Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

kit2
post Jul 25 2015, 04:43 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 09:21 AM)
you believe?  tongue.gif
what is the point? kwsp & sspn is not like fd as such which is discussed here. only bsn is a bank. everyone go put $$ there? tongue.gif
kwsp is the parent of mbsb.
kit2
post Jul 25 2015, 04:49 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jul 25 2015, 04:24 PM)
Btw, anyone knows how FD upliftment works in OCBC? Besides uplifting over the counter, are there any other options? Can uplift online or over the phone? Does OCBC offer eFD? If yes, does it work like Public Bank or Maybank? Meaning can uplift online or need to go to branch to do it?
i have asked the bank before. uplifting can only be done at branch. even maturity instruction cannot be changed after you have placed the FD sad.gif

This post has been edited by kit2: Jul 25 2015, 04:50 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 25 2015, 05:07 PM

5,867 posts

Who knows? hmm.gif Maybe they treat it as cash. In the end, they got to charge me extra RM8.10 (RM5.98+2.12) for it. 

Btw, anyone knows how FD upliftment works in OCBC? Besides uplifting over the counter, are there any other options? Can uplift online or over the phone? Does OCBC offer eFD? If yes, does it work like Public Bank or Maybank? Meaning can uplift online or need to go to branch to do it?
So buying banker's chq no need CASA ?

As for OCBC, I received an email recently that effective 1st June, premier customers can perform fund transfer, FD placement, renewal and withdrawals over the phone. Need to do a one time sign up at your premier centre.
sandkoh
post Jul 25 2015, 05:22 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 09:21 AM)
you believe?  tongue.gif
what is the point? kwsp & sspn is not like fd as such which is discussed here. only bsn is a bank. everyone go put $$ there? tongue.gif
you got the point.what use list bsn,kwsp,sspn dalam page 1.come put semua dalam bsn,ada gomen jamin. rclxm9.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 25 2015, 05:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 25 2015, 07:12 AM)
Yes with ratio of UT:FD @ 2:1 or 5:1
RHB offer at 1:1 will be better. But not sure if still ongoing. hmm.gif

Affin does not have true eFD. Affin has online FD placement only, the branch will process the request on the next working day. It is similar to Public Bank's online FD placement but Affin will send you the cert instead of asking you to collect it at the branch. You cannot withdraw the FD online.
This link might be useful to those looking for current FD board rates
http://www.abm.org.my//_repository/uploade...0JAN%202015.pdf

Good info on Affin eFD. notworthy.gif Have done eFD for PBB and have to collect the cert from branch. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 25 2015, 05:28 PM
wil-i-am
post Jul 25 2015, 05:59 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 25 2015, 05:07 PM)
So buying banker's chq no need CASA ?
I bot bankers cheq b4 by using physical cash ony
yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 06:46 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jul 25 2015, 04:43 PM)
kwsp is the parent of mbsb.
so mbsb olso fully guaranteed by kwsp dan gomen?put into page 1. tongue.gif
yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 06:52 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jul 25 2015, 05:22 PM)
you got the point.what use list bsn,kwsp,sspn dalam page 1.come put semua dalam bsn,ada gomen jamin. rclxm9.gif
mbsb olso under kwsp then gomen. rclxms.gif so fully guaranteed. can list page1. tongue.gif kwsp and sspn not banks olso want to list doh.gif
wil-i-am
post Jul 25 2015, 07:44 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 06:46 PM)
so mbsb olso fully guaranteed by kwsp dan gomen?put into page 1. tongue.gif
KWSP won't guarantee MBSB as the later is a 64% subsidiary of the former ony
cklimm
post Jul 25 2015, 07:56 PM

2,337 posts

Affin does not have true eFD. Affin has online FD placement only, the branch will process the request on the next working day. It is similar to Public Bank's online FD placement but Affin will send you the cert instead of asking you to collect it at the branch. You cannot withdraw the FD online.

same thing goes for the HSBC eFD, branch only withdrawal
yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 07:57 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 25 2015, 05:59 PM)
I bot bankers cheq b4 by using physical cash ony
cash can buy banker's cheque.siapa cakap mesti ada casa? doh.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 25 2015, 07:44 PM)
KWSP won't guarantee MBSB as the later is a 64% subsidiary of the former ony
o,i see.so kwsp have guarantee but mbsb no?so can only put bsn in page 1. tongue.gif kwsp dan sspn not bank laugh.gif tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 25 2015, 08:02 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 25 2015, 07:56 PM)
same thing goes for the HSBC eFD, branch only withdrawal
CB the same. CIMB & MBB eFD can terminate online. biggrin.gif
gsc
post Jul 26 2015, 01:16 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 07:57 PM)
cash can buy banker's cheque.siapa cakap mesti ada casa? doh.gif  tongue.gif

Cash cant buy banker cheque. Cash has to be deposited into saving or current account first then withdraw from either account. Basically BNM want to have a paper trail on sources of money. This was my exerience at Citi bank and Ocbc bank.
If some banks allowed, it is the bank teller own decision.

