124 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

Nauts
post Oct 21 2014, 09:32 AM

340 posts

One question, do banks auto renew using board rate or follow the rate from original cert?

I have colleagues who just auto renew their FD without checking and have been doing for years.

This post has been edited by Nauts: Oct 21 2014, 09:35 AM
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 09:43 AM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 21 2014, 09:32 AM)
One question, do banks auto renew using board rate or follow the rate from original cert?

I have colleagues who just auto renew their FD without checking and have been doing for years.
They follow the board rate.
TSGen-X
post Oct 21 2014, 09:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 09:12 AM)
HLB incleased their rate to 3.95% ? Good. Just  weeks ago, their HL Islamic FD 13 mth 3.9% vs HLB 12 mth 3.85%. So now HL Islamic 4%, 0.05% more than conventional ?  hmm.gif Need to confirm that.

With SCB closing their FD promo, UOB 12 mth 4.05% probably is the best at the moment. Well, BR, non PIDM 12 mth 4.1% is better if you have the stomach for non PIDM.

For short term FD, MBB "under counter" 3 mth FD at 3.87% still the best. Though I have placed for AmBank 5 mth at 3.85% before I learned of the MBB deal.  smile.gif While writing this post, received call from AmBank that this deal is extended until 6th Nov.
Was informed yesterday morning in one HLB branch that 12 months FD revised to 3.95% but not all branches know about it because it only came into effect yesterday. Then later in the afternoon, I had to go to another branch (this time Priority Banking Centre) to withdraw FD I placed with it, and none of the tellers knew about the revised rate.

Updated Post#1 for AmBank Promo, thanks for the ending date.

Noted that LYN automatically converts links to images, kind of make it hard to read BoomChaCha Post#2. Maybe it is just me and got to get use to it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 21 2014, 10:01 AM
august8
post Oct 21 2014, 10:18 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 09:12 AM)
While writing this post, received call from AmBank that this deal is extended until 6th Nov.
Interesting how the ending date for this promo coincides with the next BNM MPC meeting eh? Maybe the AMBank economist knows something we don't hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2014, 10:37 AM

6,614 posts

Ah Boom, just saw below from post 2:

"May Bank 4% for 12 Months[/u], up-front FD interest + gift - New added by RO Player on 30 Sept - (This May Bank promo has ended. Updated by bbgoat on 1 October)"

Top Cat is the one that alerted us on the MBB upfront interest deal. I placed the FD on 1 Oct when they said it was the last day. It has been extended with changes on the terms. From what has been reported, it may not be ended. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 21 2014, 10:41 AM
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 10:40 AM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 10:37 AM)
Ah Boom, just saw below from post 2:

"May Bank 4% for 12 Months[/u], up-front FD interest + gift - New added by RO Player on 30 Sept - (This May Bank promo has ended. Updated by bbgoat on 1 October)"

Top Cat is the one that alerted us on the MBB upfront interest deal. I updated on 1 Oct when I placed the FD. But I did not say it has ended. From what has been reported, it may not be ended.  smile.gif
Yup yup, promo rate has not ended yet.
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2014, 10:43 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 10:40 AM)
Yup yup, promo rate has not ended yet.
I edited my post after I recalled the event. Anyway the deal was extended after 1 Oct. smile.gif
gsc
post Oct 21 2014, 12:01 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 20 2014, 09:43 PM)
ok, let me put in an inquiry to OCBC..once they confirm, then i shoot
Ocbc bsnker cheque is free if mature full withdrawal and cheque payable to you
gchowyh
post Oct 21 2014, 12:22 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 10:43 AM)
I edited my post after I recalled the event. Anyway the deal was extended after 1 Oct.  smile.gif
Just came back from Maybank, so is confirmed the 'under table' Maybank Islamic upfront 4% deal is still on.
No free gift though & have to wait till the CIMB/RHB cheque clears only can get the cert.

