotta come back again next month @_@. . . .

@djslimkenz - Apart from the fare to and from the airport, it seems fine. But 400-600 baht to get to town is actually rather expensive. I just came from rajdamri area and it only cost me 240 Baht. Not including toll of course, but that would just come up to about 310 Baht. IMO I wouldn't quite suggest calling them for airport rides. Since getting cabbies is really easy and getting to where you want isn't that hard either. Not to mention most cabbies I've came across got a certain amount of English skills already.

On the cold weather. If you are just in BKK itself, I wouldn't bother bout any cold wear. Since it only feels like a cool breeze(don't forget its still sunny). If you are heading out of town, particularly to the north, then that would be understandable, but I wouldn't worry too much bout it, a simple sweater or jacket would do. Chiang Mai and surrounding areas usually are cool-cold though, regardless. tongue.gif
vermins
post Jan 15 2009, 01:48 PM

215 posts

Totally unforgivable! tongue.gif

laugh.gif Its cool, wasn't really expecting. Sounds like ya had a good time! And how was it cold?!?! I went about only in tees and they were only like cool breezes. Then again I can take 1-10Cs with just a sweater laugh.gif STILL.. its not that cold!!! And there weren't anyone I saw around that had sweaters or jackets on tongue.gif

OH, people.. do NOT think thai cabbies are like the ones we have here in Malaysia. They are (sad to say) WAY WAY WAY better then here. Sure, some will cheat and all, but generally are a lot nicer and direct. And even the cabs they drive are in a lot better condition too tongue.gif

This post has been edited by vermins: Jan 15 2009, 01:51 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0529sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:02 PM