Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 09:21 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 06:56 PM)
If it is officially declared and stated in their public domain or in the receipt that your money is fully guaranteed by the government, then you have a recourse.
If nothing black and white or just by hearsay and It goes under, the FD receipt is all your have. No recourse whatsoever. Unless  gomen under no obligation decide to bail your banker out.
you believe? tongue.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 07:55 PM)
Fair enough.
Do update this forum if you found the BR's B/W. Will ask TS to list it in the first page as the 4th deposit taking financial institutions with sovereign guarantee after BSN, SSPN and KWSP.
what is the point? kwsp & sspn is not like fd as such which is discussed here. only bsn is a bank. everyone go put $$ there? tongue.gif
yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 06:46 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jul 25 2015, 04:43 PM)
kwsp is the parent of mbsb.
so mbsb olso fully guaranteed by kwsp dan gomen?put into page 1. tongue.gif
yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 06:52 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jul 25 2015, 05:22 PM)
you got the point.what use list bsn,kwsp,sspn dalam page 1.come put semua dalam bsn,ada gomen jamin. rclxm9.gif
mbsb olso under kwsp then gomen. rclxms.gif so fully guaranteed. can list page1. tongue.gif kwsp and sspn not banks olso want to list doh.gif
yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 07:57 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 25 2015, 05:59 PM)
I bot bankers cheq b4 by using physical cash ony
cash can buy banker's cheque.siapa cakap mesti ada casa? doh.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 25 2015, 07:44 PM)
KWSP won't guarantee MBSB as the later is a 64% subsidiary of the former ony
o,i see.so kwsp have guarantee but mbsb no?so can only put bsn in page 1. tongue.gif kwsp dan sspn not bank laugh.gif tongue.gif
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 03:38 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 26 2015, 11:23 AM)
Contributor KWSP money is guaranteed by gov.
But oov never said they guaranteed those company which is majority owned by KWSP.
This is the difference.

MBSB is a company/finance company that owned majority by KWSP or in other word KWSP is a majority shareholder of the company.

A limited company (sdn bhd/bhd) liability doesn't go beyond to the shareholder one. So KWSP has no obligation to guarantee it under ordinary company act.

KWSP owned plenty of company or listed company out there, and is a major shareholder of many company, so you can't say those company are guaranteed by gov, right?
thanks. also bsn is a bank but kwsp & sspn not really a bank, right? someone suggest to put the 3 of them in page 1 not correct.
olso heard bsn service not that good.
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 03:41 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 26 2015, 01:16 AM)
Cash cant buy banker cheque. Cash has to be deposited into saving or current account first then withdraw from either account. Basically BNM want to have a paper trail on sources of money. This was my exerience at Citi bank and Ocbc bank.
If some banks allowed, it is the bank teller own decision.

Just like depositing cash RM20k or bigger amount into UOB bank need to fill in the form to declare sources of fund. Even within the same bank, some tellers follow the rule and some dont. The ruling is there.
my fren put 200k++ also no need to fill up any form in uob., few times alredy. 20k too low to fill up the form? hmm.gif
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 03:51 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 26 2015, 03:49 PM)
BSN falls under DFIA as per BNM
what is dfia? hmm.gif
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 05:00 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 26 2015, 03:53 PM)
Development Financial Institution Act 2002
notworthy.gif bro suka guna short form. rclxms.gif

but why the other fellow aeiou want to place bsn dan kwsp, sspn together in page 1? we onli talk about banks fd. doh.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: Jul 26 2015, 05:15 PM
yygo
post Jul 26 2015, 09:17 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 26 2015, 08:16 PM)
yygo, I never thought by merely ignoring a troll question from you could have inflict such emotional distress to you.
Your question in post#854 to me was absurd and foolish thus I chose to ignore you in order to avoid unnecessary exchanges in this thread but unfortunately it made you even more agitated.   
If you care to read all the past FD threads, we discussed about deposit placements in KWSP, BSN, SSPN at length.

Please behave maturely and stop making an up·roar out of small petty thing like what is to be listed in page 1.
Frankly, it doesn't really matter whether it get listed or not. It's entirely up to TS and I doubt TS has time for it.

BTW, I hardly see any valuable post from you pertaining to FD discussion since you active in this thread.
Looking forward to see more meaningful and constructive post from you.
laugh.gif laugh.gif kwsp can understand.sspn?tetapi kwsp dan sspn bukan bank.sini talk about fd. laugh.gif
yygo
post Jul 27 2015, 08:58 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 27 2015, 02:50 AM)
Good...may I know which UOB branch?
the one in ipoh

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 27 2015, 08:18 AM)
Such trivial and petty, is that what you want to argue about ?
You are spamming this thread unnecessarily with foolish reply. I didn't see any post here claiming KWSP n SSPN are banks.
This thread existed long before you joined LYN. We discussed all things about savings and deposit placement and the interest rates. Savings n Deposit placements do not confine only to commercial banks only, non bank DFIs such as BR and BSN are deposit taking FI as well. KWSP n SSPN also taking contribution and deposit that yields returns, thus it is relevant to discuss and compare. Occasionally, we also discussed FD related matters such as priority banking, CASA, fund transfer, etc as and when we touched on these issues. This thread even discussed about bank's red packets designs during CNY season.

