gchowyh
post Sep 11 2014, 12:16 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 10 2014, 08:20 PM)
BR has RENTAS but only for corporate or company account user.  sad.gif
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 10 2014, 04:57 PM)
Bro, thanks for reading my articles smile.gif

Oh, I am sure you also read about RENTAS in my article, which cost more than GIRO over the counter. RENTAS allow more to be transferred. I wonder if BR have RENTAS facility?
Yes, the UOB 13 months promo is Pure FD. And interest will be paid semi-annually into a CASA account. So, if you have a CASA account then no issue. However if you don't have a UOB Savings or Current Account, you need to open one. AND most UOB CASA account have some fees! If you going for the UOB 13 months FD Promo and need to open CASA, check out their eAccount which is FREE (no monthly fees) but you got to pay for the ATM card I think.
Bro, if no need CASA, why does the interest go into?
AVFAN - last year we discussion at V4 about AUD. AUD/MYR exchange rate about 3.2 then. Well, AUD/MYR is now below 2.9 again smile.gif USA/MYR strengthen but AUD is weakening like hell against USD (AUD/USD down 0.83% as of now). Time to start monitoring AUD/MYR smile.gif

3.2 -- > 2.9, that's 9.375%. Whomever deposited in AUD Term Deposit back in May 2013 had wish they have deposited in RM instead.
QUOTE(giko @ Sep 9 2014, 08:11 PM)
Since BR stopped issuing banker's cheques, they did an IBG transfer for my matured FD to my CA in another bank but the monies cannot be used until after 6pm today - so cannot placed new FD for today!

Why does it take so long (945am till 6.00pm) to credit the monies? sad.gif
Guys, Bank Rakyat does have RENTAS for individuals. I just did it last month for RM 5 over the counter. By the time I reached RHB on the same day, the funds were already there.

QUOTE(nsx88 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:55 PM)
15mths 4.25% at Standard Chartered before 19th September.
12mths 4.0 %.

These must be the highest RATES offer at this time for PIDM Bank Deposits.
Nice promo but I just closed my account last month! Too short duration also, just a week and a half.

This post has been edited by gchowyh: Sep 11 2014, 12:20 AM
gchowyh
post Sep 11 2014, 12:23 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 11 2014, 12:21 AM)
If you want to place FD in RHB, Rentas to RHB saving account can be accepted as fresh fund
for RHB or for other banks or not..?
Yes can. The officer told me within 3 or 5 working days of transfering the funds to RHB bank savings/current account is still considered fresh funds. Can't remember.

This post has been edited by gchowyh: Sep 11 2014, 12:24 AM
gchowyh
post Sep 11 2014, 12:49 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 11 2014, 12:28 AM)
Thanks for the info.. thumbup.gif  I will do the same way next time
You can always re-open your saving account, I do not think this is the problem.
The only problem is the promo duration is too short..
Thanks again..  notworthy.gif
No probs. Problem also, no bullets at the moment till end of the month tongue.gif
gchowyh
post Sep 17 2014, 12:04 PM

860 posts

Hope Standard Chartered extends their promo till Monday 22 Sep as I have no bullets at the moment.
gchowyh
post Sep 17 2014, 10:37 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 17 2014, 12:14 PM)
They may stop it when they reach the 300M target. I was hoping the campaign will at least run until Friday for me.  :hmm:
The worst part is I just closed my current account in scb end of last month as I lost hope on them since more than a year no good promos from them!
gchowyh
post Sep 22 2014, 11:39 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 22 2014, 06:46 PM)
As you wish, SCB has extended the FD promo until 31 October 2014:  rclxms.gif
This time SCB want to hit RM 500 Million target..  sweat.gif

https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/special-rate-td/
Thank you Thank you! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Hopefully indeed do not need to open any bank account, will be a busy day for me tomorrow.
gchowyh
post Sep 23 2014, 05:49 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 23 2014, 01:11 AM)
You guys are welcome..but this time need to "lock" for 18 months wor..

Today I am very frustrated with SCB.

I needed to call Leng Chai staff twice and waited until afternoon then only received
the temporary ID from his sms, this temporary ID is for logging-in internet banking.

In this morning, SCB did not sms me the temporary password, but they sms me somebody
else One Time Activation Code (OTAC) instead... doh.gif

So I had to call to SCB Call Center to request for another temporary password.
My SCB internet banking is finally registered successfully in the evening...
While asked for the temporary ID, I also asked Leng Chai staff about the Renewal Instruction issue:

Me: How soon can we receive the FD interest?

Leng Chai: Upon maturity

Me: Can you tell me what does "1" mean under Renewal Instruction on the FD cert..?

