Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

bbgoat
post Oct 21 2014, 12:52 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:40 PM)
But who still does that manually nowadays? i prefer e-FD as i can monitor it or uplift it remotely.
For the promo 4%, this is the first time i got the FD cert physically which kind of new to me.  hmm.gif
Hope i will remember to uplift it when it matured.
Did you get the FD promo from the eFD ? My impression is eFD do not have promo most of the time, I may be wrong.

For me, the FD promo earns more but just have to go to the bank. But for some, may not bother the extra from the FD promo. brows.gif laugh.gif
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 12:57 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 12:52 PM)
Did you get the FD promo from the eFD ? My impression is eFD do not have promo most of the time, I may be wrong.

For me, the FD promo earns more but just have to go to the bank. But for some, may not bother the extra from the FD promo.  brows.gif  laugh.gif
Last time my amount small ma, so did not bothered on those promo rates as the differences does not worth the hassle.

Now with inflation coming, i start to gather my cash and dump into the bank better lorrr......

But i gotta admit, ever since i stumble into captain Gen-X blog, he has taught me alot alot of things from Credit card to FD.

Because of him, i go apply Maybankard 2 amex and got to know on all the FD promo here.

i really really salute him! And with his obession with the letter 8, i shall salute him with:

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
AVFAN
post Oct 21 2014, 01:10 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 21 2014, 01:30 AM)
HL bank recently increased their FD rate by 0.1%. 12 months pure FD reported earlier 3.85% now is 3.95%.

hmm... iwas just in hlb. not true, it is still 3.85% for 12m, at least in the branch i went to.

however, 15m, 4.0% pa need not extra 10% for earmark since oct 16, was told.

i was first at uob, fd matured, asked what rate, answer was "3.3%". i said, cashier's cheque, please.

the teller didn't even try to keep my money. too much deposits, i guess....

so, hlb it was! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 21 2014, 01:11 PM
gchowyh
post Oct 21 2014, 01:12 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Oct 21 2014, 12:22 PM)
Just came back from Maybank, so is confirmed the 'under table' Maybank Islamic upfront 4% deal is still on.
No free gift though & have to wait till the CIMB/RHB cheque clears only can get the cert.

Sea Park branch service is great & even have free nasi lemak & drink today for all customers drool.gif
They also explained to me in detail Aspire & Premier Wealth privileges.
QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:25 PM)
Only rich uncles have that kind of extra privilages.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Me small prawn also dont even qualified for Aspire privilages.
I mentioned 'all customers' so not only for priority banking customers. There were many uncles & aunties there so I just took 1 packet & left, don't want to be labeled an uncle also later sweat.gif shakehead.gif

I was just curious asking about the privileges but ya I do agree with dEviLs, I am not considering Aspire at all & even Premier Wealth doesn't even qualify for their Visa Infinite card, still need to submit salary slip, etc..

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:34 PM)
"In accordance with Unclaimed moneys Act 1965 (revised 2002), the moneys in FD/GIA under Automatic Renewal shall be classified as Unclaimed Money if the FD/GIA is not operated  for a period of seven (7) years from date of deposit or date of last transaction, which ever is later"
Didn't know there was such a thing. hmm.gif
kinabalu
post Oct 21 2014, 01:53 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Oct 21 2014, 01:12 PM)
Didn't know there was such a thing.  hmm.gif
Well neither do I, but on my FD cert, the Maybank people are kind enough to stamp this statment on my my cert.
Bonescythe
post Oct 21 2014, 02:01 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

