Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3
aeiou228
Jun 12 2015, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 12 2015, 08:52 PM) ambank and RHb offering FD + trust upto 6 to 7 % return. CIMB just text that FD + trust 3 months get 8%. any catch ? I thought you already mentioned it in your post? The catch is the unit trust.
aeiou228
Jun 13 2015, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 13 2015, 07:21 AM) assuming unit trust under perform, will it drag the net FD to below 4% ? Not sure about the UT performance, but the catch is very obvious, you don't buy UT, you ain't getting 7% to 8% for the FD.
aeiou228
Jul 4 2015, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 3 2015, 09:38 PM) When a local giant like Maybank goes kaput, does PIDM has enough fund to cover tiger's ass? Bythe end of 2015, PIDM's Deposit Insurance Funds will amount to RM 1.2 billion and the Takaful and Insurance Benefits Protection Funds will total RM 1.3 billion. In an unlikely event if Maybank goes kaput, PIDM also pening, though the protection is limited to RM250k per depositor per member bank. Compare PIDM to 1MDB's liability, PIDM's funds is very much negligible. Anyway, having PIDM protection is better then no recourse at all.
aeiou228
Jul 7 2015, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 7 2015, 12:08 PM) You can check and see whether affin still have 4.33% for 15 months or not Still have. Valid until end of this year.
aeiou228
Jul 7 2015, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 7 2015, 12:49 PM) Why not put in RHB 4.21% for 12 months while it is still available until the end of this month...??? Interest will pay based on 3 monthly basis; after that, the last 3 months will pay on monthly basis. I just received my first 3 months interest in my saving account.. [attachmentid=4560965] Another option is Affin 4.33% for 15 months, no monthly interest. It was still available when I was in Affin Bank last Friday... [attachmentid=4560991] Comparing RHB 4.21% 12mths with interest paid every rollover and Affin 4.33% 15 mths with interest paid at the end of the term, I think you are right, RHB's 4.21% is actually better than Affin's 4.33%. Btw, I agak agak only, lazy to calculate the actual yield for RHB This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 7 2015, 01:08 PM
aeiou228
Jul 7 2015, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 7 2015, 02:36 AM) Gold price has gone up about 4% compared to about 1.5 months ago. With ringgit performing badly, the gold price comparatively have strengthen. With Greece crisis and 1MDB debt which may pull down the ringgit. Any ideal public bank still offering paper gold deposit account ? This picture really sent shivers down my spine. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-04/cryi...e-photo/6594984
aeiou228
Jul 7 2015, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 02:52 PM) It was introduced few years ago and I have forgotten the name, it was a RM deposit account but the value of the deposit is pegged to the value of the prevailing market price of gold. One can just bank in and withdraw in RM. No physical gold, no safe keeping headache.
aeiou228
Jul 7 2015, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 7 2015, 03:15 PM) Yes, that's the one. Thank you sir.
aeiou228
Jul 10 2015, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 10 2015, 01:49 PM) free parking, free coffee, priority queuing, annoying relationship manager I only want this privilege >>> Entitlement for Safe Deposit Box. The rest are all bonuses.
aeiou228
Jul 11 2015, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 11 2015, 08:49 AM) Except seldom has high FD rate except for few banks like Mach, Alliance etc. But compared to other bank's promo, still slightly lower FD rate. If amount is huge, can be quite substantial different interest returns.  Also limited banks with high eFD rate to spread the eggs. Good for those HNWI people who don't care about the interest. Only good, if no time (lazy  ) or want to get items 1 to 4 listed above. I do place eFD but only for short term needs where I don't care about the interest rate. Ha ha, you become my spokesman ?  eFD is definitely a temporary parking place for small ticket deposit.
aeiou228
Jul 14 2015, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 13 2015, 10:36 PM) Your standard is too high la. Ah Boom also said OCBC has lots of leng lui. So either your std is too high or ................. Did the staff indicate in some where of your participation ?  I registered both promos but unfortunately OCBC Puchong asked me to choose either one promo only. Got such tnc?
aeiou228
Jul 14 2015, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 14 2015, 12:16 PM) Suppose to show them the SMS confirmation. I showed the SMS but at that time no SMS confirmation received. Well it is good to do that and have it recorded some where. If we did not receive the pen, at least have some proof to show.  I showed the lenglui both smses. She went inside asked then came out told me can choose one promo Per depositor only. QUOTE(??!! @ Jul 14 2015, 07:05 PM) May i ask 1) if the Ringgit Plus OCBC 40k fd promo with free luggage is subject to availability only ? ie not guaranteed right? 2) are we still eligible for the Roller Pen promo together with the ringgit Plus promo ie register both with Ringgit Plus & OCBC website, but only 1 FD placement of RM40K? 1) Not guaranteed but most of the time can get. 2) For Puchong branch, need to choose one only.
