5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!

teikboon
post Jul 21 2014, 10:53 PM

1,384 posts

brought a Tokina 11-16 last week from a LYN member for 1.1k

feel wow with such wide perspective after using kit lens all the while biggrin.gif
teikboon
post Jul 22 2014, 10:13 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(Smilefaceeee @ Jul 22 2014, 07:32 AM)
dear all sifus, wanna ask ur suggestions...should I sell of my canon 40mm f2.8 and buy a sigma 17-50 f2.8? coz it covers the range already..I just bought I less than a month... =( got anyone interested boh this pancake lens??
if I were you, I will keep the 40 (which I think nice for travelling as it is light) so that I can play with prime and the 17-50 for zoom in and out if conditions do not permit me to move a lot.
teikboon
post Aug 6 2014, 12:13 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Aug 5 2014, 05:03 PM)
sifus what is better to have? canon EOS 60D or 70D? or is it okay to get EOS 600D or 700D?

it will be my 1st DSLR. it's for portrait, landscape, sports, animals, events, record videos...

so kinda all around camera... so guys can you give me some help?
it all go down to your budget and whether you need those extra features that those camera have icon_rolleyes.gif
perhaps get the best lens for your budget.

This post has been edited by teikboon: Aug 6 2014, 12:18 AM
teikboon
post Aug 9 2014, 05:26 PM

1,384 posts

wanna buy a sony intially but the shop there tell me why so "cold" brand... haha... ended up with a Canon 600D after my 2nd target for Canon 650D was a bit out of my budget that time tongue.gif

was happy with it menu as it is much simpler to use compared to other brand / model that I tested from my friends ones. Plus it does have a wide range of lens from Canon own lens and 3rd party lenses icon_rolleyes.gif
teikboon
post Aug 13 2014, 09:41 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ Aug 13 2014, 07:33 AM)
An old photo with 600D, missed my 1st dslr smile.gif
what is the ISO you used that time? What is your camera model now? Still on Canon? tongue.gif

teikboon
post Aug 17 2014, 11:44 PM

1,384 posts

Trying the Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 outside for the first after brought it
user posted imageSultan Abdul Samad Building, Kuala Lumpur by Teik Boon, on Flickr

This post has been edited by teikboon: Aug 17 2014, 11:46 PM
teikboon
post Aug 27 2014, 10:13 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2014, 05:56 AM)
Once again this show it is not just equipments but who's behind the camera as well flex.gif
teikboon
post Sep 2 2014, 09:02 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(razkal @ Sep 1 2014, 10:10 PM)
Selamat Hari Merdeka everyone! smile.gif
Sorry not the widest lens
Sharp enough, so what is the lens you used? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by teikboon: Sep 2 2014, 09:02 AM
teikboon
post Sep 2 2014, 03:36 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Sep 2 2014, 03:03 PM)
I just found out about this -> http://petapixel.com/2014/09/01/canon-perm...s-up-to-33-off/
If this is true, this is AWESOME news for us!! thumbup.gif
new L lens line up coming up? hmm.gif hmm.gif
teikboon
post Sep 18 2014, 04:37 PM

1,384 posts

what make you guys switch from aps-c to ff at one point?
teikboon
post Sep 22 2014, 10:48 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Sep 22 2014, 08:49 PM)
Finally get to use my 55-250mm on people to test portrait potential.  But at 200+mm I was hoping to see the background to be more faded out.  But yeah they didn't notice I took a picture of them biggrin.gif.  Its a nice light lens.  I still can't imagine myself walking around with a big white telephoto lens. 

user posted imageBeach Selfie by Rice_Owl84, on Flickr
it is indeed a nice lens for those who wanna to try out what is a telephoto lens to begin with. got image stabilizer as well, what else could you ask for that price biggrin.gif
teikboon
post Sep 24 2014, 10:57 PM

1,384 posts

user posted imageIMG_0108 by Teik Boon, on Flickr
50mm f/1.4 stopped down to 2.2 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by teikboon: Sep 24 2014, 11:05 PM
teikboon
post Sep 29 2014, 02:49 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Sep 29 2014, 11:32 AM)
Hey guys, would like your opinion

