post Sep 6 2014, 11:53 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Reporting in to V7 notworthy.gif

QUOTE(jrrsim @ Sep 6 2014, 11:43 AM)
Newb here.

Where do I find the comparison for eFD rates? (online placements)

Too lazy to walk in to bank.. hehe
I guess it depends on what bank accounts you have too. Say if you don't have a CIMB account but CIMB gives the best eFD rates, you still have to walk in to a branch to create an account and CIMB Clicks before you can place your eFD.

eFD rates are usually stated on the bank's website.

munkeyflo
post Sep 9 2014, 10:35 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Sep 8 2014, 10:23 PM)
How do i eligible to entitle for 6% rate?
6% is only for one month. I dunno how they market that promo but most of this "Step Up FDs" will say that you can get UP TO highest % p.a. to trick people into thinking theirs is the best.

It comes with Terms and Conditions and the T&C for this is that you will have to lock up your funds for 12 months. It will be given the interest rate as stated and only the last month will be entitled to 6%. After you complete the 12 months, the average interest rate you will be getting is 3.85%.
munkeyflo
post Sep 9 2014, 12:54 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Sep 9 2014, 12:41 PM)
So that mean if i deposit 10k and let it running to complete 12 months than i end up getting fully paid of 3.85% rate which is rm385 right? So when the 6% rate come in action??
Yes, you will get average rate of 3.85%.

The 6% is for the 12th month of that 12 months. Only that month you get 6% per annum.
munkeyflo
post Sep 10 2014, 12:30 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Sep 9 2014, 09:33 PM)
Meaning from month 1 to month 12, i will get 6% rate at month 12 right? Together with 3.85%? I still dont get it rclxub.gif
Why not you go to Maybank and ask the staff to explain to you? I don't think you will get it no matter how we try to explain.
munkeyflo
post Oct 8 2014, 03:36 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 8 2014, 11:37 AM)
So, my question is on the definition of fresh fund.

If I do IBG from CASA Bank A to CASA Bank B, then I go for the FD of Bank B, will Bank B consider it as fresh fund?

Or the only option is bank draft that I should forget about the few ringgit of the cost of that bank draft? i notice the method being mentioned mostly in this thread is bank draft. biggrin.gif
Generally, it will not be considered fresh funds. However, if you have an RM, speak to them and they can work something out.

Usually we use personal cheques or bank drafts to place as fresh funds. If you are using personal cheques, make sure the IBG has already been cleared before placing the FD. Again, if you have an RM, issue a post-dated cheque so you don't have to go to the bank twice.
munkeyflo
post Oct 12 2014, 01:11 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2014, 01:06 PM)
For those familiar with SCB procedure or with experience:

Previously, I already opened a joint FD account with my dad. If I want to deposit a new joint FD account with my dad again, is my dad required to be present?

TQ
Depends if it's 2 to sign or either one I guess.
munkeyflo
post Oct 12 2014, 01:17 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2014, 01:14 PM)
either one to sign

(wow you and kampung become mod already, grats!)
Then should be fine. I can't remember SCB since I don't place much FDs there but UOB and OCBC no issues.

Thanks laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 12 2014, 02:12 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 12 2014, 01:32 PM)
Thanks Captain...  thumbup.gif
Ya loh, bring cash is too risky especially in Bolehland..  sweat.gif
Yes, sometimes cannot get win-win situation..
BR just updated their website on 30 September, now they needs to update again..
I think the same way, just put some money in BR so that the relationship will not be disconnected..

Ah Goat Ah Sir... this time you are in deep trouble lo.. Ah Flo now is the Moderator.  sweat.gif .
Last time you tried to "kacau" her wor.... now how..?  biggrin.gif  Better don't play play this time.. Ha Ha..

We BIG welcome Ah Flo munkeyflo to be our Moderator and Congratulations to Ah Flo..... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Yea, sometimes we have to pay a little bit or sacrifice a bit for convenience and safety when transferring the funds.

Thank you thank you Ah Cha Cha. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 12 2014, 02:07 PM)
I was not aware munkeyflo is now Mod. Who kampung?

Congrats munkeyflo, I better be nice to you from now on so that I won't be nuked, hahaha
Haha. On probation only.

How can I ever nuke you captain. You're still the captain no matter what. notworthy.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 12 2014, 03:37 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2014, 03:07 PM)
Guys, another question. If my CIMB saving account is created at branch A, can i go to a different branch to withdraw from saving account and make banker's cheque?

A busy musical chair day for me tomorrow. Have FD maturing at Ambank (1 slip) and UOB (3 slips) and going to add new fund from CIMB. All with different joint account holders  rclxub.gif

If UOB allows top-up, then will just take the 4.05% 12m offer and skip SCB altogether.
Should be can. I've done banker Cheque withdrawal from diff branch at hong Leong and ambank before.

