Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

bbgoat
post Jul 24 2015, 06:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 05:55 PM)
I'm think cherroy was not refering to full sovereign guaranteed deposit taking financial institions.
Off hand, I can only think of three names ie. BSN, SSPN and KWSP are Di Jamin penuh oleh kerajaan Malaysia. Please add to the list if you can think of any other name.

Read here for the limitation of PIDM. (Of course, better than nothing la)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=75241935
In recent high tea hosted by BR, they claimed FD are fully guaranteed by gomen. I have posted this not too long ago. biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 06:25 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:07 PM)
In recent high tea hosted by BR, they claimed FD are fully guaranteed by gomen. I have posted this not too long ago.  biggrin.gif
And what do you reckon biggrin.gif ?
Your FD receipt got stated Di Jamin or not ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 24 2015, 06:28 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 24 2015, 06:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 06:25 PM)
And what do you reckon biggrin.gif ?
Hahaha, same as what BSN claim, you believe what u want to believe. tongue.gif

I don't place too much emphasis on PIDM protection as the sum that I put in may exceed that limit in 1 bank. BR some more no PIDM. So PIDM to me just oh yeah, has PIDM. biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 06:32 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:28 PM)
Hahaha, same as what BSN claim, you believe what u want to believe.  tongue.gif

I don't place too much emphasis on PIDM protection as the sum that I put in may exceed that limit in 1 bank. BR some more no PIDM. So PIDM to me just oh yeah, has PIDM.  biggrin.gif
BSN proudly stated in black and white there are fully jamin by gomen. Not same with BR wor.
cherroy
post Jul 24 2015, 06:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 05:55 PM)
I'm think cherroy was not refering to full sovereign guaranteed deposit taking financial institions.
Off hand, I can only think of three names ie. BSN, SSPN and KWSP are Di Jamin penuh oleh kerajaan Malaysia. Please add to the list if you can think of any other name.

Read here for the limitation of PIDM. (Of course, better than nothing la)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=75241935
Yes,

I posted just to clear some common confusion, as came across many said, abc bank is gov owned, or gov is major shareholder, so those deposit must be guaranteed by gov, <--- this is a wrong concept to start with.

bbgoat
post Jul 24 2015, 06:37 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 06:32 PM)
BSN proudly stated in black and white there are fully jamin by gomen. Not same with BR wor.
BR claim that it is in their application form which I did not take a look.

Anyway if something happens, are u going to hold a bank to say you put it up in your website or a form ? biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 24 2015, 06:42 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 06:25 PM)
Your FD receipt got stated Di Jamin or not ? hmm.gif
Just saw the edited post. If something happens, what is printed "jamin" NOT important any more. You want to take them to court ? tongue.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 06:56 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:42 PM)
Just saw the edited post. If something happens, what is printed "jamin" NOT important any more. You want to take them to court ?  tongue.gif
If it is officially declared and stated in their public domain or in the receipt that your money is fully guaranteed by the government, then you have a recourse.
If nothing black and white or just by hearsay and It goes under, the FD receipt is all your have. No recourse whatsoever. Unless gomen under no obligation decide to bail your banker out.
bbgoat
post Jul 24 2015, 06:58 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 06:56 PM)
If it is officially declared and stated in their public domain or in the receipt that your money is fully guaranteed by the government, then you have a recourse.
If nothing black and white or just by hearsay and It goes under, the FD receipt is all your have. No recourse whatsoever. Unless  gomen under no obligation decide to bail your banker out.
Well as I said, you believe what you want to believe. BR also claim that it is in B/W. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 24 2015, 06:59 PM
wil-i-am
post Jul 24 2015, 07:02 PM

10,001 posts

Went to Public Bank today
Did anyone sign up PowerInvest FD campaign?
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2015, 07:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 24 2015, 06:58 PM)
Well as I said, you believe what you want to believe. BR also claim that it is in B/W.  tongue.gif
Fair enough.
Do update this forum if you found the BR's B/W. Will ask TS to list it in the first page as the 4th deposit taking financial institutions with sovereign guarantee after BSN, SSPN and KWSP.
cklimm
post Jul 25 2015, 12:05 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 24 2015, 07:02 PM)
Went to Public Bank today
Did anyone sign up PowerInvest FD campaign?
The one bundled with UT ah?
wil-i-am
post Jul 25 2015, 07:12 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 25 2015, 12:05 AM)
The one bundled with UT ah?
Yes with ratio of UT:FD @ 2:1 or 5:1
yygo
post Jul 25 2015, 09:21 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 06:56 PM)
If nothing black and white or just by hearsay and It goes under, the FD receipt is all your have. No recourse whatsoever. Unless  gomen under no obligation decide to bail your banker out.
you believe? tongue.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 07:55 PM)
Fair enough.
Do update this forum if you found the BR's B/W. Will ask TS to list it in the first page as the 4th deposit taking financial institutions with sovereign guarantee after BSN, SSPN and KWSP.
what is the point? kwsp & sspn is not like fd as such which is discussed here. only bsn is a bank. everyone go put $$ there? tongue.gif
lifebalance
post Jul 25 2015, 10:33 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 24 2015, 03:22 PM)
better use e-Fixed Deposit instead.

the cost of placing a conventional FD would offset the profit from 1mth FD interest gain.
I agree, removing the FD via the counter takes so long atleast an hour worth of time.
koo_83
post Jul 25 2015, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 24 2015, 01:16 PM)
Just back from Maybank
Their FD Amazing 6+6 will expire today
1st 6 mths - 4.04%
Next 6 mths - 4.30%
Effective - 4.17%
with min deposit amount 25k right?
koo_83
post Jul 25 2015, 02:11 PM

which bank have the best FD rate for 3 - 6 months??
aeiou228
post Jul 25 2015, 02:39 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(koo_83 @ Jul 25 2015, 02:01 PM)
Since the promo has ended, a better option would be RHB 12 mths quarterly step up FD at average rate of 4.20%, with flexibility to withdraw without penalty every rollover and interest payment every quarter.
From the RHB's book, the effective rate is slightly higher than 4.20% because of the payment of quarterly interest.

wil-i-am
post Jul 25 2015, 02:53 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(koo_83 @ Jul 25 2015, 02:01 PM)
Yes but just ended ytday
Nom-el
post Jul 25 2015, 04:24 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 23 2015, 05:20 PM)
How come when you returned the 2-name chq the next day, CIMB can issue you a singer name chq pulak ??
Who knows? hmm.gif Maybe they treat it as cash. In the end, they got to charge me extra RM8.10 (RM5.98+2.12) for it.

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 24 2015, 03:35 PM)
The best 1mth eFD in the town available on Affin online, not sure if they allows online withdrawal though
Affin does not have true eFD. Affin has online FD placement only, the branch will process the request on the next working day. It is similar to Public Bank's online FD placement but Affin will send you the cert instead of asking you to collect it at the branch. You cannot withdraw the FD online.

This link might be useful to those looking for current FD board rates
http://www.abm.org.my//_repository/uploade...0JAN%202015.pdf

Btw, anyone knows how FD upliftment works in OCBC? Besides uplifting over the counter, are there any other options? Can uplift online or over the phone? Does OCBC offer eFD? If yes, does it work like Public Bank or Maybank? Meaning can uplift online or need to go to branch to do it?

132 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:48 AM