what make you guys switch from aps-c to ff at one point?
Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!
Sep 18 2014, 04:37 PM
1,384 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
what make you guys switch from aps-c to ff at one point?
Sep 18 2014, 04:53 PM
3,249 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Sep 18 2014, 04:22 PM) if i were you, i will not even think of upgrading. since you just purchased the 17-50, just stick with it. I have shot tons of sports photos with canon 500d, one of the most basic AF system, and published too. 60d is far far better in terms of AF. plus, shooting fast moving subject is not entirely dependent on your camera as well, mostly on skills and experience, and also on your lens quality. trust me on this, u are just thinking of upgrading because of the hype! Very true so i really don't see the point of upgrading to 70d, 7d, or even 7d mark ii. save some money up first if budget is your problem. i really recommend your next camera to be a Full frame sensor cam if u really want to upgrade. People always say that Canon has stupid useless AF system in their entry level DSLR. I am using 550D for 3 years already, and shot some sports with it (paired with another slow af tamron 70-200). Yes it might not be a speed demon, but shooting sports/ moving subjects requires a lot timing and skills instead of a good camera. Prefocus is one thing you need to learn, same with controlling DOF (not zooming all the way out and wide open everytime, so that your camera has more space to get focus). Not saying Prody shouldn't upgrade, but with that 17-55 and 60D, should be quite easy to shoot moving things with it. Furthermore, at most only 55mm f2.8 on a crop sensor, you are getting a lot DOF for half body/ full body pictures. QUOTE(teikboon @ Sep 18 2014, 04:37 PM) If i had the money to go FF, the main reason would be high ISO performance or DOF (not a MUST, but depends on how you utilize it, can be a good or a bad). also in Canon, you get a lot more glass choices with FF sensor (amazing lens like 17-40L, 24-105L around 2k). But with more and more announcements for m4/3 and Apsc system, it makes me consider again to go FF or not. FF sensor sometimes isn't that superior when compared to smaller sensor. You can use fast lenses wide open with smaller sensors most of the time without worrying getting out of focus shots since more DOF is provided. FF is better in high ISO, but when you need to stop down to get enough DOF, you are actually having the same IQ as APSC or M4/3 (imagine 1/100, f5.6 iso3200 on FF, 1/100 f2.8 iso800 on m4/3). Also Canon's FF sensor isn't so much better than it's own APSC in terms of dynamic range compared to Sony sensors (commonly used on pentax , nikon and sony). In Sony FF/ nikon FF, you get a lot better dynamic range compared to their apsc models. just my opinions This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Sep 18 2014, 08:40 PM |
Sep 18 2014, 08:30 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I photographed chewren sports even using EOS 350D la.
Sometimes I also donno why people say they cannot photograph sports properly. Those entry level bodies CAN do a decent job in focusing. If don't know how to set the camera and use it properly then it's user problem. |
Sep 18 2014, 10:31 PM
6,793 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Kuala Terengganu |
don focus too much on body , lens play an important character too , pairing a superior autofocus body without USM motor will be wasted , so it's not about the body itself , any entry level body + USM lens will do the job
Sep 18 2014, 11:07 PM
1,824 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: troll la la |
Looks like canon has finally done something to imporve their sensor shadow noise in 7dii! Raw image below
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showpo...8&postcount=810 Looks good... Even though im not planing to buy 7dii this is great news as canon next 5d and 1d will incorporates these new sensor technology This post has been edited by thelightside: Sep 18 2014, 11:20 PM |
Sep 18 2014, 11:16 PM
1,824 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: troll la la |
Canon 7DII official brochure for those interested
http://www.usa.canon.com/CUSA/assets/app/p...ll_brochure.pdf |
Sep 19 2014, 12:01 AM
4,558 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Selangor / Sarawak / New York |
by the way sifus, how do I check my camera shutter count? eoscount now charges to check for the shutter count. any other way? Tried using photoshop, extracting exif data, all didn't work too..
