cherroy
post Jul 4 2015, 09:12 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2015, 08:45 PM)
Gen-X, have a question for you. You said cash is king during recession. How can it be?. Look at Greece. Cash is not king for them now.
People are struggling to have enough cash at there!

Cash is the king at such situation.
cherroy
post Jul 4 2015, 09:15 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 3 2015, 09:38 PM)
When a local giant like Maybank goes kaput, does PIDM has enough fund to cover tiger's ass?
PIDM just cover 250K per account entity basis, it is not covering the entire bank liabilities.

cherroy
post Jul 4 2015, 09:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 4 2015, 09:26 AM)
PIDM is supposed to cover all banks, not just MBB. In insurance terms (PIDM is a kind of insurance subscribed by banks), supposed to be able to. Note, "supposed".  smile.gif

Add: as Cherroy mentioned just 250k, NOT all sums per acct entity basis.  biggrin.gif
PIDM is a gov agency not ordinary private insurance company/body.

cherroy
post Jul 6 2015, 05:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 5 2015, 12:23 PM)
That is a scary scenario !  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Gold is KING !! Right time to buy some gold ?  tongue.gif
Those bought gold at peak price a few years ago, loss about 20~30%.... whistling.gif
cherroy
post Jul 8 2015, 08:00 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 7 2015, 10:48 PM)
Bro, did you read last few pages where we did calculations where PIDM funds only enough to cover 4800 accounts!!!
By the time if PIDM needs to step into a bank, you don't worry about the PIDM coverage anymore.

If one bank is known to be in difficult situation, the first thing in depositors mind is pull out the money first instead of thinking got PIDM or any guaranteed on the deposit.

cherroy
post Jul 8 2015, 08:03 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 7 2015, 08:16 PM)
Will our FD in ambank be affected by the latest scandal?
The answer is no.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jul 8 2015, 09:52 AM
cherroy
post Jul 8 2015, 02:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 8 2015, 02:42 PM)
You guys really lah, AmBank and Affin, the money deposited into it and not like BR where money went out in carpetman's case.
What you mentioned above is very true.

And now that aeiou228 have shared with us how much PIDM actually have, well, it really makes no difference if we deposit our money with a bank where our money is insured by PIDM  doh.gif Best we now deposit with only UOB and OCBC where both are so called among the strongest banks in the world. Then again, is the ranking also applicable for UOB and OCBC  incorporated locally? 

Actually depositor trust on the bank should be based on reputation of the bank in term of well run, prudent in financial management etc.

Normally from the event the like financial crisis/economy recession etc that we can see clearly how well the bank is/was run.

cherroy
post Jul 24 2015, 06:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 24 2015, 05:55 PM)
I'm think cherroy was not refering to full sovereign guaranteed deposit taking financial institions.
Off hand, I can only think of three names ie. BSN, SSPN and KWSP are Di Jamin penuh oleh kerajaan Malaysia. Please add to the list if you can think of any other name.

Read here for the limitation of PIDM. (Of course, better than nothing la)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=75241935
Yes,

I posted just to clear some common confusion, as came across many said, abc bank is gov owned, or gov is major shareholder, so those deposit must be guaranteed by gov, <--- this is a wrong concept to start with.

cherroy
post Jul 26 2015, 11:23 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jul 25 2015, 07:57 PM)
cash can buy banker's cheque.siapa cakap mesti ada casa? doh.gif  tongue.gif
o,i see.so kwsp have guarantee but mbsb no?so can only put bsn in page 1. tongue.gif kwsp dan sspn not bank  laugh.gif tongue.gif
Contributor KWSP money is guaranteed by gov.
But oov never said they guaranteed those company which is majority owned by KWSP.
This is the difference.

MBSB is a company/finance company that owned majority by KWSP or in other word KWSP is a majority shareholder of the company.

A limited company (sdn bhd/bhd) liability doesn't go beyond to the shareholder one. So KWSP has no obligation to guarantee it under ordinary company act.

KWSP owned plenty of company or listed company out there, and is a major shareholder of many company, so you can't say those company are guaranteed by gov, right?

cherroy
post Aug 3 2015, 03:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Aug 3 2015, 02:30 PM)
I dun think so. In the article it illustrates only simple 4.5% is given.

If they really give half yearly interest, it would be very good for this deal!

Anyway i really doubt if they do...banks are not stupid...
Fyi,
For most deposit more than 12 months, banks do give 6 months interest one.
cherroy
post Aug 3 2015, 09:00 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 3 2015, 08:02 PM)
Owh... never thought of that.....  hmm.gif

Unless like Cherroy said, the bank gives regular interest rather than at the end of the tenure.

Anybody can confirm this?
There is a reason, why a lot of time, those 15 months promotion FD, they need to be CASA related, as interest is credited into the CASA.

cherroy
post Aug 4 2015, 11:40 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 4 2015, 11:02 AM)
What is the best available Foreign Currency FD in Malaysia currently? I note that some of the banks have very low interest rates.
Almost all major currencies having zero or super low interest across.

cherroy
post Aug 5 2015, 08:59 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 5 2015, 08:54 AM)
Is it true that for 1 month fd for ambank, cimb bank and maybank, minimum funds is rm5000?
The min of 1 month FD is same across almost all banks, aka RM5k.
cherroy
post Aug 7 2015, 11:38 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Aug 6 2015, 05:14 PM)
Seem most of the bank keep having promo for FD.