Is it wise to go from:

Tamron 17-50 2.8 VC
back to
7D Kit Lense 28-135
I plan to get a dedicated fixed focal.
I'm looking at 28/30mm 'cause 50mm is too close for my taste.
Ye can see in my Toy Whoreing thread of the shots I manage to get with the Tamron
Sekian, terima kasih
have a deep thought on what you gonna shoot biggrin.gif
teikboon
post Sep 29 2014, 10:41 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Sep 29 2014, 08:23 PM)
Hmmm.
I might need to rejig my expectations when it comes to portrait shooting.

but f1.8 sure comes in handy in those low light environment (convention halls etc)
get a flash for event photography and you can see a different result tongue.gif
teikboon
post Sep 29 2014, 10:57 PM

1,384 posts

battery grip or extra battery for camera? which one better?
teikboon
post Sep 30 2014, 12:43 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Sep 30 2014, 12:31 AM)
Don't you need the extra battery to make the battery grip get its full use?  You put 2 batteries in the battery grip.  So you can get the extra battery first than think about whether you want the grip.  But a battery grip would be nice also because it also take AA batteries but don't know how long the batteries last vs the camera batteries.
got extra batteries and yes, anyone here got experience on which one last longer? gonna decide based on that...
teikboon
post Oct 7 2014, 11:25 PM

1,384 posts

user posted imageIMG_0563 by Teik Boon, on Flickr

got lucky with the bird stay still for quite a while
teikboon
post Oct 10 2014, 04:55 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 10 2014, 02:13 PM)
Have you tried the 50mm f1.8?

If you haven't, you'll probably haven't encountered it.

You see, the 50mm f1.8 is fantastic value for a lens BUT it's not a good lens. IQ is good no doubt but the lens itself is horrible.

Firstly it hunts, and it hunts a lot. Locking focus can be a problem. Once you tried those like 50mm f/1.4 you'll appreciate how it doesn't hunt like the 1.8 and locks fast.

Another thing about the 50mm f1.4 is the USM, while most people think USM = AF. Sure, USM is about the focusing BUT it not just about that.

The USM allows you to FTM, so your lens with AF mode, you will still be able to twist the focusing ring to get the focus you want. It's very handy when you're doing food photography, speeds up the process a lot. No need to lock / unlock just to go back and forth between AF / MF.

You can set the camera to not trigger AF with half-press of the shutter button, so the camera essentially works like MF mode. In such setting, the AF button goes to AF-ON or * button (you have a choice). This is the setting that I've been using for years, best way to shoot is really to have the AF moved away from half-press.

oh as for the aperture, it makes no difference to me because I photograph at f/8 to f/11. smile.gif they output looks the same.
if got budget, get the 50 f/1.4... really much nicer than the f/1.8 version especially when you step down and again USM rocks biggrin.gif
teikboon
post Oct 12 2014, 01:17 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Oct 11 2014, 08:28 PM)
Hi. I'm new here.. I'm using 600D with kitlens 18-135mm.. What is the best speedlight for my usage (normal usage only, not professional one)?

Thank you sifus.. smile.gif
Buy one from canon to ensure compatibility at its best. I mean to use those features available for your canon camera.

I recommend Canon 430ex. Quite nice. Can try get a second hand one. Price range from 500 to 700 depends on condition.

This post has been edited by teikboon: Oct 12 2014, 01:18 AM
teikboon
post Oct 13 2014, 09:50 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(gzavincent @ Oct 13 2014, 08:45 AM)
Hey guys,

I am very new to photography, and I just gotten my 700D a week ago. I am currently using Kit Lens EF-S 15-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM.

Can I check with you if it is worth the money for me to invest a new lens - Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM? Or you would suggest me to get the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 lens?
based on my experience, don't so fast jump first, hehe
1 - your wallet just get hurt, let it recover first tongue.gif
2 - learn more about basic of photography for at least 6 months to 1 year and you will know what you really want for your next lense thumbup.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0268sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:16 PM