QUOTE(nomen @ Oct 12 2014, 03:20 PM)
Congrats munkeyflo  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Tq tq laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 02:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 13 2014, 01:39 AM)
Above is my quote right? How come you did not quote it?

Anyway, UOB is known to revise their rates without any prior warning. So, call UOB or just visit Post#1 and Post#2 when your funds are ready to be placed in FD.
3.8% for 3 months. Sounds good. Is there a minimum amount for placement that you know of?
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 03:58 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 13 2014, 03:36 PM)
notworthy.gif  you always got fund to deposit.. ah printing money ah..

SCB n UOB seems to be tops for >12 months deposit. It will take me years but slowly moving my funds into KWSP. Nowadays with children growing up, funds seem to be shrinking quite fast. rclxub.gif
He Top Goat ma, eat grass print money. laugh.gif

QUOTE(iamWill @ Oct 13 2014, 03:46 PM)
Min 10k. Just confirmed with my RM
Thanks for confirming. Captain Gen X also updated first post with the minimum amount edi. smile.gif

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 13 2014, 03:48 PM)
Can update why need Premier Banking?
Err, there's the HYA (High Yield Account) and also some credit cards are only for Premier Banking customers. You will also be assigned an RM to assist you with your banking transactions.
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 04:29 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 13 2014, 04:18 PM)
Can spoonfeed on HYA?
http://www1.uob.com.my/personal/deposits/c...ld_account.html

It's a current account with interest rate of 3% if I'm not mistaken. Need a minimum amount to be invested into UOB.

Anyway, out of topic already. laugh.gif Best to call your nearest branch and check with them as I think recently they change the T&C also.
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 04:32 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 13 2014, 04:29 PM)
Got RM or not sometimes make no difference one.
Instead offering better service and advice, they may only care to sell insurance or investment product.

RM just a nice name as compared to Public Relation Officer.  laugh.gif
True true. Sometimes go to counter and settle the transactions will be much easier. laugh.gif

But if got a dedicated RM to help out with future transactions when one is away also good ma. Just have to reject their sales pitch from time to time. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 05:07 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 13 2014, 04:40 PM)
Ah Flo ah.., once OCBC RM told me to deposit funds myself laugh.gif  Lucky for her I am in good mood that time, if not I think she most probably has some explaining to do with HQ. cool2.gif

Premier Banking sometimes also got promo for FD, thats why I ask.

Note: I already cancelled my Premier Banking with OCBC.
Haha. She dared to say that eh? Didn't get another RM to assist you?

On and off these Premier Banking will call and ask for feedbacks on their RMs. That time then you can taruh them liao. laugh.gif

Ya, sometimes some promo is specially for PB customers. If it is, I'm sure Captain will state it somewhere in the first post smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 05:36 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 13 2014, 05:18 PM)
notworthy.gif
Got once the RM want to come to my house to sign some documents. I say no, izzit wan me to get trouble from my better half. sweat.gif
Hahaha. Maybe she wants to see where you live. I guess they are told to be friendly and not trouble their customers lor.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 13 2014, 05:22 PM)
Just return from SCB, bad luck..one banker's cheque goes through, the other one didn't manage as the counter closes at 3.45pm. So have to collect the slip tomorrow...will backdate to today's date.

I am flabbergasted. The manager insists that I cannot open a Just One acc with zero deposit. She even asked what my purpose of opening Just One account if I am not going to deposit RM1500  doh.gif I really need to get written confirmation from SCB HQ that it is possible. Or maybe can any of you who managed to do so, share me the name of your branch?

On whether is it necessary for both joint account holders to be present for future placement, the answer is YES  rolleyes.gif Else, you can pay RM10 to sign the mandate form  sweat.gif

On why it is necessary to photocopy IC again and again, bank policy. One slip needs two copies.
Didn't know SCB also so much of paperwork. sweat.gif

I thought OCBC has lots of paperwork already. laugh.gif

Don't understand why joint account holders still need to PAY to sign mandate form for either one to sign. rclxub.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 06:12 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 13 2014, 05:47 PM)
I hope you do not mean by pos...hahaha

I meant sit and tell them pass to you. No experience with SCB, but for other PB, i just wait
By post later get lost in post. rclxub.gif

I'll tell them I come collect another day. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 13 2014, 06:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 13 2014, 06:19 PM)
2 reasons

FREE Coffee and FREE For Life Credit Cards  tongue.gif
Bro, for OCBC Bank Premier Banking, my RM fills the form(s) but I have to personally go to the cashier to deposit cheque or cash. It's also the same for my other PB, i.e. Alliance, HLB, SCB, RHB and UOB, where I need to go to the dedicated PB tellers/cashiers. But like munkeyflo said, for general transaction, i.e deposit and withdrawal, we can just go to the tellers at general baking hall. However for OCBC and Citibank if we do not want to see our RM, we still need to go through a Personal Banker in the general hall even if we want to just deposit/withdraw FD with the tellers.

