Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

kit2
post Jul 10 2015, 10:06 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 9 2015, 07:12 PM)
OCBC e-SmartSavers can now be opened directly in Internet Banking portal for existing OCBC customers  thumbup.gif

anybody managed to open esmartsaver successfully?

i applied online but got a sms a few days later saying my application cannot be processed and advising me to open at a branch.

today, i went to main branch to open esmartsaver but they said esmartsaver cannot be opened at branch and has to be done online.

ocbc malaysia is really f*cked up in their ebanking initiative. does anyone know if their customer service is on twitter? dont want to pay extra phone charges to call their 1300 number...
kit2
post Jul 15 2015, 10:08 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 15 2015, 02:06 PM)
Easy. You go to the bank tomorrow, write a letter, and sign it, give them photocopies of your IC tell the bank upon maturity, I would like this FD to be transfer to xxx account. They will ask you  for your real IC, FD cert, and ask you to thumbprint.

Then they will keep the FD cert cert. Upon maturity, money will automatically be deposited into your account.

Hope this helps.  tongue.gif
which bank allows you to do that? ocbc malaysia refused to let me change maturity instruction sad.gif

kit2
post Jul 24 2015, 01:25 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 12:44 PM)
I don't know. There is no reason BSN need to use PIDM logo to mislead people because it will be consider a "self downgrade" if they do that.  Its full government guarantee is much more superior that PIDM insurance.
a few months back, i said it doesnt make sense for govt run financial institutions to have PIDM. but then a poster replied PIDM is an insurance so it's more superior to govt guarantee smile.gif
kit2
post Jul 24 2015, 02:39 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 01:33 PM)
Can you share the link of that post?
with the insurance, the govt is bounded by legal obligation whereas for br, bsn and mbsb, the govt can say no?

see

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=74532452
kit2
post Jul 25 2015, 04:43 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 09:21 AM)
you believe?  tongue.gif
what is the point? kwsp & sspn is not like fd as such which is discussed here. only bsn is a bank. everyone go put $$ there? tongue.gif
kwsp is the parent of mbsb.
kit2
post Jul 25 2015, 04:49 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jul 25 2015, 04:24 PM)
Btw, anyone knows how FD upliftment works in OCBC? Besides uplifting over the counter, are there any other options? Can uplift online or over the phone? Does OCBC offer eFD? If yes, does it work like Public Bank or Maybank? Meaning can uplift online or need to go to branch to do it?
i have asked the bank before. uplifting can only be done at branch. even maturity instruction cannot be changed after you have placed the FD sad.gif

This post has been edited by kit2: Jul 25 2015, 04:50 PM
kit2
post Aug 4 2015, 12:21 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 4 2015, 11:40 AM)
Almost all major currencies having zero or super low interest across.
Ringgit is the best! In Ringgit we trust! smile.gif
kit2
post Aug 4 2015, 03:31 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(EitoSS @ Aug 4 2015, 03:04 PM)
But i think there is a catch there...we can only withdraw max of 25k per year only!
you can withdraw more than 25k but you have to visit the bank to remove the limit first.
kit2
post Aug 18 2015, 06:54 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(TheAccountant @ Aug 18 2015, 02:23 AM)
For HL Bank. Do we have to actually pay RM 8 for a debit card in order to create a savings account. My purpose is just to transfer the monies from the savings to the fixed deposit. Felt so cheated to pay RM8 for debit card because the bank officer just issued me the card without informing me anything.
nope. why getting an atm card or debit card when you won't be using it right?

ocbc once insisted i pay rm8 for an atm card in order to use online banking.

malaysia is the country where banks are run like air asia, i.e they nickel and dime you. everytime you go to a bank for services, the first thing you should do is to ask if they are free. is atm card free? is there an annual fee? are counter services free? is online banking free? are sms alerts free? is there stamp duty??

This post has been edited by kit2: Aug 18 2015, 07:00 AM
kit2
post Aug 19 2015, 11:04 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Aug 19 2015, 10:26 PM)
Received call from their RM , quite attractive if u willing to take the risk of currency , it is worth... 4.63% p.a. , but if u only put 3months, it's not a wise choice due to the value of u buy and u sell range of the gap is quite big, unless , our ringgit fall again to rm3 or above??
i say the likelihood of ringgit going up in 3 months is low given the current crisis. yes, exchange rate spread is a more important factor to consider. you may end up losing after converting from ringgit and then back to ringgit due to large spread.

min is 30k, but what is the max?

This post has been edited by kit2: Aug 19 2015, 11:05 PM
kit2
post Sep 15 2015, 04:18 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 15 2015, 02:41 PM)
AM told me need to maintain min 6 mths
I didn't maintain 6 months. the good thing about abt hsbc is that you can uplift and change maturity instructions via online banking. once 3 months was up, i ibg'ed every sen out and ibg is free.

This post has been edited by kit2: Sep 15 2015, 04:19 PM

0.0417sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:56 AM