Sea Park branch service is great & even have free nasi lemak & drink today for all customers drool.gif
They also explained to me in detail Aspire & Premier Wealth privileges.
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 12:25 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Oct 21 2014, 12:22 PM)
Just came back from Maybank, so is confirmed the 'under table' Maybank Islamic upfront 4% deal is still on.
No free gift though & have to wait till the CIMB/RHB cheque clears only can get the cert.

Sea Park branch service is great & even have free nasi lemak & drink today for all customers drool.gif
Only rich uncles have that kind of extra privilages. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Me small prawn also dont even qualified for Aspire privilages.
munkeyflo
post Oct 21 2014, 12:28 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 21 2014, 09:32 AM)

Follow the tenure of the original cert but renew at current board rate.

You can leave it there on auto-renew for years and just go update your FD cert when you remember.
dEviLs
post Oct 21 2014, 12:31 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

celaka kl main branch..since they don wan it then i give the fund to other banks la
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2014, 12:32 PM

6,614 posts

No free gift attached to the MBB 4% upfront interest deal. Unless asked separately or attached with other packages.

Wa, free nasi lemak & drink !! rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
dEviLs
post Oct 21 2014, 12:34 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:25 PM)
Only rich uncles have that kind of extra privilages.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Me small prawn also dont even qualified for Aspire privilages.
srsly i dont see any difference after getting the aspire lo..except for a better looking ATM card sweat.gif
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 12:34 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Oct 21 2014, 12:28 PM)
Follow the tenure of the original cert but renew at current board rate.

You can leave it there on auto-renew for years and just go update your FD cert when you remember.
"In accordance with Unclaimed moneys Act 1965 (revised 2002), the moneys in FD/GIA under Automatic Renewal shall be classified as Unclaimed Money if the FD/GIA is not operated for a period of seven (7) years from date of deposit or date of last transaction, which ever is later"
munkeyflo
post Oct 21 2014, 12:36 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:34 PM)
"In accordance with Unclaimed moneys Act 1965 (revised 2002), the moneys in FD/GIA under Automatic Renewal shall be classified as Unclaimed Money if the FD/GIA is not operated  for a period of seven (7) years from date of deposit or date of last transaction, which ever is later"
Then just go update FD cert every 5 years should be fine. 5 years is a long time also. If you don't go update means you probably forgotten about the existence of that funds already. laugh.gif
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 12:39 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 12:32 PM)
No free gift attached to the MBB 4% upfront interest deal. Unless asked separately or attached with other packages.

Wa, free nasi lemak & drink !!  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif
I am still wondering what kind of free gift they will give? hmm.gif

I got nothing at all other than the FD certs. sad.gif
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 12:40 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Oct 21 2014, 12:36 PM)
Then just go update FD cert every 5 years should be fine. 5 years is a long time also. If you don't go update means you probably forgotten about the existence of that funds already. laugh.gif
But who still does that manually nowadays? i prefer e-FD as i can monitor it or uplift it remotely.
For the promo 4%, this is the first time i got the FD cert physically which kind of new to me. hmm.gif
Hope i will remember to uplift it when it matured.
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2014, 12:47 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:39 PM)
I am still wondering what kind of free gift they will give?  hmm.gif

I got nothing at all other than the FD certs.  sad.gif
Depends on the bank and the amt you place. Some banks like BR used to give all kinds of gift for FD placement, like Parker pens, backpack, bags, manicure set, cups, etc. Other banks umbrella is a common item. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 21 2014, 12:48 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:40 PM)
But who still does that manually nowadays? i prefer e-FD as i can monitor it or uplift it remotely.
For the promo 4%, this is the first time i got the FD cert physically which kind of new to me.  hmm.gif
Hope i will remember to uplift it when it matured.
True, but there are still lots of people out there that don't trust online banking. laugh.gif

And a lot of promos are not available online. You need to do your FD placement over the counter to get the promo rates.

124 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:46 AM