aeiou228
Jul 19 2015, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 19 2015, 09:45 AM) No serious here. If one were to live like that, one will have substantial savings. Then when want to buy house time, if IRB ask that question, how to show them papertrail? If the property price and the loan repayment commensurate with your declared income, just tell IRB you have income and you pay income tax. No need to tell IRB you skimp on Starbucks, alcohol, baju and public transport. If the property price is beyond your means and declared income, then the onus is on you to explain and have documentary proof to prove that you can afford such purchases. Failing which, IRB will tax x penalty% x backdate no of years undeclared income for the unexplained extra ordinary income. The more you say no "paper trails" to show to IRB, the more IRB will help you to estimate your undeclared income
aeiou228
Jul 19 2015, 02:15 PM
Banks open tomorrow or Tuesday ?
aeiou228
Jul 22 2015, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jul 22 2015, 12:27 PM) Is it true that CIMB does not allow joint FD account holder (either to sign) to withdraw through banker's cheque using only one of the names on the cheque? I requested the cheque to be issued under my name but was told that it must be two names, cannot be 1 name only. Other banks like UOB allow me to do so. In fact, they even recommended me to do so when I asked. I had to make 3 visits to CIMB recently because of this. As there were 2 names on the cheque, the cheque got rejected when I tried to deposit it into my account in another bank. So, I went back to CIMB to cancel the cheque & ask them to reissue another 1 with my name only the next day. I ended up paying another RM5.98 + RM2.12 (cheque cancellation fee) for it. They got my name printed wrongly. I was in a hurry at that time so I did not check properly before leaving the counter as their service was slow. I just skimmed through the cheque and it looked ok to me. Only on my way to another bank did I found out that they got my name printed wrongly.  I had to go back to CIMB again for that. More waiting.  The officer did not even have the courtesy to apologize for the mistake.  By the time I got my cheque, the other bank was already closed. I think they also did not pay me the interest for the weekend. This coupled with the interest lost for the cheque clearance & petrol costs all added up to my losses. Really lousy bank.  Bro, for large amount fund transfer, next time don't bother to issue banker's chq. Just contra the FD cash withdrawal to OTC IBG...kaotim. Cheap, safe, fast, no travelling cost, no parking fee, no saman if can't find parking, time saving. This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 22 2015, 02:15 PM
aeiou228
Jul 22 2015, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 22 2015, 05:14 PM) BHL Bank or Ban Hin Lee Bank was a famous Penang established bank.  Walau, mentioned about Ban Hin Lee Penang, reminds me of my usual happy hour port at "Let's Get Fat" in BHL bank building.
aeiou228
Jul 23 2015, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jul 23 2015, 04:57 PM) No point complaining to the BM. In fact, the counter staff confirmed with her superior and told me it must be 2 names. This bank really lousy 1. They won't even allow other people to bring your bank book to the bank to update it on your behalf. You need to be physically present at the counter and do some verification just to update your bank book. You can consider opening a basic savings account with no annual fee. You can get the ATM card without any annual fee.  How come when you returned the 2-name chq the next day, CIMB can issue you a singer name chq pulak ??
aeiou228
Jul 23 2015, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 23 2015, 05:18 PM) BSN is not a member of PIDM but the deposit in BSN is many times safer than PIDM. Di jamin penuh oleh kerajaan Malaysia. This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 23 2015, 05:33 PM
aeiou228
Jul 24 2015, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jul 23 2015, 10:54 PM) r u sure? afaik, onli coop bank dat is not pidm member. correct me if im wrong. I don't get you. You prefer PIDM ?? BSN don't need PIDM because deposit in BSN is guaranteed by government of Malaysia. Therefore BSN don't have to contribute to the PIDM's Deposit Insurance Fund. A sovereign guarantee is the highest form of guarantee in Malaysia. PIDM can play far far when compare to sovereign guarantee.
aeiou228
Jul 24 2015, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jul 24 2015, 12:08 AM) if u look at BSN website, d most bottom part of it can see PIDM logo. i assume dat they must b member of pidm. fixed deposit is consider most safe invesment simply bcoz it was backed by deposit insurance. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deposit_insurance in malaysia, its known as pidm. there r too many things were backed by gomen. sometimes u get scared if shit does hit d fan, wether gomen had d ability to return back. Saw PIDM logo on BSN website can confirm BSN is member bank ah ? You better investigate further Anyway, can share with the forum why you think PIDM insurance is better than sovereign guarantee ?