Seem this is a sign that Banks need cash and likely BNM soon will increase the overall FD rate.

Just hope BR loan rate maintain as current rate.  sweat.gif
There is almost no chance for OPR to be raised upwards.

The reason of banks need more cash or liquidity is about Basel III which is scheduled to be implemented in the near future.
In the new Basel III, the requirement for liquidity ratio is higher, and only 3 months above deposit can be considered as liquidity (something like that, quite complicated as well).

No bank has a view that OPR is going to be revised upwards as far as I knew.

If bank has a view OPR is going to go up, the board rate of FD will go up across one, with longer tenure well above OPR, which is not a case here.

Promotion FD - normally banks require certain deposit/liquidity, as in promotion FD, they can control the amount of deposit they take in, once reach their required target, they can simply remove the promotion.

So they are in better position in maneuver the amount of deposit with the promo strategy instead of adjusting the board rate.
That's why the T&C in the promo FD, always stated, the offer period, or bank reserved to end the promo or ended when received 500 mil or something like that.
cherroy
post Aug 12 2015, 03:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 12 2015, 02:24 PM)
Call your RM or call the bank, or go to the branch.

So it looks like more people seeing this problem now.  doh.gif
One of the banks that I asked said 50k min for the DCA. Can't recall which one. But I think they need people to have the PB status before allowing it.

But I thought it is difficult to play this "strike" price. So decided to do the plain old simple way of buying the bank draft or TT when the need comes.  biggrin.gif
Most banks I knew offer DCA with min 250K.

If you need USD in the near term, it is best time to enter DCA with recent volatility in the market, you have nothing to lose if you really need the USD.
cherroy
post Aug 13 2015, 08:25 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Aug 12 2015, 09:35 PM)
My simple thoughts (based on my very limited knowledge in economics) ...

With MYR dropping, inflation will go up.  When inflation goes up, interest rate will follow .. which might reduce foreigners selling MYR assets. 
If BNM is to reduce interest rate, MYR will drop further as foreigners will sell more .. then MYR drop further.

Any comments from experts?
Interest rate up ---> slowdown the economy, as loan become expensive.
A slow or poor economy condition --> weak currency.
Weak currency --> import bill goes up --> inflation --> raise rate again?

If like that vicious cycle looping, not something wise to do.

cherroy
post Aug 18 2015, 10:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2015, 09:05 AM)
Some of us don't trust banks without pidm
It is not about PIDM or not alone.

As general, not specific,
people put deposit in a bank could be due to the bank is well run, low NPL, efficiency, accuracy, prompt service etc

Disregards it is PIDM or not,
You don't want to put FD in bank that lend out money simply with potential high NPL, right?

Also, some people may establish better relationship between, which may result in dealing with the bank in a much convenience as well more confidence mood.
Go to a bank, want to put a deposit, officer blur blur about promotion, don't know this and that, all confidence lose already. biggrin.gif

So plenty of reasons, it could be personal preference as well, no right or wrong.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 18 2015, 10:51 AM
cherroy
post Aug 18 2015, 03:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Aug 18 2015, 09:12 AM)
Really? Because I have BR FD @ 5.0%  for 12 months.

How much MBSB pay you? Or you run advertising for them for free?
QUOTE(sandkoh @ Aug 18 2015, 12:00 PM)
but someone said 1k can dapat 0.185%? laugh.gif anyone else get that? brows.gif
I taught 5%, instead extra 0.185%.
cherroy
post Aug 18 2015, 04:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 18 2015, 04:04 PM)
Tai Gor,

Since BR is a cooperative bank under KPDNKK --- Kementerian Perdagangan Dalam Negeri, Koperasi dan Kepenggunaan.

Does it mean that all depositors' money in FD deposits, saving accounts and current accounts are under the
protection/guarantee by KPDNKK..????

And since KPDNKK is a government department, does it mean that BR is under the protection/guarantee of the government?

How about MBSB?
Adalah semua duit di MBSB di jaminkan oleh KWSP..?  hmm.gif
All company are limited, aka Berhad.

Why it called limited or Berhad?
Because liabilities stay within the company, aka limited within the company, it doesn't go beyond shareholders.

Owner of company or shareholders of company do not bare the company liabilities.
So it is same with banks (as banks also a Berhad entity).

cherroy
post Aug 18 2015, 04:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 18 2015, 04:24 PM)
Affin Bank, RHB Bank, Alliance Bank also call Berhad, but all depositors' money are protected by PIDM, up to
RM 250K per person per bank.

So, any kind of protection for BR and MBSB's depositors?  hmm.gif

Last time I called to BR before I placed my first FD there, the BR staff said BR was protected by Ministry of Finance.. sweat.gif
The issue "berhad" I brought up is about the liabilities doesn't go beyond shareholders.
Those PIDM guaranteed amount is not from banks' shareholders.
So no contraction.

If BR is owned by MoF, and if the bank deposit is not stated "guaranteed by Malaysia gov" just like BSN, we cannot say it is guaranteed, even though in the most worst circumstance, there may be bail out by gov that resulted liabilities of bank is fulfilled.

Even though at the end of day it may looks the same (deposit still intact), but when there is no clause or any law stated the deposit is guaranteed, then it is not guaranteed. As simple as that.

0.0400sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:23 AM