"In accordance with Unclaimed moneys Act 1965 (revised 2002), the moneys in FD/GIA under Automatic Renewal shall be classified as Unclaimed Money if the FD/GIA is not operated  for a period of seven (7) years from date of deposit or date of last transaction, which ever is later"
So the money dissappear ? Dun belong to the owner ad ?
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2014, 02:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Oct 21 2014, 01:12 PM)
Didn't know there was such a thing.  hmm.gif
QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 01:53 PM)
Well neither do I, but on my FD cert, the Maybank people are kind enough to stamp this statment on my my cert.
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 21 2014, 02:01 PM)
So the money dissappear ? Dun belong to the owner ad ?
Wasai, this has been implemented for quite a long time already. Once fall under that, you can still claim it back from BNM but troublesome procedure ! smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 21 2014, 02:33 PM
Bonescythe
post Oct 21 2014, 02:36 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Ok.. THanks for info. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 21 2014, 03:12 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

For me, the FD promo earns more but just have to go to the bank. But for some, may not bother the extra from the FD promo.  brows.gif  laugh.gif
Yea, on top of that. If got large amount, can nego with branch manager for higher rate. And also to get some gifts.

Can't do that with eFD.
dEviLs
post Oct 21 2014, 03:26 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 02:32 PM)
Wasai, this has been implemented for quite a long time already. Once fall under that, you can still claim it back from BNM but troublesome procedure !  smile.gif
If not mistaken..there is an unclaim money agency at menara maybank
TSGen-X
post Oct 21 2014, 03:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Not sure if above applies to Fixed Deposit that are instructed to be renewed. But since I kiasu, I go update my FD certs every year and get new cert (Affin and Alliance), hahaha. For MBB and HLB they usually print on the back on the cert and no new cert issued. However, for statement based account, UOB don't issue new cert for auto renewal since there is no cert in the first place.

For Savings and Current accounts, above act does apply and it's a big hassle to go claim it back. Anyway, nowadays if we do not perform any transaction with our Savings and Current accounts for 12 months and 6 months respectively, the account will be classified as inactive. Once, I wrote a HLB cheque after months of not performing any type of transactions, the officer called me to inform that my account is inactive but said will clear my cheque and requested I go deposit RM10 immediately.

And nowadays with e Banking, it is really easy to transfer RM10 between my accounts to ensure that they stay active.

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:40 PM)
But who still does that manually nowadays? i prefer e-FD as i can monitor it or uplift it remotely.
Bro, it's true that young people are into online banking. However, I myself is have no confidence in online banking considering the fact that we hear some many hacking/phishing incidents.

Years ago before I had UOB PB status, I open a eAccount with UOB because it was one of the few accounts that has no monthly fees and had to sign up for online banking. When I sign up for UOB PB, all my FDs with UOB was listed online. Boy I was damn worried what would happen if my account was hacked. However, I now have more confidence with UOB, RHB and Maybank online banking as we need One Time Password to perform transfer of funds. However, I still do not feel secured with HLB Connect as they have yet to practice OTP.

And I was extremely relief when kimmo88 posted below comment/info.

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 19 2014, 11:30 PM)
Just saw the note below on UOB online banking FD page. Looks like no uplifting online if FD done in branch.

Note : Fixed Deposit withdrawal via UOB Personal Internet Banking is only applicable for Fixed Deposit placed via electronic banking channels, i.e UOB Personal Internet Banking, UOB 121 Phone Banking and UOB ATM.
Having said the above, Online Banking is very common in Australia (some banks impose fees for over the counter transactions) and most of my transactions (transfer of funds) are via online banking. But the best is Citibank, my Australia CitiGold RM will call me the day my FD matures and ask me what I want to do and we can negotiate the Term Deposit interest rates for any tenures over the phone. I don't even need to go to the bank or be in Australia.

AmBank last time offered higher board rates for their eFD, not sure if they still offer it. But I can tell you Maybank Online Savers Savings Account has one of the best interest rates for any Savings Account (exclude Premier Savings Account).

And you are absolutely correct, currently over the counter FD promos are way better than eFD.

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 21 2014, 12:57 PM)
Last time my amount small ma, so did not bothered on those promo rates as the differences does not worth the hassle.

Now with inflation coming, i start to gather my cash and dump into the bank better lorrr......