And why close PM with OCBC? OCBC PB no penalty fees whatsover or need to maintain minimum AUM.
Each bank will assign you only one RM (Relationship Manager) for Premier/Privilege/Priority Banking at any one time. And my RM with OCBC, UOB, HLB and Alliance keep changing. Only the RHB RM is the same since the day I signed up for Premier Banking.
Any bank staff that have clearance to check your account can see where you live (i.e. your address is in their system). Some RMs are really helpful and are willing to drop by your place to collect cheque but it's not in their scope of work.

OCBC used to have a team of mobile bankers that caters to yuppies where they will go and meet you, don't know if this team is still around. 

Now, do you guys know that UOB Privilege Banking will sent a BMW 5 series to your house to pick you up if you are purchasing their investment products. I am not kidding.
BMW 5 series. notworthy.gif

You must've purchase quite a large sum for their investment products. Next time if they ask me purchase any investment products, I'll ask them come my house to pick me up in 5 series first. tongue.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 13 2014, 06:22 PM)
Copy and paste from sin chew.
http://biz.sinchew.com.my/node/103488
1. Maybank
2. HL Bank
3. Allianz?
6. Ambank?
7. Affin
9. OCBC
10. SCB
11. CIMB
12. HSBC
munkeyflo
post Oct 14 2014, 04:29 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 14 2014, 02:29 PM)
Earlier tried to reply you before you get off to MBB. Now replying on your PB status.

For PB status:
HL need to maintain minimum 50k
CIMB also will charge if fall below AUM
CB min RM200k

My MBB PB ended quietly as they do not have FD promo and I withdrawn my funds to elsewhere. Only last 2/3 weeks heard about their exciting promo. Really surprised as MBB seldom have FD promo that excites me. Just like PBB recent FD promo also not bad.  biggrin.gif
For Citibank, they will also quietly downgrade your Citigold status when your minimum no more. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 14 2014, 08:47 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 14 2014, 07:55 PM)
Well, AmBank usually have competitive FD Promos. And the Enrich Miles redemption is also pretty good (for overseas transaction as earn 5X points)

If you ever want another card for airport lounge, I suggest you look into Alliance Bank Privilege Banking because you will be entitled to a FREE FOR LIFE Visa Infinite which comes with Priority Pass Membership Card that grants UNLIMITED entries without you needing to spend a sen anywhere on earth. And you are also entitled to their Platinum card FREE FOR LIFE too which grants you UNLIMITED access to KLIA PPL, get the MasterCard. I would not advise anyone to use the Alliance Bank Visa credit cards overseas because their conversion rate is freaking high. If got time to waste, click here to read my article Visa Infinite - UOB vs Maybank vs Alliance Bank and Best Credit Card for Overseas Transactions.
munkeyflo - call your UOB RM next time you need transport to UOB.

kinabalu, like magika said, any FD sure can uplift; but if you do so before the maturity date, then like BoomChaCha pointed out, you will be imposed penalty.
hahahahaha, you got a point in your last sentence.
Hahaha. But my house to the UOB branch I go is like hardly 5 minutes drive only lol.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 14 2014, 08:25 PM)
But for each cert they printed the  account is different (affin, scb) except HLB. HLB all same no. (eg 123456789) So no, I dont have new account no with HLB.

My question is can I ask affin and scb to do the same like HLB? Print same account no on my next fd?
Usually you will have one account number only, the FD receipt cert is different though. When statement comes, one FD account will show all the FD numbers on the statement.
munkeyflo
post Oct 20 2014, 02:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2014, 10:24 AM)
Want to ask, say for a bank A which required fresh funds for fd,

Day 1 : Withdraw RM20k cash from bank A.
Day 2 : Bring back the RM20k to put fd in bank A.

Does this count as fresh fund?
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2014, 10:44 AM)
Cause last time my mother wanted to put FD, she did that and the bank people said cannot. Actually is not allowed.
By right, can. But some banks/branches are stricter. I remember being told that some customers withdraw cash, take another number, and deposit the cash as fresh funds, andden that bank disallowed doing that already.

Best way is to RENTAS out and issue a cheque from another branch. Or withdraw the cash and try another branch. But you'll be carrying the large amount of cash around la.

0.0662sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:37 PM