Leng Chai: Oh.. that one is to add interest to the principle.

Me: Then how about 2?

Leng Chai: Ha..? What 2..? 1 is a standard setting in this FD package..

Me: But my friend got a 2 under Renewal Instruction on his FD cert wor....

Leng Chai: Oh..Ya ka..? Hold on please, let me check... Oh..Okay, I see it here, 2 means to deposit interest into saving account.

Me: Can I change it to 2 for my FD..?

Leng Chai: Cannot lah... system has been set, cannot change

Me: Ok, Thank you. Bye..

Leng Chai: Hello..hello..Mr. Boom, how about the corporate bond? Have you gone thru the info sheet?

Me:  doh.gif

Now let's take a look at the Payment of FD Interest from SCB:
[attachmentid=4144327]

ii) Deposits exceeding 12 months - six monthly with the final payment on maturity day.
  Deposit lebih daripada 12 bulan - 6 bulan sekali dengan bayan akhir pada hari kematangan.
---> does it mean that interest will pay every 6 months?  hmm.gif

If (ii) is a standard policy for 15 months FD, why there is an option to select "1" or "2" under Renewal Instruction on
the FD cert?
I was in a rush this morning to leave SCB as the prudential agent there remembered me! For the damansara uptown branch, you are first routed to a sales person before being allowed to go to the 'registration' person.

The leng lui told me must open an account as interest is paid every 6 months.
The BSA has a minimum requirement of RM20 while it seems the JustOne account has no minimum requirement it seems?
I chose the BSA instead.
gchowyh
post Sep 24 2014, 11:59 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 24 2014, 03:07 AM)
Ha ha.... very funny..  biggrin.gif  Did the Pridential Agent notice you and chase you..?  biggrin.gif
You already placed your 18 Months FD with SCB..?
Did you get any gift?
For me, I did not get anything..

Did the leng lui tell you that interest would credit to saving account?

Aiyo...Damansara Uptown branch manager is really "gao lat", brain wash investment products first then
only can go to place FD..?? Really funny and beh tahan....  biggrin.gif
She did not chase me but she said I have been there so many times to open FD but still haven't opened / try out a savings plan laugh.gif
I think she is probably the most senior person there now as all the other customer service & tellers have changed including the branch manager i think.
I seriously need to look for another branch to go to, haha! icon_question.gif

Ya, I just placed the 18 months FD yesterday & nope, no gift.
Yes, she said interest will be credited to the savings account every 6 months.
Oh another thing, they conduct a background check if you are an US citizen and some information from US/canada database, not sure why. It is one of the forms I signed.
gchowyh
post Sep 25 2014, 07:12 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 24 2014, 08:21 PM)
Unfortunately SCB does not have many branches, unless you are willing to go to another branch which is
far away from your place.
Ha ha.. I know how you feel, it is kind of torture and embarrass when you see her every time.. 

Did you get 1 under Renewal Instruction on your FD cert?

SCB did not do the background check about US citizen issue to me; but AM Bank did that to me about 3 weeks
ago.

Did SCB make photostat of your IC when you placed your FD?

SCB and Am Bank made photostat of my IC when I placed my FD with them..
Quite worry bad people will steal my copy of IC to borrow money... sad.gif  We have seen many news like
this on the newspaper..
If wait for BR to revise the rates, we all will die in hunger... cry.gif
True, the next branch is further.
Actually, the RM did not ask me but she put option 3.

Yes, SCB did make a photostat copy but chopped only for SCB use. Guess if we can't say we do not want to allow them to photostat.
gchowyh
post Sep 25 2014, 07:15 PM

860 posts

-duplicate-

This post has been edited by gchowyh: Sep 25 2014, 07:16 PM
gchowyh
post Sep 26 2014, 05:25 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 26 2014, 05:19 PM)
Sorry if what I have reported has confused anyone. What I am trying to say is the leng lui said for the recent FD promotion, their HQ instruction is for the principal to renew and interest can go to the SA.

So for my FD that was placed last week and yesterday, it all got instruction 2.

Though I mentioned that some of us got instruction 1, the leng lui just repeat the HQ instruction mentioned above.

I think another forummer mentioned that he also got the FD interest every 6 mths.  smile.gif
That's me, the leng lui said every 6 months will get interest & without asking or informing me, she put instruction 3 for me which was when I just checked the FD slip yesterday, since I was in a hurry to leave when I was at SCB. laugh.gif

gchowyh
post Sep 27 2014, 12:08 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 27 2014, 01:15 AM)
I think Renewal Instruction is the best option.
In case if we cannot make it on time to withdraw the FD on the maturity date, at least we can
get some interest in the saving account, perhaps not too much of interest, but it is better than nothing.