But i gotta admit, ever since i stumble into captain Gen-X blog, he has taught me alot alot of things from Credit card to FD.

Because of him, i go apply Maybankard 2 amex and got to know on all the FD promo here.

Thank you Bro for reading my articles and glad you found them useful.

Many have pointed out over and over again here that FD cannot beat inflation. FD is good for those who are not willing to take risk and depends on what stage a person is in his life, i.e. wealth accumulation or needing funds for survival. For me, wealth accumulation stage is over and I cannot take any risk as I have to ensure I have money right at this moment for my children's education.

And some time back while waiting to be served at a PB centre, I was talking to a person and he said he sold all his companies (I got no idea how many companies he was referring to) and now get income from FD interest. He said now he has no headaches as he no longer run any business.

And it is not just me who is obsess with number No.8. I tell you, when I signed up for UOB Privilege Banking status, I get to choose my Fd account numbers and yes, of course it will end with No.8 tongue.gif

UOB recently updated their system, and guess what, all my FD new account numbers (including joint with my children) automatically end with No.8 thumbup.gif So, I guess it's not just me but most PB customers want their FD account ending with No.8 too and UOB knows it, hahaha. I just open another joint account with UOB recently, and this time I did not tell my RM I want No.8 but when she gave me the form to sign, the new FD account ends with No.8 biggrin.gif

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 21 2014, 01:10 PM)
hmm... iwas just in hlb. not true, it is still 3.85% for 12m, at least in the branch i went to.

i was first at uob, fd matured, asked what rate, answer was "3.3%". i said, cashier's cheque, please.

Updated Post No.1 since you confirmed you did place FD with HLB and got 4% without the stupid CASA requirement.

UOB is good to me, they gave me promo rate on the spot when I renewed my FDs in September and this month.

And Bro, did you read about what I wrote about writing a cheque from another bank (fresh fund) and then immediately perform GIRO with fund from the matured FD before 12.30am? If you got time, read my article A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That Vol.1 Chapter IV and scroll down to Interbank GIRO Over The Counter.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 21 2014, 03:50 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 21 2014, 03:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2014, 03:33 PM)
Not sure if above applies to Fixed Deposit that are instructed to be renewed. But since I kiasu, I go update my FD certs every year and get new cert (Affin and Alliance), hahaha. For MBB and HLB they usually print on the back on the cert and no new cert issued. However, for statement based account, UOB don't issue new cert for auto renewal since there is no cert in the first place.
Captain, that 7 yrs' rule (not itch, ha ha tongue.gif ) applies to FD as well. Last time when there is less FD promo, my FD has been auto renewed for years. CB sent a letter to inform me about the 7yrs rule and I have to sign a confirmation or renew it personally.

So as Ah Flo mentioned, it is good to renew those certs every 3 or 5 yrs. Or just get bank to update at the back of the cert (MBB etc).

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 21 2014, 03:58 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 21 2014, 04:23 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2014, 03:33 PM)
Updated Post No.1 since you confirmed you did place FD with HLB and got 4% without the stupid CASA requirement.

UOB is good to me, they gave me promo rate on the spot when I renewed my FDs in September and this month.

And Bro, did you read about what I wrote about writing a cheque from another bank (fresh fund) and then immediately perform GIRO with fund from the matured FD before 12.30am? If you got time, read my article A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That Vol.1 Chapter IV and scroll down to Interbank GIRO Over The Counter.
yep, hlb 15m 4.0% no casa is correct right now - i deposited some today.
it required 10% casa 6m earmark for same 15m 4.0% in july when i deposited some then.

i did read about the cheque-giro way, just felt like staying away from that uob branch for good after 2-3 years. long wait, staff attitude, no parking.

i rather lose a few tens of rm over a yr or so to be served better at a more comfortable hlb branch. just me...
Nauts
post Oct 21 2014, 04:26 PM

340 posts

I only use 3 banks, don't care what other bank rates.