Just like depositing cash RM20k or bigger amount into UOB bank need to fill in the form to declare sources of fund. Even within the same bank, some tellers follow the rule and some dont. The ruling is there.

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 26 2015, 01:20 AM
cherroy
post Jul 26 2015, 11:23 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 07:57 PM)
cash can buy banker's cheque.siapa cakap mesti ada casa? doh.gif  tongue.gif
o,i see.so kwsp have guarantee but mbsb no?so can only put bsn in page 1. tongue.gif kwsp dan sspn not bank  laugh.gif tongue.gif
Contributor KWSP money is guaranteed by gov.
But oov never said they guaranteed those company which is majority owned by KWSP.
This is the difference.

MBSB is a company/finance company that owned majority by KWSP or in other word KWSP is a majority shareholder of the company.

A limited company (sdn bhd/bhd) liability doesn't go beyond to the shareholder one. So KWSP has no obligation to guarantee it under ordinary company act.

KWSP owned plenty of company or listed company out there, and is a major shareholder of many company, so you can't say those company are guaranteed by gov, right?

Lord_Penguin
post Jul 26 2015, 03:23 PM

210 posts

Dear sifus, need your advise notworthy.gif I've gone through the 1st page and several pages of this thread, basically I'm looking for a place to park RM10k for 12months with the highest FD rate and preferably without linking to CASA (unless MBB & PBB)... I'm somehow interested with OCBC "fresh deal promo" that is valid until end of this month (hope still can catch up)... I would like know whether is the opening of CASA required? Or any other recommendations? biggrin.gif
wil-i-am
post Jul 26 2015, 03:25 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Penguin @ Jul 26 2015, 03:23 PM)
Dear sifus, need your advise  notworthy.gif  I've gone through the 1st page and several pages of this thread, basically I'm looking for a place to park RM10k for 12months with the highest FD rate and preferably without linking to CASA (unless MBB & PBB)... I'm somehow interested with OCBC "fresh deal promo" that is valid until end of this month (hope still can catch up)... I would like know whether is the opening of CASA required? Or any other recommendations? biggrin.gif
MBSB @ 4.30% up to 31/7
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 03:38 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 26 2015, 11:23 AM)
Contributor KWSP money is guaranteed by gov.
But oov never said they guaranteed those company which is majority owned by KWSP.
This is the difference.

MBSB is a company/finance company that owned majority by KWSP or in other word KWSP is a majority shareholder of the company.

A limited company (sdn bhd/bhd) liability doesn't go beyond to the shareholder one. So KWSP has no obligation to guarantee it under ordinary company act.

KWSP owned plenty of company or listed company out there, and is a major shareholder of many company, so you can't say those company are guaranteed by gov, right?
thanks. also bsn is a bank but kwsp & sspn not really a bank, right? someone suggest to put the 3 of them in page 1 not correct.
olso heard bsn service not that good.
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 03:41 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 26 2015, 01:16 AM)
Cash cant buy banker cheque. Cash has to be deposited into saving or current account first then withdraw from either account. Basically BNM want to have a paper trail on sources of money. This was my exerience at Citi bank and Ocbc bank.
If some banks allowed, it is the bank teller own decision.

Just like depositing cash RM20k or bigger amount into UOB bank need to fill in the form to declare sources of fund. Even within the same bank, some tellers follow the rule and some dont. The ruling is there.
my fren put 200k++ also no need to fill up any form in uob., few times alredy. 20k too low to fill up the form? hmm.gif
wil-i-am
post Jul 26 2015, 03:49 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 26 2015, 03:38 PM)
thanks. also bsn is a bank but kwsp & sspn not really a bank, right? someone suggest to put the 3 of them in page 1 not correct.
olso heard bsn service not that good.
BSN falls under DFIA as per BNM
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 03:51 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 26 2015, 03:49 PM)
BSN falls under DFIA as per BNM
what is dfia? hmm.gif

132 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top