Since yours is option 3, then I think I should not have any problems to change to option 1.

Your Leng Lui did a good job to get you option 3, this saves your time and energy to go back to SCB to change to 3,
and also you can skip to see the Prudential insurance agent again..  biggrin.gif Ha ha..
SCB did the same to me. I saw they stamped on the center part of my IC photostat copy.

Am Bank is worst, they stamped on the very edge side of my IC photostat copy.
I feel that if they want to play a trick on me, they can simply use liquid paper to cover the chopped mark on the edge
of my IC photostat copy, and then make another photostat copy that without showing chopped mark.

I requested Am Bank to stamp on the center part of my IC photostat copy, but they refused.
They said it had to be chopped on the edge side of the IC photostat copy..  mad.gif
I feel that it is very unsecured to me...  sad.gif
Oh, you should have asked the Leng Lui to chop on the center part of your IC copy...

I have been wondering all my days how do con-men steal people IC copy to borrow money from banks?
Last time I asked UOB about this question, they said most of the times con-men use other people IC copy
to borrow money from Ah Long; bank procedures are more straight, not easy for con-men to do like this.

I feel sacred when every time my IC needs to be photostat even with a chop on it.

I think the best way is to renew IC every year.. Will our IC department allow us to do like this or not..?  hmm.gif
This is true, we cannot see what they are doing with our IC inside their photostat room..  sweat.gif

I have one idea, we can spend some money to photostat our IC in a stationery shop, and bring IC copies to the
banks and ask them to chop in front of us...  biggrin.gif
I saw one customer did that in RHB bank, I guess she was applying for something like credit card, but not FD... sweat.gif
I will just stick option 3 to save the trouble, haha

Actually about the photostat IC, it does not really matter where they chop within the IC area.
This is because for those with Adobe photoshop skills, it can be quite easily 'erased' so is just a small deterrent.

gchowyh
post Oct 2 2014, 03:58 PM

860 posts

Just placed FD in SCB again.
Fortunately, this time no sales talk but I was told that for option 3, I will only get the interest upon maturiy after 18 months & together with the principal will go into the savings account unlike previously they said I will get interest every 6 months even with option 3.
gchowyh
post Oct 5 2014, 07:00 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 3 2014, 06:34 PM)
Take a look at ii) on the FD cert, it stated very clearly that for FD tenure longer than 12 months
will get interest every 6 months..?  hmm.gif
[attachmentid=4157647]
Hm, I will call and ask on Tuesday then.
gchowyh
post Oct 6 2014, 12:17 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 5 2014, 08:32 PM)
So yours is still "3" for renewal ?  hmm.gif
Yes, correct. I even reconfirm with her but I did not show her the terms as BCC showed though.
She somemore said what the previous lenglui told me about payment of interest every 6 months for option '3' is not right
gchowyh
post Oct 8 2014, 11:06 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Oct 7 2014, 11:59 PM)
Today went to RHB and found out that the 15-mth step up promotion has closed from 1-Oct.

Uplifted my 3-mth FD with BR (after 2 time of renewal) and didn't notice they adjust the maturity date by 1 day later (for BR whenever maturity date falls on a holiday they will auto adjust the new maturity date to the next working day)...
I only realized after signing all the withdrawal and IBG forms...and they refused to change saying that the money already transferred to the destination bank.. end up losing interests for premature withdrawal by 1 day!!!

Painful lesson.. anyone has similar experiences before?

I am pissed off that the BR staff never reminded me of the new maturity date..
I experienced the same thing with OCBC last time. I believe it all comes down to the attitude of the tellers if they bother to check & confirm with you if you want to perform a premature withdrawal.
Lucky for you is 3 months, mine was 1 year! Only got 50% of the actual interest!
gchowyh
post Oct 14 2014, 11:35 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 14 2014, 09:33 AM)
Aiseh man, so many rich uncle here, i only able to ride kapchai to work everyday and not sure when can get premier banking like u all.  cry.gif
Can say that again, I noticed many uncles have priority/private banking status at multiple banks meaning definitely millionaire in cash terms. notworthy.gif

I am struggling to achieve it in 2 banks.
By the way, besides the JustOne priority 4% promo and free coffee, what other benefits are there for SCB?
Hopefully the quota doesn't run out by 20th sweat.gif
gchowyh
post Oct 14 2014, 03:56 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 14 2014, 01:49 PM)
Bro, no need be millionaire (technically it means net worth of USD1M minimum), as long got RM300K, can recycle over and over again to get PB status, like in my case, hahaha.