So what is your problem actually ?

Please help keep this thread clean from unconstructive spam postings.
laugh.gif i did not see much contribution from u either. icon_rolleyes.gif
yygo
post Jul 27 2015, 07:23 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 27 2015, 07:09 PM)
So other than OCBC, which banks are giving freebies for 50k FD placement?
br. tetapi no pidm.
yygo
post Jul 27 2015, 08:02 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 27 2015, 07:40 PM)
interesting, what do they give?
parker pen,lap top bag,umbrella,mug etc.can ask for 2/3 items jika deposit big sum.

50k can ask higher rate.
yygo
post Jul 28 2015, 02:34 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Jul 28 2015, 02:28 PM)
I read post 1 adi, and I am still clueless to be honest. Do u mind shed me some light ? From post 1 the highest rate is HLB but then limited to 30k only and I saw Bank rakyat also gives good rate but unsure how safe it is since it's not PIDM member and the monthly payment thing how it goes. Since my amount is around 400k+ so I am here seeking more advice which 2 bank should I split and put my FD in since one of the forumer quoted only 250k cover for PIDM .

TQ and ur advice is much appreciated. I did search thru the first page for info at first and I am not waiting for spoon feed.
ya, lost and found guy back.just say read post 1. laugh.gif

suggest:
affin 4.33% 1 year
uob 4.18% 1 year
br 4.1% 1 year can negotiat rate,monthly interest
yygo
post Jul 28 2015, 02:41 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 28 2015, 02:38 PM)
on top of yygo's suggestion...

i'd go for 50:50 split between affin and ocbc (4.2% p.a. for 1 year)

you've been having 400k floating in savings account? no use for it at all? since you're cnsidering FD, i guess you dont need that 400k fund in 1 year time, right?
ya miss out ocbc.can ask if still got hugo boss pen there.also rhb 4.21%

This post has been edited by yygo: Jul 28 2015, 02:43 PM
yygo
post Jul 28 2015, 03:44 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Jul 28 2015, 03:25 PM)
No worry, cash is clean and genuine. I am a good tax compliance payer tongue.gif
TQ, will go and get more info regarding this 3 bank.
Yes, been floating quite awhile already since I have been busy this few month. Yup, calculated my cash flow needs already. OCBC sounds good, is this rate can get by anyone walk in to the bank , or need nego with officer ?
This is what I wanna ask rclxm9.gif  , so only  OCBC got free gift ?

Thanks again for all the advice and suggestion,  thumbup.gif
ocbc rate can get by anyone.br also has gift but br no pidm if u are ok with.br can ask higher rate.

This post has been edited by yygo: Jul 28 2015, 03:44 PM
yygo
post Jul 29 2015, 04:00 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Jul 29 2015, 02:28 PM)
Unknown to many, Bank rakyat board rates can be negotiated.

1 year can be had for 4.285% just by asking OTC and there is no minimum amount to get that %.  You just have to wait 3 working days, usually lah, for HQ approval.
bro new here. we discussed and br has min 50k or 100k to negotiate. which branch? amount <10k?
yygo
post Jul 29 2015, 04:50 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Jul 29 2015, 04:26 PM)
BR Jalan Pinang Branch gave me 4.285% for 1 year.

I am too lazy to watch newspapers and see all this 6%, 4.8% and what not promo rates and effective rate is so so only!

and time spend to run to this and to that bank, petrol and time wasted...

BR give less admin headache.
amount >50k or lower?
yygo
post Jul 29 2015, 05:03 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Jul 29 2015, 04:53 PM)
you can get it with the minimum amount required for 1 year FD
really? their min is rm500.
yygo
post Aug 1 2015, 05:42 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 1 2015, 01:45 PM)
keep in your own house safer. brows.gif
yygo
post Aug 4 2015, 07:42 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 4 2015, 02:03 PM)
Just saw BCC post. Thanks for the update. Anyway, I called up Am Bank, promo rate  available for 9 months FD only. IBG is only 50sen plus GST
dude, ambank ibg 10 sen add gst, ibft 50 sen add gst.ibft best as it is instant.

in fact, most banks ibg/ibft charges now as above.

This post has been edited by yygo: Aug 4 2015, 07:44 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0440sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:14 PM