Must be polite, respect, and comfortable for me. Rather have long term relationship with the bank than jumping around. More benefits in long run. Not only personal but also for biz.
nexona88
post Oct 21 2014, 04:53 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,465 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 21 2014, 04:26 PM)
I only use 3 banks, don't care what other bank rates.

Must be polite, respect, and comfortable for me. Rather have long term relationship with the bank than jumping around. More benefits in long run. Not only personal but also for biz.
mind sharing which 3 banks is that? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 21 2014, 05:42 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2014, 09:47 AM)
Was informed yesterday morning in one HLB branch that 12 months FD revised to 3.95% but not all branches know about it because it only came into effect yesterday. Then later in the afternoon, I had to go to another branch (this time Priority Banking Centre) to withdraw FD I placed with it, and none of the tellers knew about the revised rate.

Updated Post#1 for AmBank Promo, thanks for the ending date.

Noted that LYN automatically converts links to images, kind of make it hard to read BoomChaCha Post#2. Maybe it is just me and got to get use to it.
Captain, these images are quite annoying and disturbing to read the info.
I have tried to create hyperlink to direct the website, but the result is still the same. mad.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 21 2014, 10:37 AM)
Ah Boom, just saw below from post 2:

"May Bank 4% for 12 Months[/u], up-front FD interest + gift - New added by RO Player on 30 Sept - (This May Bank promo has ended. Updated by bbgoat on 1 October)"

Top Cat is the one that alerted us on the MBB upfront interest deal. I placed the FD on 1 Oct when they said it was the last day. It has been extended with changes on the terms. From what has been reported, it may not be ended.  smile.gif
Yes Ah Sir Ah Goat biggrin.gif
Am Bank extended to 6 Nov and your latest update about May Bank 4% for 12 Months with up-front FD interest have
been updated on Post #2.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 21 2014, 06:05 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 21 2014, 06:23 PM

24,358 posts

@Gen-X

Is it possible to use ASG/FD to apply for Maybank 2 cards? I will need them next year but I am not working yet. So no documents to proof I have money. cry.gif But if can use those stuff, I can proof that I have money.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 21 2014, 06:35 PM
gsc
post Oct 22 2014, 01:16 AM

1,624 posts

HLB staff are blur blurr on their own rate. I have a FD placed on 17 oct and the rate is 3.95% for 12 months. Straight FD. On Monday I dropped in another HLB branch, the staff said is 3.85% for 12 months and I told him it s 3.95%. He checked and said I am correct.

Yesterday Tuesday placed at HLB junior FD for 24 months at 4.15%.

On 17/oct my FD matured at UOB and asked the counter any promo for 12 months. She said board rate is 3.3% but fresh fund promo is 4.05%. I made a 12 months placement. I usually ask the bank staff any promo first to confirm the rate.
gsc
post Oct 22 2014, 01:24 AM

1,624 posts

HLB staffs are blur blur on their FD rate. I placed on 17 Oct and get 3.95% straight FD. See the file attached.

I placed another Junior FD at HLB at 4.15% for 24 months.

gsc
post Oct 22 2014, 01:29 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2014, 09:47 AM)
Was informed yesterday morning in one HLB branch that 12 months FD revised to 3.95% but not all branches know about it because it only came into effect yesterday. Then later in the afternoon, I had to go to another branch (this time Priority Banking Centre) to withdraw FD I placed with it, and none of the tellers knew about the revised rate.

Updated Post#1 for AmBank Promo, thanks for the ending date.

Noted that LYN automatically converts links to images, kind of make it hard to read BoomChaCha Post#2. Maybe it is just me and got to get use to it.
I placed a FD on 17 Oct and I got 3.95% for 12 months. It confirm again HLB staffs are unclear on their own rate and effective date.

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 22 2014, 01:30 AM

124 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.1637sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:55 AM