Sep 19 2014, 01:29 AM
QUOTE(thelightside @ Sep 18 2014, 11:07 PM) Looks like canon has finally done something to imporve their sensor shadow noise in 7dii! Raw image below that looks awesome indeed, hopefully the era of pattern noise is over » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Looks good... Even though im not planing to buy 7dii this is great news as canon next 5d and 1d will incorporates these new sensor technology |
Sep 19 2014, 08:20 AM
6,793 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Kuala Terengganu |
I saw Alex Lim twins at proton advertisment video lol
Sep 19 2014, 09:37 AM
1,548 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Sep 18 2014, 04:22 PM) if i were you, i will not even think of upgrading. since you just purchased the 17-50, just stick with it. I have shot tons of sports photos with canon 500d, one of the most basic AF system, and published too. 60d is far far better in terms of AF. plus, shooting fast moving subject is not entirely dependent on your camera as well, mostly on skills and experience, and also on your lens quality. trust me on this, u are just thinking of upgrading because of the hype! I bought the 17-55 about a year ago.so i really don't see the point of upgrading to 70d, 7d, or even 7d mark ii. save some money up first if budget is your problem. i really recommend your next camera to be a Full frame sensor cam if u really want to upgrade. Around the time the 6d was coming out, I had a long thought about buying the 6d (inc the 24-105) and going the FF way. In the end I decided to stick with APS-C which is why I bought the 17-55. At that point my plan was already to buy the 7d mark ii if it were ever to come out. |
Sep 19 2014, 10:04 AM
2,725 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(prody @ Sep 19 2014, 09:37 AM) I bought the 17-55 about a year ago. Why not just give it a try in a shop and trust your gut feeling?Around the time the 6d was coming out, I had a long thought about buying the 6d (inc the 24-105) and going the FF way. In the end I decided to stick with APS-C which is why I bought the 17-55. At that point my plan was already to buy the 7d mark ii if it were ever to come out. |
Sep 19 2014, 10:21 AM
1,548 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Sep 19 2014, 03:26 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,816 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Sep 19 2014, 10:46 PM
Forum Admin
after you tasted 15-85, all other EF-S standard zoom become tasteless. Anything that starts with 17 or 18 are sad cases.
Sep 19 2014, 11:47 PM
2,171 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: With the Geordies |
QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Sep 18 2014, 12:13 PM) guys, i read some people actually put their body in a sealed rice bag and leave it for few days or week until it dries completely. the body then gets back to work. here's a link to the rice trickmy 60d masuk air. the main turning thing not working properly. it is set to M but shows AP. also, the on/off button doesnt work. its constantly on, the only way to off it is to take out the battery. any chance for repairing it? if yes, where? thanks sifus. http://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/you-droppe...water-now-what/ This post has been edited by Grajindo: Sep 19 2014, 11:54 PM |
Sep 20 2014, 12:11 PM
478 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Sep 20 2014, 01:43 PM
shutter speed was too slow for the picture you posted. I can even see handshake from you.
Try to increase the ISO, maybe to iso1600 so you have a faster shutter speed to freeze the motion from children. for the yellow part, you are using the wrong WB i think. it's quite easy to fix though, if your camera has Auto White Balance on it, try using that one, it's quite accurate most of the time. If not, choose the preset according to surrounding (for example daylight when you are outdoor). or you can adjust it in computer (using PS or Lightroom if you have it, or even Canon's own Digital Photo Professional). |
Sep 20 2014, 02:02 PM
478 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Sep 20 2014, 01:43 PM) shutter speed was too slow for the picture you posted. I can even see handshake from you. If had time, would have tried diff iso and shutter speed. At least to see how higher iso can be used for this shot. WB need to be checked as I have not set that before.Try to increase the ISO, maybe to iso1600 so you have a faster shutter speed to freeze the motion from children. for the yellow part, you are using the wrong WB i think. it's quite easy to fix though, if your camera has Auto White Balance on it, try using that one, it's quite accurate most of the time. If not, choose the preset according to surrounding (for example daylight when you are outdoor). or you can adjust it in computer (using PS or Lightroom if you have it, or even Canon's own Digital Photo Professional). |
Sep 20 2014, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(tboxmy @ Sep 20 2014, 02:02 PM) If had time, would have tried diff iso and shutter speed. At least to see how higher iso can be used for this shot. WB need to be checked as I have not set that before. always keep an eye for the Shutter Speed shown in the bottom left of the viewfinder when shooting, it helps a lot in preventing shaky/ blurred images |
Sep 20 2014, 04:10 PM
Forum Admin
for events like that, try to go the widest aperture you can and shutter speed at least 1/100.
as for the photo - the skin tone looks fine, just slightly warm but overall it's acceptable. look at the other areas like the flags and leaves, the colors look fine. the whole photo looks yellow because of the walls around. white surfaces may show cast of the colors of the surrounding. |
| Change to: | 0.0248sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:21 AM |