Banks to avoid getting PB status if one only has RM300K to recycle (playing FD Promotion musical chair) are HSBC and SCB because they will impose penalty fees once your AUM falls below the required minimum amount.

Banks like HLB, OCBC, RHB, UOB and Alliance bank no need to maintain minimum AUM but yet your PB status remain, i.e. no penalty fees. For example, I have less than RM30K deposited with RHB and Alliance banks but because I have PB status, my credit cards (RHB Plat, HLB Plat, UOB Plat and Alliance Visa Infinite) are FREE FOR LIFE and I get to jump Q at any RHB branch by flashing my PB Debit card. Click here to read my article Privilege Premier Priority Banking published many years ago at my Ringgit Wise Fool blog. Also click here to my article My Bragging Rights and My Credit Cards 2014 where I mentioned briefly how each of my credit cards benefit me.

As for SCB, you do get their Visa Infinite credit card for FREE but it is really useless as their redemption program is ridiculous. However the SCB Visa Infinite does come with a Priority Pass Membership card but now only limits to 2 FREE entries per year to airport lounges worldwide. If you ask me, don't need SCB PB if only want to enjoy their promo rate because hassle when want to close PB status if AUM falls below the required amount.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 14 2014, 02:29 PM)
Earlier tried to reply you before you get off to MBB. Now replying on your PB status.

For PB status:
HL need to maintain minimum 50k
CIMB also will charge if fall below AUM
CB min RM200k

My MBB PB ended quietly as they do not have FD promo and I withdrawn my funds to elsewhere. Only last 2/3 weeks heard about their exciting promo. Really surprised as MBB seldom have FD promo that excites me. Just like PBB recent FD promo also not bad.  biggrin.gif
Thank you bros for the detailed explanation! Will keep in mind the banks which do not need to maintain minimum AUM especially when there are good FD promos there. tongue.gif

I would probably not bother about SCB PB as sometimes even opening an FD takes quite awhile. I've been hearing a lot of complaints from customers recently, ie. once there was an uncle & aunty which the ATM got eaten up but nobody attended to for almost 30 mins & another customer was almost shouting (not sure exactly what was the issue)
For me, I didn't know I even had a RM as I don't even meet the minimum amount yet & was promised a call back to confirm if the FD interest is credited every 6 months which never happened.

Just to addon for PB status at AM Bank, there will be charges if AUM falls below RM200k. The only reason I am keeping it now is airport lounge is free if I swipe 5X overseas & 5X points for overseas purchases.

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Oct 14 2014, 03:19 PM)
According to my SC CS, promo 4%pa FD for 1 yr and 4.25%pa for 1.5 yr ends today.
Oh no! sweat.gif
gchowyh
post Oct 16 2014, 06:36 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 14 2014, 07:55 PM)
Well, AmBank usually have competitive FD Promos. And the Enrich Miles redemption is also pretty good (for overseas transaction as earn 5X points)

If you ever want another card for airport lounge, I suggest you look into Alliance Bank Privilege Banking because you will be entitled to a FREE FOR LIFE Visa Infinite which comes with Priority Pass Membership Card that grants UNLIMITED entries without you needing to spend a sen anywhere on earth. And you are also entitled to their Platinum card FREE FOR LIFE too which grants you UNLIMITED access to KLIA PPL, get the MasterCard. I would not advise anyone to use the Alliance Bank Visa credit cards overseas because their conversion rate is freaking high. If got time to waste, click here to read my article Visa Infinite - UOB vs Maybank vs Alliance Bank and Best Credit Card for Overseas Transactions.
Alliance Bank never had FD promos for a long long time, so quite unlikely to go for their cards.

Now hopefully no surprises for the Maybank under table 4% promo on Monday 20 Oct.
I will also try showing my CIMB cheque book but what if we transfer the funds into Maybank account, will it still be considered fresh funds for Maybank?

gchowyh
post Oct 17 2014, 05:02 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 16 2014, 10:54 PM)
Bro, click here to my FIXED DEPOSIT Page at my blog and see Alliance Bank FD Promos.
QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 16 2014, 06:49 PM)
Alliance Bank do have FD Promotions, my RM always inform me.
Sorry bros, my bad. I should have checked properly. I should rephrase saying they do not have attractive enough promos tongue.gif
And unfortunately, I am still below 40 so unable to get the FD Gold promo.

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 16 2014, 07:03 PM)
I can clarify that their promo is still valid for next week coz i just went to ask them today.
I just double-confirmed, SCB's 4.25% promo ended on 14 October.
Maybank's 4% upfront promo also ended according to SS2 branch, I will double-check on Monday & other branches also. sweat.gif

0.0267sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:08 AM